Horst Schneider – Young, Vital, Tolerant – Offenbach is a Creative City with International Flair

With 126,000 residents, the young but big city of Offenbach is the fifth-largest municipality in Hessen. Together with its larger neighbour Frankfurt, it is part of the core of the Rhine-Main metropolitan region. Both centrally-situated major cities are not only linked by the Main, Frankfurt and Offenbach now form a contiguous settlement area and Offenbach’s central city is closer to the centre of Frankfurt than many suburbs of its neighbouring municipalities. At their common interfaces such as Offenbach’s western suburb Kaiserlei, both cities are involved in similar urban development projects.

Hessen’s youngest city by resident structure can look back over a long history as an industrial location and was known worldwide as the centre of the leather goods industry. Today, the city is undergoing change, it is re-inventing itself from its core and, in the process, it is honing its profile in the Rhine-Main region as an attractive place to live and do business. Regionally-based yet simultaneously internationally oriented, Offenbach has become an economically prosperous city with a strong services sector and lively creative sector as a major urban centre.


Markthaeuschen071 Mainufer

This still-manageable, major urban centre, surrounded by many green areas, with short decision-making processes and a good infrastructure, offers a high quality of life especially for young families. Besides extensive child-care facilities, ideal shopping opportunities and attractive cultural, sports and leisure facilities can also be found. Offenbach has recently made major investments in its central city and in the area on the banks of the Main, introducing a long-term change of image. 

Offenbach is home to people from many nations and is Hessen’s model region for integration. Cosmopolitanism and cultural diversity are a tradition here: even the French Huguenot religious refugees of the 18th century found a new home in Offenbach. They found not only a climate of religious tolerance but also favourable business conditions. Offenbach’s economic freedom enabled them to build textile factories and even tobacco factories. The Isenburg residential city – in those days still small – brought an undreamed-of economic upturn.

In 1775 Goethe described Offenbach as a “pile of substantial country seats with many gardens”. But that quickly changed. At the beginning of the 19th century, Offenbach, designated by Hessen’s Grand Duke as a “rural factory city”, changed with increasing speed into a dynamic industrial location, with small handicrafts enterprises becoming factories. New industrial sectors with chemical and metal-processing enterprises, large printing and publishing companies came into being. Offenbach became a city of trade fairs and home to the leather industry.

Early on, Offenbach was attractive both to entrepreneurs wanting to form new companies and migrants seeking work. While in the 19th and at the beginning of the 20th century immigrants came from elsewhere within Germany, the years of the economic wonder after the end of the Second World War were characterised by the arrival of foreign workers. From the 1960s and the 1970s onwards, however, many electrical and metal processing enterprises and the leather industry started emigrating to the Far East. The International Leather Trade Fair still recalls the leatherworking tradition. Only a few decades later, the chemicals industry underwent its downfalland Offenbach is still feeling the consequences of this structural change today.

But as painful as this economic upheaval was, Offenbach used the crisis to start again and successfully set course to become a services centre and a creative sector. Benefiting from the S-Bahn connection in 1995, increasing numbers of service providers in the financial and automotive sectors settled in Offenbach. The Kaiserlei commercial zone, directly next to the 661 autobahn, progressed to become a leading office location in the region with branches of such companies as the energy group Areva, Siemens or the European and German headquarters of the Korean automobile manufacturer Hyundai. After the re-naturation of the Kaiserlei roundabout, this area will be developed even more.

Today, over 3,000 service companies benefit from Offenbach’s outstanding excellent transport location, its direct links to several autobahns, its proximity to the Rhine-Main Airport, Frankfurt Central railway station and the dense commuter transport network.  

The cultural and creative sectors have developed a special dynamism. Through the internationally renowned Offenbach College of Design (HfG) and the customised assistance from the city’s business development company, it has gained crucial momentum. The start-up campus Ostpol, an outstanding nationwide model project, provides start-up assistance to self-employment in the form of low-cost workshops and offices and a comprehensive network of advice and financial support. 

Thus, much cultural and creative life dominates the historic central city suburbs in particular. Offenbach’s international flair and open atmosphere, the many old houses and factory buildings from Germany’s 19th century era of industrial expansion with their exciting backyards and lofts inspire numerous artists and young innovative entrepreneurs. Today, Offenbach offers one of Germany’s most important design clusters. And for years it has not been Germany’s undisputed no. 1 start-up city for no reason. Some 900 companies from all kinds of creative fields are a location factor with a future and employment trends show high growth-rates.


Fussgaengerzone_Frankfurter_Strasse Arabella

But Offenbach is still an industrial location and, besides large commercial parks, has attractive development land such as the former Allessa industrial park (Clariant). It can also score points with comparably low-cost land-prices, equally low-cost property and business tax rates, rapid building-approval procedures and comprehensive service for project planning and searching for land.

Offenbach also offers affordable living space. Many investors have discovered Frankfurt’s neighbouring city as a place to live. Offenbach also knows how to exploit the potential of its inner city suburbs but is also developing completely new areas for housing such as An den Eichen. The city’s industrial history is opening up interesting prospects in urban renewal. Accordingly, it is developing the old factory of the printing machinery manufacturer MAN Roland in the southern inner city into a suburban centre with residential, shopping and leisure facilities. And the former industrial port is home to what is probably the most exciting building site in the region. A completely new urban suburb is being created here beside the Main River in sight of the European Central Bank with residential, office, shopping and green areas.


Schneider

The author studied education and qualified as a teacher between 1970 and 1975. From 1976 to 1997 he taught in Hanau and Offenbach. In 1997 he moved to the Offenbach Regional Education Board as a curriculum inspector. In 1998, he was appointed as a school inspector and as a Regional Education Board Director in 2000. He has been an SPD city councillor since 1989 and party chairman since 1991. In February 2004 he was nominated as a candidate for the mayoral election by the SPD Subdistrict Party Conference and was elected as Deputy Mayor on 6 May 2004. He has been Lord Mayor of Offenbach am Main since January 2006 and was re-elected as Lord Mayor in September 2011.

Horst Schneider – Jung, lebendig, tolerant: Offenbach ist eine Kreativstadt mit internationalem Flair

Mit 126.000 Einwohnern ist die junge Großstadt Offenbach die fünftgrößte Kommune Hessens.   Zusammen mit ihrer großen Nachbarin Frankfurt gehört sie zum Kern der Metropolregion. Die beiden zentral gelegenen Großstädte verbindet nicht nur der Main. Frankfurt und Offenbach bilden mittlerweile ein zusammenhängendes Siedlungsgebiet. Dabei liegt Offenbachs Innenstadt näher am Frankfurter Zentrum als viele Stadtteile der Nachbarkommune. An ihren gemeinsamen Schnittstellen wie Offenbachs westlichem Stadtteil Kaiserlei gehen beide Kommunen in der Stadtentwicklung gemeinsame Wege.

Die ihrer Einwohnerstruktur nach jüngste Stadt Hessens blickt auf eine lange Geschichte als Industriestandort zurück und war weltweit als Zentrum der Lederwarenindustrie bekannt. Heute ist die Stadt im Wandel, erfindet sich aus ihrem Kern heraus neu und schärft dabei in der Rhein-Main-Region   ihr Profil als attraktiver Wohn- und Wirtschaftsstandort. Regional bodenständig und gleichzeitig international orientiert, hat sich Offenbach als Oberzentrum für eine halbe Million Menschen zu einer wirtschaftlich prosperierenden Stadt mit starkem Dienstleistungssektor und lebendiger  Kreativwirtschaft entwickelt.


Markthaeuschen071 Mainufer

Die von viel Grün umgebene, noch überschaubare Großstadt mit ihren kurzen Wegen und ihrer guten Infrastruktur bietet gerade auch für junge Familien viel Lebensqualität. Neben einem umfassenden Kinderbetreuungsangebot finden sie hier gute Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sowie ein attraktives Kultur-, Sport- und Freizeitangebot vor. Offenbach hat in jüngster Zeit viel in sein Stadtzentrum, aber auch in sein Mainufer investiert und dadurch einen nachhaltigen Imagewandel eingeleitet.

In Offenbach sind Menschen vieler Nationen zu Hause. Die Stadt ist hessische Modellregion für Integration. Weltoffenheit und kulturelle Vielfalt haben hier Tradition. Schon die hugenottischen Glaubensflüchtlinge des 18. Jahrhunderts fanden in Offenbach eine neue Heimat. Die Franzosen trafen nicht nur auf ein Klima der religiösen Toleranz, sie stießen auch auf günstige Wirtschaftsbedingungen. Offenbachs Gewerbefreiheit ermöglichte ihnen die Gründung von  Textilmanufakturen oder auch Tabakfabriken. Der damals noch kleinen Isenburger Residenzstadt  bescherte das einen ungeahnten Aufschwung.

 

Goethe beschrieb Offenbach 1775 noch als „gärtenreiche Häufung großzügiger Landsitze“. Doch das änderte sich rasch. Mit Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts entwickelte sich das vom hessischen Großherzog als „Landesfabrikstadt“ ausersehene Offenbach immer schneller zu einem dynamischen Industriestandort. Aus kleinen Handwerksbetrieben erwuchsen Fabriken. Neue Industriezweige mit chemischen und Metallbetrieben, große Druckereien und Verlage entstanden. Offenbach wurde Messestadt und es entwickelte sich zur Stadt des Leders.

Schon früh war Offenbach attraktiv für Unternehmensgründer wie für Arbeitsmigranten. Waren es im 19. und beginnenden 20. Jahrhundert noch Zuwanderer aus dem Binnenland gewesen, so prägte der Zuzug ausländischer Arbeitskräfte die  Wirtschaftswunderjahre der Zeit nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.   Ab den 1960er und 1970er Jahren begannen jedoch viele Elektro- und Metallbetriebe und auch die Lederwarenindustrie nach Fernost abzuwandern. An die  Tradition der Lederverarbeitung erinnert heute noch die Internationale Lederwarenmesse. Nur wenige Jahrzehnte später erlebte auch die chemische Industrie ihren Niedergang. An  den sozialen Folgen dieses Strukturwandels trägt die Stadt noch heute.

Doch so schmerzhaft der wirtschaftliche Umbruch auch war: Offenbach nutzte die Krise für einen Neuanfang und stellte die Weichen erfolgreich in Richtung Dienstleistungszentrum und Kreativstadt.  Begünstigt auch durch den S-Bahn-Anschluss (1995), ließen sich zunehmend Dienstleistungsbetriebe vor allem aus dem Finanz- und Automobilbereich in Offenbach nieder. Das unmittelbar an der Autobahn 661 gelegene Gewerbegebiet Kaiserlei avancierte dabei zu einem führenden Büro-Standorte der Region mit Niederlassungen etwa der Energiekonzerne Areva und Siemens oder der Europa- und Deutschlandzentrale des koreanischen Automobil-Herstellers Hyundai. Nach dem Rückbau des Kaiserleikreisels wird dieser Standort jetzt noch weiter ausgebaut.

Über 3000 Dienstleistungsunternehmen profitieren heute von der verkehrstechnisch hervorragenden Lage Offenbachs, seiner direkten Anbindung an mehrere Autobahnen, seiner Nähe zum Rhein-Main-Flughafen und zum Frankfurter Hauptbahnhof sowie seinem dichten ÖPNV-Netz.

Besondere Dynamik entwickelte die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft. Sie erhielt durch die international renommierte  Offenbacher Hochschule für Gestaltung (HfG) sowie durch eine maßgeschneiderte Unterstützung durch die städtische Wirtschaftsförderung entscheidende Impulse. Der Gründercampus Ostpol, ein bundesweit herausragendes Modellprojekt, leistet dabei mit günstigen Atelier- und Büroräumen sowie einem umfassenden Netzwerk aus Beratung und finanzieller Förderung Starthilfe in die Selbstständigkeit.

So herrscht gerade in den historischen Innenstadtquartieren viel kulturelles und kreatives Leben. Das internationale Flair und die offene Atmosphäre der Stadt, die vielen Gründerzeithäuser und historischen Fabrikgebäude mit ihren spannenden Hinterhöfen und Lofts inspirieren zahlreiche Künstler und junge innovative Unternehmer. Die Stadt stellt heute eines der wichtigsten Design-Cluster Deutschlands. Und nicht umsonst ist Offenbach seit Jahren unangefochten Deutschlands Gründerstadt Nummer eins. Rund 900 Unternehmen aus den verschiedensten Kreativbereichen sind ein Standortfaktor mit Zukunft und weisen hohe  Zuwachsraten in der Beschäftigtenentwicklung auf.


Fussgaengerzone_Frankfurter_Strasse Arabella

Nach wie vor ist Offenbach aber auch Industriestandort und verfügt neben großen Gewerbegebieten über attraktive Entwicklungsflächen wie den ehemaligen Allessa-Industriepark (Clariant). Und es  vermag mit vergleichsweise günstigen Grundstückspreisen, ebenfalls günstigen Grund- und Gewerbesteuerhebesätzen sowie mit schnellen Baugenehmigungen und einem umfangreichem Service bei Projektplanung oder Grundstückssuche zu punkten.

Dazu bietet Offenbach noch bezahlbaren Wohnraum. Viele Investoren haben Frankfurts Nachbarstadt deshalb als Wohnstandort entdeckt. Offenbach weiß dabei das Potenzial seiner Innenstadtquartiere zu nutzen, entwickelt aber auch völlig neue Baugebiete wie An den Eichen. Die industrielle Vergangenheit eröffnet dabei interessante Perspektiven der Stadterneuerung. So entwickelt Offenbach das alte Werk des Druckmaschinenherstellers MAN Roland in der südlichen Innenstadt zu einem Quartierszentrum mit Wohnen, Einkaufen und Naherholung. Und im ehemaligen  Industriehafen befindet sich die wohl spannendste Baustelle der Region: In Sichtweite zur Europäischen Zentralbank entsteht hier ein völlig neues, urbanes Stadtviertel am Wasser, mit Wohn-, Büro-, Einkaufs- und auch Grünflächen.


Schneider

1970 – 1975 Studium Diplompädagogik und Lehramt. 1976 – 1997 Lehrer in Hanau und Offenbach. 1997 Wechsel an das Staatliche Schulamt Offenbach als schulfachlicher Aufsichtsbeamter. 1998 Ernennung zum Schulrat, 2000 Ernennung zum Schulamtsdirektor. Seit 1989 Stadtverordneter der SPD-Fraktion Offenbach, seit 1991 Fraktionsvorsitzender. Im Februar 2004 Nominierung als Bürgermeisterkandidat durch den SPD-Unterbezirksparteitag, Wahl zum Bürgermeister am 6.5.2004. Seit Januar 2006 Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Offenbach am Main. Wiederwahl als Oberbürgermeister im September 2011.