Eva Kühne-Hörmann: Research and science location of Southern Hessen

Worldwide top-level science and re­­search are a critical prerequisite to ensure the continued success of the business loca­­tion of Germany in the future. Ingenuity and innovation are a trademark of our state and the source of productivity of our society and our citizens. However, that leading position of the state can only be maintained if enough new skilled recruits will continue to be available in the future to keep the innovation engine running in universities, research facilities and companies. The research and science location of Southern Hessen is contrib­u­t­­ing to that in an out­­standing manner.

Bildquelle-GSI-Helmholtzzentrum-für-Schwerionenforschung,-A.-Zschau

The area between Rhine, Main and Neckar with Darmstadt, the city of science, at its centre is counted among the regions of the future in Europe. To that effect, the location benefits not only from the neighbouring metropolitan regions Rhine-Main to the north and Rhine-Neckar to the south. It is the central location in the heart of Germany and in the centre of Europe with ideal road, water, rail and airway connections, in particular, that crowns the attractiveness of the location. Moreover, the charming cultural landscape along the Bergstraße with UNESCO World Heritage sites such as the Abbey of Lorsch and the Messel Pit, the Geopark Bergstraße-Odenwald, the Jugendstil architecture of the artist colony on the Darmstadt Mathildenhöhe as well as the countless palaces, castles, museums, theatres and historical old towns reveal a unique appeal. The latter benefits not only the many internatio­nal companies but also the numerous edu­­cation, research and training facilities in their search for staff – whether new graduates or eminent researchers, do­­mes­­tic or foreign. The Darmstadt Uni­ver­­sity of Technology (TU Darmstadt) and the Darmstadt University of Applied Sci­­ences are regional representatives of the performance of universities in Hessen. Dozens of renowned research and scien­tific institutes – including four Fraun­hofer Institutes, the European Space Opera­tions Centre (ESOC) and EUMETSAT – are head­­quartered in Southern Hessen. More­­over, investments in the billions are giving rise to one of the world’s largest facilities for fundamental physical research at the the GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research: the FAIR particle accelerator. FAIR is one of the most important infra­­structure projects in the field of fundamental research in Europe.
It will offer worldwide unique research oppor­­tunities and attract scientists from around the world to Southern Hessen – from young talents to established professors.

tu-darmstadt_3-Kopie

Since 1999, the promotion of education, research and science have been among the priorities of state policy. The state government considers investments in those areas to be crucial for the future. The research policy of Hessen is aimed at promoting the location and creating dependable structural conditions for uni­­versities and non-academic institutions. Traditionally, the bulk of the support for research takes the form of institutional promotion of universities based on per­formance-related budgeting. In the so-called performance budget, achievements in research are rewarded and acknowledged with bonuses.

In addition, distinctive development projects and priorities at universities are financed through the innovation and structural development budget. Those additional funds established in the Higher Education Pact between state government and universities amount to sixteen million euros per budget year until 2015. They are granted at the request of the university administration, typically in accordance with a target agreement and, as the case may be, upon an exter­­nal review.

With the aim to profile the Hessian re­­search facilities and to promote network­ing of Hessian universities with each other as well as with non-academic re­­search facilities and local industries, the Hessian state government launched its own state excellence programme in 2007: the Ini­tia­­tive for the Development of Scientific and Economic Excellence (LOEWE). Through that excellence competition, universities and research facilities of Southern Hessen were able to profile themselves as well. The LOEWE centres “CASED – Center for Advanced Security Research Darmstadt”, “AdRIA – Adaptronic-Research, Inno­va­tion, Application” and “HIC for FAIR – Helmholtz International Center for FAIR” as well as the LOEWE research priorities “Intrinsic Logic of Cities”, “Soft Control – Using Polymer Molecules at Interfaces to Switch Functions”, “Cocoon – Cooperative Sensor Communication” and “Dynamo PLV – dy­­namic and seamless integration of production, logistics and transportation” are representative of the outstanding re­­search achievements in Southern Hessen. Nearly 70 million euros in state government funds are available for those beacons of excel­­lent research to fully develop their profiles.
They are complemented by projects of the LOEWE funding programme “Förderlinie 3” between companies and research facilities. Between 2008 and 2012, in the Darmstadt area alone, a total of 27 com­­panies, 14 institutes of TU Darmstadt and two institutes of the Darmstadt Uni­­ver­sity of Applied Sciences are receiving over three million euros in funds for R&D projects. The priorities of the applied research projects focus on the development of new products and processes in the fields of mechanical engineering, opti­­cal technologies, materials technologies as well as information and communication technologies. In the same time pe­­riod, the industry is further contributing approximately four million euros to the research spending.

Rostocker_Forscher_entwickeln_Trainingssimulator_fuer_Fliegende_Schiffe__Fraunhofer_IGD

The IT research illustrates that achievements of individual institutions in the Hessian excellence initiative are also models for achievements in the federal excellence competition and funnel addi­­tional external funds into the region. For instance, over 20 million euros were attracted through the Initiative for Excellence competition of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) alone and for the purpose of the BMBF competence centre for IT security research.
The Hessian government is aware of the significance of information technol­­ogy as well as researching and further developing it as an important location factor for innovation power. The afore­­mentioned achievements are outstand­­ing examples of the performance of IT science in Southern Hessen. In order to enhance it, the state government is promoting a variety of initiatives such as upgrading high-performance computing to one of the most important scientific meta-disciplines. Since 2011, TU Darmstadt has been building one of the fastest high-performance computers in Germany. Great research projects such as the excellence cluster “Center of Smart Interfaces”, supported through the excellence initiative, and the “Graduate School of Compu­ta­tional Engineering” require enormous compu­­tational capacities for the simulation of complex technical systems. The expected investment costs for the high-perform­ance computer including the compu­ter building amount to 20 million euros.

1_GSI_Hauptkontrollraum_1

However, research promotion in Southern Hessen is not the only top priority of the state government. Great weight is also given to expanding and modernising the infrastructure of our universities and research facilities as well as making it more competitive. The construction and investment programme HEUREKA (university development and reconstruction programme: renewal, concen­­tration and expansion of research and education in Hessen) is to modernise the university infrastructure to the tune of three billion euros in total financing volume by 2020.

That is a prerequisite for Hessian uni­­versities to survive the national and international competition. HEUREKA creates the necessary structural con­ditions; for, the reform of academic structures, the internationalisation of universities and the required boosting of research are confronting universities with considerable challenges. For the first time, a comprehensive investment plan was submitted for all of the twelve Hessian universities, universities of applied sciences and art colleges. For each of them, an integrated construc­tion plan was developed. Based on those plans, a total of 310 million euros are earmarked for measures at TU Darm­stadt and 100 million euros the Darmstadt University of Ap­­plied Sciences.

h_da_-Inf-u-Wssgsmgnt1_kristin-loschert-Kopie

In addition, the special investment pro­­gramme for schools and universities launched in 2009 by the state government and the second federal economic stimulus package place a total of 541 million euros at the disposal of Hessian universities. An exem­­plary measure from those programmes is the auditorium and media centre currently under construction on the Lichtwiese campus for about 35 million euros from the special investment pro­­gramme for schools and universities. TU Darmstadt receives more than 23 million euros in funds from the second federal economic stimulus package. With a total cost of about 43 million euros, the renovation of the multi-storey building in Schöfferstraße is the most significant building project for the Darmstadt University of Applied Scien­ces. Through the second federal eco­nomic stimulus package, another nearly 14 million euros are available for meas­­ures at the Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences.

All those measures contribute to boost­­ing the excellent position of the re­­search and science location of South­ern Hessen. That is a prerequisite for universities, research facilities and com­­panies to score in the rising na­­tional and international competition for the best minds, contracts and re­search funds.

Staatsministerin-Kühne-Hörmann---für-Druck-KopieThe author (born in 1962) has been Hessian minister for science and art since 2009. She studied law in Würz­burg and Göttingen and, after the second state examination, she worked as a lecturer as well as in the administration of the Free State of Thuringia. From 1993 to 1995, she was office manager for the senior mayor of Kassel. Since 1995, she has been a member of the Hessian state parliament.

Eva Kühne-Hörmann: Forschungs- und Wissenschaftsstandort Südhessen

Wissenschaft und Forschung auf weltweitem Spitzenniveau sind zentrale Vor­­aussetzungen, um den Erfolg des Wirt­schaftsstandorts Deutschland auch in Zukunft zu gewährleisten. Erfinder­geist und Innovationen sind ein Marken­zei­chen unseres Landes und stehen für die Leistungsfähigkeit unserer Gesell­schaft, unserer Bürgerinnen und Bür­ger. Diese führende Stellung des Landes kann jedoch nur aufrechterhalten werden, wenn auch zukünftig ausreichend quali­fizierte Nachwuchskräfte den Inno­­va­tions­­motor in Hochschulen, Forschungs­­ein­rich­­tungen und Unternehmen am Laufen halten. Hierzu trägt der For­schungs- und Wissenschaftsstandort Südhessen in herausragender Weise bei.

Bildquelle-GSI-Helmholtzzentrum-für-Schwerionenforschung,-A.-Zschau

Die Region zwischen Rhein, Main und Neckar mit der Wissenschaftsstadt Darm­­stadt im Mittelpunkt zählt zu den Zukunfts­­regionen in Europa. Dabei pro­­fitiert der Standort nicht nur von den angrenzenden Metropolregionen Rhein-Main im Norden und Rhein-Neckar im Süden. Insbeson­dere die zentrale Lage im Herzen Deutsch­­lands und in der Mitte Europas mit den optimalen Straßen-, Wasser-, Schienen- und Luftverkehrs­verbindungen zeichnet die Attraktivität des Standorts aus. Darü­ber hinaus ent­­faltet die reizvolle Kultur­land­­schaft ent­­lang der Bergstraße mit den UNESCO-Welterbestätten Kloster Lorsch und Grube Messel, dem Geo-Naturpark Berg­­straße-Odenwald, der Jugendstil­archi­tek­­tur der Künstlerkolonie auf der Darm­­städter Mathildenhöhe sowie un­­zäh­li­gen Schlössern, Burgen, Museen, Thea­­tern und historischen Altstädten eine einzig­artige Anziehungskraft. Von dieser pro­­fitieren nicht nur die vielen internatio­­nalen Unternehmen, sondern auch die zahlreichen Einrichtungen im Bereich der Ausbildung, Forschung und Lehre bei der Suche nach Mitarbeitern, ob Jung­­aka­de­­miker oder hochkarätige Wissen­schaft­ler aus dem In- und Aus­land. Die Techni­sche Universität Darm­stadt sowie die Hoch­schule Darmstadt stehen in der Region stellvertretend für die Leistungs­fähig­keit der hessischen Hochschulen. Dutzende renommierte Forschungs- und Wissen­schafts­ins­ti­tute, darunter vier Fraun­hofer-Institute, das European Space Operations Centre (ESOC) und EUMETSAT, haben in Südhessen ihren Sitz. Darü­ber hinaus entsteht mit Milliarden­in­ves­ti­tio­nen am Helmholtz­zentrum für Schwe­­rionen­for­­schung GSI eine der weltweit größten Anlagen für die physikalische Grund­lagen­for­schung: der Teilchen­be­schleu­niger FAIR. FAIR ist eines der wich­­tigsten Infra­struk­tur­pro­jekte der Grund­­lagenforschung in Europa. Es wird weltweit einzigartige Forschungs­möglichkeiten bieten und Wissen­schaftler aus aller Welt nach Südhessen locken – vom talentierten Nachwuchs bis hin zu etablierten Professoren.
Seit 1999 zählt die Förderung von Bil­dung, Forschung und Wissenschaft zu den Schwerpunkten der Landes­politik. Investitionen in diesen Be­­rei­chen be­­trach­­tet die Landesregierung als wichtigste Zukunftsinvestition. Die hessische For­schungspolitik will den Standort för­­dern und verlässliche Rah­­men­­­be­din­gun­­gen für Hoch­schu­len und außer­universi­täre Institute schaf­­fen. Tradi­tio­nell erfolgt die Unterstützung der Forschung vorwiegend in Form der ins­titutionellen Förderung der Hoch­schulen auf Basis einer leistungsbezogenen Budgetierung. Im soge­­nann­­ten Erfolgs­­budget werden Leistungen in der Forschung mit Prä­mien honoriert und berücksichtigt.

tu-darmstadt_3-Kopie

Darüber hinaus werden profilierende Ent­­wicklungsvorhaben und Schwer­punkt­­setzungen an den Hochschulen aus dem Innovations- und Struktur­ent­wick­lungs­­budget finanziert. Diese im Hoch­schul­pakt zwischen der Landes­regierung und den Hochschulen verankerten zusätzlichen Mittel umfassen bis 2015 pro Haus­haltsjahr 16 Millionen Euro. Sie werden auf Antrag der Hoch­schulleitungen ver­­geben, üblicherweise im Rahmen von Zielvereinbarungen und gegebenenfalls nach einer externen Begutachtung.
Zur Stärkung der Profilbildung der hessi­schen Forschungseinrichtungen und zur Beförderung der Vernetzung der hessischen Hochschulen untereinander sowie mit außeruniversitären Forschungs­­ein­richtungen beziehungsweise der orts­­ansässigen Industrie legte die Hessi­sche Landesregierung im Jahr 2007 die Lan­­des-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissen­schaft­lich-öko­no­mi­scher Exzellenz (LOEWE) als eigenes Landesexzellenzprogramm auf. In diesem Exzellenzwettbewerb konn­­ten sich insbesondere auch Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen aus Süd­hes­sen profilieren. Die LOEWE-Zentren CASED – Center for Advanced Security Research Darmstadt, AdRIA – Adaptronic-­­Re­search, Innovation, Application, HIC for FAIR – Helmholtz International Center for FAIR sowie die Schwerpunkte „Eigenlogik der Städte“, „Soft Control – Mit Poly­meren an Grenzflächen Funk­tio­­nen effi­­zient schalten“, „Cocoon – Koope­rative Sensorkommunikation“, „Dynamo PLV – Dynamische und nahtlose Inte­gra­­tion von Produktion, Logistik und Verkehr“ stehen stellvertretend für die herausra­gende Forschungsleistung in Südhessen. Fast 70 Millionen Euro För­der­­mittel des Landes stehen bereit, damit diese Leucht­­türme exzellenter For­schung ihre volle Strahlkraft entfalten können.
Sie werden ergänzt von Projekten der LOEWE-Förderlinie 3 zwischen Unter­neh­men und Forschungseinrichtungen. Im Zeitraum 2008 bis 2012 werden allein im Raum Darmstadt insgesamt 27 Unter­­nehmen, 14 Hochschulinstitute der TU Darmstadt sowie zwei Ins­ti­tute der Hoch­­schule Darmstadt in F&E-Pro­jekten mit über drei Milli­o­nen Euro an LOEWE-Mitteln gefördert. Die Schwer­­punkte der an­­gewandten For­­schungs­projekte konzentrieren sich dabei auf die Ent­wick­­lung neuer Pro­dukte und Prozesse in den Bereichen Maschinen­bau, optische Technologien, Material­tech­­nologien und Informations- und Kommu­­ni­ka­tions­­technologien. Im gleichen Zeit­­raum beteiligt sich die Wirt­­schaft mit weiteren rund vier Millionen Euro an den Forschungsausgaben.

Rostocker_Forscher_entwickeln_Trainingssimulator_fuer_Fliegende_Schiffe__Fraunhofer_IGD

Dass die Erfolge der einzelnen Insti­tu­tionen in der hessischen Exzellenz­ini­tia­­­­tive auch beispielhaft sind für Erfol­ge beim Exzellenzwettbewerb des Bundes und zusätzliche Drittmittel in die Re­­gion spülen, zeigt die IT-­For­schung. So konn­­­­ten allein durch den Spitzencluster-Wett­­­bewerb des Bundes­­ministeriums für Bil­­­­dung und For­schung (BMBF) und im Rahmen des BMBF-Kompetenz­zen­trums IT-­Sicher­heits­for­schung über 20 Millio­nen Euro eingeworben werden.
Die Hessische Landesregierung weiß um die Bedeutung der Informations­tech­no­­­logie und ihrer Erforschung und Weiter­entwicklung als wichtiger Stand­ort­fak­tor für Innovationskraft. Die ge­­nann­­ten Er­­fol­ge sind ein hervorragendes Beispiel für die Leistungsfähigkeit der IT-Wissen­schaft in Südhessen. Um diese zu stär­­ken, fördert die Landesregierung eine Vielzahl von Initiativen. Dazu gehört der Ausbau des Hochleistungsrechnens als einer der bedeutendsten wissenschaft­­lichen Metadisziplinen. Seit 2011 wird an der TU Darmstadt einer der schnells­ten Hochleistungsrechner in Deutschland aufgebaut. Große For­schungs­­vorhaben wie der im Rahmen der Exzellenz­ini­tia­tive geförderte Exzellenzcluster „Center of Smart Interfaces“ oder die „Graduate School of Computational Engineering“ benötigen für die Simulation von kom­ple­­­­xen technischen Gesamtsystemen enor­­­me Rechenkapazitäten. Die erwar­te­ten Inves­­titionskosten betragen 20 Mil­lio­­nen Euro für den Hochleistungs­rechner mit Rechenzentrumsgebäude.

1_GSI_Hauptkontrollraum_1

Doch nicht nur die Forschungsförderung in Südhessen steht auf der Prioritäten­liste der Landesregierung ganz oben. Große Bedeutung hat auch der Ausbau einer modernen, wettbewerbsfähigen Infra­­struktur unserer Hochschulen und For­schungseinrichtungen. Mit dem Bau- und Investitionsprogramm HEUREKA (Hoch­­schulEntwicklungs- und Umbau­pro­gramm: RundErneuerung, Konzen­tra­­tion und Aus­­bau von Forschung und Lehre in Hessen) wird bis 2020 mit einem Gesamt­fi­nanz­volumen von drei Mil­li­ar­den Euro die Hochschulinfrastruktur modernisiert.

Dies ist Voraussetzung dafür, dass die hessischen Hochschulen im nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerb bestehen können. Mit HEUREKA werden die notwendigen baulichen Rahmen­be­din­gun­gen geschaffen, denn durch die Reform der Studienstrukturen, die Internationali­sie­­rung der Hochschulen und die erforder­liche Stärkung der Forschung stehen die Hochschulen vor erheblichen Heraus­forderungen. Erstmals wurde eine um­­fassende Investitionsplanung für alle zwölf hessischen Universitäten, Fach- und Kunsthochschulen vorgelegt. Für jede wurde eine ganzheitliche, struktur­bezogene Bauplanung erarbeitet. Auf Basis dieser Planungen sind für Maß­nahmen der TU Darmstadt insgesamt 310 Mil­li­­o­­nen Euro und für Maßnahmen der Hoch­­schule Darmstadt insgesamt 100 Millio­­nen Euro vorgesehen.

h_da_-Inf-u-Wssgsmgnt1_kristin-loschert-Kopie

Durch das im Jahr 2009 aufgelegte Son­­derinvestitionsprogramm „Schulen und Hochschulen“ der Landesregierung und das Konjunkturpaket II des Bundes stehen darüber hinaus insgesamt 541 Millionen Euro für die Hochschulen in Hessen zur Verfügung. Beispielhaft für Maßnahmen aus diesen Programmen ist das im Bau befindliche Hörsaal- und Medienzentrum auf dem Campus Licht­­­­­wiese für rund 35 Millionen Euro aus dem Sonderinvestitionsprogramm „Schulen und Hochschulen“. Aus Mitteln des Kon­­­­­­junkturpaketes II des Bundes erhält die Technische Universität Darm­­stadt über 23 Millionen Euro. Die be­­deu­tendste Bau­­­­­­maßnahme für die Hoch­schule Darm­stadt ist die Sanierung des Hochhauses in der Schöfferstraße mit Gesamt­kos­ten von rund 43 Milli­o­nen Euro. Weitere fast 14 Millionen Euro stehen im Rah­men des Konjunktur­pake­tes II des Bundes für Maßnahmen an der Hoch­schule Darmstadt bereit.

All diese Maßnahmen tragen dazu bei, dass die ausgezeichnete Position des Forschungs- und Wissen­schafts­stand­orts Südhessen gestärkt wird. Dies ist Vor­aussetzung, damit Hochschulen, For­­schungseinrichtungen und Unter­neh­men im zunehmenden Wettbewerb auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene um die besten Köpfe, um Aufträge und For­schungsgelder punkten können.

Staatsministerin-Kühne-Hörmann---für-Druck-KopieDie Autorin (Jahrgang 1962) ist seit 2009 hessische Ministerin für Wissen­schaft und Kunst. Sie hat in Würzburg und Göttingen Rechtswissenschaften studiert und nach dem zweiten Staats­­­examen als Dozentin und in der Ver­wal­tung des Freistaats Thüringen gearbeitet. Von 1993 bis 1995 war sie Büroleiterin des Kasseler Oberbürger­meisters. Seit 1995 gehört sie dem Hessischen Landtag an.