FHWS – Practice-based education, applied research and intensified internationalisation

The University of Applied Sciences Würz­­burg-Schweinfurt (FHWS) offers a wide range of practice-based and future-­oriented courses at its Würzburg and Schweinfurt sites. The university’s large technical faculties cover the entire spec­trum of education in the MINT subjects. In addition, FHWS offers courses in arts, social sciences and economics, as well as in architecture and design. With about 9,000 students (in winter semester 2013/2014) and around 230 professors, the University of Applied Sciences Würzburg-Schweinfurt is one of the larg­­est universities for applied sciences in Bavaria. Students can pursue over 30 undergraduate and graduate programmes in ten faculties.

One of the pillars of teaching at FHWS is the focus on applied research. This is not only reflected by the numerous labo­­ra­tories in which students can put the prac­­­tical skills they have learned to the test and intensify their knowledge at the same time – applied research in various areas is also promoted intensively in the univer­­sity’s five research institutes.

Another of FHWS’ focuses is on internationalisation. Many students complete semesters or internships abroad, while foreign students also come to the university for a full degree or a semester abroad. To make this possible, the Uni­ver­­sity of Applied Sciences Würz­burg-Schweinfurt maintains an extensive network of over 100 universities in more than 30 countries. These activities are to be expanded further in the future. To this end, the FHWS i-Campus is being set up, offering English-language bachelor’s degree programmes. These courses will have identical or very similar content to the courses already established at FHWS.

The 10 faculties of the FHWS

» FANG: Applied Natural Sciences and Humanities
(Würzburg and Schweinfurt)
» FAS: Applied Social Sciences
(Würzburg)
» FAB: Architecture and Civil Engineering
(Würzburg)
» FE: Electrical Engineering (Schweinfurt)
» FG: Visual Design (Würzburg)
» FIW: Computer Science and
Business Information Systems (Würzburg)
» FKV: Plastics Engineering and Surveying (Würzburg)
» FM: Mechanical Engineering (Schweinfurt)
» FWI: Business and Engineering (Schweinfurt)
» FWiWi: Economics and Business Administration
(Würzburg)

The 5 research institutes of the FHWS

» IAL: Institute of Applied Logistics Solutions
» IDIS: Institute for Design and Information Systems
» IEHT: Institute for Power Engineering and
High Voltage Technology
(at the Competence Centre Mainfranken)
» IMES: Institute of Medical Engineering
Schweinfurt (at the Competence Centre Mainfranken)
» TTZ-EMO: Technology Transfer Centre for E-mobility

 



  1. Address

    Münzstraße 12
    97070 Würzburg
    Tel +49 931 3511-6002
    Fax +49 931 3511-6044
    praesidialamt-wue(at)fhws.de
    www.fhws.de
  2. President

    Prof. Dr. Robert Grebner
  3. Year of establishment

    1971
  4. Employees

    230 professors
    360 other staff
  5. Range of courses

    Design, social sciences, languages, technology, economics

Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften Würzburg-Schweinfurt: Praxisnahe Lehre, angewandte Forschung und intensivierte Internationalisierung

Die Hochschule für angewandte Wissen­­schaften Würzburg-Schweinfurt (FHWS) bie­­­­tet an ihren Standorten in Würzburg und Schweinfurt ein breites, praxisorien­­tiertes und zukunftsgerichtetes Studien­­angebot. Die großen technischen Fakul­­täten der Hoch­­­­schule decken den gesamten Bereich der Ausbildung in den MINT-­Fächern ab. Darüber hinaus bietet die FHWS geistes-, sozial- und wirtschafts­­wissenschaftliche Stu­­­­dien­­gänge an, eben­­so wie Architektur und Design. Mit rund 9.000 Studierenden (Stand: WS 2013/14) und an die 230 Professorinnen und Pro­­fessoren ist die Hochschule Würz­­burg-­Schwein­­furt eine der größ­­­­­ten Hoch­­schulen für angewandte Wissenschaften in Bayern. An den zehn Fakultäten der FHWS ist das Studium in über 30 grundständigen und postgradua­­len Stu­dien­­gängen möglich.

Eine Säule der Lehre an der FHWS ist der Fokus auf die angewandte Forschung. Das spiegelt sich nicht nur in den zahlreichen Laboren wider, in denen die Stu­­dierenden praxisnah Erlerntes erproben und vertiefen können. Auch in den fünf Forschungsinstituten der Hochschule wird intensiv angewandte Forschung in verschiedenen Be­reichen vorangetrieben.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der FHWS ist Internationalisierung. Zahlreiche Studie­­ren­de absolvieren Semester oder Prak­tika im Aus­­land. Zusätzlich kommen aus­­ländische Studierende zum Studium oder Auslandssemester an die Hochschule. Dafür pflegt die Hochschule Würzburg-Schweinfurt ein großes Netzwerk an Kontakten zu über 100 Hochschulen in mehr als 30 Ländern. Diese Aktivitäten sollen künftig noch ausgeweitet werden. Dazu wird der FHWS i-Campus eingerichtet, an dem insbesondere englischsprachige Bachelorstudiengänge angeboten werden. Diese werden inhaltsgleich oder -ähnlich sein zu bereits an der FHWS etablierten Studiengängen.

Die 10 Fakultäten der FHWS

» FANG: Angewandte Natur- und
Geisteswissenschaften (Würzburg und Schweinfurt)
» FAS: Angewandte Sozialwissenschaften (Würzburg)
» FAB: Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen (Würzburg)
» FE: Elektrotechnik (Schweinfurt)
» FG: Gestaltung (Würzburg)
» FIW: Informatik und
Wirtschaftsinformatik (Würzburg)
» FKV: Kunststofftechnik und
Vermessung (Würzburg)
» FM: Maschinenbau (Schweinfurt)
» FWI: Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen (Schweinfurt)
» FWiWi: Wirtschaftswissenschaften (Würzburg)

Die 5 Forschungsinstitute der FHWS

» IAL: Institut für angewandte Logistik
» IDIS: Institut Design und Informationssysteme
» IEHT: Institut für Energie- und Hochspannungs-
technik (im Kompetenzzentrum Mainfranken)
» IMeS: Institut für Medizintechnik
(im Kompetenzzentrum Mainfranken)
» TTZ-EMO: Technologietransferzentrum
Elektromobilität



  1. Anschrift

    Münzstraße 12
    97070 Würzburg
    Tel +49 931 3511-6002
    Fax +49 931 3511-6044
    praesidialamt-wue(at)fhws.de
    www.fhws.de
  2. Präsident

    Prof. Dr. Robert Grebner
  3. Gründungsjahr

    1971
  4. Mitarbeiter

    230 Professoren
    360 Mitarbeiter
  5. Studienangebot

    Gestaltung, Sozialwesen, Sprachen, Technik, Wirtschaft