Hochschule Bremen – Providing economic and social stimuli in the region

CollageUniversities and institutes in the state of Bremen play a key role in scientific expertise, economic development and cultural diversity within the region.
Hochschule Bremen regards itself as a University of Applied Sciences and this also stresses the strong practical focus. Its diverse range of competencies and abilities are closely interlinked to the re­­gional economic structure. For this reason, Hochschule Bremen provides economic and social stimuli in the region.

Collage2Some examples include the innovation clusters of Wirtschaftsförderung Bremen (Bremen invest) activities for aerospace and automotive technology, maritime economics and logistics as well as wind energy. For example, with regard to aero­space and automotive technology, Hoch­schule Bremen is the only establishment that can qualify young skilled workers in Bremen. In the profile field of logistics, Hochschule Bremen is the only institution of its kind in Germany to combine all the relevant aspects under one roof; from transport and mobility to the necessary infrastructure.

Specialist transfer potential is of course a lot greater than what can be demonstrated here. Additionally, life-long learning is another core issue: We are not just talking about young people who have em­­barked on a Bachelor degree after completing their German Abitur (A level). Our offer is constantly extended right through to those groups who also hold a master craftman’s certificate or similar qualifications instead of the Abitur. In addition, Hochschule Bremen cooperates with various partners such as “wisoak” as well as Bremen’s home foundation (Bremer Heimstiftung). On the other hand, Hochschule Bremen boasts a portfolio of tailor-made academic advanced train­ing programmes including master programmes, amongst others, at its International Graduate Center.

Since 2006, Hochschule Bremen has been cooperating successfully with the People’s Republic of China to further train Chinese experts from economic and ad­ministrative sectors. Nearly 40 delegations with an average of 25 participants visited Hochschule Bremen for several days of continued education in 2013. China’s modernisation exists on all levels in the foreground. Hochschule Bremen enhances China’s perceptions of Bremen, thanks to its successful programme entitled “Wissenschaftliche Wei­­terbildung im Dialog” (Scientific Continued Education in Dialogue). In 2009, it was accredited by Chinese officials as an advanced training institute.


10
  1. Address

    Neustadtswall 30
    28199 Bremen
    Tel +49 421 5905-0
    Fax +49 421 5905-2292
    info(at)hs-bremen.de
    www.hs-bremen.de
  2. Rector

    Prof. Dr. Karin Luckey
  3. Year of establishment

    1982
    Precursor 1799
  4. Employees

    550
  5. Business activity

    70 Bachelor and Master degree programmes including dual courses of study

Hochschule Bremen – Wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Impulse in der Region setzen

CollageDie Hochschulen und Institute im Land Bremen spielen für die wissenschaftliche Kompetenz, die wirtschaftliche Ent­­wicklung oder die kulturelle Vielfalt in der Region eine zentrale Rolle.
Die Hochschule Bremen versteht sich als Hochschule für Angewandte Wissen­­schaften, und das bringt auch den engen Praxisbezug zum Ausdruck. Ihre vielfältigen Kompetenzen und Leistungen sind eng mit der regionalen Wirtschafts­­struktur verflochten. Damit setzt die Hochschule Bremen wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Impulse in der Region.

Collage2Beispiele dafür sind die Innovationscluster der Bremer Wirtschaftsförderung Luft- und Raumfahrt, Maritime Wirtschaft und Logistik sowie Wind­energie: Hier ist die Hochschule Bremen zum Beispiel in der Luft- und Raumfahrt bei der Qualifizierung des Fachkräftenachwuchses Alleinanbieter in Bremen. Im Profilfeld Logistik ist die Hochschule Bremen die einzige Einrichtung ihrer Art bundesweit, die alle relevanten Aspekte vom Verkehr und der Mobilität bis hin zur dafür erforder­­lichen Infrastruktur unter einem Dach vereint.

Das fachliche Transferpotential ist natürlich größer, als es hier dargestellt werden kann. Darüber hinaus ist uns das lebenslange Lernen ein weiteres zentrales Anliegen: Dabei geht es nicht nur um die jungen Menschen, die nach dem Abitur ein Bachelor-Studium beginnen. Das Angebot wird beständig für diejenigen Bevölkerungsgruppen aus­­­­gebaut, die statt des Abiturs einen Meisterbrief oder vergleichbare Qualifikationen mitbringen. Dazu kooperiert die Hochschule Bremen mit verschiedenen Partnern wie der „wisoak“ oder demnächst der Bremer Heimstiftung. Auf der anderen Seite hat die Hochschule Bremen maßgeschneiderte aka­­demische Weiterqualifizierungsangebote im Portfolio, zu denen die Masterprogramme gehören, unter anderem an unserem International Graduate Center.

Seit 2006 kooperiert die Hochschule Bremen erfolgreich mit der Volksrepu­­blik China bei der Weiterbildung chinesischer Experten aus Wirtschaft und Verwaltung. Knapp 40 Delegationen mit durchschnittlich 25 Teilnehmern besuchten allein 2013 die Hochschule Bremen zu mehrtägigen Weiterbildungen. Im Vordergrund steht die Modernisierung Chinas auf allen Ebenen. Die Hoch­­schule Bremen trägt mit ihrem erfolgreichen Programm „Wissenschaft­­liche Wei­­terbildung im Dialog“ zur Wahrneh­­mung Bremens in China bei. 2009 wurde sie als Weiterbildungseinrichtung von offizieller chinesischer Seite akkreditiert.


10
  1. Anschrift

    Neustadtswall 30
    28199 Bremen
    Tel +49 421 5905-0
    Fax +49 421 5905-2292
    info(at)hs-bremen.de
    www.hs-bremen.de
  2. Rektor

    Prof. Dr. Karin Luckey
  3. Gründungsjahr

    1982
    Vorläufereinrichtung 1799
  4. Mitarbeiter

    550
  5. Geschäftstätigkeit

    70 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge, darunter auch duale Angebote