Horst Seehofer: Foreword Business Location Free State of Bavaria

The Free State of Bavaria is one of Europe’s leading business locations. Our state can be characterised by two trends that at first glance appear to contradict one another, but which are in fact part of a major concept for suc­­cess. On the one hand, Bavaria’s people are very proud of their past and rich cultural heritage. They point with pride to their traditions and display this self-confidence in preserving ancient customs and a close-knit social cohesion. However, Bavaria is also a very modern state which has devel­­­oped into a world-renowned centre for science and technology in recent decades.

Universities and research institutions create the foundation for a future-oriented industrial sector and services which propel Bavarian companies into a position of high international standing. These not only include well-known international corporations, but also many small and me­­dium-sized businesses whose highly specialised products often make them world market leaders in their sector. Innovation, quality and flexibility characterise the large and small companies which have made Bavaria an internation­ally networked, highly export-oriented and wealthy state.

PN201204-04_300dpi

Our companies have developed particular expertise in the vehicle technology, electrical engineering, mechanical engi­­neering, information and communications technology and aerospace sectors. Bavarian companies active in biotechnology and in research into and initial testing of new materials are also world leaders. We have plenty to offer in the environmental technology and medical technol­­ogy sectors, too. Bavaria has also been a strong location for the production and distribution of media for many years.

The Bavarian state government has always created opti­mum conditions for the foun­­dation of new companies. We consider medium-sized companies to be the most important pillar of our prosperity, and have traditionally paid particular attention to this sector. Last but not least, our schools, universities and internationally exemplary institutions for vocational training ensure that all our skilled workers have excellent qualifications.

 

seehofer_portrait1Horst Seehofer
Minister President of the
Free State of Bavaria

Horst Seehofer: Vorwort Wirtschaftsstandort Freistaat Bayern

Bayern gehört zu den führenden Wirtschaftsstandorten in Europa. Dabei lässt sich unser Land durch zwei Ten­denzen charakterisieren, die auf den ersten Blick gegen­­sätzlich erscheinen, aber tatsächlich die Bestandteile eines großen Erfolgskonzeptes sind. Einerseits sind die Bürgerinnen und Bürger des Freistaats sehr stolz auf ihre Vergangenheit und ihr reiches kulturelles Erbe. Selbstbewusst bekennen sie sich zur Tradition und zeigen dies in der Bewahrung von altem Brauchtum und einem engen gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt. Ander­seits ist Bayern ein hochmodernes Land, das sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten zu einem weltweit beachteten Zen­trum für Wissenschaft und Technologie entwickelt hat.

In Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen werden die Grundlagen für eine zukunftsorientierte Industrie und für Dienstleistungen geschaffen, die bayrischen Unterneh­men zur Weltgeltung verhelfen. Dazu gehören nicht nur international bekannte Großkonzerne, sondern auch viele kleine und mittelständische Betriebe, die mir ihren hoch spezialisierten Erzeugnissen oft Welt­marktführer in ihrem Segment sind. Innovationsfreude, Qualität und Flexi­bilität sind die Kennzeichen großer wie kleiner Firmen, die Bayern zu einem international eng vernetzten, export­starken und wohlhabenden Land gemacht haben.

PN201204-04_300dpi
Besondere Kompetenzen konnten sich unsere Unter­nehmen in den Bereichen der Fahrzeug- und Elektro­technik, im Maschinenbau, in der Informations- und Kom­munikationstechnik sowie in der Luft- und Raumfahrt erwerben. Weltweit führend sind bayrische Firmen auch in der Biotechnologie oder bei der Erforschung und Erst­probung neuer Materialien. Ein besonders interessantes Angebot können wir in der Umwelttechnologie und in der Medientechnik machen. Seit längerer Zeit ist Bayern auch stark als Standort für die Produktion und Distribu­tion von Medien.

Die Bayrische Staatsregierung schafft seit jeher optimale Rahmenbedingungen für Unternehmensgründun­gen. Im Mittelstand sehen wir die wichtigste Stütze unseres Wohlstandes. Ihm widmen wir traditionell be­sondere Aufmerksamkeit. Unsere Schulen, Universitäten und international vorbildlichen Einrichtungen der be­­ruflichen Bildung sichern eine exzellente Qualifikation aller Fachkräfte.

 

seehofer_portrait1Horst Seehofer
Ministerpräsident des
Freistaates Bayern