Gerhard Riegger: Dresden gained top position in the congress and conference business

Dresden, the state capital of Saxony, with around 510,000 inhabitants: In­­numerable are the treasures in the museums, breathtaking the beauty of the architecture, astonishing the diversity and the standard of the musical life, which is rich in tradition, and surprising the romantic landscape, which alongside the Elbe river reaches right into the city centre.
However, Dresden not only enjoys an outstanding reputation as an arts and culture city. The Saxon state capital in addition belongs to the top ten German conference and congress cities. The continuous advancement as an event destination was, amongst other things, also recognized with the Conga Award 2007 of the Vereinigung Deutscher Veranstaltungs­organi­sa­to­ren eV (an association of German event organizers).


DRE_126_Congress-Kopie

232 conferences with a minimum of 250 participants took place in Dresden in 2007 and confirm the high level of attractiveness of the city. 83 per cent of the congress participants came from Germany, 17 per cent from abroad. Mo­­d­­ern conference buildings and superb event facilities in the city centre or in Dresden’s beautiful surrounding area offer enough room for small meetings as well as large conferences.
Directly on the banks of the Elbe river, within walking distance of the historical city centre of Dresden, the MARITIM Hotel & International Congress Center Dresden has offered a unique setting for meetings, congresses, presentations and festivities since 2006, or 2004, respectively.
Since its opening, the International Congress Center Dresden (ICD) has been deemed to be one of the most modern and successful congress centres in Germany. Its 35 halls and rooms, which house up to 6,500 people, its multifunctional facilities, ultra modern conference technology and the comprehensive range of services make it perfectly suitable for all kinds of conference and congress events. Its unique location directly on the green banks of the Elbe river and amidst the historical city centre makes it particularly interesting. The unusual architecture of the congress centre also inspires one: The wavelike, transparent building facing the Elbe river allows for a wide view over Dresden’s skyline. For more than four years now, the ICD has been successfully established in the national and international congress market. During this period, more than 2,238 events with about 961,700 participants from 120 different countries have taken place. Con­gresses such as the 120th IATA Flight Plan Conference, the World Congress of Huntington’s Disease or the Inter­national Super­­com­­puting Con­ference vouch for the fact that the Dresden location can hold its own in worldwide comparison without problems, and that it does not have a shortage of diversity in speciality areas.

DRE_046-Kopie
Since the opening of the ICD, international guest volumes in Dresden have steadily been increasing. This trend will also still con­­tinue further over the coming years. A significant foundation therefore is the city’s good flight connection to the most important international hubs – Frankfurt am Main and Munich. Cur­rently, Frankfurt totals 47 and Munich 46 take-offs per week. From there, nu­­merous international connections are possible that have not headed out of Dresden until now. In total, there are 44 national and international direct flights from Dresden Airport. Also the distance to Prague International Airport and the new Berlin Airport (BBI) is easily reached in 1.5 hours of travelling time, which is favourabe for Dresden’s international connection. Even the railway network of the Deutsche Bahn (German Rail) is being enlarged. These are factors which help Dresden to be at a top position in the congress sector. The short distances in the city also contribute to this. Thus, one can reach everything within the historical city centre by foot in a few minutes and without being dependant on transport services.


DRE_027-Kopie

Furthermore, the city distinguishes itself with its great number of art treasures and places of interest, as well as with its lively cultural scene.
The Dresden region is the most significant growth region in Eastern Germany. It is on its way to develop into one of the most important economic and scientific locations in Germany. Thus, Dresden is always found in a leading position on different economic ranking lists (Prognos Zukunftsatlas, Bellevue Städtetest, Ca­­pital-Städterankings). The economy of the city relies on a wide spectrum of industries. The essential growth and de­­­­velopment momentum comes from the three future-oriented specialist areas: microelectronics/information and communication technology, nanotechnology/new materials and life sciences/biotechnology. Through the constant build-up and extension of this new sectors, a high density of research institutions has additionally originated (Max Planck Society, Leibniz Association, Fraunhofer Society et cetera), which results in a close interdependence between research and industry. This intensive collaboration between economics and science offers many contact points for conferences and congresses.
It is our vision, together with partners from the scientific, economic and political sectors, to develop Dresden into one of the leading conference and congress cities in Germany. Herewith, representatives from the scientific and research field, with their diversified international contacts, rate among the most important ambassadors for the Dresden location and the International Congress Center Dresden.

81R14_E7ET1114-KopieThe author was born in 1954 and completed an apprenticeship in hotel management in 1971. He subsequently completed a few years of appren­ticeships, which are common practice in the hotel industry – in London, France and Rome. In 1994 he opened the Al­­­brechts­­hof hotel in Berlin as director. He has been a director of the MARITIM Hotel Group since 1997, first in Berlin and Halle and since 2003, in Dresden.

Gerhard Riegger: Dresden erlangt Topposition in der Kongress- und Tagungsbranche

Dresden, Landeshauptstadt Sachsens mit rund 510.000 Einwohnern: un­­zählig die Schätze in den Museen, atemberaubend die Schönheit der Architektur, erstaunlich die Vielfalt und das Niveau des tra­­di­­tions­­­­­­reichen Musiklebens und überraschend die romantische Land­schaft, die entlang der Elbe bis in die Innenstadt reicht.
Doch besitzt Dresden nicht nur als Kunst- und Kulturstadt einen hervorragenden Ruf. Die sächsische Landeshaupt­stadt ge­­hört außerdem zu den Top 10 der deut­­schen Tagungs- und Kongress­städ­­te. Die kontinuierliche Weiterentwick­­lung als Ver­­anstaltungsdestination wurde unter an­­derem auch mit der Verleihung des Conga-Awards 2007 der Vereinigung Deutscher Veranstaltungsorgani­sa­to­ren eV gewürdigt.


DRE_126_Congress-Kopie

232 Konferenzen ab 250 Teilnehmern fanden 2007 in Dresden statt und unter­mauern die hohe Attraktivität der Stadt. 83 Prozent der Tagungsteilnehmer ka­­men aus Deutschland, 17 Prozent aus dem Ausland. Moderne Tagungs­häuser und außergewöhnliche Veran­staltungs­stätten zentral in der Stadt oder in Dres­­dens attraktiver Umgebung bieten so­­wohl Platz für kleine Meetings als auch große Konferenzen.
Direkt am Elbufer, fußläufig zum historischen Altstadtkern von Dresden, bietet das MARITIM Hotel & Internationale Congress Center Dresden seit 2006 beziehungsweise 2004 einen einzigar­tigen Rahmen für Meetings, Kongresse, Präsenta­tio­nen und Festlichkeiten.
Das Internationale Congress Center Dres­­den (ICD) gilt seit seiner Eröffnung als eines der modernsten und erfolgreichs­­ten Kongresshäuser Deutsch­lands. Mit seinen 35 Sälen und Räumen mit Platz für bis zu 6.500 Personen, seinen multifunktionalen Einrich­tungen, der hochmodernen Tagungstechnik und dem um­­fangreichen Serviceangebot eignet es sich perfekt für Tagungs- und Kongress­veranstaltungen aller Art. Seine einzigartige Lage direkt am grünen Elbufer und inmitten des historischen Alt­stadt­­kerns macht es besonders interessant. Aber auch die ungewöhnliche Architek­tur des Kongress­zentrums inspiriert: Der zur Elbe hin wellenförmige, transparen­te Bau erlaubt einen weiten Blick auf die Dresdner Stadtsilhouette. Seit nunmehr über vier Jahren ist das ICD er­­folg­reich im nationalen und internationalen Kon­­gress­markt etabliert. In dieser Zeit fanden hier mehr als 2.238 Ver­­an­­staltungen mit circa 961.700 Teil­­neh­mern aus 120 ver­­schiedenen Län­dern statt. Kongresse wie zum Bei­­spiel die 120. IATA Flug­plankonferenz, der „World Congress of Huntington’s Disease“ oder die „Inter­national Super­computing Con­­ference“ belegen, dass der Standort Dresden im weltweiten Vergleich ohne Probleme mit­­halten kann und es nicht an der Vielfalt von Fachbereichen mangelt.

DRE_046-Kopie
Seit der Eröffnung des ICD hat sich das internationale Gästevolumen in Dres­den stetig gesteigert. Dieser Trend wird sich auch in den nächsten Jahren noch weiter fortsetzen. Eine wesentliche Grund­lage dafür ist die gute Flug­anbindung der Stadt an die wichtigsten internationalen Drehkreuze Frankfurt am Main und München. Derzeit zählt Frankfurt 47 und München 46 Starts pro Woche. Von dort bestehen zahlreiche internationale Verbindungen, die bislang von Dres­­den aus nicht angeflogen werden. Insgesamt gibt es vom Dresdner Flug­hafen aus 44 nationale und interna­­tio­­na­­le Direktflüge. Auch die inter­­na­­ti­o­­na­­len Flughäfen Prag und der neue Berliner Flughafen BBI sind mit 1,5 Stunden Fahrtzeit schnell zu erreichen und stehen positiv für die internationale Anbin­dung Dresdens. Auch wird das Strecken­netz der Deutschen Bahn weiter ausgebaut. Dies sind Fak­to­ren, die Dresden zu einer Topposition in der Kon­­­gress­bran­­che verhelfen. Auch die sehr kurzen Wege in der Stadt tragen dazu bei. So kann man innerhalb des Alt­­stadt­­­kerns alles in nur wenigen Minuten zu Fuß erreichen und ist nicht auf Transfer­leistungen an­­gewiesen.


DRE_027-Kopie

Darüber hinaus besticht die Stadt mit ihrer hohen Zahl an weltbekannten Kunst­schätzen und Sehenswürdigkei­ten so­­wie mit ihrer lebendigen Kultur­szene.
Die Region Dresden ist die bedeu­tends­te Wachstumsregion im Osten Deutsch­­lands. Sie ist auf dem Weg, sich zu einem der wichtigsten Wirt­schafts- und Wissen­schaftsstandorte in Deutsch­land zu entwickeln. So ist Dres­­den bei verschiedenen Wirt­schafts­­rankings (Pro­­g­nos Zukunfts­­at­­las, Belle­vue Städte­­test, Capital-Städte­­­ran­k­ings) immer auf einer der vorderen Posi­tionen zu finden. Die Wirt­­schaft der Stadt stützt sich auf ein breites Bran­­chen­spektrum. Die ent­­schei­­­den­den Wachs­­tums- und Entwicklungs­im­pul­­se gehen dabei von drei zu­­kunfts­­­orien­­­tierten Kompetenz­fel­dern aus: Mi­­kro­­­elektronik/Informations- und Kom­munikationstechnologie, Nano­­­tech­­­no­logie/Neue Werkstoffe und Life Scien­­ces/Biotechnologie. Durch den stetigen Aus- und Aufbau dieser neuen Branchen besteht zu­sätz­lich eine hohe Dichte an For­schungs­ein­­richtungen (Max-Planck-Gesell­schaft, Leibniz-Ge­­mein­­schaft, Fraun­­hofer-Ge­­sellschaft et cetera), was eine enge Verflechtung zwischen For­schung und Industrie zur Folge hat. Diese in­­ten­sive Zusammen­arbeit zwischen Wirt­­schaft und Wissen­schaft bietet viele An­­knüpfungspunkte für Ta­­gun­­gen und Kongresse.
Unsere Vision ist es, gemeinsam mit den Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Wirt­schaft und Politik Dresden zu einer der führenden Tagungs- und Kongress­städ­te Deutsch­­lands zu entwickeln. Vertre­ter aus Wissenschaft und Forschung zählen mit ihren vielseitigen internationalen Kontakten hierbei zu unseren wichtigsten Bot­schaftern für den Stand­­ort Dresden und das Internationale Con­­gress Center Dresden.

81R14_E7ET1114-KopieDer Autor wurde 1954 geboren und ab­­­solvierte eine Lehre zum Hotel­kauf­mann, die er 1971 ab­­schloss. Es folgten die in der internationalen Hotellerie üb­­lichen Lehr­­­jahre in Lon­­don, Frank­reich und Rom. 1994 er­­­­öf­f­nete er als Direktor das Hotel Alb­rechtshof Berlin. Seit 1997 ist er als Di­­rek­­tor für die MARITIM Hotel­ge­sell­schaft tätig, zuerst in Berlin und Hal­le und seit 2003 in Dresden.