Cluster of Excellence “The Future Ocean“ : Understanding the ocean – Sustaining our future

Over 200 scientists from marine, geo­science, economic, social and legal sciences as well as medicine, computer sciences, mathematics and environmental ethics are conducting research in the Cluster of Excellence “The Future Ocean” in Kiel on issues relating to the ocean and its coasts. Their topics include the effects of climate change on marine biocenoses, the consequences of sea-level rise, the consequences of the increasing use of resources, or the opportunities which substances from the sea provide.

The exchange of scientific results with politics and industry is an important part of the research agenda. The excellence cluster has developed tools that allow scientists and industry or public sector interest groups to drive application-oriented cooperation projects together. One such example is offshore cultivation of micro-algae, which can be used for cosmetics, as a food supplement, medication or additive for fish feed.

Furthermore, there are regular professional events held together with the Maritime Cluster Northern Germany. The excellence cluster also promotes the exchange of professional groups and the creation of studies for national and international committees.

clustersofexcellence_logo

  1. Address

    Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU)
    Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4
    24118 Kiel
    info@futureocean.org
    www.futureocean.org 

  2. Speaker

    Prof. Dr. Martin Visbeck,
    GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum
    für Ozeanforschung Kiel

    Prof. Dr. Ralph R. Schneider,
    Institut für Geowissenschaften,
    Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

  3. Project duration

    2006–2017

  4. Business activity

    Maritime, coastal and climate research, aquaculture, marine substances

Exzellenzcluster „Ozean der Zukunft“ : Den Ozean verstehen heißt die Zukunft gestalten

Im Kieler Exzellenzcluster „Ozean der Zu­­­­kunft“ forschen über 200 Wissenschaftler­innen und Wissenschaftler aus den Mee­­­­res-, Geo-, Wirtschafts-, Sozial- und Rechts­­wis­­sen­­schaften, aus der Medizin, Informatik, Mathematik und Umweltethik an Fragestellungen zum Ozean und seinen Küsten. Ihre Themen sind u. a. die Auswirkungen des Kli­­ma­­wandels auf marine Lebensgemeinschaften, die Konsequenzen des Meeresspiegel­an­­stiegs, die Folgen zu­­nehmender Nutzung von Ressourcen oder die Chancen, die sich durch Wirkstoffe aus dem Meer ergeben.

Der Austausch der wissenschaftlichen Ergeb­­nisse mit Politik und Wirtschaft ist dabei ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Forschungs­­agenda. Der Exzellenzcluster hat Instrumente ent­­wickelt, mit denen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zusammen mit der Indus­­trie oder Interessengruppen aus dem öffentlichen Bereich anwendungs­­orientierte Ko­­op­­erationsprojekte vorantreiben können. Ein Beispiel ist die Offshorezucht von Mikroalgen, die in der Kosmetik, als Nahrungsergänzungs­­mittel, Medikamente und als Zu­­satz für Fisch­­futter zur Anwendung kommen können.

Gemeinsam mit Partnern wie dem Maritimen Cluster Norddeutschland finden da­­rüber hinaus regelmäßige Fachveranstaltungen statt. Ferner unterstützt der Exzellenzcluster den Austausch von Fachgruppen und die Erstellung von Studien für nationale und internationale politische Gremien.

clustersofexcellence_logo

  1. Anschrift

    Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU)
    Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4
    24118 Kiel
    info@futureocean.org
    www.futureocean.org 

  2. Sprecher

    Prof. Dr. Martin Visbeck,
    GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum
    für Ozeanforschung Kiel

    Prof. Dr. Ralph R. Schneider,
    Institut für Geowissenschaften,
    Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

  3. Projektlaufzeit

    2006–2017

  4. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Meeres-, Küsten- und Klimaforschung, Aquakultur, marine Wirkstoffe