Gerd-Michael Seeber: Technology transfer – Ilmenau tradition for the future

93R_seeber_3

The Ilmenau technology region
In the Erfurt-Wei­mar-Jena-Ilmenau bu­­si­ness location the city of Ilmenau of­­fers a synergetic network of econo­mic, scientific, transfer and service institutions, which have been operating under the name “Technology Region Ilmenau” (TRI) already since 1991. Their objective is the development of a technology-oriented growth region.

The Ilmenau Technical University (TU) constitutes the centre of the TRI that currently with about 7,000 students and more than 1,200 employees is the greatest employer in the region. The Ilmenau Technology and Re­­search Park originated in the immediate vicinity of the TU. Here, in walking distance from the campus, the re­­search and development capacities are bundled and settle­­ment possibilities for technology-oriented or­­ga­nizations created. In other lo­­cations of the Ilmenau city and in the region additional spa­ces for industry and commercial settlement has been made available.

Scientific competence and people (that besides progress in research also have an eye on the mar­kets) as well as the dense networks of the research, transfer and service institutions make Ilmenau and the ex­­tended economic region par­­ticularly interesting for investors. The Ilmenau Technology and Start-Up Cen­ter (TGZI) as well as the Application Center (APZ) are here mentioned representatively. Moreover, modern training and deve­lopment centres form the foundation and guarantee for an effective technology transfer.

 

Seeber-Scan-NEUThe author was born in Ilmenau in 1949 and is a graduate process engineer. He has been Mayor since 1990 and has been Lord Mayor of the city of Ilmenau since 1994.

Gerd-Michael Seeber: Technologietransfer – Ilmenauer Tradition der Zukunft

Technologie Region Ilmenau
An dem Wirtschaftsstandort Erfurt-Wei­mar-Jena-Ilmenau bietet die Stadt Il­me­nau unter dem Namen „Technologie Re­gion Ilmenau“ (TRI) bereits seit 1991 ein synergetisches Netzwerk aus Wirt­schaft, Wissenschaft, Transfer- und Dienst­­leistungseinrichtungen, dessen Ziel der Ausbau der technologieorientierten Wachstumsregion ist.

Den Mittelpunkt der TRI bildet die Tech­nische Universität, die gegenwärtig mit circa 7.000 Studierenden und mehr als 1.200 Beschäftigten der größte Arbeit­geber der Region ist. In unmittelbarer Nähe der TU ist der Technologie- und Forschungspark Ilmenau entstanden. Hier wurden in „Fußläufigkeit“ zum Cam­pus Forschungs- und Entwicklungska­pazitäten gebündelt und Ansiedlungs­möglichkeiten für technologieorientierte Unternehmen geschaffen. An weiteren Standorten in der Stadt Ilmenau und der Region werden ergänzend Flächen für Industrie- und Gewerbeansiedlungen bereitgestellt.
Wissenschaftliche Kompetenz und Men­schen, die neben dem Fortschritt in der Forschung auch die Märkte im Auge haben, sowie das dichte Netzwerk aus Forschungs-, Transfer- und Dienstleis­tungs­einrichtungen machen Ilmenau und die erweiterte Wirtschaftsregion für In­vestoren besonders interessant. Das Tech­nologie- und Gründerzentrum (TGZ) sowie das Applikationszentrum (APZ) seien hier stellvertretend genannt. Da­­­rüber hinaus sind moderne Bildungs- und Weiterbildungszentren Basis und Garant für einen effektiven Technologie­transfer.

Seeber-Scan-NEUDer 1949 in Ilmenau geborene Autor ist von Beruf Diplom-Ingenieur für Verfah­renstech­nik. Seit 1990 ist Gerd-Michael Seeber Bürgermeister und seit 1994 Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Ilmenau.