Hauke Jagau: The Hannover Region ­– A driving force for Niedersachsen

Local politics from one source, synergy effects created by bundling competencies and tasks as well as an increased awareness of the economic region were the main stimuli for the formation of the Hannover Region in 2001.

The Hannover Region is a special form of local administration and is the legal successor of the district of Hannover and the Greater Hannover local government association. The foundation of the Region created an economic and living environ­ment with economic potential equal to that of a small federal state. Nearly 1.1 million people live in the Hannover Region in an area covering nearly 2,300 square kilometres, which is roughly equal to the size of the Saarland and represents nearly 15 per cent of the entire population of Niedersachsen. Die Hannover Region is, among other things, responsible for public transport and waste disposal, as well as for local welfare services, vocational schools and municipal hospitals. Further roles include those in environmental pro­­tection, regional planning and recreation, as well as promoting business and employment.


By combining the economic power of 21 municipalities, the Hannover Region has become the centre of growth and innovation in Niedersachsen. With nearly 450,000 workers paying social security contributions, the Hannover Region pro­­vides about 18 per cent of the jobs in Niedersachsen and accounts for nearly 20 per cent of the state’s gross domestic product. The Hannover Region model is considered exemplary when it comes to combining municipal competencies and potential and drawing synergy effects from this.

There are many examples of these effects: the hospitals in the city and district were merged to form Klinikum Region Hannover GmbH. In 13 locations, the clinic offers a healthcare system for people close to where they live. At the same time, employees, management and the Hannover Region worked together to successfully restructure the clinic so that, in contrast to the former city and district hospitals, it now breaks even. By laying the foundation stone for a new building costing 180 million euros, the company has today set the stage for tomorrow’s healthcare.

With 16 vocational schools, the Region is also the largest provider of vocational training in Niedersachsen. Here, nearly 40,000 people receive vocational training each year. Almost 300 training courses are on offer. At the same time, the educational landscape has been consistently restructured. Vocational schools with similar course offers have become competence centres, specialising in individual sectors of the economy. Because of this, the Hannover Region has access to edu­­cational institutions with tailored educational profiles and technical equipment which can meet the demands of the busi­­ness community.

2003-115-07-Kopie

One of the key stimuli behind the creation of the Region was to anchor the economic and living environment in the perception of companies and visitors, while also increasing attention on the Region across the country. This can only be successful with centralised, coordinated structures and measures. The equal representation of the state capital and the Hannover Region in the hannoverimpuls GmbH ensures that the activities and campaigns are coordinated, domestic marketing is tied to image marketing and a concentrated profile-building process for the entire economic area can be initiated and executed. The effect: the location is increasingly present in the national trade press, a significant increase in the number of location enquiries by external companies has been recorded and the number of tourism-related over­­night stays is steadily increasing.

The significance of the Hannover Region business location for Niedersachsen is clear: as an administrative centre, all major state authorities and ministries are anchored in the region, and with the seat of the major banks and insurance companies in Hannover, it is equally the financial and insurance centre of Niedersachsen. In addition, the Hannover Region is known around the world as an internationally significant location for exhibitions and trade fairs.

As a business location, Hannover also enjoys an outstanding position in the logistics sector. A globalised flow of goods, the increasing importance of Eastern Europe and the expansion of the deep-water harbour JadeWeserPort have turned the Hannover Region into a logistics hub thanks to its ideal
connections to all modes of transport: road, water, rail and air, thus making it an ideal location for transport companies and logistics-related sectors. The growing demand from companies and project developers promises that the Region will enjoy sustained importance for Nieder­sachsen – the location is “on the map”. Many logistics companies with European or global distribution functions are now based in Hannover. Since 2003, over 800 million euros in new investments have been made in this sector alone in the Hannover Region and 5,000 new jobs have been created.

Along with its importance to the logistics sector, the location in Niedersachsen is also the focal point and centre of attraction for sectors high in growth and innovation. As early as 2001, the Region iden­­tified high-growth, future-oriented sectors. Additional economic promotion and devel­­op­­ment focuses have been added to these over the last ten years. Since then, the automotive, energy, health, information and communications technology and creative sectors, as well as production technol­­­ogy, have been the focus of an economic pro­­motion measure which is embedded in a functioning network of local and regional economic promotion measures, clearly separating itself from the standard intraregional location competition. A business-friendly location needs companies to have direct access to support in all matters of daily business. This support includes short communications and administrative lines, classic business services such as financing and advice on obtaining subsidies as well as specific practical areas of expertise such as loan mediation, restructuring advice for companies facing economic difficulties or innovations and technological advice. The economic promotion measures offered by the 21 municipalities in the Hannover Region provide an expert point of contact for all companies in the region. For this purpose, the economic promotion services on a regional level have specific expertise, services and promotional instruments available, complete their on-site perform­­ance capabilities and promote sector focuses in the business region with special support for foundation and growth.

Another excellent example of this is coop­­eration in the area of restructuring consult­­­ancy. This gives a company threatened by liquidity problems the opportunity to discuss the first steps for solving the pro­­blem with the contact person where the company is – after all, this person is most familiar with the local conditions. However, if broader business analyses or comprehensive restructuring advice is required and possible, the regional economic pro­­motion service will also be consulted. In a comprehensive process including all companies, banks, possible creditors and tax advisers involved, a pragmatic solution is worked out with the goal of keeping the company in business. This procedure is especially useful for small and medium-­sized companies, which due to the lack of economic attractiveness in such a case would not find support in the market and which would most likely have to file for bankruptcy. A success rate of 70 per cent of companies being kept in the market em­­pha­­sises the potential this network offers.

Time and again, future-oriented and inno­­vative paths are taken in the Hannover Region in order to confront current de­­vel­­op­­ments and problems successfully – because the only answer to global competition lies in strong regionalisation.

However, the Hannover Region is more than just a strong business location. It also offers a high quality of life, with a large number of recreational and cultural attractions. An excellent opera house, a wide range of theatres and museums such as the Sprengel Museum or the Wilhelm-Busch-Gesellschaft are just a few examples, and the zoo is also not to be forgotten. An excellent public transport network ensures that these services and attractions are easily accessible and it’s also possible to take the step from urban spaces to the countryside – and vice versa – at any time.


Yukon-Bay_Eisbär_Panorama-Kopie

 

 

Jagau-Hauke-Portrait-KopieThe author studied social sciences and law at the university of Hannover. Among other things, he worked at the Ministry of Justice of Niedersachsen and in the State Chancellory. From 1996 to 2006, he was mayor of the town of Laatzen, before assuming the position as president of the Hannover Region in November 2006.

Hauke Jagau: Region Hannover – Impulsgeber für Niedersachsen

Kommunal verankerte Politik aus einem Guss, Synergieeffekte durch Bündelung von Kompetenzen und Aufgaben sowie eine bessere Wahrnehmbarkeit des Wir­­t­­schaftsraumes waren zentrale Impulse für die Gründung der Region Hannover im Jahr 2001.

Die Region Hannover ist eine kommunale Gebietskörperschaft besonderer Art und der Rechts­­­nachfolger des Landkreises Hannover und des Kommunalverbandes Großraum Hannover. Mit der Regions­grün­dung wurde ein Wirtschafts- und Lebens­­raum mit dem wirtschaftlichen Potenzial eines kleinen Bundeslandes geschaffen. In der Region Hannover leben auf einer Fläche von rund 2.300 Quadrat­kilo­metern gut 1,1 Millionen Menschen, was etwa den Dimen­sionen des Saarlandes und rund 15 Prozent der Gesamtbevölkerung Niedersachsens entspricht. Die Region Hannover ist dabei unter anderem Trä­gerin des öffentlichen Personen­nahver­kehrs und der Abfall­ent­sorgung, aber auch der örtlichen Sozial­­hilfe, der berufsbilden­den Schulen und der kommunalen Kranken­häuser. Umwelt, Regionalplanung und Naherholung sowie Wirtschafts- und Beschäftigungs­för­de­­rung sind weitere Aufgabenbereiche.


Durch die Bündelung der Wirtschafts­kraft von 21 Kommunen ist die Region Hannover zum Zentrum für Wachstum und Inno­vation in Niedersachsen geworden. Mit knapp 450.000 sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten stellt sie rund 18 Prozent der Arbeitsplätze in Nieder­sachsen und erwirtschaftet gut 20 Pro­­zent des niedersächsischen Brutto­in­lands­produktes. Das Modell der Region Hannover gilt als beispielgebend, wenn es darum geht, kommunale Kompetenzen und Potenziale zu bündeln und Synergie­­effekte daraus zu schöpfen.

Beispiele für diese Effekte gibt es viele: In der Klinikum Region Hannover GmbH wurden die Krankenhäuser von Stadt und Landkreis zusammengeführt. An 13 Standorten bietet das Klinikum eine wohnortnahe Gesundheitsversorgung für die Menschen. Gleichzeitig ist es im Schul­­ter­­­­schluss von Beschäftigten, Ge­­schäfts­führung und der Region Hannover gelungen, das Klinikum so zu restrukturieren, dass es, anders als früher Stadt- und Kreis­­krankenhäuser, kostendeckend arbeitet. Mit der Grundsteinlegung für einen Neubau in Höhe von 180 Millionen Euro hat das Unternehmen die Weichen für die Gesundheitsversorgung von mor­gen gestellt.

Mit 16 berufsbildenden Schulen ist die Region zudem der größte Träger der beruf­­lichen Bildung in Niedersachsen. Rund 40.000 Menschen werden hier jedes Jahr auf einen Beruf vorbereitet. Das Ange­bot umfasst circa 300 Ausbildungs­gänge. Gleichzeitig wurde die Bildungs­land­schaft konsequent umgestaltet. Aus berufsbildenden Schulen mit ähnlichen Angeboten wurden Kompetenzzentren, die sich auf einzelne Branchen spezialisierten. Auf diese Weise verfügt die Region Hannover über Bildungseinrichtungen mit einem passgenauen Ausbildungsprofil und einer technischen Ausstattung, die mit den An­­forderungen in den Unternehmen Schritt halten kann.

2003-115-07-Kopie

Einer der zentralen Impulse zur Regions­­gründung war, den Wirtschafts- und Lebens­raum in der Wahrnehmung von Unternehmern und Touristen zu verankern und die überregionale Aufmerksamkeit zu verstärken. Dies gelingt nur mit zentralen, aufeinander abgestimmten Struk­­­­turen und Maßnahmen. Die paritätisch von Landeshauptstadt und Region Hannover getragene hannoverimpuls GmbH sorgt dafür, dass Aktivitäten und Kampagnen aufeinander abgestimmt werden, das Binnenmarketing mit dem Image­mar­keting verknüpft und ein konzentrierter Profilbildungsprozess für den gesamten Wirtschaftsraum initiiert und durchgeführt wird. Der Effekt: Der Standort wird überregional auch in Fachmedien stärker wahrgenommen, eine deutliche Erhöhung von Standortanfragen von externen Unter­­nehmen ist zu verzeichnen und die touris­­­musbedingten Übernachtungs­zahlen steigen kontinuierlich.

Die Bedeutung des Wirtschafts­standortes Region Hannover für Niedersachsen ist eindeutig: Als Verwaltungszentrum sind alle großen Landesbehörden und -minis­­terien in der Region verankert, mit dem Sitz der großen Banken und Versicherungen in Hannover ist sie gleichermaßen das Finanz- und Versicherungszentrum in Niedersachsen. Darüber hinaus ist die Region Hannover als international bedeut­­samer Messestandort weltweit bekannt.

Eine herausgehobene Stellung nimmt der Wirtschaftsstandort Hannover auch im Bereich der Logistik ein. Globalisierte Warenströme, die stark wachsende Bedeu­t­­ung des osteuropäischen Raums und der Ausbau des Tiefwasserhafens JadeWeser­Port machen die Region Hannover als Logistikhub mit ihrer perfekten Anbindung an die Verkehrsträger Straße, Wasser, Schiene und Luft zu einem prädestinierten Standort für Transportunternehmen und logistiknahe Branchen. Die wachsende Nachfrage von Unternehmen und Projekt­­entwicklern verspricht hier eine nachhaltige Bedeutung der Region für Nieder­­sachsen – der Standort ist „on the map“. Viele Logistikunternehmen mit europäischen oder globalen Distributions­funktionen agieren mittlerweile vom Stand­ort Hannover aus. Seit 2003 sind in diesem Bereich allein in der Region Hannover über 800 Millionen Euro Neu­­investitionen getätigt und 5.000 neue Arbeitsplätze geschaffen worden.

Jagau-Hauke-Portrait-KopieDer Autor studierte Sozial- und Rechts­­wissenschaft an der Universität Hannover. Er war unter anderem im niedersächsischen Justizministerium und in der Staats­­­­­­­kanzlei tätig. Von 1996 bis 2006 war Jagau hauptamtlicher Bürger­mei­ster der Stadt Laatzen, bevor er im Nov­em­ber 2006 das Amt des Präsidenten der Re­­­gion Hannover antrat.

Neben seiner Bedeutung für die Logistik­­branche ist der Standort in Niedersachsen gleichzeitig Kristallisationskern und Anzie­­h­ungspunkt für wachstums- und inno­­va­tionsstarke Branchen. Bereits 2001 wurden in der Region wachstumsstarke Zukunftsbranchen identifiziert und im Verlauf der vergangenen zehn Jahre um weitere Wirtschaftsförderungs- und Ent­wicklungsschwerpunkte ergänzt. Seitdem stehen die Bereiche Automotive, Ener­gie­wirtschaft, Gesundheitswirtschaft, Informations- und Kommunikations­technik, Kreativwirtschaft und Produktionstechnik im Fokus einer Wirtschaftsförderung, die eingebettet ist in ein funktionierendes Netzwerk von lokalen und regionalen Wirt­schaftsförderungen, das sich vom klassischen intraregionalen Standort­wett­bewerb abhebt. Ein wirtschaftsfreundlicher Standort setzt voraus, dass Unter­nehmen direkten Zugriff auf Unterstützung in allen Lebenslagen haben. Dazu zählen kurze Kommunikations- und Verwaltungs­wege, klassische wirtschaftsnahe Dienst­leistungen wie Finanzierungs- und Förder­mittelberatung sowie praxisorientierte Spezialkompetenzen wie Kreditmediation, Sanierungsberatung für Unternehmen in wirtschaftlicher Schieflage oder Inno­vations- und Technologieberatung. Mit den Wirtschaftsförderungen der 21 Kommunen der Region Hannover steht für jedes Unternehmen vor Ort ein kompe­­­tenter Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung. Dazu halten die Wirtschaftsförderungen auf regionaler Ebene Spezial­kompetenzen, Dienstleistungen und Förder­instrumente bereit, die die Leistungsfähigkeit vor Ort komplettieren und die Branchen­schwer­punkte im Wirtschaftsraum mit beson­derer Gründungs- und Wachstums­unter­stützung befördern.

Ein weiteres gutes Beispiel hierfür ist die Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Sanier­ungs­beratung. Ein Unternehmen mit drohenden Liquiditätsschwierigkeiten hat dadurch die Gelegenheit, mit seinem Ansprech­part­­­ner direkt am Ort seines Unter­nehm­ens­sitzes erste Möglichkeiten zur Problem­lösung zu eruieren ­– dieser ist mit den örtlichen Gegebenheiten schließlich am besten vertraut. Sind jedoch tiefer gehende betriebswirtschaftliche Analysen oder auch eine umfängliche Sanierungs­beratung not­­wendig und möglich, wird die regionale Wirt­­schaftsförderung hinzu­gezogen. In einem umfassenden Prozess mit allen beteiligten Unternehmen, Banken, möglichen Gläubigern und Steuer­beratern wird eine pragmatische Lösung erarbeitet mit dem Ziel, das Unternehmen am Markt zu halten. Dieses Vorgehen hilft insbesondere den kleinen und mittleren Unter­nehmen, die mangels wirtschaftlicher Attraktivität eines solchen Falls am Markt keine Unter­­stützung finden und zumeist Insolvenz an­­melden müssten. Eine Erfolgs­­quote von 70 Prozent von Unternehmen, die so am Markt gehalten werden konnten, unterstreicht das Potenzial dieses Netz­­werkes.

Immer wieder werden so in der Region Hannover zukunftsweisende, innovative Wege beschritten, um den aktuellen Ent­­wicklungen und Problemlagen zu begegnen – denn die richtige Antwort im globalen Wettbewerb kann nur eine starke Regionalisierung sein.

Die Region Hannover ist aber mehr als nur ein starker Wirtschaftsstandort: Sie hat auch eine hohe Lebensqualität mit einer großen Anzahl bedeutender Freizeit- und Kulturangebote. Eine hervorragende Oper, eine vielfältige Theaterlandschaft und Museen wie das Sprengel Museum oder die Wilhelm-Busch-Gesellschaft sind nur einige Beispiele dafür. Nicht vergessen werden darf bei dieser Aufzählung auch der Zoo. Der gut ausgebaute Nahverkehr sorgt dafür, dass diese Angebote sehr gut erreicht werden können und auch der Schritt von einem städtischen Lebens­­raum ins Grüne – und umgekehrt – jeder­­­­zeit möglich ist.


Yukon-Bay_Eisbär_Panorama-Kopie