Fritz Müller: The demographic change as a challenge for statutory health insurances

The health care sector is facing huge chal­­lenges. Both demographic change and progress in medicine will bring with them considerable changes and present all stakeholders with new roles. The health care sector is moving towards treating more and more elderly patients. The health care needs of the population will increas­ingly be shaped by chronic illnesses, the need for nursing care and dementia in the coming decades. At the same time, pro­­gress in medicine will unlock new treat­­ment options, although the effectiveness and benefits of these are not always im­­mediately verifiable, and may even be in doubt. The key here is to find the right balance between promoting innovation and ensuring patient safety.

At AOK Hessen, providing good health care for our policy holders is very impor­­tant to us. Even today, our “Curaplan” range offers pioneering health care programmes for chronically ill patients and integrated health care contracts for se­­lected diagnoses, alongside regular health care services. As well as caring for those who are ill, as a health insurance provider, we are also always keen to provide preventative measures. Encouraging people to live healthy lifestyles is one of our key roles. This starts with special services for pregnant women, and also includes check-­­ups for children and our “Papilio” preven­tative programme for nursery schools. Our work for older children and young people includes working together with schools and clubs, such as in our “AOK MOVES YOU” competition for schools and our “AOK-Pausenliga” (AOK break time league) programme in cooperation with Eintracht Frankfurt. For adults, we offer an extensive programme of classes and a wide range of information and partici­pation programmes online, as well as apps such as the “AOK-Vorsorgemanager” (AOK check-up manager). Company health promotion programmes provide the fin­­ishing touch to our range of preventative measures.

Statutory health insurance (SHI) has a central role to play in overcoming the twin challenges of quality-assured patient care and preventing diseases. Around 85 per cent of the German population holds stat­­utory health insurance. As the largest health insurance corporation in Germany, we invest around EUR 66 billion in the health of our policy holders every year – our budget for 2013 was over 4.5 billion euro in Hessen alone. But we do not see ourselves merely as those footing the bill. Instead, “we are a strong insurance pro­­vider and shape routes to health” is the standard that guides our company’s vision.

Competition and solidarity – for efficient health care for everyone. A competitive and united health care system provides the best conditions for facing the challenges of the future. However, competition in health care cannot be an end in itself, and clear rules are needed to guarantee that everyone is able to afford to protect themselves if illness occurs. We absolutely reject selecting policy hold­­ers on the basis of risk.

This means that, on the one hand, health insurance providers are not allowed to gain structural competitive advantages simply by targeting young, healthy policy holders, while on the other, there must be a social function for balancing different levels of income. The health care fund safeguards both aspects by allocating mor­­bidity-based funding to the health in­­surance providers. This funding has formed the central financial architecture of SHI since 2009. Illness-related allocations from the health care fund ensure that health insurance providers receive fund­­ing in line with the medical conditions of their policy holders.

Combining all SHI’s financial resources in the health care fund also means that all discrepancies in income are ironed out. This means that the crucial factor in the financial situation of a health insurance provider is no longer its policy holder structure – as it was to a large extent be­­fore 2008 – but the question of how well and economically a health insurance pro­­vider secures health care provision for its policy holders – i.e. the health insurance provider’s management skills. This has created the foundation for competition based on solidarity, benefiting both patients and those who pay contributions – employees and employers.

durchleuchten_02_g_bearbeitet

Quality and economic efficiency – two sides of the same coin. The AOK Hessen’s most important goal is therefore to pro­­vide quality-assured, premium and eco­­nomical health care at a competitive price – and all of this combined with excellent service. This forms the foundation of our overriding company goal: increasing the number of policy holders. Both factors – good services and a com­­petitive price – are essential if we are to consolidate and expand on our position as the top health insurance provider in Hessen.

If quality and economic efficiency are to improve in the health care sector, health insurance providers need to be given more competitive options when it comes to contractual relations with service pro­­viders. In the hospital sector in particular, additional options must be created to allow contracts to be concluded with individual institutions based on a quality aspects.

Health navigator. People today want to decide autonomously and on their own initiative – especially when it comes to their own health. That is why the AOK Hes­­sen sees itself as a navigator in all health care issues. Quality-assured information and advice services allow our policy holders to gain targeted information and use it as the basis for choosing the right treatment together with their doctors or health care professionals. Our range of in­­formation services includes online plat­­forms such as our hospital, doctor and nursing care navigators, special apps with health tips and personal advice either at home or at the place of treatment. Our nursing care advisors, for example, provide essential assistance in issues of social law when relatives are faced with caring for a member of their family.

Staff are the key to success. Qualified and dedicated staff are a crucial factor for suc­­ceeding in competition. Systematic staff development is therefore an indispensable part of our company’s focus. This staff development also includes diversity management, which develops answers to the question of how the differences between our members of staff can be put to the best possible use so that we can all succeed together. Finding the right balance between work and family or caring for a relative is a key topic here, and one that is affecting an increasing number of employees. New management models are helping to allow even part-time staff to lead an area of responsibility independently.

With their professional expertise and per­­sonal dedication, our staff have made the most important contribution to making the AOK Hessen’s top health insurance provider.

 

Fritz-Müller1-KopieOur author was born in 1948 and holds a Diplom degree in public administration. In the year 1979, Müller became the man­­ager of the finance and contract division of the AOK in Wetzlar. After work­­ing in several other leading positions in Lahn-Dill and in Mühlhausen in the north of the federal state of Thuringia, he changed to the management of the AOK Hessen in 1993. Since 2002, Fritz Müller has been the CEO of the AOK Hessen.

Fritz Müller: Der demographische Wandel als Herausforderung für die Gesetzliche Krankenversicherung

Das Gesundheitswesen steht vor großen Herausforde­rungen: Der demografische Wandel wird ebenso wie der medizinische Fortschritt beträchtliche Veränderungen mit sich bringen und alle Akteure vor neue Aufgaben stellen. Das Gesundheits­wesen muss tendenziell mehr ältere Pa­­tienten versorgen. Chronische Erkran­kungen, Pflegebedürftigkeit und Demenz werden den Versor­gungs­bedarf der Be­­völkerung in den kommenden Jahr­zehn­ten zunehmend bestimmen. Gleichzeitig wird der medizinische Fortschritt neue Therapieoptionen eröffnen, deren Wirk­samkeit und Nutzen allerdings nicht immer sofort belegbar oder teils auch zweifelhaft sind. Hier gilt es, den richtigen Weg zwischen Innovations­förderung und Patientensicherheit zu finden.

Als AOK Hessen legen wir größten Wert auf eine gute Versorgung unserer Ver­sicherten. So bieten wir – neben der re­­­­gulären Versorgung – mit „Curaplan“ schon heute wegweisende Versorgungs­programme für chronisch Kranke sowie integrierte Versorgungsverträge für aus­­gewählte Diagnosen. Neben der Versor­gung kranker Menschen geht es uns als „Gesundheitskasse“ aber immer auch darum, präventiv zu wirken. Menschen zu einer gesunden Lebensführung zu bewegen, ist für uns eine Kernaufgabe. Beginnend mit besonderen Ange­bo­ten für Schwangere, über die Kindervorsor­ge­­unter­su­chungen bis zu unserem Prä­ventionsprogramm „Papilio“ für Kinder­gärten. Für ältere Kinder und Jugend­liche kooperieren wir mit Schulen und Vereinen, etwa mit unserem Schulwett­bewerb „AOK MOVES YOU“ oder un­­serer Kooperation „AOK-Pausenliga“ mit Ein­tracht Frank­­furt. Für Erwachsene bieten wir ein umfangreiches Kurs­­programm sowie vielfältige Informations- und Mit-Mach-­­Programme im Internet und na­­türlich auch Apps wie den „AOK-Vorsor­gemanager“. Abgerundet werden unsere Präventionsmaßnahmen durch die be­­triebliche Gesund­­heits­förderung.

Bei der Bewältigung der beiden Heraus­forderungen – einer qualitätsgesicherten Patientenversorgung sowie der Präven­tion von Krankheiten – spielt die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung (GKV) eine zentrale Rolle. Sie versichert rund 85 Pro­­­­zent der deutschen Bevölkerung. Als größte Krankenversicherungsgruppe in Deutschland investieren wir jährlich rund 66 Milliarden Euro in die Gesund­heit ihrer Versicherten – allein in Hessen betrug das Haushaltsvolumen im Jahr 2013 über 4,5 Milliarden Euro. Dabei sehen wir uns aller­­dings nicht bloß als Kostenträger. „Wir sind ein starker Ver­sicherer und gestalten Wege zur Ge­­sundheit“ lautet vielmehr der Anspruch, der unsere Unternehmensvision überschreibt.
Wettbewerb und Solidarität – für ein leistungsfähiges Gesundheitswesen für alle Menschen. Ein wettbewerbliches und solidarisches Gesundheitswesen bietet die besten Rahmenbedingungen, um den zukünftigen Herausforderungen zu be­­geg­­nen. Doch Wettbewerb darf im Ge­sund­­­­heitswesen kein Selbstzweck sein und braucht klare Regeln, die ge­­währleisten, dass sich alle Menschen eine Absiche­rung für den Krankheitsfall leisten können. Risikoselektion lehnen wir klar ab.

Hieraus folgt, dass Krankenversicherun­gen einerseits keine strukturellen Vor­­teile im Wettbewerb alleine durch das gezielte Anwerben junger, gesunder Versicherter erzielen dürfen und andererseits eine soziale Ausgleichsfunktion für unterschiedlich hohe Einkommen erfolgen muss. Beides gewährleistet der Gesundheitsfonds mit seinen morbiditätsorientierten Finanzzuweisungen an die Krankenkassen, der seit dem Jahr 2009 die zentrale Finanzarchitektur der GKV bildet. Die krankheitsbezogenen Zu­­weisungen aus dem Gesundheitsfonds sorgen dafür, dass die Krankenkassen Finanzmittel entsprechend den Krank­heitsbildern ihrer Versicherten erhalten.

Desweiteren erfolgt über die Bündelung aller GKV-Finanzmittel im Gesundheits­fonds ein vollständiger Einkommensaus­gleich. Entscheidend für die Finanzlage einer Krankenkasse ist damit heute nicht mehr nur ihre Versichertenstruktur – wie dies bis 2008 weitgehend der Fall war – sondern die Frage, wie gut und wirtschaftlich eine Krankenkasse die Ge­­sundheitsversorgung ihrer Versicherten sicherstellt – also die Managementfähig­keiten der Krankenkasse. Somit wurden die Grundlagen für einen Wettbewerb auf solidarischer Basis geschaffen, von dem Patienten sowie Arbeitnehmer und Arbeit­­­geber als Beitragszahler profitieren.

durchleuchten_02_g_bearbeitet

Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit – zwei Seiten einer Medaille. Wichtigstes Ziel der AOK Hessen ist daher, eine qualitätsgesicherte, hochwertige und wirtschaftliche Versorgung zu einem wettbewerbsfähigen Preis anzubieten. Und das Ganze verbunden mit einem exzellenten Service. Dies ist die Basis für unser übergreifendes Unternehmens­ziel: Wachstum im Versichertenbestand. Beides – gute Leistungen und ein wettbewerbsfähiger Preis – sind Voraus­setzung, damit wir unsere Position als Nummer eins der Krankenversicherungen in Hessen sichern und stärken können.

Für mehr Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Gesundheitswesen ist es erforderlich, dass Krankenkassen mehr wettbewerbliche Optionen hinsichtlich ihrer Ver­trags­­beziehungen mit den Leistungserbringern erhalten. Insbesondere im Krankenhaus­­sektor müssen zusätzliche Möglichkeiten geschaffen werden, um gezielt Verträge mit einzelnen Häusern nach Quali­­täts­gesichtspunkten schließen zu können.

Navigator zur Gesundheit. Menschen möchten heute selbstbestimmt und sou­­verän entscheiden – gerade auch wenn es um ihre Gesundheit geht. Deshalb versteht sich die AOK Hessen auch als Navigator im Gesundheitswesen. Quali­tätsgesicherte Informations- und Bera­­tungsangebote ermöglichen es unseren Versicherten, sich gezielt zu informieren und darauf aufbauend mit ihren Ärzten oder Therapeuten die für sie richtige Be­­handlung zu wählen. Dabei reichen un­­sere Angebote von Internet-Platt­­­­for­men, wie dem Kranken­haus-, Arzt- oder Pfle­genavigator, über spezielle Apps mit Ge­­sundheitstipps bis hin zur persön­­li­chen Beratung vor Ort oder zu Hause. So leis­­ten beispielsweise un­­sere Pflege­berater­innen und Pflege­be­­rater wichtige Hilfen in allen sozialrechtlichen Fragestel­­­­lungen, wenn An­­gehörige mit einem Pfle­­­­gefall in der Familie kon­­frontiert werden.

Erfolgsfaktor Mitarbeiter. Qualifizierte und engagierte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mit­­arbeiter sind ein entscheidender Er­­folgs­­faktor im Wettbewerb. Eine systematische Personalentwicklung ist daher ein unverzichtbarer Teil unserer Unterneh­­­mens­aus­richtung. Zu dieser Personal­ent­­­­wicklung zählt auch das Diversity-Ma­nage­ment, das Ant­worten auf die Frage entwickelt, wie die Unter­­schiedlichkeit unserer Mitar­bei­­te­­rinnen und Mitarbeiter bestmöglich zum Gesamt­­erfolg genutzt werden kann. Die Ver­­­­einbarkeit von Be­­ruf und Familie be­­zie­hungsweise Pflege ist hier ein wichti­­ges Thema, das immer mehr Be­schäf­tigte be­­trifft. Neue Füh­rungsmodelle tragen dazu bei, dass auch Teilzeitkräfte einen Verant­­wor­­­­tungs­­­be­­reich eigenständig führen können.

Unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbe­iter haben mit ihrer Fachkompetenz und ihrem persönlichen Engagement den wesentlichen Beitrag geleistet, um die AOK zur Nummer eins der Krankenver­sicherung in Hessen zu machen.

 

Fritz-Müller1-KopieUnser Autor wurde 1948 geboren und ist Diplom-Verwaltungswirt. Im Jahre 1979 begann Müller bei der AOK als Leiter der Finanz- und Vertragsabteilung in Wetzlar. Nach weiteren leitenden Funktionen in Lahn-Dill und im nordthüringischen Mühl­­hausen wechselte er 1993 in die Geschäfts­­führung der AOK Hessen. Seit 2002 ist Fritz Müller Vor­standsvorsitzender der AOK Hessen.