Institut für Verbundwerkstoffe GmbH: The future is composite – be on the fast lane with IVW

Gebäude_2012-Kopie

The topics energy efficiency, conservation of resources and CO2-footprint are the dominating headlines in politics and economy. Affordable lightweight design with advanced composites is a key aspect in almost all industrial sectors – especially in transport, energy generation, but also within the mechanical and plant engineering.

The Institute for Composite Materials has the expertise and laboratory equipment to act as R&D partner whenever compo­sites have to be tailored to the customer’s needs. More than 99 employees functionalise polymer based materials, optimise composite design, and develop advanced manufacturing technology. An extensive range of laboratory equipment, ready to develop, manufacture, and test composite structures in a 1:1 scale, is available for many applications.

 

Among others, IVW supports Canyon in Koblenz with R&D activities (optimisation of bicycle frames).

Among others, IVW supports Canyon in Koblenz with R&D activities (optimisation of bicycle frames).

In addition to the activities for applications with carbon and glass fibres, the institute is developing both improvements of the manufacturing processes and of the structure-mechanical performance of biocomposites. Structures with multifunc­­tional, sensory, and actuatory active com­­posites are designed, realised, simulated, and tested in the competence field “Tailored and Smart Composites”.


Logo
  1. Adress

    Erwin-Schrödinger-Straße 58
    D-67663 Kaiserslautern
    Telefon +49 (0) 631 2017-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 631 2017-199
    info(at)ivw.uni-kl.de
    www.thefutureiscomposite.com
  2. Turnover

    8 millionen euros (2012)
  3. Year of establishment

    1990
  4. Employees

    99 (2012)
  5. Business activity

    Design of Composite Structures, Process Simulation, Crash and Energy Absorption,
    Fatigue and Fatigue Life Analysis,
    Tailored and Smart Composites,
    Material Analytics, Tribology,
    Tailored Thermosets and Biomaterials, Compression Molding, Roving and Tape Processing, Impregnation and
    Joining Technologies

Institut für Verbundwerkstoffe GmbH: The future is composite – mit IVW auf der Überholspur

Gebäude_2012-Kopie

Die Themen Energieeffizienz, Ressour­cen­­­­­­­schonung und CO2-Footprint dominie­ren heutzutage die Schlagzeilen in Poli­­­­­­tik und Wirtschaft. Dem bezahlbaren Leicht­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­bau mit fortschrittlichen Compo­sites kommt daher eine besonders große Bedeu­­tung zu – gerade im Transportwesen, in der Ener­­­­­­­­­gie­­­­erzeugung, aber auch im Ma­­schi­­nen- und Anlagen.

Das Institut für Verbundwerkstoffe ist mit seinen Spezialisten und Laboratorien der F&E-Partner, wenn es darum geht, Compo­­­­­­sites für die jeweilige Anwendung maß­­zu­­schneidern. Über 99 Mitarbeiter sor­­gen dafür, dass die Werkstoffe individuell funk­­­­tio­nalisiert, die Konstruktion und Aus­­le­gung optimiert und die Verarbeitungs­pro­­­zesse genau auf die Bedürfnisse der Kunden zuge­­­­­­schnitten werden können. Da­­­­­für steht eine umfangreiche Anlagen- und Geräte­tech­­nik zur Verfügung, mit der Com­­­po­­­site-Proto­typen für viele Anwen­­dungen im Maß­­stab 1:1 hergestellt und getestet werden können.

Das IVW forscht unter anderem für Canyon in Koblenz (Optimierung von Fahrradrahmen). © Institut für Verbundwerkstoffe GmbH

Das IVW forscht unter anderem für Canyon
in Koblenz (Optimierung von Fahrradrahmen).
© Institut für Verbundwerkstoffe GmbH

Neben den Aktivitäten für Anwendungen mit Kohlenstoff- und Glasfasern werden so­­­­­­wohl Entwicklungsarbeiten zur Ver­bes­se­rung der Verarbeitungsprozesse als auch der struk­­­­turmechanischen Leistungs­­fähig­­­­keit von Bio­com­­posites verstärkt. Im Kom­pe­­­tenz­­feld „Tailored and Smart Composites“ werden Struk­­turen aus multifunktionalen, sen­­so­­risch und aktuatorisch aktiven Ver­­bund­­werk­­­stoffen ausgelegt, realisiert, simuliert und getestet.


Logo
  1. Anschrift

    Erwin-Schrödinger-Straße 58
    D-67663 Kaiserslautern
    Telefon +49 (0) 631 2017-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 631 2017-199
    info(at)ivw.uni-kl.de
    www.thefutureiscomposite.com
  2. Umsatz

    8 Millionen Euro (2012)
  3. Gründungsjahr

    1990
  4. Mitarbeiter

    99 (2012)
  5. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Bauweisenentwicklung, Prozesssimulation,
    Crash- und Energieabsorption, Ermüdung und Lebensdaueranalyse, Tailored and Smart Composites, Werkstoffanalytik, Tribologie, Tailored Thermosets and Biomaterials, Presstechnologie,
    Roving- und Tapeverarbeitung,
    Imprägnier- und Fügetechnik