Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS: Customer-oriented problem solving

The Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology (Fraunhofer IWS) car­­ries out application-oriented re­­search and development in the area of laser and surface technology. The basis of research activities is formed by highly developed materials and nano­­tech­­nol­­ogy know-how linked with the possibility of comprehensive material characterisation.

In the field of laser technology, IWS concentrates on materials-oriented laser ma­­­terials processing and the development of laser-specific system solutions. The goal here is to develop innovative technolo­gies for industrial customers and to support them during technology transfer.

The surface and coating technologies primarily address wear and corrosion protection, functional coatings as well as the ablation, structuring and repair of surfaces. Use is made here of plasma-based processes, chemical sur­face technologies as well as thermal coating and surface treatment proces­ses.

Through close collaboration with facility and system providers, IWS is in the position to offer “one-stop-solutions”. An overall systems and process ap­­proach that also considers materials and workpiece behavior ser­ves as the basis thereof.

 

fraunhofer-IWS-logo

  1. Address

    Winterbergstraße 28
    D-01277 Dresden
    phone +49 (0) 351 83391-3324
    fax +49 (0) 351 83391-3300
    info@iws.fraunhofer.de
    www.iws.fraunhofer.de­­­
  2. Year of establishment

    1992
  3. Business activity

    Joining
    Ablation and cutting
    Surface treatment
    Thermal coating and generating
    PVD and nano technology
    Chemical surface and reaction technology

Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS: Problemstellungen kundengerecht lösen

Das Fraunhofer IWS betreibt anwen­dungs­­­­­orientierte Forschung auf den Ge­­bieten der Laser- und Oberflächen­tech­­nik. Aus­ge­­prägtes Werkstoff- und Nano­­technik-Know-how verbunden mit der Möglich­­keit einer umfassenden Werk­­stoff­charak­­te­ri­­sie­rung bilden die Grund­­lage der For­schungstätigkeiten.

Im Bereich der Lasertechnik konzen­triert sich das IWS auf die werkstoff­orien­tierte Laser­ma­te­­rial­­bearbeitung und die Ent­­wick­lung laserspezifischer System­lö­sungen. Ziel ist es, innovative Techno­logien für Indus­trie­­unter­neh­men zu entwickeln und deren Einführung zu unterstützen.

In der Ober­­flächen- und Schichttechnik stehen Ver­­schleiß­schutz, Oxidations­schutz und Funk­tions­schich­­ten sowie das Ab­­tragen, Strukturieren und Repa­rieren von Ober­flächen im Mittel­punkt der Ent­wick­­lung. Dabei kommen plasmabasierte Ferti­gungs­­verfahren, chemische Ober­flächen­­tech­­nologien und thermische Beschich­tungs- und Rand­schicht­ver­fah­ren zum Einsatz.

Durch die enge Zusam­men­arbeit mit Anlagen- und System­an­bie­tern bietet das IWS Problemlösungen aus einer Hand. Als Basis hierfür dient die Ge­­­samt­be­trach­tung des Bearbeitungs­sys­­tems, des Verfahrens sowie des Bauteil­verhaltens.

fraunhofer-IWS-logo

  1. Anschrift

    Winterbergstraße 28
    D-01277 Dresden
    Telefon +49 (0) 351 83391-3324
    Telefax +49 (0) 351 83391-3300
    info@iws.fraunhofer.de
    www.iws.fraunhofer.de­­­
  2. Gründungsjahr

    1992
  3. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Fügen
    Abtragen und Trennen
    Randschichttechnik
    Thermisches Beschichten und Generieren
    PVD- und Nanotechnologie
    Chemische Oberflächen- und Reaktionstechnik