Fritz Raff: The most French of the German broadcasting stations

Saarland lies between Germany and France – for a long time the bone of contention and now the connecting link between both EU core states. Due to Saarland’s geographic location and historical development, the (Saar­­län­­di­­sche Rundfunk) SR Saarland radio broadcasting station has taken on a special position as mediator between Germany and France in the Federal Republic of Germany as well as also in the german TV-channel ARD. The SR rightly counts as the most French of the German television channels and as a leading force for the French-Ger­­man friendship, which grew out of the times of Adenauer and de Gaulle. For decades, the SR has recognized itself as an essential bridge bet­­ween the two countries.

As important as the large, international perspective is, the cooperation with France begins in the day-to-day neighbourhood.
The SR lives this principle mainly through the training of political, economic and community events and developments across the border, but also through the fact that French music is presented in the programmes, French attitude is made transparent, differences and similarities are revealed – through the journalistic view across the border and, not to last, also through the promotion of the considerate and friendly exchange of opinions of the broadcasting creators of the SaarLorLux region.


46516-0-07

The central element of the promotion of good neighbourship is the organization of the German-French Journalists Prize, which is awarded each year in Paris or Berlin under the patronage of the foreign ministers. Since 1983, this re­­nowned prize awards radio, television and on­­line print contributions from both countries. In the meanwhile, many potent part­­­­ners from both countries have joined forces – lately, for Saarland’s neighbouring Department de la Moselle.

The purpose of the prize is to contribute towards a medially better and differentiated mutual understanding be­­tween Germany and France. Be­­sides this, the intendant of the SR governs the chair­­manship of the German-French Ra­­dio Commission.
This brings together the programme directors of the German and French radio programmes. In addition to this, the SR also takes care of the business management as well as all the German activities surrounding the commission. The commission is concerned with the programme and technical developments. Yet the mem­­­­bers are also in equal agreement of a joint coordination with respect to the EU. Since the early 50s, the SR also naturally reports on the Grande Boucle; with its entry into the ARD, it took over the overall control within the station association for this event. In 1960, television reporting also came along. Since 1998, the stages are re­g­­ularly broadcast live in the ARD. The broadcast is imbedded in reports to the theme. Also the large online ARD presence for the Tour de France comes from Saar­­brücken.

Eurockéenes

Added to this, are lively cooperations, such as for example the media partner­­ship between SR and Les Eurockéennes de Belfort. Since 2005, the SR has been the exclusive German media partner of this annual open-air rock festival in France. This enormous festival attracts 100,000 visitors in three days to the Franche-Comté and presents 70 popular bands and shows from the electronic and alternative pop scenes.
The SR youth craze 103.7 UnserDing organizes the band competition Re­­péra­­ges Eurock­éennes alternatively with the radiostation Atlantic in Freiburg for the entire region, in which many German bands participate. The winner performs at the festival together with all the big stars.

Yet the view over France does not only play a large role at grand events such as the Tour de France or the Euro­­ckéennes. The good neighbourly relationship is lived in day-to-day life in Saarland and above all reflects itself in the numerous contributions to the German-French topics in current stations of SR television, in Saartext, on SR-­­Online and furthermore in all of the SR radio stations. In this way, for example, programmes are broadcast on SR 2 KulturRadio like Ici et là and En Direct that dedicate themselves to French topics at all times.

The latest example of the French competence of SR: antenne saar, our French-­­German information programme on medium wave (MW 1179) and over DAB (Block 8B). In cooperation with Radio France In­­tern­a­­ti­­onale, SWR cont.ra and Phoenix, a complete French-German programme is of­­fered there.
The SR programme SaarLorLüx offers a view to think outside the own box and brings viewers closer to the day-to-day life of their neighbours. In 2006, the new ma­­­gazine across the borders, which con­­cerns itself with the main region Saar-Lor-Lux-Wallonien-Westpfalz, started its history. As usual, this large region is an abstract and distant picture for the average citizen. For this reason, interviewing people from all walks of life in the SaarLorLüx, stands in the forefront here; namely, those whose daily life takes place on both sides of the border.


Bistrotmusique

For years, 103.7 UnserDing has supported a partnership with the French public-rights youth station Le Mouv’. Employee exchanges take place here regularly. Likewise, youth topics are introduced, which inform partners of the newest trends in the corresponding country.

On the internet, SR-Online depicts service contributions in the section Leben in Europa – So klappt’s auch beim Nach­­­­barn that portraits French and German boarder crosser in their reality.

Topics such as for example social in­­surance, car registration or the recognition of qualifications play a significant role here.
Since SAARTEXT, the SR video text, was introduced, French lottery num­­bers and ratings, among other things, are depicted there. SR 3 Saar­­land­­welle furthermore pre­­sents the Bal populaire at Saarbrücken Castle on the occasion of the French national holiday, which is organized by the French general-consulate of Saarbrücken state.

The absolute highlight – Bistrot Musique! Bistrot Musique is a unique to Germany, a first-time row of concerts at the Saar­­brü­­cken Halberg, which has enjoyed continuously growing success and rising popularity since 1996. Popular artists and young talent of the Frankophone music are presented in the series for the first time in Germany.

And not to forget, SR is a member of ARTE; its intendant is one of the three ARD representatives within the ARTE general meeting of members. SR regular­­ly produces contributions for the programme of the European cultural broad­­casting station.

The cooperation, which is marked by the traditional working crossing of borders, and French-German friendship, are also in times of a poor economy, constantly being further developed, because it is natural for SR to be the most French of the German broadcasting stations.

Raff18X13-07Fritz Raff has been the director-general of the Saarländischer Rundfunk since 1996. Prior to this, he worked as the administrative director of the broadcasting station as well as manager of the Süd­­westdeutscher Journalisten-Verband SWJV in Stuttgart. Between 1985 and 1990, the administrative head and journalist, born in Ludwigsburg in 1948, acted as mayor of the city of Mos­­bach in Baden-Württemberg.

Fritz Raff: Der französischste unter den deutschen Rundfunksendern

Zwischen Deutschland und Frank­­reich liegt das Saarland – lange Zankapfel, jetzt Bindeglied zwischen den beiden EU-Kernstaaten. Auf Grund der geografischen Lage und der historischen Ent­­wick­lung des Saarlandes nimmt der Saarländische Rundfunk (SR) in der Bun­desrepublik wie auch in der ARD eine be­­son­dere Stellung als Vermittler zwischen Deutsch­­land und Frankreich ein. Der SR gilt zu Recht als französischster unter den deutschen Rundfunksendern und einer der Motoren für die seit Ade­nauer und de Gaulle wachsende deutsch-französische Freundschaft. Seit Dekaden nimmt der SR eine wichtige Brück­­en­­funk­­tion zwischen den Ländern wahr.

So wichtig die große, internationale Pers­pektive ist, die Kooperation mit Frank­reich beginnt in der alltäglichen Nach­barschaft.
Der SR lebt diesen Grundsatz, etwa durch die Ab­­bildung politischer, wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Er­­eig­nisse und Entwicklungen jenseits der Gren­ze, aber auch dadurch, dass französische Musik in seinen Pro­­gram­­men vorgestellt wird, französische Geis­­tes­­haltung transparent gemacht wird, Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten aufgedeckt werden – durch den journalistischen Blick über die Grenze und nicht zuletzt auch durch die Förderung des kollegialen Mein­ungs­­­austauschs der Rund­­funk­­schaffen­den der SaarLorLux-Region.


46516-0-07

Zentrales Element der Förderung der guten Nachbarschaft ist die Aus­­rich­tung des Deutsch-Französischen Jour­­na­­lis­ten­preises, der alljährlich in Paris oder Berlin unter der Schirm­­herr­­schaft der Außen­minis­ter verliehen wird. Seit 1983 werden mit diesem renommierten Preis Radio-, Fernseh-, Online- und Print­bei­träge aus beiden Ländern ausgezeichnet. Zwischen­­zeitlich haben sich viele potente Partner aus beiden Ländern angeschlossen – zu­­letzt das dem Saarland benachbarte Depar­­tement de la Moselle.

Die Intention des Preises ist es, medial zu einem besseren und differenzierteren wechselseitigen Ver­­ständnis zwischen Deutschland und Frank­­reich bei­­zu­­tragen.
Außerdem führt der Intendant des Saar­­­­ländischen Rundfunks den Vor­­sitz in der deutsch-französischen Hör­­funk­­kommis­­sion. Diese bringt die Programm­­di­­rek­­to­­ren der deutschen und der französisch­­en Ra­­dio­­programme zu­­sammen­­. Zudem hat der SR auch die Ge­­schäfts­­führung inne und betreut alle mit der Kommission verbundenen Akti­­vi­­tä­­ten deutscherseits. Die Kom­­mission befasst sich mit programmlichen und technischen Ent­­wick­­lungen. Die Mit­­glie­­der stimmen sich auch über eine ge­­meinsame Linie im Ver­­hält­­nis zur EU ab. Und natürlich berichtet der SR seit den frühen 50-er Jahren von der Grande Boucle; mit seinem Eintritt in die ARD übernahm er für dieses Ereig­nis die Fe­­der­­führung innerhalb des Sen­der­­­ver­­bun­­des. 1960 kam die Fern­­seh­­be­­richt­­er­stat­­­­tung hinzu. Seit 1998 werden die Etappen regelmäßig live im Ers­­­ten über­tragen. Die Über­­tra­­gung ist ein­­­­gebettet in Re­­portagen zum Thema. Auch das große Online-Angebot der ARD zur Tour de France kommt aus Saar­­brü­­cken.

Eurockéenes

Hinzu kommen lebendige Kooper­­a­­ti­­o­­nen wie etwa die Medienpartnerschaft des SR mit Les Eurockéennes de Belfort. Seit 2005 ist der SR der exklusive deutsche Medien­partner dieses jährlichen Open-Air-Rock-Festivals Frankreichs. Die­­ses gigantische Festival zieht in drei Ta­­gen 100.000 Be­­­sucher in die Franche-­Comté und präsentiert 70 angesagte Bands und Acts der Electro- und Alter­­na­­tivpopszene.
Die SR-Jugendwelle 103.7 UnserDing führt abwechselnd mit dem Atlantic in Freiburg den Band­­wett­­be­­werb Re­­pérages Eurock­éennes für die gesamte Großre­gion durch, an dem viele deutsche Bands teilnehmen. Der Gewin­ner tritt beim Festi­val mit den großen Stars auf.

Der Blick nach Frankreich spielt aber nicht nur bei solch herausragenden An­­lässen wie der Tour de France oder den Eurockéennes eine große Rolle. Das gutnachbarliche Verhältnis wird im Saar­­land alltäglich gelebt und spiegelt sich vor allem wider in einer Viel­­zahl von Beiträgen zu deutsch-französischen Themen in den ak­­tu­­ellen Sen­­dun­­gen im SR Fernsehen, im Saartext, auf SR-­­Online und vor allem in allen SR-­Hör­­funkwellen. So gibt es etwa auf SR 2 KulturRadio die Sen­­dun­gen Ici et là und En Direct, die sich stets französischen Themen widmen.

Jüngstes Beispiel der Frankreich-Kom­­­­pe­tenz des SR: antenne saar, unser deutsch-französisches Infor­­ma­­tions­­pro­­gramm auf Mittelwelle (MW 1179) und über DAB (Block 8B). In Ko­­oper­a­­tion mit Radio France Intern­a­­ti­­onale, SWR cont.ra und Phoenix wird dort ein komplett deutsch-französisches Pro­­gramm gefahren.
Die SR-Sen­­dung SaarLorLüx bietet den Blick über den Tellerrand und bringt den Zuschau­ern den Alltag unserer Nach­barn näher. 2006 startete das neue grenz­­überschreitende Magazin, das sich mit der Großregion Saar-­­Lor-Lux-Wallo­­nie­n-West­­­­pfalz be­­­­schäftigt. Nach wie vor ist diese Großregion ein für den Nor­­mal­bürger abstraktes und fernes Ge­­bil­­de. Deshalb stehen in SaarLorLüx Men­­schen zu Fragen aus allen Lebens­bereichen im Vordergrund, die in ihrem Alltag beiderseits der Gren­­zen zu Hau­se sind.

103.7 UnserDing unterhält seit Jahren eine Partnerschaft mit dem fran­­zö­­­si­­sch­­en öffentlich-rechtlichen Jugend­sen­­der Le Mouv’. Hier findet regelmäßig ein Mit­­arbeiteraustausch statt. Eben­­so werden Jugendthemen erarbeitet, die die Partner über die neues­­ten Trends des jeweils an­­deren Lan­­des informieren.


Bistrotmusique

SR-Online bildet im Internet in der Rubrik Leben in Europa – So klappt’s auch beim Nachbarn in Service­­bei­­trägen vor allem für Grenz­gänger die deutsch-französische Rea­lität ab.

Themen wie Sozialversicherung, Auto an­­melden oder Anerkennung von Diplo­men spielen hier eine Rolle.
Seit der Einführung von SAARTEXT, dem SR-Videotext, werden dort unter anderem die französischen Lottozahlen und Quoten abgebildet. SR 3 Saar­­land­­welle präsentiert ferner den Bal populaire am Saar­­brücker Schloss zum französisch­­en Na­­tional­­feier­­­­tag, der vom französisch­­en Ge­­ner­­al­­kon­­su­­­­l­­at in Saar­­brücken ver­­an­­staltet wird.

Der absolute Leckerbissen: Bistrot Musique! Bistrot Musique ist eine in Deutschland einmalige Konzertreihe auf dem Saar­brücker Halberg, die sich seit 1996 ste­­tig wachsenden Erfolgs und steigender Popularität er­­freut. Mit der Reihe wer­den bekannte Künst­ler und neue Talen­­te der frankophonen Musik erstmals in Deutsch­­land präsentiert.

Nicht zuletzt: Der SR ist Mitglied von ARTE, sein Intendant einer der drei ARD-Vertreter in der ARTE-Gesellschafter­ver­­­­samm­lung. Der SR produziert regelmäßig Beiträge für das Programm des euro­­päischen Kultur­­sen­­­ders.

Die Tradition grenzüberschreitender Zu­­­­­sammenarbeit und deutsch-franzö­si­sch­­er Freundschaft wird beim SR also auch in Zeiten sparsamen Wirt­schaftens stetig weiter entwickelt. Weil es für den SR eine Frage des Selbstverständnisses ist, der französischste unter den deutschen Rundfunksendern zu sein.

Raff18X13-07Fritz Raff ist seit 1996 Intendant des Saarländischen Rundfunks. Zuvor hat er als Verwaltungsdirektor des Senders sowie als Geschäftsführer des Süd­west­­­deutschen Journalisten-Verbandes SWJV in Stuttgart gewirkt. Von 1985 bis 1990 war der 1948 in Ludwigsburg ge­­bo­­re­­ne Diplom-Verwal­tungs­wirt und Jour­na­­­list als Oberbür­ger­­­meister der baden-württem­­bergischen Stadt Mos­­bach tätig.