Fritz Horst Melsheimer: Hamburg – The hub of Baltic trade

The Baltic area has been enormously important to Hamburg from an economic point of view for centuries. At the same time, Hamburg’s port makes the city hugely important to the dynamic Baltic region. Dynamism, growth and ­integration – even in the medieval Hanseatic period, the Baltic region was a ­lively centre of economic and cultural exchange.

Today, the Baltic region is home to between 50 and 150 million people (depending on the exact definition) in nine countries, eight of which are in the European Union. They are the Scandinavian and Nordic states of Denmark, Sweden and Finland, the north-east of Germany, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and the north-west Russian regions of Kaliningrad and St. Petersburg. The area surrounding the Baltic Sea has seen a great deal of economic development over the last 20 years, with further acceleration following the accession of Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland to the EU in 2004. The states on the west of the Baltic – Finland, Sweden and Denmark – are advanced industrial nations, which are hugely important economic partners for northern Germany. Their eastern neighbours – Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland – provide a liberal and low-cost environment for business activities. Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland are characterised by their well-educated labour forces, their attractive research and university environments and their great openness to IT applications. The European Innovation Scoreboard, which measures the innovative performance of individual states, puts four states in the Baltic region (Sweden, Denmark, Finland and Germany) among its top ten. Estonia has also improved its capacity for research and development significantly in recent years and is listed in 13th place. However, there are still huge differences between the economic performance per capita of the states in the Baltic region. Compared to the average for all 28 EU member states for 2015, the values range from 41 per cent of the average (Poland) to 170 per cent (Denmark and Sweden). This is despite the enormous progress Poland has made economically over the last ten years, more than doubling its gross domestic product (GDP), between 2004 and 2014, to 413 billion euros. Today, the eight EU states with direct access to the Baltic Sea, home to 29 per cent of the EU population, make up 30.4 per cent of the total GDP of all EU member states. Only the Russian region of Kaliningrad on the Baltic coast and the St. Petersburg area are not part of the EU, although they do offer a useful gateway to the large, albeit currently difficult, Russian market.

Hamburg benefits from trade in the Baltic. Foreign trade with the Baltic region has become increasingly important for Hamburg. Around 1,420 companies in Hamburg currently (July 2016) maintain business relationships with the eight Baltic states of Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Sweden and Russia, with many of them active in more than one country. The number of companies with a business link to Poland, for example, has more than doubled over the last 20 years, to 782 at the last count. Russia is the number one trading partner in the Baltic region for Hamburg, followed by Poland, Denmark and Sweden in that order.

Imports and exports by Hamburg-based companies with the Baltic region tripled between 1994 and 2010. In the six years between 2010 and 2015, the significance of this region for Hamburg’s foreign trade increased enormously once again. Hamburg’s foreign trade turnover with the eight Baltic states of Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Sweden and Russia was 7.7 billion euros in 2010 – much higher than the corresponding combined foreign trade turn­over with the USA and Japan. The figure grew to around 11.6 billion euros in 2015 – greater than Hamburg’s foreign trade turnover with China in the same year. From a high of 12.1 billion euros in 2014, however, foreign trade with the Baltic states fell by around four per cent last year, especially due to the weakening economic relations with Russia.

Hamburg traditionally imports more than it exports to the countries in the Baltic region, but the movement of goods in both directions has increased significantly in recent years. From 2.6 billion euros in 2010, Hamburg’s exports to these countries rose to 3.9 billion euros in 2015 – a jump of 50 per cent. Imports also rose in line with this, by 51 per cent, from 5.15 billion euros in 2010 to 7.8 billion euros in 2015. This makes the Baltic region even more important for Hamburg’s foreign trade, with around ten per cent of all foreign trade with Hamburg accounted for by the states bordering the Baltic in 2015.

Port of Hamburg as a hub for Baltic transport. Em­­ploying around 151,000 people and generating a gross value of 20 billion euros, the Port of Hamburg is by far Germany’s largest and most important seaport. It is often called the most westerly North-range Baltic port thanks to its position on the western end of the Kiel Canal. Around 120 scheduled services link the Port of Hamburg with the majority of the world’s more than 1,000 seaports. As an international port, Hamburg also plays a vital role as a hub for distributing feeder loads between the Baltic states and overseas, especially Asia. Hamburg is the most important transshipment hub for these transports in northern Europe, and its strong record of Baltic transports puts its proportion of transshipment loads around six percentage points higher than that of ports like Antwerp and Rotterdam. As well as distribution transports, many intra-European loads are loaded at the Port of Hamburg for the Baltic region (short sea shipping). There are numerous feeder and short sea connections from Hamburg to Scandinavia, Poland, Finland, Russia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania every week. Around 19 per cent of the container turnover at the Port of Hamburg goes to the Baltic region, making up more than 1.7 million TEU (the measurement unit for twenty-foot standard containers) in 2015. There are four Baltic states – Russia, Finland, Sweden and Poland – among the Port of Hamburg’s top ten partner countries for container turnover.

It could be said that the Port of Hamburg is also Poland’s largest international port, as around 30 per cent of Polish container transports are routed via Hamburg along feeder, rail and road connections. In 2014, the largest portion of the containers – around 395,000 TEU – was transported by feeder ship on regular scheduled services via Hamburg to or from the container terminals in Gdansk, Gdynia and Szczecin. When it comes to land transport, around 20 container train connections run between Hamburg and Poland every week, carrying some 90,000 TEU per year. On the roads, around 110,000 TEU are dispatched by truck.

The difficult economic situation in Russia in recent times has had a noticeable impact on Hamburg’s turnover. The Port of Hamburg’s container turnover with Russia fell by 35 per cent between 2014 and 2015, having already dropped by eight per cent the previous year. Container turnover with Poland also slumped by 37 per cent compared to 2014, despite having in­­creased by a significant 23 per cent between 2013 and 2014. In total, container turnover between the Port of Hamburg and the Baltic region fell from just under 1.2 million TEU in the first half of 2014 to 0.94 million TEU in the first half of 2015.

Outlook. Expansion of cooperation and infrastructure. Close cooperation in the Baltic region is at the very top of Hamburg’s economic policy agenda. Our Chamber of Commerce promotes collaboration between Hamburg-based companies and partners in the Baltic states with a wide range of measures, including business events with these countries. Around 500 people took part in economic forums with Latvia, Finland, Estonia, Poland and Russia conducted by the Chamber of Commerce in 2015 alone. Particular attention is also paid to collaboration with Denmark, Hamburg’s tenth largest foreign trade partner. Cooperation with Copenhagen plays a key role in this. The Hamburg Copenhagen Business Forum (HCBF) is held alternately in Hamburg and Copen­hagen, the idea being to contribute to an even closer relationship between the economic regions of Ham­burg and Copenhagen. For the second “Hamburg Copen­­hagen Business Forum” in November 2015, a 50-member business delegation from Hamburg travelled to the Danish capital to consider the topics of smart cities, energy, life science, logistics & IT, real estate and tourism. Another key focus is on Hamburg’s cooperation with the north-west of Russia, especially Hamburg’s twin city of St. Petersburg and the Ka­­liningrad area. The Hamburg Chamber of Commerce has had its own representative office in St. Petersburg since 1993 and in Kaliningrad since 1994, providing advice and support in initiating business in both directions and supporting educational projects with Russia.

In order to support cooperation with the Baltic re­­gion even more, the Hamburg Chamber of Commerce is also campaigning for Hamburg to boost its profile in Baltic politics and for the German Federal Govern­ment and the European Commission to pay more political attention to the Baltic region. Infrastructure projects with high priority in this context include the planned tunnel under the Fehmarn Belt as an efficient solution to growing transport in the Baltic region, channel adjustment on the Elbe and the renovation of the Kiel-Canal. The Baltic motorway A20, which is to continue as Via Baltica in Poland and the Baltic states in future, is also vital. Economic relationships in the Baltic region will not only be bolstered by the expansion and modernisation of the transport infrastructure, however, but also by  the exchange of ideas and information between the companies involved – something that the Chamber of Commerce will continue to promote.

autorenbild-melsheimerFritz Horst Melsheimer
Born in 1950 in Traben-Trarbach on the Moselle river, the author studied Business Administration in Bochum, Würzburg and Hamburg. From 2002 to 2014, he was CEO of the HanseMerkur insurance group, and is now Chair of its Supervisory Board. Fritz Horst Melsheimer is President of Hamburg Chamber of Commerce.

Fritz Horst Melsheimer: Hamburg – Drehscheibe für den Ostseehandel

Seit vielen Jahrhunderten hat der Ostseeraum für Hamburg eine große wirtschaftliche Bedeutung. Umgekehrt ist Hamburg durch seinen Hafen auch für die dynamische Ostseeregion bedeutend. Dynamik, Wachstum und Integration – schon zur ­mittelalterlichen Hansezeit war der Ostseeraum ein florierendes Zentrum für ­wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Austausch.

Heute leben im Ostseeraum – je nachdem wie weit man diese Region fassen will – zwischen 50 und 150 Millionen Menschen in neun Staaten, von denen acht zur Euro­­pä­­ischen Union gehören. Die skandinavischen und nordischen Staaten Dänemark, Schweden und Finnland sowie der Nordosten Deutschlands zählen hierzu ebenso wie Polen, Litauen, Lettland, Estland und die nordwest-russischen Regionen mit Kaliningrad und St. Petersburg. Das Gebiet rund um das Mare Balticum hat sich in den vergangenen 20 Jahren wirtschaftlich sehr stark entwickelt. Beschleunigt wurde diese Entwicklung durch die Aufnahme der baltischen Staaten und Polens in die EU im Jahr 2004. Die westlichen Anrainerstaaten Finnland, Schweden und Däne­mark sind fortgeschrittene Industrienationen, die als Wirt­­schaftspartner für Norddeutschland von großer Be­­deutung sind. Die östlichen Nachbarn Estland, Lettland, Litauen und Polen bieten ein günstiges Umfeld für Geschäftsaktivitäten. Charakteristisch für die baltischen Staaten und Polen sind ihre gut ausgebildeten Arbeitskräfte, ihr attraktives Forschungs- und Hoch­­schul­­wesen und eine große Aufgeschlossenheit für IT-An­wen­dungen. Im European Innovation Scoreboard – einem Maß­­stab für die Innovationsleistung der einzelnen Staaten – befinden sich mit Schweden, Dänemark, Finnland und Deutschland vier Ostseeanrainerstaaten unter den ersten zehn Ländern. Estland, das seine Kapazitäten für Forsch­­ung und Entwicklung in den letzten Jahren deutlich verbessert hat, wird auf Platz 13 geführt. Allerdings gibt es unter den Ostseeanrainern noch hinsichtlich der Wirt­­schafts­leistung pro Kopf große Unterschiede: Im Ver­gleich zum EU-Durch­­schnitt aller 28 Staaten reichen im Jahr 2015 die Werte von 41 Prozent (Polen) des EU-Durch­­schnitts bis 170 Pro­zent (Dänemark und Schweden), wobei Polen aber in den letzten zehn Jahren wirtschaftlich sehr stark aufgeholt hat. Das Land konnte sein Bruttoinland­produkt (BIP) zwischen 2004 und 2014 auf 413 Mrd. Euro mehr als verdoppeln. Heute erwirtschaften die acht EU-­Staaten mit direktem Zugang zur Ostsee, in denen 29 Prozent der EU­­Bevölkerung leben, 30,4 Prozent des BIP aller EU-Staaten. Nur die an der Ostseeküste liegen­­den russischen Regionen Kaliningrad und das St.-Peters­­burg-­Gebiet gehören nicht zur EU, bieten aber einen guten Ein­stieg in den großen, wenn auch derzeit schwierigen, russischen Markt.

Hamburg profitiert vom Ostseehandel. Der Außenhandel mit dem Ostseeraum hat für Hamburg an Bedeutung ge­­wonnen. Rund 1.420 Unternehmen in Hamburg un­­ter­halten derzeit (Stand: Juli 2016) wirtschaftliche Be­­ziehungen zu den acht Ostsee-Staaten Dänemark, Estland, Finnland, Lettland, Litauen, Polen, Schweden und Russ­land; viele von ihnen sind in mehreren Ländern aktiv. Die Zahl der Firmen, die zum Beispiel wirtschaftlich mit Polen verbunden sind, hat sich in den letzten 20 Jahren mehr als verdoppelt und beträgt heute 782. In der Rang­­folge der wichtigsten Ham­burger Handels­part­­ner in der Ostseeregion liegt Russ­land auf Platz eins, gefolgt von Polen, Dänemark und Schweden.

Der Ex- und Import Hamburger Unternehmen mit der Ost­­seeregion hat sich zwischen 1994 und 2010 verdreifacht. Die Bedeutung dieser Region für Hamburgs Außen­handel hat in den letzten sechs Jahren zwischen 2010 und 2015 erneut stark zugenommen. Der Außen­­handels­­umsatz Hamburgs mit den acht Ostsee-An­rainerstaaten Dänemark, Estland, Finnland, Lettland, Litauen, Polen, Schweden und Russland betrug 7,7 Mrd. Euro im Jahr 2010, was weit mehr war als der entsprechende Außenhandels­umsatz mit den USA und Japan zusammen. Er wuchs 2015 auf rund 11,6 Mrd. Euro, ein Betrag, der immerhin größer ist als Hamburgs Außen­handelsumsatz mit China im selben Jahr. Allerdings ist der Außenhandel mit den Ostseeanrainerstaaten von 12,1 Mrd. Euro in 2014 um rund vier Prozent im vergangenen Jahr zurückgegangen, insbesondere wegen der schwächeren Wirtschafts­be­ziehungen zu Russland.

Traditionell sind Hamburgs Importe größer als Ham­burgs Exporte mit den Ländern der Ostseeregion, aber die Warenbewegungen in beide Richtungen haben in den letzten Jahren stark zugenommen: Hamburgs Ausfuhren in diese Länder sind von 2,6 Mrd. Euro in 2010 auf 3,9 Mrd. Euro in 2015 – also um 50 Prozent – angestiegen. Die Einfuhren haben sich entsprechend von 5,15 Mrd. Euro in 2010 auf 7,8 Mrd. Euro in 2015 um 51 Prozent erhöht. Damit hat die Ostseeregion für den Außenhandel Hamburgs weiter an Bedeutung gewonnen: Rund zehn Prozent des gesamten Hamburger Außenhandels entfielen 2015 auf die Ostseeanrainerstaaten.

Hamburger Hafen als Drehscheibe für Ostseeverkehre. Der Hamburger Hafen ist mit rund 151.000 Beschäftigten und einer Bruttowertschöpfung von 20 Milliarden Euro mit Abstand der führende Hafen in Deutschland. Wegen seiner Lage nah am westlichen Ausgang des Nord-Ost­see-Kanals wird er oft auch als westlichster Ostseehafen der Nordrange bezeichnet. Rund 120 Liniendienste ver­­binden den Hamburger Hafen mit dem Großteil der welt­­weit über 1.000 Seehäfen. Darüber hinaus erfüllt Hamburg als Überseehafen eine wichtige Hub-Funktion zur Verteilung von Feederladung zwischen den Ostsee­­an­rainer­­staaten und Übersee, insbesondere mit Asien. Hamburg ist die bedeutendste nordeuropäische Trans­ship­­ment-Drehscheibe für diese Verkehre und weist durch seine starken Ost­­seeverkehre im Vergleich mit Häfen wie Antwerpen und Rotterdam einen rund sechs Prozentpunkte höheren Anteil an Transshipmentladung aus. Neben den Verteiler­ver­kehren wird vielfach auch innereuropäische Ladung über den Hamburger Hafen für die Ostseeregion verladen (Kurz­­strecken-Seever­kehr/Short-sea shipping). Wöchentlich gibt es zahlreiche Feeder- und Short-sea-Verbindungen von Hamburg nach Skandinavien, Polen, Finnland, Russland und in die balt­­ischen Länder. Rund 19 Prozent des Container­um­­­schlages des Hamburger Hafens wird mit der Ost­see­­­­region ab­gefertigt, was im Jahr 2015 über 1,7 Mio. TEU (Maßein­heit für 20-Fuß-Standardcontainer) waren. Unter den TOP-10-Partnerländern im Containerumschlag des Ham­­burger Hafens befinden sich mit Russland, Finnland, Schweden und Polen allein vier Ostseeanrainer.

In gewisser Weise ist der Hamburger Hafen auch der größte polnische Überseehafen. Rund 30 Prozent der polnischen Containerverkehre werden über die Feeder-, Bahn- und Straßenverbindungen via Hamburg geroutet. Der größte Anteil der Container – rund 395.000 TEU – wurde 2014 per Feederschiff in regelmäßigen Linien­diens­­ten  via Hamburg zu oder von den Containerterminals in Gdansk, Gdynia und in Szczecin transportiert. Landseitig verkehren zwischen Hamburg und Polen wöchentlich rund 20 Containerzug­­ver­­bindungen, die jährlich etwa 90.000 TEU befördern. Per Lkw werden rund 110.000 TEU über die Straßen abgefertigt.

Die seit einiger Zeit schwierige wirtschaftliche Situation in Russland macht sich auch bei den Hamburger Um­­schlagszahlen bemerkbar. So ist der Containerumschlag des Hamburger Hafens mit Russland in 2015 gegenüber 2014 um 35 Prozent zurückgegangen, nachdem er be­­reits 2014 gegenüber 2013 um acht Prozent gesunken war. Auch der Containerumschlag mit Polen ist 2015 gegenüber 2014 um 37 Prozent eingebrochen, nachdem er noch im Jahr 2014 gegenüber 2013 kräftig um 23 Prozent zu­­genommen hatte. Insgesamt hat der Container­um­schlag des Hamburger Hafens mit dem Fahrtgebiet Ost­­see von knapp 1,2 Mio. TEU im ersten Halbjahr 2014 auf 0,94 Mio. TEU im ersten Halbjahr 2015 abgenommen.

Ausblick. Kooperation und Infrastruktur ausbauen. Die enge Zusammenarbeit im Ostseeraum steht ganz oben auf Hamburgs wirtschaftspolitischer Agenda. Unsere Han­dels­­­­kammer fördert die Kooperation Hamburger Firmen mit Partnern in den Ostseeanrainerstaaten durch vielfältige Maßnahmen. Hierzu zählen auch Wirtschafts­veran­stalt­ungen mit diesen Ländern. An Wirtschaftsforen mit Lettland, Fin­­n­­land, Estland, Polen und Russland, die die Handelskammer im Jahr 2015 durchgeführt hat, nahmen allein rund 500 Personen teil. Auch die Zusammen­arbeit mit Dänemark, dem zehntgrößten Außenhandels­partner Hamburgs, genießt besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Dabei spielt die Kooperation mit Kopenhagen eine wichtige Rolle. Mit dem „Hamburg Copenhagen Business Forum“ (HCBF), das abwechselnd in Hamburg und in Kopenhagen stattfindet, will man dazu beitragen, dass die Wirtschaftsregionen Hamburg und Kopenhagen noch enger zusammenwachsen. Für das 2. „Hamburg Copen­hagen Business Forum“ besuchte im No­­vember 2015 eine 50-köpfige Wirtschaftsdelegation aus Hamburg die dänische Hauptstadt und befasste sich dort mit den Themen Smart Cities, Energie, Life Science, Lo­­gistik & IT, Immobilien und Tourismus. Ein weiterer Schwer­­punkt liegt auf der Kooperation Hamburgs mit dem Nord­westen Russlands, insbesondere mit Hamburgs Partner­­s­tadt St. Petersburg und mit dem Kaliningrader Gebiet. Seit 1993 unterhält die Handelskammer Hamburg in St. Pe­­ters­­burg und seit 1994 in Kaliningrad eine eigene Ver­­­tretung, die bei der Anbahnung von Geschäften in beide Rich­­­tungen berät und unterstützt sowie Bildungs­pro­jekte mit Russland unterstützt.

Um die Kooperation mit dem Ostseeraum weiter zu un­­ter­­stützen, setzt sich die Handelskammer Hamburg auch dafür ein, dass Hamburg noch mehr Profil in der Ost­see­­politik zeigt und dass die Bundesregierung und die Europäische Kommission der Ostseeregion erhöhte po­­litische Auf­merk­­samkeit widmen. Prioritäre Infra­struk­turprojekte sind in diesem Zusammenhang der geplante Tunnel unter dem Fehmarnbelt als effiziente Lösung der wachsenden Ver­kehre in der Ostseeregion sowie die Fahrrinnenanpassung der Elbe und die Ertüchtigung des Nord-Ostsee-Kanals. Auch die Ostseeautobahn A20, die in Zukunft ihre Fortsetzung als Via Baltica in Polen und im Baltikum finden sollte, zählt dazu. Für die Intensivierung der wirtschaftlichen Bezie­h­ungen im Ostseeraum stehen aber nicht nur Ausbau und Mo­­dernisierung der Verkehrsinfrastruktur, sondern auch immer wieder der persönliche Austausch der beteiligten Un­­ternehmen, den die Handelskammer weiter fördern wird.

autorenbild-melsheimerFritz Horst Melsheimer
Der 1950 in Traben-Trarbach an der Mosel geborene Autor hat Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Bochum, Würzburg und Hamburg studiert. Von 2002 bis 2014 war er Vorstandsvorsitzender der HanseMerkur Versicherungsgruppe, deren Aufsichtsrat er nun vorsitzt. Fritz Horst Melsheimer ist Präses der Handelskammer Hamburg.