Heinz Fenrich: A climate for growth – the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion

The Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion (TRK) lies at the intersection of two of the most important European transport corridors, the Paris – Budapest/Bratislava axis and the Rotterdam – Genoa axis. Techno­log­i­­­­cal­­ly, economically and culturally it be­­longs to the European top class. In the midst of the superb natural landscape be­­tween the Black Forest, the Rhine and Alsace in France, Germany’s sunniest region offers an ideal working and residential environ­­ment with ideal trans­­port connections, a well-developed in­­fra­­structure, attractive cultural pursuits and great shopping. Many international­ly well-known compa­nies have their head offices here and ben­­efit from the internationally important edu­­cational and research scene. The Karlsruhe Techno­logy­Region occupies one of the leading po­­si­­tions in the competition with the most important business centres in Germany, the rest of Europe and the USA.

Verkehrsknoten

Networking and cooperation as guarantees of success. The TRK Action Group comprises ten towns, four administrative districts and one re­­gional association. Its task is to optimize cooperation between business, science, culture and the authorities and promote regional political interests. Back in 1987, the TRK was formed by the main urban centres and both administrative districts in Baden in order to face the challenges of the future to­­gether. This suc­­cessful mod­­el was joined by more members in the years that followed and the TRK’s last ex­­pan­­sion was onto the western bank of the Rhine to the federal state of Rhineland-Palatinate. Today the TRK has a total of over 1.2 million inhabitants on a surface area of 3,240 square kilometres. Its econom­­ic per­for­­mance has been over the average for Germany for years. Of every 1,000 economically active people, 172 work in technology-intensive sectors – a level scarcely found in any other region in Europe. Investors have access to 350 hectares of industrial and commercial land that can be built on immediately. Our cities and towns offer well-developed com­­mer­­cial locations. The offer ranges from land-conversion areas such as the Cité in Baden-Baden or the Baden-Airpark in Rhein­­münster through distinct in­­dus­­trial areas such as Wörth am Rhein to the Technology Park Karlsruhe or the Tech­­nologie- und Ökologiedorf Bruchsal (Tech­­nology and Ecol­­ogy Village in Bruchsal).
Central tri-national
integration. Due to its central lo­­cation in the South­­ern Rhine region, the TRK functions as a hinge between Germany, France and Switzerland and between two linguistic regions, opening up major potential for development in a Europe that is growing together.

The tri-national Southern Rhine region is well on the way to becoming the Tri-Na­­tion­­al Southern Rhine Metro­po­litan Region. The Southern Rhine re­­gion con­­tains over 600 business-linked re­­search centres, and over 60 universities, univer­­sities of applied sciences and higher universities of applied sciences offer courses for more than 130,000 students.


KA_2_Schlossgarten

Special strength: technology transfer to the business community.
Ideas from Karlsruhe and the region change the world – this happened in the past and has stayed that way to the present. In the series of great names we find the Karlsruhe native Carl Benz, the inventor of the motor car, and Freiherr Drais von Sauerbronn, the in­­ventor of the running wheels, who hailed the introduc­­tion of the age of mobility. Heinrich Hertz laid the foundation stone of our modern information age with the invention of electro-magnetic waves at the Universität Karlsruhe (TH) at the end of the 19th century. And the Karlsruhe scientist Karl Steinbuch start­­ed the con­­cept of “computer science”. Fifteen years later, Germany’s first fac­­ulty of computer science was formed at the Universität Karlsruhe and today it is still the largest and best-known in the German-speaking regions of Europe. With the conversion to the Karlsruhe In­­sti­­tute of Technology (KIT), the Uni­ver­­sität Karlsruhe and the Forschungs­zen­­trum Karlsruhe (Karlsruhe Research Centre) have removed the traditional barriers between university and extra-mural research cen­­tres. The partners among the world’s ma­­jor research centres, which have proven them­­selves over the decades, will position themselves in this joint organization.

Not only the numerous universities, col­­leges and research centres are particu­­larly well-linked, technology transfer to the commercial community is one of the region’s particular strengths. Eleven trans­­fer facilities of the Steinbeis Foun­­dation have been established at the Hoch­schule für Technik und Wirtschaft Karlsruhe (Karls­­ruhe College of Tech­nology and Busi­­ness) alone. The nanoValley.eu ini­tia­­tive has its origins in the close cooper­ation between the TRK and the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region. Operationally it is equipped and sup­­port­­ed by partners in Baden-Württem­berg, Rhineland-Palatinate and Hessen. Si­­mul­­taneously the partners regard them­selves as protagonists of a European science and technology region competing inter­­­­nationally for knowledge and personal­ities for research and the business community. This is the reason they are active across political and institutional borders in their attempt to achieve a joint nanoValley.eu.

Karte-TRK-Region

The IT region with the largest European software cluster. Spin-outs are pushed not only by the KIT and the universities. In the old tradition of helping young companies gain a foothold in the market, the Karlsruhe KEIMforum alone has helped more than 180 compa­­nies get started. The region is character­­ized by a positive start-up climate at uni­­versities and research centres, not least because it has won the EU’s “Award of Excellence for Innovative Regions” three times.

The CyberForum has become one of the big­­gest and most successful high-tech en­­tre­­preneur networks, in which 750 mem­­bers of the so-called “times” sectors (tele­­commu­nications, information technology, media, entertainment and security tech­­nology) now work together. Thanks to the great commit­­ment of the CyberForum, the Karlsruhe IT region is one of the winners in the German government’s Clusters of Ex­­­cel­­lence Com­pe­­tition. Together with Darmstadt, Kaisers­lau­­tern, Saarbrücken and Walldorf, Karlsruhe forms the cluster “Software­inno­­vationen für das digitale Unternehmen” (“Soft­­ware Inno­­vations for the Digital Com­­pany”), the biggest soft­ware cluster in Eu­­rope. This was a decision that will speed up the link between the business community and research centres in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion even more quickly; it will also guarantee innovative new products for the companies of the fu­­ture and more skilled jobs in our region.

Foto-OB2008The author was elected deputy mayor of the city of Karlsruhe in 1991 and Lord Mayor in 1998. He was re-elected in 2006. He was previously a bank officer and graduate accountant in the Baden-Württemberg state public service, the state legislature’s parliamentary service and at the Baden-Württemberg State Credit Bank.

Heinz Fenrich: Klima für Wachstum – TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe

An der Schnittstelle zweier der bedeu­tends­­ten europäischen Verkehrskorri­do­­­­­­re, der Magistrale Paris – Budapest/Bra­­­­­­tislava und der Transversale Rotter­dam – Genua, liegt die TechnologieRe­gion Karls­­­­ruhe (TRK). Technologisch, wirt­­schaft­­lich und kulturell gehört sie zur europäischen Spitzenklasse. Inmitten der wunderbaren Naturlandschaft zwischen Schwarz­wald, Rhein und Elsass bietet die sonnigste Region Deutschlands ein ideales Arbeits- und Wohnumfeld mit optimalen Verkehrs­­anbindungen, guter Infrastruktur, attrak­­tiven Kulturange­bo­­ten und tollen Ein­­kaufsmöglichkeiten. Weltweit bekannte Unternehmen haben hier ihren Sitz und profitieren von der in­­ternational bedeutenden Bildungs- und Forschungs­­­land­schaft. Im Wettbewerb mit den wichtigs­ten Wirtschaftsstand­orten in Deutschland, Europa und den USA steht die TechnologieRegion Karls­ruhe auf den ersten Plätzen.

Verkehrsknoten

Vernetzung und Kooperation als Erfolgs­­garanten. Zehn Städte, vier Landkreise und ein Re­­gionalverband bilden die Aktions­gemein­­schaft TRK, um die Zusammen­arbeit von Wirtschaft, Wissen­­schaft, Kultur und Ver­­waltung zu optimieren und um gemeinsam für die regional­poli­­tischen Interes­sen einzutreten. Bereits 1987 gründeten auf badischer Seite die größeren Städ­te und die beiden Landkreise die TRK, um sich gemeinsam den Herausforde­rungen der Zukunft zu stellen. In den Folge­­jahren schlossen sich weitere Mit­­glieder dem Erfolgs­modell an, zuletzt erweiterte sich die TRK auf die andere Seite des Rheins nach Rheinland-Pfalz. Die TRK zählt heute auf einer Fläche von 3.240 Quadratkilo­metern insgesamt über 1,2 Millionen Einwohner. Die Wirt­­schaftsleistung liegt seit Jahren über dem Bundesdurch­schnitt. Von 1.000 Erwerbstätigen arbeiten 172 in technologieintensiven Branchen – so viele wie in kaum einer anderen Region Europas. Investoren stehen 350 Hektar sofort be­­baubare Industrie- und Gewerbe­­flä­chen zur Verfügung. Unsere Städte und Ge­­meinden bieten gut erschlossene Un­­ter­­nehmensstandorte. Das Angebot reicht von Konversionsflächen, wie der Cité in Baden-Baden oder dem Baden-Airpark in Rheinmünster, über ausgeprägte In­­dustriestandorte wie Wörth am Rhein bis hin zum Technologiepark Karlsruhe oder dem Technologie- und Ökologie­dorf in Bruchsal.

Zentrale trinationale Verflechtung. Durch die zentrale Lage im Oberrhein­gebiet fungiert die TRK als Scharnier zwischen Deutschland, Frankreich und der Schweiz und zwischen zwei Sprach­­räumen, was ein großes Entwicklungs­potenzial im zusammenwachsenden Eu­­­­ropa eröffnet.
Der trinationale Verflechtungsraum ist auf dem Weg zur Trinationalen Metro­pol­­­re­­gion Oberrhein. Am Oberrhein sind über 600 wirtschaftsnahe Forschungs­ein­rich­­tungen angesiedelt. Mehr als 60 Uni­­ver­­sitäten, Fachhochschulen und hö­­here Fachschulen bieten Studienmög­lich­kei­­ten für mehr als 130.000 Stu­die­­rende.


KA_2_Schlossgarten

Besondere Stärke: Technologie­­trans­­fer in die Wirtschaft. Ideen aus Karlsruhe und der Region ver­­ändern die Welt – das war in der Ver­gan­­gen­­heit so und das ist
bis heute so ge­­blieben. In der Reihe der großen Na­­men finden sich die Karlsruher Carl Benz, der Erfinder des Automobils, und Freiherr Drais von Sauerbronn, der Erfinder des Laufrads, die das mobile Zeitalter ein­ge­­läutet haben. Heinrich Hertz legte an der Universität Karlsruhe mit seiner Ent­­deckung der elektromagnetischen Wel­­len Ende des 19. Jahr­­hunderts die Ba­­sis für unser modernes Informa­tions­zeit­al­­ter. Und der Karlsruher Wissenschaftler Karl Steinbuch prägte 1957 hier den Be­­griff „Informatik“. 15 Jahre später wur­­de an der Universität Karlsruhe die ers­­te Informatik-Fakultät in Deutschland ge­­gründet, bis heute die größte und re­­nom­­mierteste im gesamten deutschsprachi­gen Raum. Die traditionellen Schranken zwischen universitären und außeruniver­­sitären Forschungs­einrich­tun­­gen haben die Universität Karlsruhe und das For­­schungszentrum Karlsruhe mit dem Zu­­sammenschluss zum Karls­ruher Insti­­tut für Technologie (KIT) be­­sei­­tigt. Unter die­­sem gemeinsamen Dach wer­­den sich die über Jahrzehnte er­­prob­­ten Partner unter den Großforschungs­einrichtun­gen der Welt positionieren.

Exzellent vernetzt sind nicht nur die zahl­­reichen Hochschulen und For­­schungs­einrichtungen, auch der Technologie­trans­fer in die Wirtschaft ist eine der besonde­­ren Stärken der Region. Allein an der Hochschule Karlsruhe für Technik und Wirtschaft sind elf Transfereinrich­tun­gen der Steinbeis-Stiftung angesiedelt. Die Initiative nanoValley.eu hat ihren Ur­­sprung in der engen Kooperation zwischen der TRK und der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar. Sie wird von Partnern in Baden-Württemberg, Rheinland-Pfalz und Hessen operativ ausgestaltet und un­­terstützt. Zugleich verstehen sich die Partner als Protagonisten einer europä­ischen Wissen­­schafts- und Technolo­gie­­region, die im weltweiten Wettbewerb um Wissen und Persönlichkeiten für For­­schung und Unternehmen steht. Des­halb betätigen sie sich über politische und institu­­tionelle Grenzen hinweg für ein gemeinsames nanoValley.eu.

Karte-TRK-Region

IT-Region mit größtem europäischem Softwarecluster. Ausgründungen werden nicht nur durch das KIT und die Hoch­­schulen vorangetrieben. In der langen Tradition, jungen Unter­­neh­men den Ein­­stieg in den Markt zu ermög­­lichen, hat allein das Karls­ru­­her KEIMforum mehr als 180 Unterneh­mens­­grün­dun­­gen unter­­stützt. Ein po­­si­­tives Gründerklima an Hochschulen und For­­schungs­­ein­­rich­­tun­­gen prägt die Re­­gion, und nicht zuletzt deshalb wurde sie bereits dreimal mit dem „Award of Excellence for Innovative Regions“ der EU ausgezeichnet.

Zu einem der größten und erfolgreichsten Hightech-Unternehmer-Netzwerke hat sich das CyberForum entwickelt, in dem mittler­­­­­­weile 750 Mitglieder der soge­­nannten Times-Branchen (Telekom­mu­ni­­kation, In­­for­­mationstechnologie, Me­­dien, Enter­tain­­­­­­­­­ment und Sicherheits­tech­­nik) zusam­men­­­­arbeiten. Dank des gro­­ßen Engage­ments des CyberForums ge­­hört die IT-Region Karlsruhe zu den Gewinnern im Spitzen­­cluster-Wettbe­werb der Bundes­­­­regierung. Zusammen mit Darmstadt, Kaiserslautern, Saar­brü­cken und Walldorf bildet Karlsruhe den Clus­­ter „Software­innovationen für das digitale Unter­­neh­men“, den größten Soft­­ware-Cluster Eu­­ro­­pas. Eine Entschei­dung, die künftig die Vernetzung der Unter­nehmen und For­­schungseinrich­tun­­­gen in der Techno­logie­Region Karlsruhe noch schneller voran­­treiben und innovative neue Produkte für die Unternehmen der Zukunft und weitere qualifizierte Ar­­beits­­­­plätze in unserer Region schaffen wird.

Foto-OB2008Der Autor wurde 1991 zum Bürger­meister, 1998 zum Oberbürger­meister der Stadt Karlsruhe gewählt. 2006 wurde er von den Bürgern in seinem Amt bestätigt. Zuvor war der gelernte Bankkaufmann und Diplom-Finanzwirt beruflich in der Finanz­­verwaltung des Landes, im Parlamenta­rischen Dienst im Landtag und bei der Landeskredit­bank Baden-Württemberg tätig.