Joachim Nolde: Strong for the market and the economy – The IHK as a modern service provider

We stay strong for the market and the economy: Under this leading idea, the Wiesbaden Chamber of Industry and Commerce (Industrie- und Handels­kam­­mer, or IHK) provides for the interests of around 36,000 companies in the com­­mercial economy in the Wiesbaden, Hoch­­heim and Rheingau-Taunus districts – from retailers to industrial corporations. Whether for economic forecasts, training positions, legal and tax-related questions or expert opinions for local pro­jects – the IHK is the first contact partner in econom­­ics and politics in the region. It is centered around three crucial points: Consulting for corporations, representa­­tion of politi­cal interests, and state func­­tions in the hands of the private economy. As a self-governing economic organization, the IHK presents the interests of its member companies to the public, and its opinions influence legislative and ad­­min­­istrative processes – from local mu­­nicipalities up to the European Union.
The entrepreneurs themselves determine the guidelines for work at the IHK: at the general meeting, the parliamentary di­­vi­­sion and most important committee in the IHK. The elected members in the “eco­­nomic parliament” represent their in­­dus­­tries in their regions and have in­­fluence on economic and political opin­­ions. In addition, they determine the budget for the IHK and the size of contributions, and they ensure that all matters are in step with practice. The state put many tasks into the hands of the economy, of which the most well-known is certainly the or­­ganization of training and education. The members of the “economic parliament,” together with many other volun­tarily engaged bu­­siness partners, en­­sure that these functions require less bu­­reauc­­racy and cost less than those in public administration. The IHK is therefore a reflection of the regional econom­­ic structure, all industries and company sizes are represented in their committees – so the IHK changes along with the economy in its region.
Health care is one topic on the agenda for the companies of the Wiesbaden IHK. The “health care” committee was founded at the general meeting in mid-2008, where players of business and health care sectors can work together across industries.

Gebaeude_Arne_Fiedler

A local health care study, conducted un­­der contract from the IHK, has clearly shown that the health care industry rep­­resents a future market, particularly for Wiesbaden – and that institutional collaboration is required in order to more strongly combine health care and the economy.
There were discussions concerning the question of how the entrepreneurs should position themselves with regards to the construction of the coal power plant on the Ingelheim Aue in Mainz, for which a preliminary notice is enacted since Jan­­uary 2009. The responsible authority deems the construction licens­able. That also corresponds to the majority vote of the members of the plenary meeting: If one takes as a basis the energy de­­mand, supply security, electricity costs and emissions there is no alternative to the planned coal power plant. Retail is also a topic of debate: In fall 2007, bu­­si­­ness representatives discussed whether Sunday trading hours in the downtown Wiesba­den area should be extended. On the basis of a city council decision, the re­­gional capital permits shops to conduct business on only two Sundays per year, but according to the Hessian shop clos­­ing law, shops are permitted to stay open on four Sundays. The majority of the com­­panies spoke out in favour of ex­­tending business hours and ex­­pan­­ding the ruling to the entire city area. This vote was in regard to the restriction on the historic pentagon, and the histor­­ic downtown are: In 2008, all Wies­­­ba­den shops were al­­lowed to participate for the first time with open business hours on Sunday, on the occasion of the city festival.
The founding of the IHK is based on an initiative of the companies. The trade association campaigned to found a chamber in Wiesbaden. On 29 August 1864, tradespeople with voting rights as­­sembled for the first time at the town hall in Wiesbaden to appoint their representatives. Today, 63 business lead­­ers and executive chairs are involved in the current general meeting of the Wiesba­den IHK. The representatives have been elected to their posts for the next five years by businesspeople from the Wies­­baden, Hochheim and Rhein­gau-Tau­nus districts. In total, 130 repre­­sen­­tatives were candidates for election.


Designdiskussion2_IHK_Paul_Mueller

The main office of the Wiesbaden IHK in­­cludes 49 employees, plus an average of eight trainees. With this ratio of em­­ploy­­ees to the number of member com­­­pa­nies, the Wiesbadeners regularly achieve a top rating in IHK internal benchmarks. In the year 2007, the Wiesbaden IHK was in second place out of all 37 parti­c­­ipants in a nationwide “Mys­­tery Man Action” con­­test. The deciding standards were com­­mitment, accessibility, friendliness, po­­lite­­ness and cour­­tesy. The Wies­­baden IHK also attained a top spot with third place in specialized competence, whereby the business sec­­tors “international” and “law” held ranks 1 and 2 na­­tionwide.

Now against the background of the skil­­led worker shortage, it is increasingly impor­­tant for companies to offer their em­­ploy­­ees the possibility of compatibi­lity be­­tween work and family. The IHK also supports its member or­­ganizations in this area and puts itself forward as a good example: In No­­vem­­ber 2004, the Wiesbaden IHK was the first IHK na­­tion­­wide to be distinguished by the pub­­lic interest Hertie foundation as a fam­­ily-friendly organization. And in a study by the Bertelsmann foundation, “business-friendly Metropolis” re­­gar­ding en­­tre­pre­­neurship in the me­­dium-sized economy, the Wiesbadeners took first place out of all IHKs in individ­ual evaluation.

Wiesbaden is a location with exiting fu­­ture possibilities: According to a survey beginning in 2008, under contract by Manager Magazine and the Berenberg Private Bank, Wiesbaden ranks in fourth place out of the 30 largest cities in Ger­­many – directly behind Frankfurt, Mu­­nich and Stuttgart and before Dresden, Cologne and Hamburg. Rewarding, if we at the Wiesbaden IHK can contribute our share to this good position and continue the trend.

 

Joachim-Nolde-P-4The author has been executive director of the Wiesbaden Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK) since 2003. Previously he was Deputy Director and superintend­­ent in the fields of law, commerce and tourism. A lawyer, he is also involved in cross-regional IHK projects, such as in the Commission for Judicial Chamber Policy, and is active on a voluntary ba­­sis in numerous committees in Wies­ba­den and across the region.

Joachim Nolde: Stark für Markt und Wirtschaft – Die IHK als moderner Dienstleister

Wir machen uns stark für Markt und Wirt­­schaft: Unter dieser Leitidee setzt sich die Industrie- und Handelskammer Wies­­baden für die Interessen von rund 36.000 Unternehmen der gewerblichen Wirtschaft in Wiesbaden, in Hochheim und im Rheingau-Taunus-Kreis ein – vom Einzelhändler bis zum Industriekon­zern. Ob es um Konjunkturprognosen, Aus­bil­­dungsplätze, Recht- und Steuerfragen oder Gutachten zu Standortprojekten geht – die IHK ist erste Ansprechpart­nerin für Wirtschaft und Politik in ihrer Region. Dabei geht es um drei Kern­punk­­te: Beratung für Unternehmen, politische Interessenvertretung und staatliche Auf­­gaben in wirtschaftlicher Hand. Als Selbst­­verwaltungsorgan der Wirtschaft trägt die IHK die Interessen der Mit­glieds­unternehmen in die Öffentlichkeit und nimmt etwa durch Stellungnahmen Ein­­fluss auf Gesetzgebungs- und Verwal­tungsverfahren – von der Gemeinde bis hin zur Europäischen Union.

Dabei bestimmen die Unternehmer selbst die Leitlinien der IHK-Arbeit: in der Voll­­versammlung, dem parlamentarischen Organ und wichtigsten Gremium der IHK. Die gewählten Mitglieder im „Parlament der Wirtschaft“ vertreten ihre Branche in ihrer Region und haben Einfluss auf wirtschaftspolitische Stellungnahmen. Zudem entscheiden sie über das Bud­­get der IHK und über die Höhe der Bei­­trä­ge. Und sie sorgen für Praxisnähe. So hat der Staat eine Reihe von Aufgaben in die Hände der Wirtschaft gelegt, die be­­kann­­teste ist sicher die Organisation der Ausbildung. Die Mitglieder des „Parla­ments der Wirtschaft“ tragen zusammen mit vielen weiteren ehrenamtlich engagierten Unternehmerinnen und Un­­ternehmern dafür Sorge, dass diese Aufgaben weniger Bürokratie und Kos­ten erfordern als in staatlicher Verwal­tung. Dabei ist die IHK ein Spiegel­bild der regionalen Wirtschaftsstruktur, alle Branchen und Unternehmens­grö­ßen sind in ihren Gremien vertreten – somit wandelt sich die IHK auch mit der Wirt­­schaft in ihrer Region.

Gebaeude_Licht_hochaufloesend_natuerlich

Ein Thema, das die Unternehmer der IHK Wiesbaden auf die Tagesordnung gesetzt haben, ist die Gesund­heits­wirt­­schaft in Wiesbaden und der Region. So hat die Vollversammlung Mitte 2008 entschieden, den Ausschuss „Gesund­heit“ zu gründen, in dem Akteure der Wirtschaft und des Gesundheitswesens branchenübergreifend zusammenarbei­­ten. Eine von der IHK in Auftrag gegebe­­ne Studie zum Gesundheitsstandort hat­­te deutlich gemacht, dass die Gesund­heits­­branche besonders für Wiesbaden ein Zukunftsmarkt ist – und, dass es einer institutionellen Zusammenarbeit bedürfe, um Gesundheitswesen und Wirtschaft stärker zu verbinden.
Diskussionen gab es um die Frage, wie sich die Unternehmer zum Bau des Koh­­le­kraftwerks auf der Ingelheimer Aue in Mainz positionieren sollen, zu dem es seit Januar 2009 einen Vor­bescheid gibt: Die zuständige Behörde hält den Bau für genehmigungsfähig, was auch dem Votum der Mehrheit der Vollver­sammlungsmitglieder entspricht: Wenn man den Energiebedarf, die Ver­sor­gungs­sicherheit, die Stromkosten und die Em­­is­­sionen zugrunde lege, ge­­be es zum geplanten Kohlekraftwerk keine Al­­ter­na­tive. Für Debatten sorgte auch das Thema Ladenöffnung: Im Herbst 2007 diskutierten die Unter­neh­­mer, ob die Sonntagsöffnungen in der Wiesbadener Innenstadt ausgedehnt werden sollten. So gibt es in der Lan­des­­hauptstadt auf­­grund eines Magis­trats­beschlusses nur zweimal im Jahr einen verkaufsoffenen Sonntag, nach dem hessischen Laden­schlussgesetz könnten die Läden aber viermal sonntags öffnen. Die Mehr­­heit der Unter­neh­mer sprach sich da­­für aus, die Öffnungszeiten auszuweiten und auf das gesamte Stadtgebiet auszudehnen. Diesem Votum ist die Stadt inzwischen gefolgt, was die Be­­gren­zung auf das Historische Fünf­eck, den historischen Stadtkern, angeht: 2008, zum verkaufs­­offenen Sonntag anlässlich des Stadt­festes, durften sich erstmals alle Wies­badener Geschäfte be­­teiligen.

Auf die Initiative der Unternehmen geht auch die Gründung der IHK selbst zu­­rück. So machte sich in Wiesbaden der Gewerbeverein für die Gründung einer Kammer stark. Am 29. August 1864 kamen die wahlberechtigten Handels­leute erstmals beim Rathaus in Wies­baden zusammen, um ihre Vertreter zu bestimmen. In der heutigen Vollver­samm­­lung der IHK Wiesbaden engagieren sich 63 Geschäftsführer und Vorstände.
Wer sie dort vertritt, haben die Un­­ter­nehme­rinnen und Unternehmer aus Wies­­ba­den, Hochheim und dem Rhein­gau-Taunus-Kreis im Jahr 2009 für die kommenden fünf Jahre entschieden. Ins­­gesamt hatten sich 130 Kandi­da­tin­nen und Kandidaten zur Wahl gestellt.


Designdiskussion2_IHK_Paul_Mueller

Das Hauptamt der IHK Wiesbaden be­­steht aus 49 Mitarbeitern, plus durchschnittlich acht Auszubildenden. Mit die­­sem Verhältnis von Mitarbeitern zu der Zahl der Mitgliedsunternehmen erreichen die Wiesbadener regelmäßig einen Spitzenwert im IHK-internen Bench­mar­­king. Im Jahr 2007 belegte die IHK Wies­­baden bei einer bundesweiten „Mystery-Man-Aktion“ den zweiten Platz aller 37 Teil­nehmer. Ausschlaggebend waren En­­ga­­gement, Erreichbarkeit, Freundlichkeit, Höflichkeit und Zuvorkommenheit. Auch bei der Sachkompetenz erzielte die IHK Wiesbaden mit dem dritten Platz einen Spit­­zenwert, wobei die Geschäftsfelder „In­­ternational“ und „Recht“ bundesweit so­­gar Rang 1 und 2 belegten.
Nicht zuletzt vor dem Hintergrund des Fachkräftemangels wird es für die Be­­triebe immer wichtiger, ihren Mitarbei­tern Möglichkeiten für die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie zu bieten. Auch in diesem Bereich unterstützt die IHK ihre Mitgliedsbetriebe und geht auch selbst mit gutem Beispiel voran: Im No­­vember 2004 wurde die IHK Wiesbaden bundesweit als erste IHK als familienfreundlicher Betrieb von der gemeinnüt­zigen Hertie-Stiftung ausgezeichnet. Und in einer Studie der Bertelsmann Stif­tung zur „unternehmerfreundlichen Groß­stadt“ unter mittelständischen Unter­neh­­merinnen und Unternehmern belegten die Wiesbadener in der Einzelaus­wer­tung den ersten Platz von allen IHKs.

Wiesbaden ist ohnehin ein Standort mit hervorragenden Zukunftsaussichten: Laut einer Umfrage, die 2008 im Auf­trag des Manager-Magazins und der Berenberg Privatbank gestartet wurde, rangiert Wies­­baden auf Platz 4 der 30 Großstädte Deutschlands – direkt hinter Frankfurt, München und Stuttgart und noch vor Dresden, Köln und Ham­burg. Schön, wenn wir als IHK Wiesba­den auch zu dieser guten Lage- und Trendbewertung unseren Teil beitragen konnten.

Joachim-Nolde-P-4Der Autor ist seit 2003 Hauptgeschäfts­führer der Industrie- und Handels­kam­mer Wiesbaden. Zuvor war er stellvertre­tender Hauptgeschäftsführer und Leiter des Bereichs Recht, Handel, Tourismus. Der Jurist engagiert sich auch in der über­­regionalen IHK-Arbeit, etwa in der Kommission für Kammerrechtspolitik, und ist in zahlreichen Gremien für Wies­­ba­­den und die Region ehrenamtlich ak­­tiv.