HEK – Hanseatische Krankenkasse: The “business class” model among the SHIs – HEK is “excellent”

When a rating agency like Assekurata repeatedly awards the top ranking “excel­­lent” (A++) to a health insurance company, it is worth taking a closer look at it. Hanseatische Krankenkasse – or HEK – is the first health insurance com­pany to have received this top ranking mul­­tiple times in succession. HEK achieved the highest scores for financial stabil­­ity, customer satisfaction and growth/attractiveness on the market. Its range of services was rated as “very good”.

In 1826, merchants from Hamburg found­­­­ed the “Kranken-Casse der Com­­­mis des Löblichen Kramer-Amts”, thus laying the foundation for HEK which covers about 425,000 people today. Social re­­spon­­si­­bility, performance, solidity and fairness – the almost 700 HEK employees are still committed to these Han­­­se­­atic principles of the founders. Thanks to its efficient administration and forward-thinking plan­­ning, Hanseatische Kran­­ken­­kasse stands on a solid financial basis. For this reason, it has always been able to do without raising additional contributions from its members. In 2013, HEK was one of the few stat­­utory health insurance companies who were able to distribute a large part of their surplus to their members in the form of a premium.

In the field of statutory health insurance (SHI), the rate of contribution is defined by law and therefore is the same for all health insurance companies. This also applies to the range of their services. However, legislature does allow them to offer additional services that go beyond the stipulated scope. Thanks to its sound financial situation, HEK can take advan­­tage of this situation and offer a whole package of above-average services to its members. So it is for a good reason that HEK considers itself the “business class” among statutory health insurance companies.
It is also “excellent” with regard to customer orientation and service. All enquiries from members are replied to immediately. Team Direkt is available to them free of charge and around the clock every day. HEK is also particularly accommodating when it comes to the reimbursement of costs. Insured persons decide themselves whether they prefer a cashless payment via the chip card or whether they would like to be reimbursed for their expenses after the treatment.

The upscale business services that set HEK apart from other insurances include, among other things, treatment in private clinics and exclusive re­­ha­­bilitation facilities or by the head phy­­sician following in-patient treatment. HEK also assists its members when it comes to treatments in the area of alternative medicine, such as homoeopathy, osteopathy, acupuncture and selected alter­­native medication, and supports them in the choice of doctor and in treatment decisions. It offers a guide to assist in choosing a physician or hospital as well as a free second opinion for dental pros­­theses. And in the event of suspected medical malpractice, the health insurance is on hand with help and advice for its members.

Moreover, HEK covers out-patient surger­­ies in practice clinics, pays for household help for families with children up to 14 years of age and subsidises all immunisations required for foreign travel. In addition, members benefit from a comprehensive bonus programme and attractive optional tariffs.

HEK supports mothers and fathers-to-be not only through preventive check-ups; it also assists them with comprehensive information, such as “planBaby”, the “BabyCare” programme and the free app “Kugelrund glücklich” (“Round and happy”) on their way through a healthy pregnancy. As a welcome gift, the newborn child receives a baby bonus.

The choice of additional health services offered by the “business class” model among the statutory health insurances is adapted to meet the specific requirements and wishes of its members. In the health insurance test of the German mag­­azine Focus Money (49/12), it attained the highest score possible. And the peo­­ple insured with HEK agree. 98 per cent of them stated in an online survey that they would recommend their health in­­­surance to others. It is no surprise then that HEK keeps growing dynamically: in 2012 alone, it gained more than 24,000 new members.

Assekurata attests the “business class” model among the statutory health insur­­ances an “excellent” company quality and continued growth potential: “The new services offered increase the high attrac­­tiveness of the insurance even more.”

HEK – the “business class” model among the statutory health insurances.

hek_logo_pos

  1. Adress

    Wandsbeker Zollstraße 86-90
    D-22041 Hamburg
    Telefon +49 (0) 800-0213213 (kostenfrei)
    Telefax +49 (0) 40 65696-1237
    kontakt@hek.de
    www.hek.de
  2. Executive board

    Jens Luther

    Torsten Kafka(Deputy)

  3. Year of establishment

    1826
  4. Business activity

    425.000
  5. Employees

    about 700
  6. Business activity

    Statutory health insurance

HEK – Hanseatische Krankenkasse: Die Business-K(l)asse in der GKV – HEK „Exzellent“

Wenn eine Rating­agentur wie Assekurata einer Krankenkasse wiederholt die Top-Bewertung „exzellent“ (A++) verleiht, ist das Anlass, auch ein­­mal ge­­nauer hinzuschauen. Die Hanse­­a­­tische Krankenkasse – HEK – ist die erste Kran­­ken­kasse, die dieses Top-Ranking mehr­­mals in Folge erreicht hat. Best­­noten erhielt die HEK für Fi­­nanz­sta­bi­­­lität, Kunden­zufrieden­heit und Wachs­­­­tum/Attraktivität am Markt. Ihr Leis­­tungsangebot wurde mit „sehr gut“ be­­wertet.

1826 gründeten Hamburger Kauf­leu­te die „Kranken-Casse der Commis des Löblichen Kramer-Amts“ und leg­­ten da­­mit den Grundstein für die HEK, bei der jetzt etwa 425.000 Menschen ver­­­­­­­­si­­chert sind. Soziale Verant­wor­tung, Leis­­­­tung, Solidität und Fairness – die­­sen hanseatischen Prinzipien der Grün­­­der wissen sich die knapp 700 HEK-Mit­­arbeiter bis heute verpflichtet. Dank ihrer effizienten Verwaltung und vorausschauenden Planung verfügt die Hanseatische Krankenkasse über eine solide finanzielle Basis. Daher war sie stets in der Lage, auf die Erhebung eines Zusatzbeitrags verzichten zu kön­­­­nen. 2013 konnte die HEK, als eine der wenigen gesetzlichen Kranken­­­­kas­­­­­­sen, einen Großteil ihres Über­­schus­­ses den Mitgliedern als Prä­­mie aus­­zahlen. 

In der Gesetzlichen Kranken­ver­si­che­rung (GKV) ist der Beitragssatz ge­­­setzlich vorgegeben und daher für alle Krankenkassen gleich. Das gilt auch für den Umfang ihrer Leistungen. Aller­­­­dings gibt der Gesetzgeber ihnen die Möglichkeit, darüber hinaus auch zu­­sätzliche Leistungen anzubieten. Auf­­grund ihrer gesunden Finanzsituation kann die HEK davon Gebrauch ma­­chen und ihren Versicherten ein ganzes Pa­­­­ket an überdurchschnittlichen Leis­­tun­­­­gen bieten. Sie versteht sich da­­her nicht von ungefähr als die Business-K(l)asse unter den gesetzlichen Kran­­kenkassen.

Auch bei der Kundenorientierung und dem Service ist sie „exzel­­lent“. Alle Anfragen der Versicherten werden so­­fort beantwortet. Das Team Direkt steht ihnen täglich rund um die Uhr kostenfrei zur Verfügung. Be­­son­­dere Kulanz zeigt die HEK auch bei der Kosten­­er­­stattung. Die Ver­si­­cher­­ten ent­­scheiden dabei selbst, ob bargeldlos über die Chipkarte abgerechnet werden oder eine Erstattung der Aus­­lagen nach Behandlung erfolgen soll.

Zu den exklusiven Business-Leis­tun­gen, die die HEK von anderen Krankenkassen unterscheidet, zählen unter anderem die Behandlung in Privatkliniken und exklusiven Reha-Kliniken oder die Chef­­­­arztbehandlung im Anschluss an eine stationäre Behandlung. Auch bei Be­­handlungen im Bereich der alter­na­ti­­ven Medizin wie Homöopathie, Osteo­­pathie, Akupunktur und ausgewählter alternativer Medikation steht die HEK ihren Versicherten zur Seite.

 Die HEK unterstützt ihre Versicherten bei der Arztwahl und Behand­lungs­ent­­­­scheidungen. So bietet die Kranken­­kasse einen Arzt- und Krankenhaus-Lotsen sowie bei Zahnersatz eine kos­­­­tenlose Zweitmeinung. Und beim Ver­­dacht auf einen Behandlungsfehler steht sie ihren Versicherten mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Ebenso zahlt die HEK für ambulante Operationen in Praxiskliniken, ge­­­währt Haushaltshilfen für Familien mit Kin­­dern bis 14 Jahren und bezuschusst alle Auslandsimpfungen. Zusätzlich bie­­tet sie ihren Versicherten ein umfassendes Bonusprogramm und attraktive Wahltarife.Werdenden Müttern und Vätern hilft die HEK nicht allein mit Vorsorge­unter­­­­suchungen, sondern begleitet sie auch mit umfassenden Informationen wie „planBaby“, dem „BabyCare“-Programm und der kostenlosen App „Kugelrund glücklich“ auf dem Weg durch eine ge­­­­sunde Schwangerschaft. Die neuen Erdenbürger erwartet dann ein Baby-Geld als Willkommensbonus.

Bei der Wahl ihrer Zusatzleistungen orientiert sich die Business-K(l)asse an den besonderen Bedürfnissen und Wünschen ihrer Versicherten. Beim Kran­­ken­­kassentest von Focus Money (49/12) erhielt sie eine Maximal-Be­­wertung. Das sehen die HEK-Ver­­si­cher­­­­ten nicht anders. Bei einer Online-Befragung gaben 98 Prozent von ihnen an, ihre Krankenkasse weiterempfehlen zu können. Nicht von ungefähr wächst die HEK weiter dynamisch: Allein 2012 hat sie mehr als 24.000 neue Mit­­glieder gewonnen.

Assekurata bescheinigt der Business-K(l)asse eine „exzellente“ Unterneh­­mens­­­qualität und weiteres Wachs­­tums­­potenzial: „Die neuen Leis­­tungen stei­­gern die ohnehin hohe At­­trak­­tivität der Kasse zusätzlich.“

hek_logo_pos

  1. Anschrift

    Wandsbeker Zollstraße 86-90
    D-22041 Hamburg
    Telefon +49 (0) 800-0213213 (kostenfrei)
    Telefax +49 (0) 40 65696-1237
    kontakt@hek.de
    www.hek.de
  2. Vorstand

    Jens Luther

    Torsten Kafka(Stellvertreter)

  3. Gründungsjahr

    1826
  4. Versicherte

    425.000
  5. Mitarbeiter

    rund 700
  6. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Gesetzliche Krankenkasse