Hans-Jürgen Beerfeltz Afghanistan – a land of opportunity for German companies

In reports or talks about Afghanistan, most people first think of the conflict that has prevailed in many parts of the country. When Afghanistan became the focus of public attention after the attacks of September 11, 2001, a civil war had already been raging in the country under various conditions for more than 20 years. However, it mostly went unnoticed until this point. In the years after the attacks on New York and Washington, news media coverage was concentrated primarily on the military mission in Afghanistan. If nothing else, this one-sided view caused Afghanistan to be perceived by many people in Germany foremost as a country in crisis. There is no doubt that business involvement in Afghanistan is fraught with challenges which should not go unrecognised. But when it comes to these challenges, it is important to note that there are, for example, regional and seasonal differences in the security situation. The level of danger, contrary to popular assumption, is not the same in all parts of the country. For example, the threat in most districts in the northern part of the country, where Germany has special responsibilities, is classified as low. Weak governmental administration abilities and widespread corruption are also often mentioned as obstacles to invest­­ment. Despite this, these problems are not fundamental Afghan phenomena but found unfortunately in many developing countries. In certain projects and programmes of Germany’s Federal Minis­­try for Economic Cooperation and Devel­­opment (BMZ), the battle against corruption and the strengthening of the administration in Afghanistan are being given special attention. German development assistance in Afghanistan therefore aims to improve the general business conditions in the country. Today, “Invest in Afghanistan” is a tremendous opportunity that we at the BMZ want to support in every way possible.

AFG_253-Kopie

Focusing entirely on the great challenges still facing Afghanistan does not do this diverse country justice. The brisk economic development of recent years proves that Afghanistan is a land of opportunity. Thanks to a record harvest and significant growth in its services sector, the Afghan economy recorded an economic growth rate of over 20 per cent in 2009/10; in 2010/11, the economy grew by an inflation-adjusted 8.2 per cent.

A significant portion of the gross domestic product (GDP) in agricultural Afghanistan still stems from farming. However, according to the Asian Development Bank (ADB), this percentage declined continuously from 45 per cent in 2002 to 32 per cent in 2008. In the meantime, industry and construction were able to increase their share of GDP to 26 per cent. The increas­ing significance of the service sector showed itself most clearly by generating 42 per cent of the country’s GDP. Some 17 million of the approximately 30 million Afghans now own a mobile phone, for example, while in 2002 there were de facto no mobile phone users in the country. It is no exaggeration to say that the mobile phone sector can justly be called Afgha­­nistan’s boom industry. This creates a frame­­work for many additional innovations.

However, natural resources like iron ore and copper, as well as gold and oil deposits also promise economically inter­­­esting incentives for businesses. The country is rich in lithium deposits, which are among the world’s largest; these are of significance, for example, in the construction of batteries. The Afghan govern­­ment places great value on its transparency in awarding licenses in accordance with the principles in the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) as well as in the transparent administration of the expected revenues. In any event, the poten­­tial that mining offers in Afghanistan could to date only be exploited to a limited extent because of missing infrastructure and an underdeveloped mineral processing in­­dus­­try. In the light of these constraints, foreign inves­­tors, including companies from Germany, are currently concentrating their involve­­­ment on the construction and telecommunications industries, light indus­­try, processing farm products, in addition to the consulting and service sectors. Guided by German values and interests, the Federal Ministry for Economic Co­­op­eration and Development is also providing support specifically in raw materials.

Imports, which are essential for the sur­­vival of many industries, are another factor crucial to the Afghan economy. Goods with a value of around 269 million euros were imported from Germany in 2010. Even though experts predict that the growth rates of Afghan imports seen over the past few years will decline, Afghanistan’s total foreign trade promises to increase as a result of increased transit trade be­­­tween Pakistan and the central Asian repub­­lics, as well as the Afghanistan-Pakistan Transit Trade Agree­­ment (APTTA), which was signed in 2010 and took effect on 12 June 2011.

AFG_228-Kopie

Afghanistan is regarded as one of the most investor-friendly countries in Cen­tral Asia, since investment law barely dif­feren­­tiates between domestic and foreign investments. The most notable difference is that foreign investors cannot purchase real estate in Afghanistan; they can only conclude long-term lease contracts. And finally, this friendliness toward investors has led over 90 Ger­man companies to settle in Afghan­­istan since 2001 in order to invest in this growing market. Currently, 45 companies are reg­­is­­tered as “German” or “German-Afghan”. The majority of these companies are in the construction, energy and infrastruc­ture industries, but some provide products and services in consulting, medical technology and telecommunications.

In order to advance business activity in the country, the Afghanistan In­­vest­­ment Support Agency (AISA) was es­­tablished in Sep­­tember 2003 and the Export Pro­­motion Agency Afghanis­tan (EPAA) in September 2006, both with support from Germany’s Federal Minis­­try for Economic Coop­­eration and Devel­­opment. AISA is mainly re­­sponsible for the registration of companies. Since registration requires fewer administra­tive steps than in all other develop­ing countries in the world, and can be com­­pleted in less than a week, the registration activities of AISA are regularly cited by the World Bank’s “Doing Busi­­ness” survey as among the best in the world. The Export Pro­­motion Agency of Afghanistan, EPAA, was created with the goal of promoting the sale and marketing of Afghan products. At pre­­sent, it is concentrat­ing its efforts on the most competitive industries: farm products (especially dried fruit), carpet products and min­­ing industry products (primarily marble and precious stones). Alongside these federal agencies, the Afghan Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI) is an association repre­­senting the interests of private companies in Afghanistan with current­ly over 25,000 members. Among other services, it offers support and advice, including to foreign investors, helping them to successfully get in­­­volved in the country. At present, the European Cham­ber of Commerce in Afghanistan (EUCCA) is being estab­­lished to represent the interests of European com­­panies in Afghanistan in the future.

German companies enjoy an unbeatable advantage when competing with foreign competitors in Af­­ghanistan: Ger­­many is highly re­­garded in Afghan­­istan. German-Afghan friendship goes back to a Ger­man delegation that travelled through the coun­­try in 1915 and 1916. This trip gave the Afghan population the impression that Germany was approach­­ing the country as an equal and was not treating it as a col­­ony. This attitude towards the country can be described today with­­out exaggeration as sustain­able, in the light of almost 100 years of active German-Afghan friend­­ship. It hits a core value that characterises German develop­­ment coope­­ration: the pursuit of a long-term and there­­by sus­­tainable perspective. The German federal government has nearly doubled its finan­­cial contribution for the reconstruction of Afghanistan for 2010 to 2013, with the goal of noticeably im­­prov­ing the develop­­ment perspective for Afgha­­nistan. As a result, German com­­panies already have the opportunity to benefit from Afghan­­istan’s growth while contributing to the country’s devel­­opment. Even in the Hindu Kush, it holds true that a flourishing eco­­no­­my is the best reconstruction programme.

vita_beerfeltz-KopieThe author is State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Economic Coop­­eration and Development and has been General Secretary of the FDP party from 1995 until 2009. He learned the essential features of development politics during his time as an advisor to the Friedrich Naumann Foundation, and served over 100 international missions in Central and South America as well as in Southeast Asia.

Hans-Jürgen Beerfeltz: Afghanistan – Chancenland für deutsche Unternehmen

Wird über Afghanistan berichtet oder gesprochen, denken die meisten Men­schen zuerst an den dort in vielen Teilen des Landes herrschenden Konflikt. Als mit den Anschlägen vom 11. September 2001 Afghanistan in den Blickpunkt der Weltöffentlichkeit geriet, herrschte im Land ein bereits über 20 Jahre unter wechselnden Vorzeichen geführter, je­­doch kaum beachteter Bürgerkrieg. In den Jahren nach den Anschlägen von New York und Washington konzentrierte sich die Berichterstattung der Medien vorwiegend auf den militärischen Ein­satz in Afghanistan. Nicht zuletzt diese einseitige Betrachtung führte dazu, dass Afghanistan in Deutschland von vielen Menschen in erster Linie als Krisenland wahrgenommen wird. Ohne Zweifel ist ein unternehmerisches Engagement in Afghanistan mit Herausforderungen ver­­bunden, die nicht verschwiegen werden sollten. Zu diesen Herausforderungen zählen beispielsweise die regionalen und saisonalen Unterschiede in der Sicher­heitslage. Allerdings ist die Gefähr­dungs­lage, entgegen der häufigen Annahme, nicht in allen Landesteilen gleich. So wird die Bedrohung beispielsweise in den meisten Distrikten im Norden des Landes, wo Deutschland besondere Ver­­antwortung trägt, als niedrig eingestuft. Auch schwache staatliche Verwal­tungs­kapazitäten und die weitverbreitete Kor­­ruption werden häufig als Hemm­nisse für Investitionen in Afghanistan be­­nannt. Diese Probleme sind jedoch keine ori­gi­när afghanischen Phänomene, sondern leider in vielen Entwicklungs­län­dern an­­­­zu­­treffen. In konkreten Projekten und Pro­­­­grammen des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Ent­­wicklung (BMZ) wird der Bekämp­­fung der Korruption und der Stärkung der Ver­­waltung in Afghanistan besondere Auf­­merksamkeit gewidmet. Die deutsche Entwicklungs­zusam­men­arbeit mit Afgha­­n­istan arbeitet somit auch an der Ver­bes­­serung der wirtschaft­lichen Rahmen­­­­bedin­­gungen im Land. „Invest in Afgha­­nistan“ ist heute eine große Chance, die wir als BMZ mit allen Möglichkeiten unterstützen wollen.

AFG_253-Kopie

Die ausschließliche Konzentration auf die noch immer großen Heraus­for­de­run­gen, vor denen Afghanistan steht, wird dem vielfältigen Land nicht gerecht. Denn ins­­besondere die rege wirtschaftliche Ent­wick­­lung in den letzten Jahren belegt: Afgha­­nis­­tan ist ein Chancenland. So ver­­zeichnete die afghanische Wirtschaft im Jahr 2009/10 durch eine Rekordernte und deutliche Zuwächse im Dienst­leis­tungssektor ein reales Wirtschafts­wachs­­tum von über 20 Prozent, im Jahr 2010/11 wuchs die Wirt­­schaft preisbereinigt um 8,2 Prozent.

Einen bedeutenden Anteil am Brutto­inlandsprodukt (BIP) hat im ländlich geprägten Afghanistan nach wie vor die Landwirtschaft. Allerdings nahm dieser laut Asiatischer Entwicklungsbank (Asian Development Bank, ADB) von 45 Pro­zent im Jahr 2002 auf 32 Pro­zent im Jahr 2008 kontinuierlich ab. Industrie und Bauwirtschaft hingegen konnten ihren Anteil am BIP auf 26 Pro­­zent steigern. Am deutlichsten zeichnet sich die zu­­neh­mende Bedeutung des Dienst­leistungs­sektors ab, in dem mitt­lerweile 42 Prozent des Brutto­inlands­produktes erwirtschaf­tet werden. So besitzen beispielsweise von den rund 30 Millionen Afghanen mittler­­weile etwa 17 Millionen ein Handy, wäh­­rend es im Jahr 2002 faktisch keine Mobilfunk­nutzer im Land gab. Es ist daher nicht übertrie­­ben, wenn man den Mobilfunk­bereich als die Boombranche Afghanistans schlecht­­hin bezeichnet. Dies erzeugt Rahmen­bedin­­gungen für viele weitere Innovationen.
Aber auch Bodenschätze wie Eisenerz und Kupfer sowie Gold- und Erdöl­vor­kom­men versprechen wirtschaftlich interessante Perspektiven für Unternehmen. Ferner verfügt das Land über Lithium-Vor­kom­men, die zu den größten weltweit gezählt werden und beispielsweise für den Bau von Batterien von Bedeutung sind. Die afghanische Regierung legt gemäß den Prinzipien der Extractive Industries Trans­­parency Initiative (EITI) großen Wert auf eine transparente Konzessionsvergabe und eine ebenso transparente Verwal­tung der erwarteten Einnahmen. Allerdings kann das Potenzial, das der Bergbau in Afghanistan bietet, bislang aufgrund fehlender Infrastruktur und einer unter­entwickelten verarbeitenden Industrie erst ansatzweise ausgeschöpft werden. Im Lichte dieser Rahmenbedingungen konzentrieren sich ausländische Inves­toren, darunter auch Unternehmen aus Deutschland, in ihrem Engagement der­­zeit auf die Bau- und Telekommuni­kations­­branche, die Leichtindustrie, die Weiter­­ver­­arbeitung von Agrarerzeugnissen sowie den Beratungs- und Dienst­leistungs­sektor. Vor dem Hintergrund deutscher Werte und Interessen unterstützt das Bundes­ministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusam­menarbeit und Entwicklung aber gerade auch Unternehmen im Rohstoffbereich.

Einen nicht zu unterschätzenden Faktor für die afghanische Wirtschaft stellen Importe dar, die für viele Branchen sogar überlebenswichtig sind. Dabei wurden aus Deutschland im Jahr 2010 Güter im Wert von rund 269 Millionen Euro importiert. Wenngleich Experten davon ausgehen, dass sich die Wachs­tums­raten des afghanischen Imports der letzten Jahre abschwächen werden, verspricht sich der gesamte Außenhandel Afgha­nistans Auf­­wind vom größeren Transit­handel zwischen Pakistan und den zen­tral­­asia­ti­schen Repu­­b­­liken sowie vom im Jahre 2010 geschlossenen und am 12. Juni 2011 in Kraft getretenen Afgha­­nis­tan-Pakistan Transit Trade Agree­ment (APTTA).

Nach Deutschland exportiert Afghanistan nur in geringem Umfang. In erster Linie handelt es sich hierbei um getrocknete Früchte und Nüsse. Aber auch hochwer­tige Produkte wie Safran finden ihren Weg zu deutschen Konsumenten. Gleich­­wohl weisen deutsche Importe aus Afgha­­nistan beeindruckende Wachstums­raten auf: laut Statistischem Bundesamt stei­­gerten sie sich von nur 2,76 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2008 auf knapp 24 Millio­nen Euro im Jahr 2010.

AFG_228-Kopie

Afghanistan gilt als eines der investoren­freundlichsten Länder Zentralasiens, da das Investitionsrecht fast nicht zwischen inländischen und ausländischen Invest­ments unterscheidet. Der augenfälligste Unterschied besteht darin, dass auslän­­dische Investoren keinen Grundbesitz in Afghanistan erwerben, sondern lediglich langjährige Pachtverträge schließen dürfen. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund dieser Inves­­ti­tionsfreundlichkeit haben sich seit dem Jahr 2001 bereits mehr als 90 deutsche Unternehmen in Afghanistan angesiedelt, um in den wachsenden Markt zu investie­­ren. Derzeit sind 45 Firmen als „deutsch“ beziehungsweise „deutsch-afghanisch“ registriert. Die Mehrzahl dieser Firmen zählt zur Bau-, Energie- oder Infra­struk­tur­branche, aber auch aus den Bereichen Consulting, Medizintechnik und Tele­kommunikation werden Produkte und Dienstleistungen angeboten.

Zur Förderung der Geschäftstätigkeit im Land wurden mit Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung im September 2003 eine Investitions­för­der­agentur (Afghanistan Investment Support Agency, AISA) und im September 2006 eine Exportförderungsagentur (Export Promotion Agency of Afghanistan, EPAA) gegründet. Dabei ist die AISA in erster Linie für die Registrierung von Firmen verantwortlich. Da die Registrierung weni­ger Verwaltungsschritte als in allen ande­ren Entwicklungsländern der Welt benötigt und binnen einer Woche abgeschlossen ist, wird die Registrie­rungs­tätigkeit der Investitionsförderagentur regelmäßig von der Doing-Business-Umfrage der Weltbank als eine der besten in der Welt beurteilt. Die afghanische Exportförderagentur EPAA wurde mit dem Ziel geschaffen, Vertrieb und Marketing von afghanischen Produkten zu fördern. Derzeit konzentriert sich ihre Arbeit auf die wettbewerbsfähigsten Branchen und somit auf landwirtschaft­liche Produkte (insbesondere Trocken­früchte), Teppichwaren und Bergbau­erzeugnisse (vorrangig Marmor und Edelsteine). Neben diesen staatlichen Einrichtungen existiert die afghanische Industrie- und Handels­­kammer (Afghan Chamber of Commerce and Industry, ACCI) als Zusam­­men­­schluss zur Inter­essen­vertretung der privaten Unter­neh­mer in Afghanistan mit bislang über 25.000 Mitgliedern. Sie bietet unter anderem Unterstützung und Beratung auch für ausländische Investoren, damit diese erfolgreich im Land tätig werden können. Derzeit befindet sich zudem die Euro­­päisch-Afghanische Handels­kammer (European Chamber of Commerce in Afgha­­nistan, EUCCA) im Aufbau, die künftig die Interessen europäischer Unter­­­­nehmen in Afghanistan vertreten soll.

Deutsche Unter­­nehmen genießen im Wett­­bewerb mit aus­­­ländischen Mit­be­­wer­bern einen unschlagbaren Vorteil in Afgha­nis­tan: Deutschland ist in Afgha­nistan hoch angesehen. Die deutsch-afghanische Freundschaft geht auf eine deutsche Dele­­gation zurück, die das Land vom Jahr 1915 bis 1916 bereiste. Dabei erwarb sie sich das Ansehen der afghanischen Bevölkerung unter anderem dadurch, dass Deutschland dem Land auf Augen­­höhe begegnete und es nicht wie eine Kolonie behandelte. Diese Einstellung dem Land gegenüber kann heute angesichts fast 100 Jahre gelebter deutsch-afghanischer Freundschaft – ohne zu übertreiben – als „nachhaltig“ be­­schrieben werden. Sie trifft damit ein Kern­an­liegen, das die deutsche Ent­wick­­lungs­­zusammenarbeit prägt: das Ver­fol­­gen einer langfristigen und damit tragfähigen Perspektive. Die Bundes­regie­rung hat für die Jahre 2010 bis 2013 allein die finanziellen Mittel für den Wiederaufbau Afghanistans nahezu verdoppelt, um die Entwicklungs­per­­­spek­­tiven Afghanis­tans spürbar zu ver­­bessern. Deutsche Unter­­­nehmen haben da­­bei schon heute die Chance, von Afgha­­nistans Wachstum zu profitieren und gleichzeitig an der Ent­wick­lung des Lan­­des mitzuwirken. Denn auch am Hindu­­kusch gilt: Eine florierende Wirt­schaft ist das beste Wieder­aufbau­pro­gramm.

vita_beerfeltz-KopieDer Autor ist Staats­sek­­retär im Bundes­­ministerium für wirt­­schaft­­liche Zusammen­­arbeit und Ent­wicklung und war von 1995 bis 2009 Bundes­geschäftsführer der FDP. Er lernte die Grundzüge der Entwicklungs­­politik als Referent bei der Friedrich-Naumann-Stif­­tung kennen und leistete insgesamt mehr als 100 interna­­tionale Einsätze in Mittel- und Süd­amerika sowie Südostasien.