Heinz Martin Esser: Leading cluster Cool Silicon – Micro and nanoelectronics are the bases of modern ICT

Microchips are everywhere – in computers, smart phones, in the car, traffic control systems, medical devices, in intelligent management systems in factories in the fields of manufacturing, energy supply and development. The increasing digitalisation of our everyday life does not only mean easier and more efficient workflows; it also presents us with a great challenge, because the modern micro and nanoelectronic allround devices require energy. Lots of energy.

The worldwide use of information and communication technologies (ICT) already devours some eight per cent of the electrical energy generated globally, thereby causing around two per cent of global CO2 emissions. Due to the strong growth of the ICT markets, a three-fold in­­crease in ICT energy needs is predicted by the year 2020. This challenge has been taken on by the associates of the leading cluster “Cool Silicon” in Europe’s largest microelectronic business location, “Silicon Saxony”. Since 2009, institutions of higher education and research in­­stitutes in the Freiberg-Chemnitz-Dresden triangle have been working jointly with small and medium-sized com­­panies as well as internationally active large companies to develop intelligent solutions for modern ICT.

Microelectronic expertise from Sax­­­ony for energy-efficient ICT. The leading cluster “Cool Silicon – En­­ergy Efficiency Innovations from Silicon Saxony”, which is subsi­dised by the Federal Ministry of Education and Re­­search as part of the High-tech Strategy, stakeholders such as large international companies like Global­foun­­dries, Infineon, X-FAB and Zentrum Mikro­elektronik Dres­den AG and the strong locally grown networks are pooling their expertise for energy-efficient microelectronics. Jointly they have declared war on conventional power guzzlers. The project partners in the leading cluster are together developing innovative IT solutions, which will significantly reduce energy use in the area of ICT, all the way down to energy-self-sufficient systems.

Glofo_wafer_6_bearbeitet

The Cool Silicon project partners are working hand in hand on energy-efficient IT systems and the correspond­ing infrastructure by bundling their forces in three areas. In the “Micro and Nanotechnologies” area, researchers are busy with the basic technologies for energy-efficient ICT products and their application in computers. In the second area, “Communication Systems”, the focus is on increasing energy efficiency in mobile communication systems and the necessary system components. In the third research area of the leading cluster, “Sensors Network”, work is being carried out on energy-self-sufficient and wireless-network sensor systems. These can then come into use everywhere where a connection to the traditional supply system is not possible, such as in aeroplanes made of carbon composites.

Chips are not everything, but without chips, there is nothing. With their work, they do more than just lay the foundation to ensure that Germany will continue to be a high-tech location with innovative strength. The technologies developed here also stimulate the traditional industrial branches, from mechanical engineering to aerospace technology all the way to the automotive engineering, medical technology and manufacturing in­­dustries. It is for good reason that ICT has been defined by the European Commission as one of the “Key Enabling Technologies” for a Europe that remains strong for the long term; after all, it is a cross-sectional technology that forms the basis for a sustainable economy.

Glofo_cleanroom_1_bearbeitet

Intelligent technologies for a competitive economy. The Silicon Saxony region unites the most important compo­nents of modern ICT: intelligent software and powerful hardware. The chips, sensors and transmission modules that are developed here form the heart of the networked society. The local industrial firms and research institutes laid down the bases for a secure ICT in the past and will continue to be the drivers of technology. The German microelectronics sector is strong, but it encounters increasing competition. Especially against the background of the latest data scandal, however, the production sites existing in Silicon Saxony represent a significant competitive advantage for the German economy: they keep Germany independent of chips from competing markets such as the US and Asia. This is of immense importance, for what use is the most secure software, the most sophis­­ticated data structure, if the hardware on which it is in­­stalled itself poses a security risk for public and private business data? If it is possible to more or less configure chips and sensors already ex works so that they regularly “send signals home”, how secure can modern military systems, company data, power plants and traffic control systems be?

Silicon-Europe_bearbeitet

In October 2012, the leading European microelectronic clusters founded the cluster alliance “Silicon Europe – The Leaders for Innovative Electronics” in Dresden.

Using cooperative experiences successfully at the Euro­­pean level. In order to meet the technological and economic challenges, Europe’s leading microelectronic loca­­tions have come together in a cluster alliance, “Silicon Europe – The Leaders for Innovative Electronics”. Here Silicon Saxony has been working together with the other large microelectronic clusters in the Netherlands, Bel­gium, France and Austria in order to secure the position of European microelectronics and above all to strengthen it internationally. Successful work in this transnational confederation is based not least on the Cool Silicon expe­ri­­ence on how to facilitate cooperation across different organisations.
Technological expertise and innovative strength in combination with tight networks and strong cooperation among industry, science and administration – these are factors that have enabled the Cool Silicon leading cluster over the past years not only to develop energy-­efficient innovative products for modern industrial appli­cations, but also to create resilient structures for a strong European microelectronics industry.

 

Portrait_Esser_bearbeitetThe author, who was born in 1955, studied engineering and economics in Cologne. For several years he worked in various positions in building and clean room technology before becoming CEO of  Roth & Rau – Ortner GmbH in 1999. Since 2002, he has also been a member of the board of the industry-wide network of the microelectronics in Saxony, Silicon Saxony e.V., which was founded in 2001.

Heinz Martin Esser: Spitzencluster Cool Silicon – Mikro- und Nanoelektronik sind die Grundlage moderner IKT

Mikrochips sind überall – in Computern, Smartphones, im Auto, in Verkehrsleitsystemen, medizinischen Geräten, intelligenten Steuerungssystemen in Fabriken in Produktion, Energieversorgung und Entwicklung. Diese zunehmende Digitalisierung unseres Alltags bedeutet  nicht nur Erleichterungen und effizientere Arbeitsabläufe, sie stellt uns  auch vor eine große Herausforderung: Denn die modernen mikro- und nanoelektronischen Alleskönner benötigen Energie. Viel Energie.

Der weltweite Einsatz von Informations- und Kommuni­kationstechnologien (IKT) verschlingt bereits heute etwa acht Prozent der global erzeugten elektrischen Energie und verursacht damit rund zwei Prozent des weltweiten CO2-Ausstoßes. Wegen des starken Wachstums der IKT-­Märkte wird für das Jahr 2020 eine Verdreifachung des IKT-Energiebedarfs prognostiziert. Dieser Herausforde­rung stellen sich die Partner des Spitzenclusters „Cool Silicon“ an Europas größtem Mikroelektronikstandort „Silicon Saxony“. Im Dreieck Freiberg – Chemnitz – Dresden entwickeln seit 2009 Hoch­schulen und For­schungsinstitute gemeinsam mit kleinen und mittelstän­dischen Firmen und international agierenden Großun­ternehmen intelligente Lösungen für moderne IKT.

Sächsisches Mikroelektronik-Know-­how für energieeffiziente IKT. Im vom Bundesministerium für Bil­dung und Forschung im Rahmen der Hightech-Strategie der Bundesregierung geförderten Spitzencluster „Cool Silicon – Energy Efficiency Innovations from Silicon Saxony“ bündeln die Akteure wie die internationalen Großun­ter­nehmen Globalfoundries, Infineon, X-FAB oder die Zen­­trum Mikroelektronik Dresden AG und die starken ge­­wachsenen Netzwerke vor Ort ihre Expertise für ener­gie­­­effiziente Mikroelektronik. Gemeinsam haben sie konventionellen Stromfressern den Kampf angesagt. Die Projekt­partner im Spitzencluster entwickeln gemeinsam innovative IT-Lösungen, die den Energieverbrauch im Bereich der IKT deutlich senken – bis hin zu energieautarken Systemen.

Glofo_wafer_6_bearbeitet

Die Cool-Silicon-Projektpartner arbeiten Hand in Hand an energieeffizienten IT-Systemen sowie der entsprechen­den Infrastruktur und bündeln ihre Kräfte in drei Areas. Im Bereich „Mikro- und Nanotechnologie“ beschäftigen sich die Forscher mit den Basistechnologien für energieeffiziente IKT-Produkte sowie deren Anwendung in Computern. Im zweiten Bereich „Kommunikations­sys­teme“ steht die Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz in mobilen Kommunikationssystemen und den notwendigen Systemkomponenten im Fokus. Im dritten For­schungs­bereich des Spitzenclusters „Sensornetzwerke“ wird an energieautarken und drahtlos vernetzten Sen­sor­systemen gearbeitet. Diese können dann überall dort zum Einsatz kommen, wo eine Anbindung an klassische Versorgungssysteme nicht möglich ist – etwa in Flugzeugen aus Kohlefaserverbundstoffen.

Chips sind nicht alles, aber ohne Chips ist alles nichts. Mit ihrer Arbeit legen sie nicht nur die Grundlagen für einen weiterhin innovationsstarken Hochtechnologie­standort Deutschland. Die hier entwickelten Technolo­gien beflügeln auch die traditionellen Industriezweige – vom Maschinenbau über die Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik bis hin zu Automobilbau, Medizintechnik und der Ferti­gungsindustrie. Nicht umsonst ist die IKT eine der von der Europäischen Kommission definierten „Key Enab­ling Technologies“ für ein langfristig starkes Europa, bildet sie doch als Querschnittstechnologie das Funda­ment für eine zukunftsfähige Wirtschaft.

Glofo_cleanroom_1_bearbeitet

Intelligente Technologien für eine wettbewerbsfähige Wirtschaft. Die Region Silicon Saxony verbindet dabei die wichtigen Komponenten moderner IKT: Intelligente Software und leistungsfähige Hardware. Die hier entwickel­ten Chips, Sensoren und Übertragungsmodule sind das Herz der vernetzten Gesellschaft. Die ansässigen Indus­­trie­­unternehmen und Forschungseinrich­tungen haben in der Vergangenheit die Grundlagen für eine sichere IKT gelegt und werden weiterhin Technologietreiber sein. Die deutsche Mikroelektronik ist stark – sieht sich aber einer zunehmenden Konkurrenz ausgesetzt. Ge­­rade vor dem Hintergrund der jüngsten Datenskandale stellen die in Silicon Saxony vorhandenen Fertigungs­stätten jedoch einen entscheidenden Wettbewerbsvorteil für die deutsche Wirtschaft dar: Sie halten Deutschland unabhängig von Chips aus Konkurrenzmärkten wie den USA und Asien. Das ist von immenser Bedeutung, denn: Was nützt die sicherste Software, die durchdachteste Datenstruktur, wenn die Hardware, auf der sie installiert ist, selbst ein Sicherheitsrisiko für öffentliche und privatwirtschaftliche Daten bietet? Wenn Chips und Sensoren quasi werkseitig bereits so konfiguriert sein können, dass sie regelmäßig „nach Hause funken“, wie sicher können dann moderne militärische Systeme, Firmen­daten, Kraftwerke und Verkehrsleitsysteme sein?

Silicon-Europe_bearbeitet

Im Oktober 2012 gründen die führenden europäischen Mikroelektronikcluster in Dresden die Clusterallianz „Silicon Europe – The Leaders for Innovative Electronics“.

Kooperationserfahrungen auf europäischer Ebene erfolgreich nutzen. Um den technologischen und wirtschaftspolitischen Herausforderungen gewachsen zu sein, haben sich Europas führende Mikroelektronikstand­orte zur Clusterallianz „Silicon Europe – The Leaders for Innovative Electronics“ zusammengefunden. Hier arbeitet Silicon Saxony mit den anderen großen Mikro­elektronikclustern in den Niederlanden, Belgien, Frank­reich und Österreich zusammen, um die Position der europäischen Mikroelektronik weiter zu festigen und vor allem international zu stärken. Die erfolgreiche Arbeit in diesem transnationalen Verbund basiert nicht zuletzt auf den Cool-Silicon-Erfahrungen, wie Kooperation über Organisationsgrenzen hinweg funktionieren kann.

Technologie-Know-how und Innovationskraft in Verbin­dung mit engen Netzwerken und starken Kooperationen zwischen Industrie, Wissenschaft und Administration – damit ist es im Spitzencluster Cool Silicon in den ver­gangen Jahren gelungen, nicht nur energieeffiziente Produktinnovationen für moderne Industrieanwendun­gen zu entwickeln, sondern auch belastbare Strukturen für eine starke europäische Mikroelektronikbranche zu schaffen.

 

Portrait_Esser_bearbeitetDer 1955 geborene Autor hat Ingenieur- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Köln studiert. Er war mehrere Jahre in verschiedenen Funktionen in der Gebäude- und Reinraumtechnik tätig, bevor er 1999 die Geschäftsführung der Roth & Rau – Ortner GmbH übernahm. Seit 2002 ist er zudem Vorstandsmitglied des 2001 gegründeten Branchennetzwerks der sächsischen Mikroelektronik Silicon Saxony e.V.