Hans-Jakob Tiessen: The future requires energy

For the population of Schleswig-Holstein, the operation of medium- and low-voltage power grids as well as natural gas grids must be reliable, efficient and safe. The operators of such systems, such as Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG (a subsidiary of E.ON Hanse AG), are well aware of this: The future requires energy – and we require grids that are fit for the future.
Our energy supply systems must be fit for the future. Above all, fit for the future means: reliable.
Operated by one of Northern Germany’s state-of-the-art control centres in Rends­­burg, our grid in Schleswig-Holstein has historically been up to the task. Regard­­less of municipal and other official bound­­aries, supply safety has priority in the planning and building of our grids.
A significant advantage of our structure in Schleswig-Holstein is that we can very quickly gather a large number of colleagues from across municipal, district and even state borders in case of an emergency. Also, wherever the system breaks down, we are able to bring trans­­formers, cables or emergency gen­­er­a­tors from the many technical centres to any municipality within the grid area in the shortest period of time.

 

untitled3

Specialists at work: A damaged 70-ton transformer can be replaced in as little as seven days.

Fit for the future further means:
being inexpensive thanks to low grid charges.
For municipalities – also when it comes to the competition between them – in­­expensive energy represents a key lo­­ca­­tion factor. That holds true for the settlement of both new residents and new companies. After all, grid operating costs make up one-third of the electricity rate. It stands to reason, then, that it is ad­­van­­tageous to supply a city with numerous grid customers in a small area as opposed to rural areas with few customers and long line sections.
To a large extent, a sizeable provider like E.ON Hanse or Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG is capable of compensating the structural disadvantage from a large grid area thanks to optimal diffusion: Higher operating costs for certain grid portions are offset by lower costs in other grid sections – leading to solidarisation.

untitled1

If large contiguous grid areas were broken up, such solidarity would come apart. This would result in different grid charges and, thus, different electricity rates for each subgrid and each region.

Especially people in poorly structured grid areas would end up paying higher grid charges and eventually higher elec­­tricity rates.

An important factor in determining grid charges is the degree of grid operation efficiency, which is established by the Federal Network Agency, the national regulating authority. Low degrees of ef­­ficiency entail comparatively high grid charges due to the lack of required ef­­ficiency and related cost reduction. The Federal Network Agency has certified the degree of power grid operation efficiency of E.ON Hanse AG to be 100 per cent. That represents the highest rating within Schleswig-Holstein.

 

untitled6

Cable fault specialists use advanced equipment to detect faulty cables.

In addition, fit for the future means: being receptive to decentralized generation.
Further extending renewable energies is a stated objective of state and federal policies. During the next three years, E.ON Hanse plans to invest 100 million euros in its grids. If smaller grid islands were to come into existence in the fu­­ture, their operators would be required to bring up appropriate investments – including all burdens and consequences on the operating results. It is fair to as­­sume that the inhabitants of such mu­­nic­­ipalities would face rising grid charges and, as a result, rising prices.

 

untitled2

Last but not least, fit for the future means: innovation.
We know that people are, more than ever before, interested in promising energy supply developments – for they help save energy, cut costs and protect the environment. Today, we are already tak­­ing that requirement into account: by such means as the widespread use of cogeneration units and the testing of environmentally friendly fuel cells. Due to the costs they entail, such requirements can only be implemented by productive companies.

untitledAfter his studies, jurist Hans-Jakob Tiessen (born in 1948) first worked at the Federal Chancellery – including as personal advisor of the head of the dip­­lomatic mission of the Federal Re­­public of Germany in East Berlin. Be­tween 1986 and 1996, he was chief executive of the Dithmarschen county, then moved into the private energy sector and is currently CEO of E.ON Hanse AG.

Hans-Jakob Tiessen: Zukunft braucht Energie

Mittel- und Niederspannungsstromnetze sowie Erdgasnetze müssen für die Bür­­gerinnen und Bürger Schleswig-Holsteins zuverlässig, effizient und sicher betrieben werden. Die Betreiber derartiger Netze, wie zum Beispiel die Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG, eine Tochter der E.ON Hanse AG, wissen nur zu gut: Zukunft braucht Energie – und wir brauchen zukunftsfähige Netze.

Unsere Energieversorgungsnetze müssen zukunftsfähig sein.
Zukunftsfähig heißt zunächst: zuverlässig.
Wir haben in Schleswig-Holstein ein his­­to­­risch gewachsenes Netz, das von einer der modernsten Netzleitstellen Nord­deutschlands in Rendsburg gesteuert wird. Bei der Planung und Errichtung unserer Netze steht, unabhängig von Gemeinde- oder Amtsgrenzen, die Ver­sorgungssicherheit im Vordergrund.

untitled3

Spezialisten bei der Arbeit: Innerhalb von nur sieben Tagen lässt sich ein defekter 70 Tonnen schwerer Transformator ersetzten.

Ein wesentlicher Vorteil unserer Struk­tur in Schleswig-Holstein ist, dass wir in Krisenfällen sehr schnell sehr viele Mit­­arbeiter über alle Gemeinde-, Kreis- und sogar Ländergrenzen hinweg zu­­sammen­­ziehen können. Und egal wo eine Stö­rung auftritt – wir können Trafos, Kabel, Notstromaggregate aus den vie­­len technischen Standorten in kürzester Zeit in jede Gemeinde des Netzgebietes bringen.
Zukunftsfähigkeit derEnergieversorgungsnetze heißt weiterhin, durch niedrige Netzentgelte preisgünstig zu sein.
Preisgünstige Energie ist für die Ge­­mein­­den – auch im Wettbewerb untereinander – ein sehr wichtiger Stand­ort­faktor. Dies gilt für den Zuzug neuer Einwohner wie für die Ansiedlung neuer Betriebe. Die Kosten für den Betrieb des Stromnetzes machen immerhin etwa ein Drittel des Strompreises aus. Dabei leuchtet ein, dass die Versorgung einer Stadt mit sehr vielen Netzkunden auf einer sehr kleinen Fläche günstiger ist als die Versorgung ländlicher Räume mit wenigen Kunden und großen Leitungsstrecken.

untitled1

Diesen strukturellen Nachteil kann ein großer Anbieter wie E.ON Hanse beziehungsweise die Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG durch das größere Netzgebiet weitgehend ausgleichen, weil es eine optimale Durchmischung gibt: Höhere Kosten für den Betrieb bestimmter Netzteile wer­­den durch niedrige Kosten in anderen Netzteilen ausgeglichen – es entsteht eine Solidarisierung.

Würden die großen zusammenhängenden Netzgebiete zerschlagen, würde sich diese Solidargemeinschaft auflösen. Die Folge wären unterschiedliche Netzentgelte und damit unterschiedliche Strompreise in den Teilnetzen und den verschiedenen Regionen.
Insbesondere die Einwohner in schlecht strukturierten Netzgebieten würden dann höhere Netzentgelte und mittelfristig höhere Strompreise zu zahlen haben.

untitled6

Fehler in Stromkabeln finden die Spezialisten der Kabelfehlerortung zuverlässig mit ihren modernen Messgeräten.

Wichtig bei der Festsetzung der Netz­ent­­gelte ist der Effizienzgrad beim Netz­­be­trieb, der von der Bundes­netz­agentur, der staatlichen Aufsichts­be­hörde, festgestellt wird. Niedrige Effi­zienzgrade bedeuten vergleichsweise hohe Netzentgelte, weil der geforderte Effizienzgrad und die damit verbundenen Kostensenkungen nicht rea­­lisiert werden. Der E.ON Hanse AG wurde durch die Bundesnetzagentur ein Effi­zienz­grad von 100 Prozent beim Netzbetrieb Strom be­­schei­­nigt. Das ist der absolu­te Spit­­zen­wert in Schleswig-Holstein.

Zu­­kunfts­fä­hig­­keit der Netze bedeutet darüber hinaus, aufnahmebereit für dezentrale Erzeugung zu sein.
Der weitere Aus­­bau der er­­neu­­er­ba­ren Energien ist erklärtes Ziel der Lan­des- und Bundes­po­li­tik. E.ON Hanse plant in den nächsten drei Jah­ren Investitionen in Höhe von 100 Millionen Euro in ihre Netze. Falls zukünftig kleinere Netz­in­seln entstehen, müssten die Betreiber dieser Netze die entsprechen­den Inves­­ti­­tionen aufbringen – mit allen Belas­tun­gen und Konsequenzen für das Betriebs­er­gebnis. Man darf davon ausgehen, dass steigende Netzentgelte in der jeweiligen Gemeinden – und damit verbunden steigende Kosten für die Bürger – die Konsequenz wären.

untitled2

Und schließlich heißt Zukunftsfähigkeit der Netze: innovativ zu sein.
Wir wissen, dass sich die Menschen mehr denn je für zukunftsträchtige Ent­­wick­lungen in der Energieversorgung interes­sieren – denn diese helfen, Ener­gie zu sparen, Kosten zu senken und die Um­­welt zu schonen. Diesem Be­­dürf­­nis tra­­gen wir schon heute Rechnung: durch den großflächigen Einsatz von Block­heiz­kraft­werken oder die Er­­pro­bung um­­weltscho­nender Brenn­stoff­zellen. Dies kostet Geld und daher können solche Anforderungen nur leistungsfähige Un­­ter­­nehmen effek­tiv umsetzen.

untitledDer Jurist Hans-Jakob Tiessen (Jahrgang 1948) arbeitete nach seinem Studium zu­­nächst im Bundeskanzleramt – unter anderem als persönlicher Referent des Leiters der Ständigen Vertretung der Bun­­desrepublik Deutschland in Ost-Berlin. Von 1986 bis 1996 war er Landrat des Kreises Dithmarschen, wechselte dann in die private Energiewirtschaft und ist zurzeit Vorstandsvorsitzender der E.ON Hanse AG.