Holger Banik: bremenports is looking ahead: More containers and a new offshore terminal

Container terminal Bremerhaven: Europe’s longest continous container wharf.

Container terminal Bremerhaven: Europe’s longest continous container wharf.

The continent’s largest car port; number four in Europe for container turnover; a high-performance hub for cargo of all kinds; on the way to becoming a leading centre for offshore wind energy logistics – these points show that Bremen’s ports are enjoying remarkable develop­­ment. With their successful work, BLG Logistics Group, Eurogate and other pow­­er­­ful logistics companies represent this ongoing boom on Bremen’s wharves. 2011 was the best year in the port’s his­­tory, but the sector is not resting on its laurels just yet. The twin ports of Bremen and Bremerhaven want to expand their market position and are now aiming for a turnover of 100 million tonnes.

Bremen’s ports have overcome the eco­­nomic crisis. The total turnover in Bremen and Bremerhaven reached a record result of 85 million tonnes last year. At 5.3 per cent, the increase was above average and provided further evidence that the consequences of the global economic crisis of 2009 have finally been overcome at Bremen’s ports.

Container turnover rose from 5.9 to 6.3 million TEU (standard containers) in 2012, an increase of 6.3 per cent. Because its competitors in North-Western Europe – Antwerp, Rotterdam and Hamburg – did not enjoy such strong growth, Bremer­­haven’s container port was able to achieve gains in market share in these standard­­ised containers. A top result of around 2.2 million units was achieved in car turn­­over which, like container turnover, is con­centrated in the Bremerhaven port in the state of Bremen. The increase was around five per cent.

The growth in sea cargo turnover in Bre­­men’s ports is expected to continue in 2013. At the same time, the number of people employed in maritime logistics increased considerably. But it would be negligent to stop here. That’s why the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen will continue to invest appropriately in the mo­­d­­ern­­isation of the port infrastructure in the future.

Car hub: More than two million vehicles are turned over in Bremerhaven every year.

Car hub: More than two million vehicles are turned over in Bremerhaven every year.

Logisticians face a challenge in the ex­­pansion of port railway. With the large-scale projects in Bremer­­haven – Container Terminal 4, completed in 2008, and the Kaiserschleuse lock (2011) – the Senate has already created important conditions for strengthening the logistics location in recent years. In the next few years, the focus will switch to investment in the port rail­­way. How­­ever, this does not release the federal govern­­ment and Deutsch Bahn AG from their obli­­gation to invest more funds, more quickly in the expansion of transport routes which connect the world ports of Bremen and Bremerhaven to their hinterlands.

With investment in new tracks and tech­­­­ni­­cal measures, Bremen will prepare Bre­­mer­­­­haven’s car and container port for the strong growth expected at the mouth of the Weser. The figures are al­­ready clear. In Winter 2010/2011, 430 freight trains were on the move on the port rail­­way’s tracks in Bremerhaven every week, including 270 container and 140 car trains. By 2011, this num­­ber had already increased to 570 trains per week.

The port railway is to be prepared quickly for further increases in transport quan­tities. As a first step, bremenports is intending to lengthen the tracks at Kaiser­­hafen station to up to 750 metres. The tracks will also be electrified. The new ca­­pacity is intended to ensure that significantly more car trains can be processed. At the same time, it will decrease the pressure on other track groups which are allocated to container transport. The building measures will involve costs of around eight million euros and implemen­­tation is planned by 2015. The shunting radio system of Bremen’s port railways will also be extensively modernised from 2012, also at a cost of millions.

New loading system for offshore wind technology. At the same time, the port and business location is setting its sights on renewable energies and is thus reinventing itself to a certain extent. The up-and-coming offshore wind energy industry has created over 2,000 jobs in Bremer­­­haven in recent years – and its development has only just begun. Industry and logistics are now waiting for a new loading system, which is to be built on the banks of the Weser, in front of the fishing port. The Offshore Terminal Bremer­­haven (OTB) is scheduled to begin operations 2016.


ptl3392-KopieOffshore-11
 The 25-hectare facility is to offer man­ufacturers and heavy goods logistics pro­­viders the ideal conditions for pre-­assem­­bly and fast and efficient loading for off­­shore wind energy systems. The pro­­ject will give new impetus to the economy and labour market in the region. Prognos AG is predicting thousands of new jobs. The ins­­titute antici­pates that an average of 600 new offshore wind energy systems will be built every year in Belgium, Denmark, Ger­­many, Great Britain and the Nether­­lands by 2040. With their work on the terminal project, the engineers and port and environ­­men­­tal planners from bremenports are mak­­ing a significant contribution to the re­­gion’s economic future – and to the transition to alternative energies in Germany.

(präferiert!)-DSC_1665-KopieThe author was born in Bremen. He stu­­died Business Administration in Gießen and Marburg. Between 1996 and 2007, Banik held various positions in Goods Transport at Deutsche Bahn. Holger Banik has worked for bremenports since 2007. Together with Robert Howe, he is managing director of bremenports GmbH Co. KG.

Holger Banik: bremenports blickt voraus: Mehr Container, neuer Offshore-Terminal

ptl2183-Kopie

Container-Terminal Bremerhaven: die längste zusammenhängende Kaje in Europa.

Größter Autohafen des Kontinents, eu­ro­­­­paweit die Nummer 4 beim Um­­schlag von Containern, leistungsfähige Dreh­­scheibe für Stückgut jeder Art, auf dem Weg zu einem führenden Zen­­t­­rum der Offshore-Windenergielogistik – die­­se Schlag­­­worte zeigen, dass sich die bre­­mi­­­­schen Häfen beachtlich ent­­wickeln. BLG Logistics Group, Eurogate und an­­­dere leistungsfähige Logistik­unter­nehmen ste­­hen mit ihrer erfolgreichen Arbeit für den anhaltenden Boom an den bremischen Kajen. 2011 wurde zum besten Jahr der Hafen­­geschichte. Doch die Bran­­­­che gibt sich damit nicht zufrieden: Die Zwillings­­häfen Bremen und Bremer­­haven wollen ihre Markt­­position ausbauen und peilen beim Umschlag jetzt die 100-­­ Milli­­onen-Tonnen-Marke an.

Bremische Häfen haben Wirt­schafts­krise überwunden. Der Gesamt­um­schlag in Bremerhaven und Bremen stieg im ver­­gangenen Jahr auf das historische Re­­kord­­ergebnis von 85 Millionen Ton­­nen. Das Plus fiel mit 5,3 Prozent über­­durchschnitt­­lich hoch aus und bot einen weiteren Beleg dafür, dass die Folgen der globalen Wirt­­schaftskrise von 2009 in den bremischen Häfen endgültig überwunden sind.

Der Containerumschlag stieg 2012 von 5,9 auf 6,3 Millionen TEU (Standard­con­tainer), ein Plus von 6,3 Prozent. Weil die nordwesteuro­­pä­­ischen Konkurrenten Antwerpen, Rot­­­ter­­­­­­dam und Hamburg nicht so stark zulegten, konnte der Con­­tai­­ner­­hafen Bremerhaven bei den ge­­norm­­­­ten Trans­­­portbehältern Markt­anteils­­gewinne er­­zie­­len. Beim Auto­­umschlag, der sich im Land Bremen – wie der Container­­um­­schlag – fast ausschließ­­lich auf den Hafenstandort Bremerhaven konzen­triert, wurde ein Spitzenergebnis von rund 2,2 Millionen Einheiten erzielt. Das Plus lag bei etwa fünf Prozent.

2013 dürfte sich das Wachstums des Seegüterumschlags in den bremischen Häfen fortsetzen. Gleich­­zeitig nimmt die Zahl der Beschäf­tig­­ten in der maritimen Logistik deutlich zu. Doch es wäre fahrlässig, sich auf dem Erreichten auszu­­ruhen. Deshalb wird die Freie Hanse­­­­stadt Bremen auch in Zu­­kunft an­­gemessen in die Moder­­ni­­sierung der Hafen-Infra­­struk­­tur investieren.

ptl2246-Kopie

Automobildrehscheibe: In Bremerhaven werden mehr als zwei Millionen Fahrzeuge jährlich umgeschlagen.

Logistiker sehen Ausbau der Hafen­­eisenbahn als nächste Heraus­­for­de­rung. Mit den Bremerhavener Groß­pro­­­jekten Container-Terminal 4, der im Jahr 2008 fer­­tig gestellt worden ist, und Kaiser­­schleuse (2011) hat der Senat in den vergangenen Jahren bereits wichtige Vor­­aussetzungen für eine Stärkung des Logi­­stikstandorts geschaffen. In den kom­­men­­den Jahren wird der Schwer­­punkt auf Investitionen in die Hafeneisen­bahn gelegt. Das entbindet den Bund und die Deutsche Bahn AG allerdings nicht von der Verpflichtung, mehr und schneller in den Ausbau der Verkehrswege zu inves­­tieren, die den Welthafen Bremen/Bremerhaven mit seinem Hinterland verbinden.

Mit Investitionen in neue Gleise und in technische Maßnahmen wird Bremen den Auto- und Containerhafen Bremer­­haven auf das starke Wachstum des Schienengüterverkehrs vorbereiten, das an der Wesermündung erwartet wird. Die Zahlen sprechen schon jetzt eine deutliche Sprache: Im Winter 2010/2011 waren auf den Gleisen der Hafenbahn in Bremerhaven wöchentlich 430 Güter­­züge unterwegs, darunter 270 Container- und 140 Autozüge. 2011 wurden wöchent­­­­lich bereits rund 570 Züge gezählt.

Die Hafeneisenbahn soll zügig auf wei­­ter steigende Transportmengen vorbe­reitet werden. In einem ersten Schritt will bremenports die Gleise am Bahn­­hof Kaiserhafen um bis zu 750 Meter ver­­längern lassen. Außerdem werden Gleise elektrifiziert. Die neuen Kapa­zi­­täten sollen dafür sorgen, dass deut­­lich mehr Autozüge abgefertigt werden können. Gleichzeitig entlasten wir da­­mit andere Gleisgruppen, die dem Con­­tai­­ner­­­ver­­kehr zugeordnet sind. Die Bau­­­maß­nahme ist mit Kosten von etwa acht Millionen Euro verbunden und soll bis zum Jahr 2015 umgesetzt werden. Außerdem wird der Rangierfunk der bremischen Hafen­eisen­­­bahn ab 2012 – ebenfalls mit Millionen­­­aufwand – um­­fassend modernisiert.

Neue Verladeanlage für Offshore-Wind­­energieanlagen. Gleichzeitig nimmt der Hafen- und Wirtschaftsstandort die er­­­­neu­­erbaren Energien ins Visier und er­­fin­­det sich damit gewissermaßen neu. In Bremerhaven konnte die auf­­stre­­bende Offshore-Windenergie in den vergangenen Jahren mehr als 2.000 Arbeits­­plätze schaffen – und die Ent­­wicklung hat gerade erst begonnen. Jetzt warten Industrie und Logistik auf eine neue Ver­­lade­­anlage, die am Weser­­ufer vor dem Fischereihafen ent­­stehen wird: Der Off­­shore-Terminal Bremer­­­­haven (OTB) soll 2016 den Betrieb aufnehmen.


ptl3392-Kopie Offshore-11
Die 25 Hektar große Anlage soll Her­­stel­­lern und Schwergutlogistikern beste Bedingungen für die Vormontage und das schnelle und sichere Verladen der Offshore-Windenergieanlagen bieten. Das Projekt wird Wirtschaft und Ar­­beits­­­­­­­­­markt in der Region stark beleben. Die Prognos AG sagt Tausende von neuen Arbeitsplätzen voraus. Das Institut rech­­net damit, dass in Belgien, Dänemark, Deutschland, Groß­britan­­nien und den Niederlanden bis zum Jahr 2040 durch­­­­­­­schnittlich 600 Offshore-Wind­ener­gie­­anlagen jährlich entstehen werden. Die Ingenieure, Hafen- und Umweltplaner von bremenports leisten mit ihrer Arbeit für das Terminal-Projekt einen wichtigen Beitrag für die wirtschaftliche Zukunft der Re­­gion – und für die Energiewende in der Bundes­republik.

(präferiert!)-DSC_1665-KopieDer Autor ist in Bremen geboren. Er hat in Gießen und Marburg Betriebs­wirt­schaft­­slehre studiert. Von 1996 bis 2007 hat Banik in verschiedenen Positionen der Deutschen Bahn im Bereich Güter­­verkehr gearbeitet. Seit 2007 ist Holger Banik für bremenports tätig. Er ist, gemeinsam mit Robert Howe, Geschäfts­­führer der bremenports GmbH Co. KG.