Günther Knoblauch: “Made In(n) Salzach” – A strong region on the rise

A strong combination of economic pow­­er and idyllic countryside – is that possible?
The Inn-Salzach league of towns, situated to the east of the Munich metropolis and including the towns of Altötting, Aschau on the Inn, Burgkirchen and Garching on the Alz, Mühldorf upon Inn, Neumarkt-Sankt Veit, Töging on the Inn and Eggen­­felden, is the best proof.

The economic region of Inn-Salzach is tra­­versed by the rivers Inn and Salzach. In keeping with their motto “in the middle of things”, the region to the east of Mu­­nich has moved closer to the heart of the European Union as a consequence of the EU’s eastward expansion. About 230,000 people live in the centre of the city triangle formed by Munich, Passau and Salzburg, some 70,000 work for lo­­cal companies.

The region is characterized by combined economic power, traditional Bavarian cul­­ture and spacious natural surroundings. Driven by the engine of the chemical in­­dustry, the sectors of mechanical and electrical engineering, plastics, automo­­tive supply and food are also strongly represented in the metropolitan area.

Neumarkt-Ovovit

The Chemical Triangle, which is well known beyond the borders of Bavaria, has also made a name for itself at international level. The Inn-Salzach league of towns at­­­taches special importance to good re­­lations with Russia, which manifests it­­self in the partnership agreement with the North-Eastern Administrative District of Moscow.
Since the start of the 21st century, the Triangle has become a pivotal point of the chemical industry in Germany. About 30 local companies generate approximately eight billion euros in turnover every year.

The Industrial Park Werk Gendorf is the centrepiece of the Triangle. The “factory in the countryside” was developed from a former site of the Hoechst group in the 1990s. The majority of companies located in the vicinity of Burgkirchen are active in the chemical and pharmaceutical industry.
Over 20 firms have established their plants here on more than two square kilometres.
The chemistry is right here. The short dis­­tances between several companies of the same sector determine the attractiveness of the location and enable a special form of training. Dual vocational training tak­­ing place both at the industrial park’s own Training Center and in the nearby companies provides young people with broad knowledge of the industry and the opportunity to learn how processes are executed in different firms.

Clariant, Linde or Klöckner Pentaplast are just some of the renowned companies that are based in the industrial town. But young, innovative firms such as Lambda­­Chem GmbH & Co. KG are just as im­­por­­tant for the flourishing industry. This start-up business was originally founded as a students’ project at Ludwig-Maxi­mi­­lians University and took first place in the Munich Business Plan Competition in 2003. In 2004 and 2005, the firm, supported by “Flügge”, the University’s programme for company founders, spotted a gap in the market for plastics with fluorescent effects. Among other things, the young entrepreneurs developed an innovative protection system against the increasing product piracy.

Garching-Werk-Hart

Made In(n)-Salzach” – the manufacturing trade, too, makes its contribution to the economic power of the region. More than 4,000 medium-sized firms and skilled-trade businesses employ about 16,000 people. Together, they ge­­n­­­erate approximately 1.75 billion euros annually. The skilled-trade enterprises have responded to the high quality re­­quirements of the industry by improving the quality of their offerings: The re­­gion advertises with the slogan “convincing quality”. And that’s right: Many of the local companies are certified ac­­cording to European standards in the areas of quality, environment and safety at work.

The infrastructure links with industrial companies and the proximity to Austria have enabled many skilled-trade businesses to maintain their position even in international markets. This applies par­­ticularly to all sectors of civil engineering, manufacturing systems and mechanical engineering, tank construc­­tion, electrical engineering, thermal en­­gineering and pipeline construction. The number of patent applications in the coun­­ty of Altötting alone is twice as high as the German average, which attests to the innovative spirit of the manufacturing industry.

The trade and services sector, providing jobs for more than 30,000 people, is a major pillar of the economy and its importance is increasing. As a result of the high spending power, the region has experienced a significant growth in em­­ployment over the past ten years. The number of jobs in the services industry rose by more than 60 per cent. The pro­­­­viders of services have adjusted their business processes to suit the requirements of regional firms and offer customized services. Their portfolio ranges from transport and information tech­­nology to insurance services to advertising and education offers.
In order to strengthen cooperation among local companies, the Inn-Salzach league of towns initiated regular business talks called “Unternehmer-Dialog” (business owners’ dialogue). The series of events started in 2004 and it includes specialist presentations and guided plant tours at varying host venues. The primary pur­­pose of these get-togethers is to ex­­change experiences, to learn more about local com­­panies and to establish contacts. The talks take place four times a year.

 

Neumarkt-Sankt-Veit

 

 

While taking advantage of the rural en­­vironment, the local companies benefit from the proximity of the big city and its optimized logistics and transport in­­fra­­structures. These include flight connec­­tions from the international airports of Munich and Salzburg, a well-developed rail network, rapid access to the adjoining motorways as well as the fair grounds in Munich.

The league of town’s slogan “work where others spend their holidays” reflects the interrelation between the economy, tour­­ism and the natural environment, which in this economic region form a powerful combination. Surrounded by spacious land­­scapes and large forests, the region offers a high quality of life: Long-es­­tab­­lished cultural structures and a variety of leisure and tourist attractions are part of it. Whether cycling tours, exten­­ded hik­­ing excursions in natural surround­­ings, golfing or farm holidays – the re­­gion offers a large variety of leisure ac­­ti­­vities for holiday makers as well as for local residents.

Garching-Markt

 

Between the historic little towns of the sur­­rounding area, visitors can explore lots of green countryside and fields, forests, peaceful villages with farms or ela­­b­­orately designed churches and monas­­teries. Skilfully decorated town houses with red roofs or picturesque arcades in cosy town squares represent the typical architecture of the region between Inns­­bruck and Passau. In this area, Ba­­va­­rian traditions are an intrinsic part of every­­day life. Just an hour’s drive from Mu­­nich, visitors can experience an authentic bit of Upper Bavaria.
Spirituality is an integral part of it all. As the birthplace of Pope Benedict XVI, the small town of Marktl has achieved ce­­le­­b­­rity status, particularly among pilgrims, many of whom come to visit it.

The Pope’s special ties with the region between the rivers Inn and Salzach were the reason why the “Benedict Trail” was named in his honour. The 248-kilometre pilgrimage route starts at the “papal lime tree”, which was planted by Pope John Paul II in the Bruder-Konrad square of Altötting in 1980. A section of the Way of St. James also crosses the medieval town. It is one of the eight municipalities that form an integral part of the re­­gion’s league of towns.
Altötting has been considered the spiritual centre of Bavaria for more than 1,250 years. For more than 500 years, the town has been the most important Marian pilgrimage site in Germany. In 2008, the Pope conferred the “Golden Rose” on the town. Altötting was the first German Marian sanctuary ever to re­­ceive these high papal honours. Every year, more than a million pilgrims come to visit the “Black Madonna” in the “Cha­­p­­el of the Miraculous Image”.

Representing all facets that are typical of Bavaria, the Inn-Salzach league of towns is a powerful economic area in the Munich Metropolitan Region. It provides evidence of econo­­m­­ic success in rural areas.

 

Knoblauch-MÜThe author, born in 1948, has been a mem­­ber of the city council since 1978 and of the county council since 1984. He worked in the upper grade of the civil service be­­fore he was elected mayor of the town of Mühldorf upon Inn in 1990. Since 2003, he has been the deputy chief executive of the county council. He is also the dis­­trict head of the county’s Upper Bava­rian members of the Bavarian Asso­cia­­tion of Cities and Towns.

Günther Knoblauch: „Made In(n) Salzach“ – Eine starke Region auf dem Vormarsch

Wirtschaftskraft und ländliche Idylle in starker Kombination – gibt es das?
Die östlich der Metropole München ge­­legene Region des Städtebundes Inn-Salz­­ach mit den Städten Altötting, Asch­­au a. Inn, Burgkirchen a. d. Alz, Gar­­ching a. d. Alz, Mühldorf a. Inn, Neu­­markt-Sankt Veit, Töging a. Inn sowie Eggen­felden ist der beste Beleg dafür.

Die Wirtschaftsregion Inn-Salzach wird durchzogen von den Flüssen Inn und Salzach. Getreu ihrem Motto „mit­­ten­drin“ ist die Region östlich von Mün­­chen – im Zuge der EU-Osterweiterung – näher in das Herz der Europäischen Union gerückt. Rund 230.000 Men­­schen leben in dem Zentrum des Städ­­te­drei­­ecks München, Passau und Salzburg; etwa 70.000 arbeiten in den angesiedelten Unternehmen.

Geballte Wirtschaftskraft, traditionell bayerische Kultur sowie weitläufige Na­­turgebiete machen die Region aus. An­­getrieben von dem Wirtschaftsmotor der chemischen Industrie, sind die Sek­­toren Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Kunst­­stoff, Automobilzulieferung sowie Nah­­rungs­mittel im Ballungsgebiet ebenfalls stark vertreten.

Neumarkt-Ovovit

Das über die Grenzen Bayerns hinaus bekannte Chemiedreieck hat sich auch international etabliert. Der Städtebund Inn-Salzach pflegt insbesondere eine gute Beziehung zu Russland, manifestiert durch den Abschluss eines Part­­nerabkommens mit dem Ver­waltungs­kreis Nord-Osten der Stadt Moskau.

Seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts ist das Dreieck zu einem Dreh- und An­­gel­punkt der deutschen Chemiebranche herangewachsen. Rund 30 Unter­neh­men erwirtschaften hier jährlich einen Um­-satz von etwa acht Milliarden Euro.

Der Industriepark Werk Gendorf bildet den Schwerpunkt des Dreiecks. In den 90er Jahren ist die „Fabrik im Grünen“ aus einem ehemaligen Werkstandort des Hoechst-Konzerns entstanden. Ins­­be­son­­dere im Bereich Chemie und Phar­­ma tätige Unternehmen haben sich im Raum Burgkirchen niedergelassen. Mehr als 20 Betriebe haben auf über zwei Qua­­dratkilometern ihre Standorte aufgebaut.
Hier stimmt die Chemie. Die kurzen We­­ge zu Unternehmen der gleichen Bran­­che machen die Attraktivität des Stand­­ortes aus und ermöglichen eine speziel­­le Art der Ausbildung. Eine duale Aus­­bil­­dung im Bildungszentrum des In­­dus­­trieparks sowie parallel in den nahegelegenen Firmen vermittelt jungen Men­­schen vielseitige Branchenkenntnisse und ein Kennenlernen der Abläufe in den unterschiedlichen Betrieben.
Clariant, Linde oder Klöckner Penta­plast sind nur einige bekannte Namen, die sich in der Industrie-Stadt angesiedelt haben. Ebenso bedeutungsvoll für die florierende Industrie sind junge, innovative Unternehmen wie die Lamb­da­Chem GmbH & Co. KG. Das Start-up wur­­de ursprünglich als Studentenprojekt an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität ins Leben gerufen und belegte den ers­­ten Platz bei dem Münchner Business Plan Wettbewerb 2003. In den Jahren 2004 und 2005, unterstützt durch das Gründerprogramm der LMU „Flügge“, entdeckte das Unternehmen eine Lü­­cke auf dem Markt der Kunststoffe mit Leuchteffekten. Beispielsweise entwickel­­ten die Jungunternehmer einen innova­tiven Plagiatschutz gegen die wachsen­de Produktpiraterie.

Garching-Werk-Hart

„Made In(n)-Salzach“ – auch das produzierende Gewerbe leistet seinen Beitrag zur Wirtschaftskraft der Region. Über 4.000 mittelständische Unternehmen und Handwerksbetriebe beschäftigen etwa 16.000 Arbeitnehmer. Insgesamt erwirtschaften sie jährlich rund 1,75 Mil­­liarden Euro. Auf Grund der hohen Qua­­litätsansprüche der Industrie haben sich die Handwerksbetriebe durch eine Steigerung der Leistungen angepasst: „Qualität, die überzeugt“; so wirbt die Region. Zu Recht: Zahlreiche ansässige Unternehmen sind nach europäischen Normen in den Bereichen Qualität, Um­­­welt und Arbeitssicherheit zertifiziert.

Die infrastrukturelle Anbindung zu in­­dustriellen Betrieben sowie die Nähe zu Österreich haben dazu geführt, dass vie­­le Handwerksbetriebe sich auch in­­ter­­na­­tional behaupten können. Ins­be­son­­de­­re gilt dies für die Sektoren Hoch- und Tief­­bau, Industrieanlagen- und Ma­­schi­­nen­­bau, Behälterbau, Elek­­tro­tech­­nik, Wär­­me- und Kältetechnik und im Rohr­lei­­tungsbau. Doppelt so viele Pa­­tente wie im Bundesdurchschnitt werden jährlich allein im Landkreis Alt­­öt­ting angemeldet, was die Innova­tions­bereitschaft der pro­­duzierenden Be­­trie­­be unterstreicht.

Mit mehr als 30.000 Beschäftigten ist der Handels- und Dienstleistungssektor eine wichtige Säule der Wirtschaft mit wachsender Bedeutung. Als Folge einer hohen Kaufkraft konnte in den letzten zehn Jahren ein starker Beschäf­tigungs­­zuwachs verzeichnet werden. Im Dienst­­leistungsbereich gab es einen Anstieg der Arbeitsplätze um über 60 Prozent. Die Dienstleistungs-Unternehmen ha­­ben sich nach den Bedürfnissen der re­­gio­­na­­len Be­­triebe ausgerichtet und bieten ei­­nen individuellen Service. Die Leis­­tungs­­pa­­lette reicht von Transport, Infor­ma­tions­­technologie über Versicherungs­leis­­tun­­­gen bis hin zu Werbung und Bil­­dungs­­an­ge­boten.
Um die Kooperationen zwischen den an­­­­­­gesiedelten Unternehmern zu stärken, wurde von dem Städtebund Inn-Salz­­ach der Unternehmer-Dialog initiiert. Im Jahr 2004 startete die Ver­­an­­staltungsreihe, bei der wechselnde Gast­­geber Fachvor­­trä­­ge und Betriebs­rund­­gänge präsentie­­ren. In diesem Rahmen stehen der Er­­fah­­rungs­­austausch, das bessere Ken­­nen­lernen der umliegenden Unter­­neh­­men sowie das Knüpfen von Kontakten im Vor­der­grund. Vier Mal im Jahr findet der Un­­ternehmer-Dialog statt.

Neumarkt-Sankt-Veit

Die Möglichkeiten des ländlichen Raums nutzend, profitieren die angesiedelten Unternehmen von der Großstadtnähe und somit von einer optimalen logistischen sowie verkehrstechnischen In­­fra­­struktur. Dazu zählen Verbindungen durch die internationalen Flughäfen Mün­­chen und Salzburg, ein ausgeprägtes Bahnnetz, schneller Zugang zu den an­­liegenden Autobahnen sowie das Mes­­se­­gelände in München.

Der Slogan des Städtebundes „Ar­­bei­­ten, wo andere Urlaub machen“ spiegelt das Zusammenwirken von Wirtschaft, Tourismus und Natur wider, die sich in der Wirtschaftsregion zu einer kraftvollen Kombination vereinen. Ein­ge­bet­­tet in weitläufige Landschaften und Wald, of­­feriert die Region eine ho­­he Le­­bens­­qua­­li­­tät: Eine gewachsene kul­­turelle Struk­­tur sowie diverse Freizeit- und Urlaubs­mög­­lichkeiten tragen dazu bei. Ob Rad­aus­­flüge, ausgiebige Wan­­de­­­rungen in der freien Natur, Golfpartien oder Ur­­laub auf dem Bauernhof: Die Region bietet um­­fangreiche Gestal­­tungs­­­mög­­lich­­kei­­ten für Urlaubsuchende ge­­nauso wie für den Freizeitvertreib der Anwohner.

Zwischen den historischen kleinen Städ­­ten der Umgebung finden die Be­­sucher viel Grün- und Ackerland, Wäl­­der, be­­schau­­liche Dörfer mit Bauern­­höfen oder künstlerisch gestaltete Kir­­chen und Klös­ter. Kunstvoll verzierte Bürger­häu­ser mit roten Dächern oder heimelige Lauben­gänge auf gemütlichen Stadt­­­plätzen prä­­gen den typischen Baustil der Region zwischen Inns­­bruck und Pas­­sau. In die­­sem Gebiet wird die bayerische Tradi­tion intensiv gelebt. Nur eine Auto­stun­­de von Mün­­chen entfernt finden Be­­sucher ein echtes Stück Ober­bayern.

Garching-Markt

Dabei ist die Geistlichkeit als fester Be­­standteil integriert. Der kleine Ort Marktl ist mit dem Geburtshaus des Papstes Benedikt XVI. vor allem Pilgern bekannt und wird viel besucht.
Diese besondere Verbundenheit des Paps­­tes mit der Umgebung zwischen Inn und Salzach war Anlass für die Wid­­mung des „Benediktweges“. Aus­­gangs­­punkt des 248 Kilometer langen Pil­­ger­­weges ist die „Papstlinde“, die 1980 von Papst Johannes Paul II. auf dem Bruder-Konrad-Platz von Altötting gepflanzt wur­­de. Auch ein Teil des Jakobsweges ver­­läuft durch die mittelalterliche Stadt. Diese hat sich als eine von acht Städten fest in dem Städtebund der Region etabliert.
Altötting gilt bereits seit über 1.250 Jahren als geistliches Zentrum Bayerns. Seit mehr als 500 Jahren ist die Stadt der bedeutendste Marienwallfahrtsort Deutschlands. Der Papst verlieh der Stadt im Jahr 2008 die „Goldene Rose“. Als erstes deutsches Marienheiligtum wur­­de Altötting mit dieser hohen päpst­­lichen Auszeichnung geehrt. Jährlich pilgern über eine Million Gläubige zu der „Schwarzen Muttergottes“ in der Gnadenkapelle.
Mit allen Facetten stellt die Region des Städtebundes Inn-Salzach ein typisches Stück Bayern dar, einen kraftvollen Wirt­­schaftsraum in der Europäischen Me­­tropolregion München. Sie ist ein Beleg für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg im ländlichen Raum.

Knoblauch-MÜDer 1948 geborene Autor ist seit 1978 im Stadtrat und seit 1984 im Kreistag tätig. Er arbeitete im gehobenen Dienst beim Landratsamt Altötting, bevor er 1990 zum ersten Bürgermeister der Stadt Mühldorf a. Inn gewählt wurde. Seit 2003 ist er Stell­vertreter des Landrats. Zudem engagiert er sich als Bezirksvorsitzender der kreis­­angehörigen Verbandsmitglieder in Ober­bayern im Bayerischen Städte­tag.