ESOC European Space Operations Centre: ESOC – Europe’s Gate to Space

Located in Darmstadt, just south of Frankfurt am Main, ESOC (the European Space Oper­ations Centre) is the con­­trol centre of the ESA (Euro­pean Space Agency). It is respon­sible for the operation of all ESA satellites, controlling the ground stations and developing corresponding tech­no­­­logies and systems.

ESOC maintains a network of nine ground stations in Sweden, Belgium, Australia, Spain and in Kourou in French Guiana. These stations are all ideally located and are capable of supporting all possible satellite missions, regardless of whether they are in orbit close to earth, further away or even in orbits to other planets. To date, the Centre has operationally controlled 60 ESA satellites, including Envisat, Mars Express, Venus Express, Huygens, Herschel/Planck and Rosetta.

ESA/ESOC also supports missions of other national and international organisations and carries out a large number of projects in cooperation with NASA and Russia. Due to its highly developed technology and teams of specialists, it is able to control 15 satellites in routine at the same time and others in the critical start phase. Some 260 ESA staff and 500 contractors work at ESOC.

esa-logo

 

  1. Address

    Robert-Bosch-Straße 5
    D-64293 Darmstadt
    Telefon +49 (0) 6151 90-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 6151 90-495
    esoc.communication@esa.int
    www.esa.int/esoc
    www.esa.de
  2. Year Of Establishment

    1967 in Darmstadt
  3. Geschäftstätigkeit

    planning and routine operations
    of ESA satellite missions; development, operations and maintenance of ground segment, antennas, communication networks and the control rooms

ESOC European Space Operations Centre: ESOC – Europas Tor zum Weltall

Das ESOC (European Space Operations Centre) ist das Kontrollzentrum der Euro­päischen Weltraumorganisation ESA (Euro­­pean Space Agency). Es ist für den Betrieb sämtlicher ESA-Satelliten, die Steuer­ung der Bodenstationen sowie die Entwicklung entsprechender Techno­logien und Systeme verantwortlich.

Das ESOC unterhält ein Netzwerk von neun Bodenstationen in Schweden, Belgien, Australien, Spanien und in Kourou (Fran­zö­s­isch-Guayana). Diese sind optimal platziert und können alle möglichen Sat­el­liten­­­mis­sionen unterstützen, unabhängig davon, ob diese in erdnahen oder -fernen Um­lauf­­bah­nen oder auf Bahnen zu anderen Pla­ne­ten verlaufen. Das Zentrum hat bis­lang 60 ESA-Satelliten operationell betreut, unter anderem Envisat, Mars Express, Venus Ex­­press, Huygens, Herschel/Planck und Rosetta.

ESA/ESOC unterstützt zudem Missi­­­onen anderer nationaler und inter­nat­io­­naler Organisationen. Zahl­reiche Projekte werden in Koope­ration mit der NASA und mit Russ­land durch­geführt. Auf­grund seiner hochent­wickelten Technik und der Spezia­l­isten-Teams ist es in der Lage, gleich­­­­­­­zeitig 15 Satelliten in Routine und weitere in der kritischen Start­­­­­­phase zu kontrollieren. Im ESOC sind etwa 260 ESA-Mitarbeiter sowie 500 Be­­schäftigte von Vertragsfirmen tätig.

esa-logo

 

  1. Anschrift

    Robert-Bosch-Straße 5
    D-64293 Darmstadt
    Telefon +49 (0) 6151 90-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 6151 90-495
    esoc.communication@esa.int
    www.esa.int/esoc
    www.esa.de
  2. Gründungsjahr

    1967 in Darmstadt
  3. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Planung und Durchführung von Satellitenmissionen der ESA
    sowie anderer Organisationen; Entwicklung, Betrieb und Unterhalt des Bodensegments aus Bodenantennen,
    dem Kommunikationsnetzwerk
    und den Kontrollzentren