Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM: Mathematics is technology

itwm_FhG_Kalender_2003

Mathematical methods make it possible to map reality in a way which computers can process and to deal usefully with large quantities of data or complex structures. When a company wants to improve its prod­­ucts, optimise production processes or find error sources, Fraunhofer ITWM works with the company’s experts to create a mathematical model of the problem, which is then evaluated by the computer. Sim­­u­­lations tailored to this process then find a solution that meets the requirements.

The expertise of Fraunhofer ITWM and the mathematical approach to practical problems perfectly complement engineer­­­ing and business management working methods and allow customer acquisition from many sectors, ranging from automo­­tive to energy providers, chemicals com­­­panies to financial service providers.

 

A simulation regarding the strain  on seats in commercial vehicles  was designed in  cooperation with Keiper.

A simulation regarding the strain on seats in commercial vehicles was designed in cooperation with Keiper.

 

The focal points of the Fraunhofer In­­sti­­tute for Industrial Mathematics ITWM ac­­­­tiv­­ities, the first mathematical institute to be incorpo­­rated into the Fraunhofer-Ge­­sellschaft in the year 2001, are surface inspection, fi­­nancial mathe­­matics, vis­­­­u­­al­­isation of large quantities of data, optimisation of production process­­es, virtual material design and the analysis of three-dimensional microstructures.

 



itwm_85mm_cmyk
  1. Adresse

    Fraunhofer-Platz 1
    D-67663 Kaiserslautern
    Telefon +49 (0) 631 31600-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 631 31600-1099
    presse(at)itwm.fraunhofer.de
    www.itwm.fraunhofer.de
  2. Director

    Prof. Dr. Dieter Prätzel-Wolters
  3. Year of establishment

    1996
  4. Employees

    250
  5. Business activity

    Transport processes, flow and material simulation, image processing, system
    analysis, prognosis and control, financial mathematics, optimisation, mathematical methods in dynamics and durability, Competence Center High Performance Computing and visualisation

Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM: Mathematik ist Technologie

itwm_FhG_Kalender_2003
Mathematische Methoden ermöglichen es, die Wirklichkeit computergerecht nach­­­zubilden und mit großen Daten­men­gen oder komplexen Strukturen sinnvoll umzugehen. Will ein Unternehmen seine Produkte verbessern, Fertigungs­pro­zesse optimieren oder Fehlerquellen aufspüren, erstellt das Fraunhofer ITWM ge­­meinsam mit den Fachleuten des Un­­ter­­­nehmens ein mathematisches Modell des Problems, das mit dem Computer ausgewertet wird; darauf zugeschnittene Simulationen spüren eine Lösung auf, die den Anforderungen gerecht wird. 

Die Kompetenzen des Fraun­hofer ITWM sowie die mathematische Heran­ge­hens­­­­­­weise an praktische Fragestellun­gen er­­gänzen ingenieurwissenschaftliches und be­­triebs­­­wirtschaftliches Arbei­ten ideal und ermöglichen die Kunden­ak­quise in vielen Bran­chen, von Auto­motive über Energie­versor­­ger und Chemiefirmen bis zu Finanz­­­dienstleistern.

In Kooperation mit der Firma Keiper wurde eine Simulation zur Beanspruchung von Nutz­fahrzeugsitzen erstellt.

In Kooperation mit der Firma Keiper wurde eine Simulation zur Beanspruchung von Nutz­fahrzeugsitzen erstellt.


Die Arbeitsschwerpunkte des Instituts für Techno- und Wirtschafts­mathematik, das 2001 als erstes Mathe­­­­matik-Institut in die Fraunhofer-Gesell­­schaft aufgeno­m­­men wurde, sind Ober­­­­­flächeninspek­tion, Finanzmathematik, Visualisierung großer Datenmengen, Opti­­mierung von Produk­­t­­ionsprozessen, Virtuelles Material­design sowie die Analyse von drei­di­m­en­sionalen Mikrostrukturen.


itwm_85mm_cmyk
  1. Anschrift

    Fraunhofer-Platz 1
    D-67663 Kaiserslautern
    Telefon +49 (0) 631 31600-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 631 31600-1099
    presse(at)itwm.fraunhofer.de
    www.itwm.fraunhofer.de
  2. Institutleiter

    Prof. Dr. Dieter Prätzel-Wolters
  3. Gründungsjahr

    1996
  4. Mitarbeiter

    250
  5. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Transportvorgänge, Strömungs- und Materialsimulation, Bildverarbeitung, Systemanalyse, Prognose und Regelung, Finanzmathematik, Optimierung,
    Mathematische Methoden in Dynamik und Festigkeit, Competence Center High Performance Computing und Visualisierung