Hauke Haensel: Better conditions for attractive sport – Dresden gets a new stadium

Spring 2008. Every two weeks, eight to nine thousand fans swarm to the Dres­den Rudolf-Harbig Stadium to watch the home games of Dynamo Dresden. Some may feel themselves displaced to the post-war period: Half the stadium is in ruins, mounds of debris and the remains of old grandstands are piled up. However, those with imagination can already catch a glimpse of the silhouette of the new stadium. Concrete columns mark the future floor plan of the stadium bowl, the first steps and en­­trances are cast in concrete – Dres­den’s new football stadium is growing, an arena that offers seats for 32,000 spe­ctators and fundamentally im­­­pro­ves the conditions for first-class football.
After long, sometimes tough “foreplay” – the first considerations for a stadium started in the mid 1990s – the sports facilities specialist HBM started building a new stadium in the old stadium here in autumn 2007. One and a half years earlier, the Dresden city councils gave the green light for it, the city took a guarantee for more than 40 million euros, the planning was debated in many public forums, the demolition finally began with an activity which shed light on the significance of football and Dy­­namo Dresden in East Saxony: Thou­sands came to remove the seat buck­ets or shields – and often paid con­­siderable amounts into the bank ac­­count of a newly established foundation which helps promote youth football in Dres­den.

VARIANTE-A

The stadium, which has been the home of Dynamo for about 50 years, has in actual fact got cult status. Here, the grandfathers and fathers of the young fans today already experienced great football; here Bayern München, AS Rom, FC Liverpool and Benfica Lisbon competed in the Europe Cup Games. Here, Dynamo stars such as Dixi Dör­ner, Hans-Jürgen Kreische, Ulf Kirsten or Matthias Sammer got GDR master titles and cups; national league football was shown in this stadium after 1990 until the economic crash of Dy­­namo in the mid 1990s; here the cumbersome rebuilding and the acclaimed comeback into the second league and finally the mourning of the renewed descent into the third league took place.
The up and down sways of Dynamo Dres­den since the reunification have numerous causes – one undoubtedly lies the­­re­in that the economic general conditions for professional sports, particularly for the national and even international foot­ball, in the East of Germany have only slowly been developing and currently still noticeably lag behind those of the old federal states.
Dresden and its region belong to the most dynamic economic locations in the East, the state capital is meanwhile a centre of microelectronics of Eu­­ro­pean standing; it enjoys a good reputation as a cultural and scientific metropolis; it can still re­­fer to good core industries such as the fine mechanical industry and tool and machine building industry; the VW Group produces their luxury limousines in Dres­den. But the economic structure of the city and its surroundings is shaped primarily by small and medium-sized enterprises, added to which are fortunately many newly-founded organizations supported by the research-related sector.


20080606img_4900

This is reflected in the composition of the sponsors of Dynamo: Many small and medium-sized, mostly owner-managed en­­ter­­prises involve themselves with tremendous dedication. Major sponsors seldom make an appearance, and if they do, it will be because of the commitment of organizations that in a particular manner find themselves per­­sonally connected to the development in the East. The international marketing chain, on the other hand, only in a few exceptional cases reaches as far as Dresden football.

In this situation, the building of a new, attractive stadium may be regarded as an opportunity to open doors and to im­­prove the economic survival conditions of a club which can refer to great traditions, a both large and committed following and deep roots in its home region.
The new Dresden arena possesses every­thing that is regarded as essential to play in the upper leagues in profes­­sio­nal football: well developed, safe tiers, even better possibilities to guarantee security and orderliness in the stadium, com­parably many parking spaces on the stadium premises and excellent training and match conditions for the players, the best employment opportunities for the media – and above all, also a wide selection for sponsors.

 

20071111_e9i2444

In addition to 22 VIP boxes, there is a well-equipped variable section, which is available to sponsors and interested par­ties not only during matches but also for marketing events, company functions, small congresses or exhibitions as well as sales activities. The interest shown in it as also in the boxes is great and shows what potential the stadium operators and the club management can fall back on in the future. Addi­tio­nally, there is also the possibility of hold­ing concerts and other large events in the stadium. All in all, Dynamo Dresden is in future called upon to develop new ide­as to not only better use its new “home” to its full capacity, but rather to make it into a real centre of club activities.

 


20080624imgp0790

For all the prospects that a modern sta­dium has to offer – it can only be effectively utilized if the sporting success materializes. Business environment fac­tors alone cannot be decisive. First-class football also requires a constant flow of youth development work. Dynamo Dresden can thereby draw on good preconditions, which the city of Dres­den has created with a new sports college centre. Within its immediate vicinity, boarding schools and work groups of the club’s youth development centre are situated – created with the help of the Ulf Kirsten Foundation and numerous other sponsors. Year after year, the club gets together significant amounts of money for the operation of this centre. We are convinced that this investment, as well as the new stadium, safeguards the future of football in Dresden and that of Dynamo Dresden.

Hauke-HaenselThe author was born in 1968 and has been the president of the SG Dynamo Dres­­den eV since 2007. After his degree in business administration at the Mar­tin Luther Universität Halle-Wit­tenberg, he worked at the Sparkassen­verband in Ber­lin as an association auditor from 1992–1997. From 1997–2002, he was the head of the credit department at Sparkasse Bernburg, and since 2002, he has been the chairperson of Volksbank Pirna.

Hauke Haensel: Bessere Bedingungen für attraktiven Sport – Dresden bekommt ein neues Stadion

Frühjahr 2008. Alle zwei Wochen drän­g­eln sich acht- bis neuntausend Fans im Dresdner Rudolf-Harbig-Stadion, um die Heimspiele Dynamo Dresdens zu erleben. Mancher mag sich in die Nach­kriegszeit versetzt fühlen: Das halbe Stadion ist eine Ruine, Trümmer­berge und Reste alter Tribünen türmen sich. Der Fantasiebegabte aber kann schon die Umrisse des Neuen erblicken: Be­­ton­pfeiler markieren den künftigen Grund­riss der Stadion­schüssel, erste Treppen und Zugänge sind in Beton gegossen – Dresdens neues Fußballstadion wächst, eine Arena, die 32.000 Zu­­schauern Platz bietet und die Be­­din­­gun­­gen für den Spitzenfußball grundlegend verbessert.

VARIANTE-A

Nach langem, zuweilen zähem „Vor­spiel“ – erste Überlegungen zum neuen Sta­dion gab es Mitte der 1990er Jahre – hat­te hier seit Herbst 2007 Sport­stätten­spezialist HBM damit begonnen, in das alte Stadion eine neues zu bau­­en. An­­derthalb Jahre zuvor gaben die Dres­d­ner Stadträte dafür grünes Licht, die Stadt übernahm eine Bürgschaft von rund 40 Millionen Euro, die Planung wur­den in vielen öffentlichen Foren diskutiert, der Abriss schließlich begann mit einer Aktion, die erhellte, welchen Stel­lenwert der Fußball und Dynamo Dres­den in Ostsachsen haben. Tausende ka­­men, um sich Sitzschalen oder Schil­­der ab­­zubauen – und zahlten dafür oft er­­kleckliche Summen auf das Konto ei­­­­ner neu errichteten Stiftung, die den Dres­d­ner Nachwuchsfußball fördern hilft.

Tatsächlich hat das Stadion, seit rund 50 Jahren die Heimat Dynamos, Kult­status. Hier erlebten schon die Groß­väter und Väter der heute jungen Fans großen Fußball, hier traten in Euro­­­pa­cup-Spielen Bayern München, der AS Rom, FC Liverpool oder Ben­­fi­­ca Lissa­bon an. Hierher holten Dy­­na­­mo-Stars wie Dixi Dörner, Hans-Jür­­gen Krei­­sche, Ulf Kirs­ten oder Matthias Sam­­mer DDR-Meis­tertitel und Pokale.
In diesem Sta­dion gab es nach 1990 bis zum wirtschaftlichen Crash Dy­­namos Mitte der 90er Jahre Bun­­des­­liga-Fußball zu se­­hen, hier vollzogen sich der mühsame Neu­auf­bau und der bejubelte Wiederaufstieg in die zweite Liga, und hier wurde schließ­lich der erneute Abstieg in die Regio­nalliga betrauert.


20080606img_4900

Das Auf und Ab Dynamo Dresdens seit der Wiedervereinigung hat viele Gründe – einer liegt zweifellos darin, dass sich die wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbe­ding­un­gen für den Profisport, insbesondere für den nationalen oder gar internationalen Fußball, im Osten Deutschlands nur langsam entwickeln und derzeit noch immer spürbar hinter denen in den al­­ten Bundesländern zurückbleiben.

Dresden und seine Region gehören zu den dynamischsten Wirt­schaftss­tand­orten im Osten, die Landes­haupstadt ist mittlerweile ein Zentrum der Mi­­kro­elektronik von europäischem Rang, sie genießt einen guten Ruf als Kultur- und Wissenschaftsmetropole, kann noch im­­mer auf gute Kerne der feinmechanischen Industrie, des Geräte- und des Maschinenbaus verweisen, der VW-Kon­zern produziert in Dresden seine Lu­­xus-Limousinen. Doch die Wirt­schafts­­struktur der Stadt und ihres Umfeldes ist vor allem von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen geprägt, zu denen erfreu­licherweise viele aus dem forschungsnahen Be­­reich gespeiste Neugrün­dun­gen kommen.

20071111_e9i2444

Das spiegelt sich auch wider in der Zu­­sam­­mensetzung der Sponsoren Dy­­na­­mos: Mit großer Opferbereitschaft en­­ga­gieren sich viele kleine und mittlere, meist in­­habergeführte Unter­neh­men. Gro­­ß­­spon­­soren treten selten in Erschei­nung und wenn, dann dank des Engage­ments von Unternehmern, die sich in besonderer Weise der Entwicklung im Os­ten Deutsch­­lands persönlich verbun­den fühlen. Die internationale Ver­mark­tungs­kette hingegen reicht nur in wenigen Ausnahmen bis zum Dresdner Fuß­ball.

In dieser Situation darf der Bau eines neuen, attraktiven Stadions als Chance angesehen werden, Türen zu öffnen und die wirtschaftlichen Existenz­be­ding­un­gen eines Vereins zu verbessern, der auf große Traditionen, eine ebenso große wie engagierte Fangemeinde und eine tiefe Verwurzelung in seiner Heimat­re­gion verweisen kann.


20080624imgp0790

Die neue Dresdner Arena verfügt über alles, was im Profi-Fußball heute als un­­erlässlich gilt, um oben „mitzuspielen“: gut ausgebaute, sichere Ränge, überhaupt bessere Möglichkeiten, um Si­­cherheit und Ordnung im Stadion zu gewährleisten, vergleichsweise viel Park­­raum auf dem Stadion-Gelände und hervorragende Trainings- und Wett­­kampf-Bedingungen für die Spieler, bes­te Ar­­beitsmöglichkeiten für die Me­dien – und vor allem auch ein breites An­­gebot für Sponsoren.
Neben 22 VIP-Logen gibt es einen gut ausgestatteten variablen Bereich, der Sponsoren und anderen Interessenten nicht allein während der Spiele zur Ver­fügung steht, sondern auch für Mar­ke­­t­ing-Events, Betriebsfeste, kleine Kon­gresse oder Ausstellungs- wie Verkaufs­veranstaltungen. Das Interesse daran wie an den Logen ist groß und zeigt, auf welche Potenziale die Stadion-Betreiber und die Geschäfts­führung des Vereins künftig zurückgreifen können. Dazu ge­­hört auch die Möglichkeit, im Stadion Konzerte und andere Großveran­stal­tun­gen durchzuführen. Alles in allem ist Dy­­namo Dresden künftig aufgerufen, neu­e Ideen zu entwickeln, um sein neues „Heim“ nicht nur besser auszulasten, sondern zu einem wirklichen Zentrum des Vereins­lebens zu machen.
Bei allen Chancen, die ein modernes Sta­­­dion bietet – sie können nur effektiv ge­­­­nutzt werden, wenn sich der sportliche Erfolg einstellt. Dafür sind nicht al­­­­lein wirtschaftliche Umfeld-Faktoren aus­­schlag­gebend. Spitzenfußball braucht auch eine kontinuierlich gute Nach­wuchs­arbeit. Dynamo Dresden kann da­­bei auf gute Voraussetzungen zurückgreifen, die die Stadt Dresden mit ei­­nem neuen Sportschul-Zentrum ge­­schaf­fen hat. In dessen unmittelbarer Nähe befinden sich Internats- und Arbeits­räume des Nachwuchsleistung­szentrums des Ver­eins – geschaffen mit Hilfe der Ulf Kirs­ten-Stiftung und vieler weiterer Spen­der. Der Verein bringt für den Betrieb dieses Zentrums Jahr für Jahr erhebliche Summen auf. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass dies eine In­­ves­tition ist, die, wie auch das neue Stadion, die Zukunft des Dresdner Fuß­balls und die von Dynamo Dresden sichert.

Hauke-HaenselDer 1968 geborenen Autor ist seit 2007 Präsident der SG Dynamo Dresden eV. Nach seinem Studium der Betriebs­wirt­schaftslehre an der Martin Luther Uni­ver­si­­tät Halle-Wittenberg arbeitete er 1992–1997 als Ver­bands­prüfer beim Spar­­­­­­kas­­­sen­­­ver­band in Berlin. Von 1997–2002 war er Ab­­­­teilungsleiter Kredit bei der Spar­kasse Bern­burg und seit 2002 ist er Vor­­­stands­­vorsitzender der Volks­bank Pir­­na.