Frank Göring: The European Premium Brand Villeroy & Boch – Innovation made of tradition

With a 260-year coherent company his­­tory, which began in Lorraine in 1748, Villeroy & Boch counts as a European industry icon. The basis for the market position of this brand’s reputation and the continuous internalization, which be­­gan in the 19th century, are of in­­no-­va­­tive strength and a consistent cus­­to­­mer-orientated approach.

As a European premium brand focusing on the area of bathroom furnishings and table culture, the company has branches in 125 countries. The group’s headquarters are seated in Mettlach, Saar­land, and today they own factories in twelve European countries, Mexico and Thailand. In 2008 the listed company generated a turn­­over of 841 million euros, where 521 million were received from the company field of Bathroom and Wellness, and 320 million from the company field of Tableware. In 2007, Villeroy & Boch passed on 51 per cent of its tile business to the internationally renowned Eczacibasi Group based in Turkey.

009_09_My-Art

The brand and its values
The brand stands central to all activities. With a 260-year tradition, it em­­bodies a piece of European culture, prestige, quality of design and authenticity. Especially on the new growth markets, this profile attracts great de­­­sire. The brand comes to light, above all, through the shops “The House of Villery & Boch”, which secure a uniform, worldwide brand presence at the point of sale. In the centre of this exhibition concept lie the strategies behind its offers, such as “The Bath­­room all from one Hand” and “The Fully Well Laid Table”. With determined, integrated presentation and accentuated emotional customer approach di­­versity and harmonic match of the products can be well-exhibited.
The competition factor of innovation
Also belonging to the brand’s identity from the start of the company is the innovative strength. With numerous technical and aesthetic innovations, Villeroy & Boch has been a benchmark in history and has marked the development of trends. Today, innovations hold a key position within the company’s strategies, as in this way, it finds the chance to attain advantages from worldwide market competition as well as expand its position.

102_09_New-Cottage

In order to intensify the innovation procedure and present a wide spec­­trum of interest, an innovations man­­agement was founded in 2000 to research innovations systematically. The focus is on new, market-similar products close to the market and future-oriented market­ing ideas.
Many of these innovations, such as the easy to clean, CeramicPlus surface, the smell-detracting PurAir WC or the “Invisible Jets” for whirlpools, have provided the whole industry with new impetus. In 2005, Villeroy & Boch re­­ceived the “Innovation Award of the Ger­­man Economy” for the production technology and design of the asymmetrical NewWave crockery series.

One of the youngest innovations within the area of bathroom facilities is a WC which sets standards above all in environmental factors: Omnia GreenGain. With a mere 3.5 litres per flush, it marks a milestone in the usage of water.

Expansion of internationalization
As ever, Europe is still Villeroy & Boch’s most important and largest market. Today, above all, the Asian and Pacific regions offer high potential, the company is consistently building its position here through acquisition and reenforcement of the marketing. With the acquisition of the Thai sanitary producer Nahm, Villeroy & Boch created a platform for Asia in the field of bath­­rooms and wellness in 2008. Lo­­cal pre­­sence allows a reaction to take place against the demands and changes in the dynamic Asian markets.

032_09_La-Belle

With their new groups of consumer and market-oriented users, China, India, Thai­­land and the Middle East/Emirates count towards the most important market op­­portunities in the region.
Also in the area of table culture, nu­­me­r­­­ous “House of Villeroy & Boch” shops have been formed here in the last three years, such as in Peking, Bombay, Haiderabad, Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

The acquisition of the Mexican sanitary fac­tory of the GIS Group in the year 2006 is the basis for further growth long-term significant markets in Central and North America. All in all, the portion of foreign turnover rose from 46 per cent (in 1996) to around 78 per cent (today). A main focus of the international activities in both company areas is the sale of turn key objects. The production of bathroom and wellness as well as al­­so that of table culture furnishings is above all in sophisticated categories of business, such as hotels, hospitals, holiday complexes and homes for senior citizens.

 

Frank-drei-GoeringFrank Göring, born in 1961, is Chief Exe­cu­­tive Officer of Villeroy & Boch AG. Following his studies in Business Management, he began his professional career at Proctor & Gamble and after 1992 held leading positions at companies such as Reemtsma and Hero AG. In 1997 he entered Villeroy & Boch as Marketing Director and was called to the Board of Executives in 2005.

Frank Göring: Europäische Premium-Marke Villeroy & Boch – Innovativ aus Tradition

Mit einer 260-jährigen, kohärenten Un­­­­ter­­nehmensgeschichte, beginnend 1748 in Lothringen, gehört Villeroy & Boch zu den Industrie-Ikonen Europas. Basis der Marktstellung, des Marken-Re­nom­mees und der kontinuierlichen, bereits im 19. Jahrhundert einsetzenden Inter­na­­tio­na­­lisierung sind Innovationskraft und konsequente Kundenorientierung.

Als europäische Premium-Marke im Be­­reich der Badausstattung und der Tisch­­kultur agiert das Unternehmen in 125 Län­­­­dern. Mettlach im Saarland ist der Haupt­­sitz des Konzerns, zu dem heute Werke in zwölf europäischen Ländern, in Mexi­­ko und Thailand gehören. Das bör­sen­­no­­tierte Unternehmen erwirtschaftete 2008 einen Umsatz von 841 Millionen Euro, wobei 521 Millionen auf den Unterneh­mens­be­­reich Bad und Wellness entfielen und 320 Millionen auf den Unter­neh­mens­­bereich Tisch­­kultur. 2007 gab Villeroy & Boch 51 Prozent des Fliesengeschäfts an die international agierende türkische Ecza­­cibasi Gruppe ab.

009_09_My-Art

Die Marke und ihre Werte
Die Marke steht im Zentrum aller Ak­­ti­vi­­tä­­ten. Mit ihrer 260-jährigen Tradition ver­­kör­­pert sie ein Stück europäischer Kul­­­tur, Prestige, Designqualität und Authen­­­­tizität. Gerade auch auf den neuen Wachs­­­­tumsmärkten besitzt sie durch dieses Profil eine hohe Begehrlichkeit. Sichtbar und erlebbar wird die Marke vor allem in den Shops „The House of Villeroy & Boch“, die weltweit einen einheitlichen Markenauftritt am Point of Sale sichern. Im Mittelpunkt dieses Aus­­stellungs-Kon­­zepts stehen die An­­ge­­­­botstrategien „Das Bad aus einer Hand“ und „Der komplett gedeckte Tisch“. Mit konsequent ganzheitlicher Präsentation und betont emotionaler Kunden­an­spra­­­che werden Viel­­falt, Diversifikation und harmonische Ab­­stimmung der Produkte zum Ausdruck gebracht.
Wettbewerbsfaktor Innovation
Zur Marken-Identität gehört seit den An­­fängen des Unternehmens auch Innova­­tionsstärke. Mit zahlreichen technischen und ästhetischen Innovationen hat Vil­­le­­roy & Boch in seiner langen Geschichte Zeichen gesetzt und weltweit die Trend­­entwicklung geprägt. Heute besitzen In­­novationen eine Schlüsselstellung im Rah­­men der Unternehmensstrategie, da das Unternehmen hierin die Chance sieht, auf internationalen Märkten Wettbewerbs­vor­­teile zu erlangen und seine Position wei­­ter auszubauen.

102_09_New-Cottage

Um die Innovationstätigkeit zu intensivie­­ren und auf eine breite Basis zu stellen, wurde 2000 ein Innovations­manage­ment gegründet, das systematisch nach In­­­no­­vationen forscht. Im Fokus stehen neue, marktnahe Produkte und zukunftsweisen­­de Vermarktungsideen.
Viele dieser In­­no­­va­tio­nen, wie die pflegeleichte Ober­­flä­­che Ce­­ramicPlus, das Geruch bekämpfende Pur­­Air WC oder die unsichtbaren Düsen eleganter Whirlwannen, Invisible Jets, ha­­ben der ganzen Branche neue Im­pul­­se gegeben. 2005 erhielt Villeroy & Boch den „Innovationspreis der deutschen Wirt­­schaft“ für Produktions­tech­­nik und De­­sign der asymmetrischen Ge­­schirrse­rie NewWave.

Zu den jüngsten Innovationen im Bad­be­­reich gehört ein WC, das vor allem un­­ter Umwelt-Aspekten Maßstäbe setzt: Omnia GreenGain. Mit nur 3,5 Litern pro Spülung ist es ein Meilenstein in puncto Wasserverbrauch.

Ausbau der Internationalisierung
Europa ist nach wie vor für Villeroy & Boch der wichtigste und größte Markt. Da heute vor allem die asiatische und pazifische Region ein hohes Potenzial bietet, baut das Unternehmen seine Po­­­sition hier durch Akquisitionen und Ver­­stärkung des Vertriebs konsequent aus. Mit dem Erwerb des thailändischen Sa­­nitärproduzenten Nahm hat Villeroy & Boch 2008 im Bereich Bad und Well­­ness eine Plattform im asiatischen Raum ge­­schaffen. Die lokale Prä­­senz ermöglicht eine zeitnahe Reaktion auf die An­­for­de­rungen und Verän­derun­­gen der dynamischen asiatischen Mär­kte.

032_09_La-Belle

Zu den wichtigsten Absatzmärkten dieser Region mit ihren neuen konsum- und markenorientierten Ver­braucher­schich­­ten zählen China, Indien, Thailand und der Nahe Osten/Emirate.
Auch im Be­­reich Tischkultur entstanden hier in den letzten drei Jahren zahlreiche „House of Villeroy & Boch-Shops“, darunter in Peking, Bombay, Haiderabad, Katar, Sau­­di-Arabien.

Die Akquisition der mexikanischen Sa­­nitärwerke der GIS Gruppe im Jahr 2006 ist die Basis für weiteres Wachs­­tum in den langfristig bedeutenden Märkten in Mittel- und Nordamerika. Insgesamt stieg der Auslandsanteil am Umsatz von 46 Prozent (1996) auf heute rund 78 Pro­­zent. Ein Schwer­­punkt der internationa­­len Ak­­tivitäten in beiden Unternehmens­be­­reichen ist das Objektgeschäft. Mit Bad und Wellness- wie auch Tisch­­kul­­tur-Pro­­dukten werden, vor allem in der ge­­hobenen Kategorie, Hotels, Kranken­häu­­ser, Ferienwohnanlagen, Senioren­­stifts ausgestattet.

Frank-drei-GoeringFrank Göring, geboren 1961, ist Vor­stands­­­­vorsitzender der Villeroy & Boch AG. Nach einem Studium der Betriebs­wirtschaft be­­gann er seine berufliche Laufbahn bei Proc­­ter & Gamble und war ab 1992 in lei­­tenden Positionen, unter anderem bei Reemtsma und der Hero AG tätig. 1997 stieg er als Marketing-Di­­rektor bei Ville­­roy & Boch ein und wur­­de im Jahr 2005 in den Vorstand der Villeroy & Boch AG berufen.