Gudrun Hummerich: A dynamic network in the north of Rhineland-Palatinate

KeyVisual_NL_3l-Kopie

 
 

Innovations – the basis for sustainable growth and employment. The key industrial sectors are metals, mechanical en­­gineering, ceramics and plastics, with over 250 companies and 25,000 jobs in the districts of Altenkirchen, Neuwied and Westerwald. By setting up the re­­gional Metals-Ceramics-Plastics Inno­va­tion Cluster (IMKK), the state of Rhine­land-Palatinate – co-financed by ERDF funding from the EU – has created an instrument for moderating innovation pro­­cesses and, above all, allowing small and medium-sized companies fast, well-­founded and constant access to the re­­search findings of universities and prac­­tice-oriented research institutions, as well as to new production processes and high-tech materials.

Competence network of research and development institutions. As well as the large number of companies, the region is home to relevant research and de­­vel­­opment institutions, especially in ma­­terials and surface technology. Institu­tions such as the University of Koblenz-Landau, Koblenz University of Applied Sciences, the Research Institute for In­­or­ganic Materials – Glass/Ceramic (FGK) and the Technology Centre for Surface Technology (TZO) are nearby. The Tech­­nology Institute for Metal and Engine­e­ring (TIME) in Wissen/Sieg in the district of Altenkirchen was founded for the metals sector. When it comes to the topic of plastics and polymers, all roads lead to the Technology Institute for Func­­tional Plastics and Surfaces (tifko) in Neuwied.

The establishment and regional integration of a European Centre for Refrac­to­ries (ECREF) is another important step in completing the competence network. At the heart of the infrastructure is the con­­struction of a new refractories institute in Höhr-Grenzhausen. All institutions in the German refractories industry will then be located under this umbrella. In association with the structural expansion of the FGK, a ceramics campus which is unique in Europe is also being built here. To­­gether with the Faculty of Materials Tech­­nology at Koblenz University of Applied Sciences and the ceramics entrepre­neur­ship centre CeraTechCenter (CTC), ECREF and FGK will in the future form a focus within the Ceramics Education and Re­­search Centre (BFZK), thus estab­­­­lishing concentrated expertise in ceramics in a small area.

KeyVisual_NL_4l-Kopie

The integration of the Bundesverband Leicht­­­­beton, based in Neuwied, is also providing considerable stimulus to the IMKK. The large number of pumice com­­panies in the north of Rhineland-Palat­inate has led to the growth of strong re­­presentation of interests over the de­c­­­ades with the Bundesverband. The inno­­vations of the lightweight concrete industry, especially in climate protection, energy efficiency and the wide range of application options for this material, are resulting in exciting intersections between the sectors in the cluster. This is also the home of the Material Testing and Research Cen­ter (MPVA), a competence centre for the implementation of material tests and build­­­ing materials science quality assessment of mineral building materials.

New professional apprenticeships and de­­gree subjects have been designed for the modern application areas of high-perform­­ance materials. Endowed professorships for refractory materials and for materials analytics have been established at Koblenz University of Applied Sciences’ site in Höhr-­­Grenzhausen, while a cluster-related pro­­­fessorship for technical chemistry has been created at the University of Koblenz-­­­Landau. In order to make the degree cour­­ses offered even more attractive, a new cooperative programme “Master of En­gin­­­­eering – Ceramic Science and En­­­gine­­ering” based on modules is now being offered. The special network of training institutions in Höhr-Grenzhausen allows young people to benefit from education options which build on one another – from an apprenticeship to a world class degree and even a doctorate. As well as the existing networks such as the Metals Sector Initiative (BIM) in the district of Alten­­kirchen and the Ceramics Education and Research Centre (BFZK) in Westerwald district, there is also close cooperation with the University of Siegen in the neigh­­­­­bouring state of North Rhine-West­­­phalia.

Organisational structure of the IMKK. Since April 2011, the innovation cluster has been organised by Central Cluster Management in Koblenz, where all infor­­­mation is brought together. This cluster management ensures that the various cluster activities are coordinated and networks them internally and externally. Within the economic promotion organisations of the three districts involved, the IMKK maintains regional offices whose responsibilities are geared to the sectors of focus in the particular district.

The regional offices’ areas of responsibility include websites, a central company database, appearances at trade fairs, work­­shops and publicity work, as well as net­­working research and development in­­stitutions, universities, associations and companies in the region. The highlights of the year for the cluster include the cluster conferences, where representatives from business, politics and re­­search meet to exchange information. The events’ recipe for success comes down to the prac­­tically-oriented spectrum of topics offered and the intensive networking be­­tween participants.

 

SiC-Heizkeile-zur-PVC-Verschweißung-Kopie

Sector concept: ceramics. In August 2010, the FGK launched a pioneering project which involves cooperation with companies in the ceramics sector to develop luc­­rative potential for savings. The sector concept for improving material and en­­ergy efficiency in the ceramics industry in Rhineland-Palatinate is helping compa­nies to make sustainable decisions based on these results. The research project is funded by the Rhineland-Palatinate eco­­­nomics Ministry as part of the innovation cluster and the Rhineland-Palatinate effi­­ciency Network (EffNet).

At the heart of the project is the establish­ment of the cost structure in the ceramics sector and the definition of savings potential using consumption figures, cost distri­­butions and technological increases in effi­­ciency. Its influences on material and energy efficiency in ceramics production are wide-ranging. This includes minimising raw material and energy use, reducing reject quotas and raising staff awareness of the issue of saving resources. The analysis compiles all relevant data, quantifies the potential savings and uses this basis to evaluate the technological and economic feasibility of possible saving measures. The goal is to make the results available to other ceramics businesses so that they, too, can reduce the strain on the environment where possible and investigate the effects of savings.

The innovation cluster represents the goal of Rhineland-Palatinate’s economic policy to use challenges such as the transition to renewable energies, sustainable and efficient management of resources – the green economy – and the organisation of jobs in the future as an opportunity, thus strengthening the competitiveness of medium-sized companies in the constantly changing global markets.

GH-Portrait4-KopieThe author works at the Ministry of Eco­no­mic Affairs, Climate Protection, Energy and Regional Planning of the state of Rhineland-­­Palatinate and has been working on the establishment and expansion of the Metals-­­Ceramics-Plastics Innovation Cluster (IMKK) since 2007. Since 2011, she has coordinated the activities of the cluster’s manage­­ment on the ground as central cluster ma­­n­­ager. She is based in the Tech­no­logie­Zentrum Koblenz.

Gudrun Hummerich: Dynamisches Netzwerk im Norden von Rheinland-Pfalz

KeyVisual_NL_3l-Kopie

 
 Innovationen – Basis für nachhaltiges Wachstum und Beschäftigung. Metall, Maschinenbau, Keramik und Kunst­­­stoff sind die Schwerpunktbranchen mit mehr als 250 Betrieben und 25.000 Ar­­beits­­plätzen in den Landkreisen Alten­kir­chen, Neuwied und Westerwald. Mit der Ein­­richtung des regionalen Innovations­­clus­­ters Metall-Keramik-Kunststoff (IMKK) hat das Land Rheinland-Pfalz – kofinan­­ziert durch EFRE-Mittel der EU – ein Ins­­tru­­­ment geschaffen, um Innovations­pro­­­zesse zu moderieren und vor allem kleinen und mittelständischen Unterneh­men einen raschen, fundierten und konti­­nuierlichen Zugriff auf Forschungs­er­­geb­­nisse von Hoch­­schulen und anwendungs­orientierten Forschungsinstituten sowie auf neue Pro­­­duktionsverfahren und Hightech-Werk­stoffe zu ermöglichen.

Kompetenzverbund aus Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen. Neben der Vielzahl an Unternehmen sind in der Re­­gion relevante Forschungs- und Ent­wick­­­­lungseinrichtungen insbesondere der Werk­­stoff- und Oberflächentechnik ange­­siedelt. In räumlicher Nähe befinden sich Ein­­rich­­tungen wie die Universität Koblenz-­­Landau, die Fachhochschule Kob­lenz, das For­sch­­ungsinstitut für anorganische Werk­­stoffe – Glas/Keramik (FGK) sowie das Techno­­logiezentrum für Ober­flächen­tech­nik (TZO). Für den Metall­be­reich wurde das Techno­­logie-Institut für Metall & Engin­­eering (TIME) in Wissen/Sieg im Landkreis Altenkirchen gegründet. Beim Thema Kunststoffe und Polymere laufen die Fäden im Technologie-Institut für Funk­­­tionale Kunststoffe und Ober­flächen (tifko) in Neuwied zusammen.

Zur Komplettierung des Kompetenz­ver­bundes sind der Aufbau und die regionale Einbindung eines Europäischen Zen­­trums für Feuerfest-Technologien (ECREF) weitere wichtige Schritte. Infrastruk­­turel­­ler Kern ist der Neubau eines Feuerfest­instituts in Höhr-Grenzhausen. Unter diesem Dach haben dann alle Institutionen der deutschen Feuerfest-Industrie ihren Sitz. In Verbindung mit der baulichen Er­­weiterung des FGK entsteht hier ein europaweit einmaliger Keramik-Campus. Gemeinsam mit der Fachrichtung Werk­­stofftechnik der Fachhochschule Koblenz und dem keramischen Gründerzentrum CeraTechCenter (CTC) bilden ECREF und FGK künftig einen Schwerpunkt innerhalb des Bildungs- und Forschungszentrums Keramik (BFZK) und etablieren auf diese Weise geballtes keramisches Wissen auf engstem Raum.

KeyVisual_NL_4l-Kopie

Einen wesentlichen Impuls erfährt der IMKK mit der Integration des Bundes­ver­­bandes Leichtbeton, der seinen Sitz in Neuwied hat. Durch die Vielzahl der Bims­­­betriebe im nördlic hen Rheinland-Pfalz ist im Laufe der Jahrzehnte mit dem Bun­­des­­verband eine starke Inte­res­sen­ver­tre­tung gewachsen. Die Inno­va­tionen der Leichtbetonindustrie, besonders in Sachen Klimaschutz und Energie­­­­­effizienz, sowie die vielfältigen Anwen­dungs­­­möglichkeiten dieses Werkstoffs ergeben spannende Schnittmengen mit den Clusterbranchen. Dort ist auch der Standort der Material­­prüfungs- und Ver­­suchsanstalt (MPVA), einem Kompetenz­zentrum für die Durch­führung von Ma­­terialprüfungen und die baustoffkundliche Qualitätsbewertung von mineralischen Baustoffen.

Für die modernen Anwendungsbereiche von Hochleistungswerkstoffen sind neue Ausbildungsberufe und Studienfächer konzipiert worden. So wurden Stiftungs­­professuren für feuerfeste Werkstoffe sowie für Werkstoffanalytik am Standort Höhr-Grenzhausen der Fachhochschule Koblenz eingerichtet und an der Uni­ver­sität Koblenz-Landau eine clusterbezogene Professur für technische Chemie besetzt. Um die Attraktivität des Studien­­angebotes weiter zu steigern, wird mit dem „Master of Engineering – Ceramic Science and Engineering“ ein neuer ko­­­operativer Studiengang mit Modell­cha­rak­ter angeboten. Durch den besonderen Verbund der Ausbildungsinstitute in Höhr-­­Grenzhausen können junge Menschen von den aufeinander aufbauenden Bil­dungs­­­möglichkeiten profitieren – von der Ausbildung über ein hochwertiges Studium bis hin zum Doktortitel. Neben den existierenden Netzwerken wie der Brancheninitiative Metall (BIM) im Kreis Altenkirchen und dem Bildungs- und For­­schungszentrum Keramik (BFZK) im Westerwaldkreis gibt es eine enge Zu­­sammenarbeit mit der Universität Siegen im Nachbarland Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Organisationstruktur des IMKK. Der In­­­no­­­vationscluster ist seit April 2011 über das zentrale Clustermanagement in Kob­lenz organisiert, bei dem alle Infor­ma­tionen zusammenlaufen. Das Cluster­ma­­nage­ment sorgt für die Koordination der ver­­schiedenen Clusteraktivitäten und die Ver­­netzung nach innen und außen. Der IMKK unterhält innerhalb der Wirt­schafts­för­der­ungsgesellschaften der drei beteiligten Landkreise Regionalbüros, deren Zu­stän­­dig­­keiten sich an den Bran­­chen orientieren, die schwerpunktmäßig in dem jeweiligen Landkreis vor­­­handen sind.
Die Regionalbüros verantworten unter anderem die Themen Internetauftritt, zentrale Unternehmensdatenbank, Mes­­se­­auftritte, Workshops und Öffentlich­keits­arbeit. In ihrer Zuständigkeit liegt auch die Vernetzung der Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen, der Uni­­ver­­­sitäten, der Verbände und der Unter­neh­men der Region. Zu den Höhepunkten im Clusterjahr zählen die Cluster­kon­feren­­zen, zu denen sich Vertreter aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Forschung zum Informations­austausch treffen. Das Erfolgsrezept der Veranstaltungen liegt im praxisorientierten Spektrum der angebotenen Themen und im intensiven Networking der Teil­­nehmer untereinander.

SiC-Heizkeile-zur-PVC-Verschweißung-Kopie

Branchenkonzept Keramik. Im August 2010 startete das FGK ein richtungsweisendes Projekt, bei dem mit Unter­nehmen der Keramikbranche gewinnbringende Einsparpotenziale erarbeitet werden. Das Branchenkonzept zur Ver­bes­serung der Material- und Energie­effi­­zienz in der Keramikindustrie in Rhein­land-Pfalz hilft den Firmen, aufgrund der Ergebnisse zukunftsfähige Entscheidungen zu treffen. Gefördert wird das For­schungs­projekt vom rheinland-pfälzischen Wirt­schafts­­ministerium im Rahmen des Innovationsclusters und des Effizienz­netzes Rheinland-Pfalz (EffNet).

Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts stehen die Ermittlung der Kostenstruktur in der Keramik­­branche sowie die Definition von Einsparpotenzialen anhand von Ver­brauchs­­­­zahlen, Kostenverteilungen und technologischen Effizienzsteigerungen. Dabei sind die Einflüsse auf die Material- und Energieeffizienz im Bereich der Keramik­­produktion vielfältig. Hierzu zählen die Minimierung des Rohstoff- und Energie­­einsatzes, die Senkung von Ausschuss­quoten oder die Sensibilisierung der Mit­­arbeiter zum Thema Ressourcenschonung.Mit der Analyse werden alle relevanten Daten zusammengeführt, die Einspar­potenziale quantifiziert und auf dieser Grundlage die technologische und wirt­­schaftliche Machbarkeit möglicher Spar­­maßnahmen bewertet. Ziel ist es, die Ergeb­nisse anderen Keramikbetrieben zur Realisierung möglicher Umweltent­lastungen und zur Prüfung von Einspar­effekten zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Der Innovationscluster steht für das Ziel der rheinland-pfälzischen Wirtschafts­po­­litik, Herausforderungen wie die En­­er­­gie­­­wende, ein nachhaltiges, effizientes Res­­­­­sour­­cen­management – die Green Eco­no­my – und die Gestaltung zukunftsfähiger Arbeitsplätze als Chance zu nutzen und so die internationale Wettbewerbs­­fähig­­keit des Mittelstandes in den sich ständig wandelnden globalisierten Märkten zu stärken.

GH-Portrait4-KopieDie Autorin ist im Ministerium für Wirt­­schaft, Klimaschutz, Energie und Landes­­planung des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz tätig und seit 2007 mit dem Auf- und Ausbau des Innovationsclusters Metall-Keramik-Kunststoff (IMKK) befasst. Seit 2011 koor­­diniert sie als Zentrale Cluster­ma­­nagerin die Aktivitäten des Clustermanage­­ments vor Ort. Sie hat ihren Sitz im Techno­­logie­Zentrum Koblenz.