Ernst von der Heide: Feeling at home in one of the strongest economic regions in Germany

Business and politics share a common goal in the IngolStadtLandPlus region: making living and working as pleasant as possible for highly qualified professionals and their families. This commitment is documented by seven key factors: awareness – location factors – networking – innovative spirit – educational opportunities – family-friendliness – recreational value.

1. Awareness: The economic robustness of the Ingol­StadtLandPlus region makes it an interesting place
to work and live. The Ingolstadt region is one of the most dynamic growth regions in Germany. The region has one of the lowest unemployment rates in the country – 2.2 per cent in May 2014. Studies such as the one con­­ducted by the Bavarian Industry Asso­­ciation in 2011 or the economic index compiled by the Chamber of Commerce and Industry in 2012 underscore its above-average economic strength and lo­­cal companies’ high willingness to invest.

WV-3607_Herb_Shoppingfreundinnen_lachend

This dynamic development is underpinned by an increasing population. The region’s four local administrations – the districts of Eichstätt, Neuburg-Schrobenhausen, Pfaffenhofen an der Ilm and the city of Ingolstadt – will see a steady increase in population until 2030. The population of the region has grown by 2,1 per cent to 466,807 between 2009 and 2013.

2. Solid location factors: The workforce also benefits from future-oriented location factors such as its infrastructure and company diversity. A high degree of mobi­l­ity is also an important location factor. The Ingolstadt region is cosmopolitan and located in the heart of Bavaria, halfway between the metropolises of Munich and Nurem­berg and ideally connected to the motorway and high-speed ICE railway networks as well as to Munich Airport. Another location factor is the high level of value creation in the region. This amounted to 13,724 million euros in 2009. The mobility sector is the most important pillar of re­­gional value creation, contributing 34 per cent.

However, it is not only the automotive industry that is strong here; many other high-tech sectors and international trade companies also profit from the entrepreneurial environment – while at the same time driving job creation in the region. For professionals, this means a wider range of companies interested in their employment profiles.


Lesesaal_Ingolstadt

3. Networking: Holistic “employer branding” includes top local conditions for training and work. Companies in the region – from internationally active com­­panies such as Airbus Defence and Space with its Man­­ching site, Bauer AG, Media-Saturn and Audi to medium-sized trade businesses – place considerable importance on loca­­tion promotion. The activities are brought together by the Initiative Regionalmanagement Region Ingolstadt e.V., one of Germany’s largest public-private partnerships for regional development.

4. Innovative spirit: Innovation and dynamism inspire the area to live and work as a cosmopolitan and future-oriented region. The Audi corporation is planning to invest eleven billion euros by 2015, primarily in new products and technologies as well as the expansion of its sites. Of this amount, more than five billion euros are to be invested in its Ingolstadt and Neckarsulm sites in Germany. Airbus Defence and Space too, has established an important high-tech location in the region by founding its Military Aviation Centre in Manching (Pfaffenhofen district). An additional ex­­ample of the dynamism of innovation here are the companies from the mechan­­ical engineering and engineering services sectors, which benefit from cooperation with the automotive sector. This also re­­sults in a high number of start-ups. Accord­­ing to statistics compiled by the Chamber of Industry and Commerce for the city of Ingolstadt and the surrounding districts, almost 4,000 people took on the risk of self-employment in 2012.

EADS_Testcenter-CPD_56044_242

5. Educational facilities: The IngolStadt­­­LandPlus region provides professionals and their families from around the world with educational opportunities at the highest level. The first state university in Bavaria was founded in Ingolstadt nearly 600 years ago, and more is in­­vested in education and science here than in almost any other region. The Free State of Bavaria is currently providing funding of 51 million euros for the ex­­pan­­sion of Ingolstadt University of Applied Sciences. In addition, the humanities-oriented Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt (CU) is one of the state’s most respected universities. The CU has achieved top positions in the “CHE” ranking published in Germany’s “DIE ZEIT” university guide several times.
Furthermore, the international school SIS was established on the initiative of the Förderverein. The bilingual school had 35 pupils on its roll in 2009. This number had increased to 115, including the nursery class, by 2013. The students generally come from dual-nationality families from the USA, China, India and many other countries.

NS_10_Helibild1_Po¦êhler

6. Services for families: The Ingol­­Stadt­­LandPlus region is very family-friendly thanks to its cooperation with business and individual municipalities. In the Ingol­­stadt region, companies and communities work hand-in-hand to provide workers and their families with ideal conditions for caring for thir children. The town of Schroben­hausen, one of the most family-friendly towns in Germany, works together with a range of providers such as the BRK (Bavarian Red Cross), AWO (Workers’ Welfare Organisation) and church institutions to ensure that children are guaranteed a nursery place. The initial fitting out of new child care facilities is financially supported by Bauer AG, who also finance the children’s holi­­day scheme that is now a fixed point in the calendar. The internationally operating high-tech company MBDA Sys­­tems from Schrobenhausen received the “Great Place to Work” award in 2012, putting it among the top 100 employers for the second time. Airbus Defence and Space in Manching and Media Saturn Germany were certified for their family-conscious human resources policies by the berufundfamilie (career and family) audit in December 2011. Airbus and Audi also make it easier to combine a career with family life by providing benefits such as flexible working time models, reserved nursery places and the goal of sustainably in­­creasing the number of women in management and technology jobs. Providing créche places and vacation childcare Media-Saturn and Airbus Defence and Space promote the work-life balance of their empoyees.


IN_Asamkirche

7. High recreational value: The wide-ranging, diverse and innovative recre­­ation and cultural services on offer in the region can stand up to any compar­­ison with major metropolises. The city of Ingolstadt and the surrounding rural dis­­tricts of Eichstätt, Neuburg-Schroben­­hausen and Pfaffenhofen an der Ilm offer not only many historical sights but also a wide range of cultural institutions of national importance, including a mu­­seum of modern art, the Lechner Museum in Ingolstadt and the Kelten-Römer-Museum with its excellent international network. Major events such as the international jazz festival, the Audi summer concerts, which have been held for more than 20 years and the popular open air classical music concert attract large numbers of visitors to the region every year. Professional sports are also attractive even beyond the region’s bor­­ders. The new Audi Sportpark is the home of Bundesliga football club FC Ingol­­stadt and is one of Germany’s most modern stadiums, while ERC Ingolstadt has been one of the top teams in the German Ice Hockey League for many years. And last but not least, the spectacular landscape made up of the Danube, Altmühl Valley and the green hills of the Hallertau are right on the doorstep.

1191382The author is business engineer and has held an executive position at Media-Saturn since 2013. Currently Ernst von der Heide is responsible for personal and compliance at the German subsidiary. Before that he worked in various functions at BMW, Munich. He is chairman of the „Initiative Regionalmanagement Region Ingolstadt e.V. (IRMA).

Ernst von der Heide: Wohlfühlheimat in einem der stärksten Wirtschaftsräume Deutschlands

Wirtschaft und Politik verfolgen in der Region Ingol­StadtLandPlus das gemein­­­­same Ziel, hochqualifizierten Fach­­kräften und ihren Familien das Leben und Arbei­­­ten so attraktiv wie möglich zu gestal­­ten. An sieben Schlag­wörtern macht sich das Engagement fest: Wahrnehmung – Stand­­ort­­faktoren – Vernetzung – Inno­­va­­tions­­geist – Bildungschancen – Familien­­­­freundlichkeit – Freizeitwert.

1. Wahrnehmung: Die wirtschaftliche Ro­­­bustheit der Region IngolStadtLandPlus macht sie für zuziehende Arbeitnehmer als Arbeits- und Lebensregion interessant. Die Region IngolStadtLandPlus gehört zu den dyna­­mischsten Wachstumsregionen in Deutsch­­land: Sie verfügt über eine der niedrigsten Arbeitslosenzahlen im Bundes­­vergleich. Im Mai 2014 lag sie bei 2,2 Prozent. Studien wie die Untersuchung der Vereinigung der Bay­erischen Wirt­­schaft aus 2011 oder der IHK-Konjunkturindex aus 2012 belegen die überdurchschnittlich starke Wirt­schaftskraft und hohe In­­ves­­titionsbereitschaft der Unter­nehmen.

WV-3607_Herb_Shoppingfreundinnen_lachend

Wachsende Einwohnerzahlen untermauern die Dynamik. Die vier Gebiets­­körper­schaf­ten der Region, die Landkreise Eichstätt, Neuburg-Schrobenhausen, Pfaffen­hofen an der Ilm und die Stadt Ingolstadt wer­­den für 2030 ein dosiertes Bevölkerungs­­wachstum ausweisen. Zwischen 2009 und 2013 ist die Bevölkerung in der Region um 2,1 Prozent auf 466.807 gewachsen.

2. Harte Standortfaktoren: Von zukunfts­­weisenden Stand­ortfaktoren wie Infra­­struktur und Unternehmensvielfalt profi­­tieren auch die Arbeitnehmer. Hohe Mobi­­­lität ist ein wichtiger Standortfaktor: Die Region IngolStadtLandPlus liegt welt­offen im Herzen Bayerns, zentral zwischen den Metro­­polen München und Nürnberg, ideal angebun­­den an das Auto­bahn- und ICE-Netz sowie den Flughafen München. Ein weiterer Stand­­ortfaktor ist die hohe Wertschöpfung in der Region. Diese lag 2009 bei 13.724 Millionen Euro. Mit 34 Prozent der regionalen Wertschöpfung ist die Mobi­­li­täts­­wirtschaft die wichtigste Stütze.

Doch nicht nur die Automobilindustrie mit vielen Zu­lie­ferern ist hier besonders stark, auch andere High­tech-Branchen und internationale Handelsunternehmen pro­fi­tieren vom unternehmerischen Um­­feld – und sind zugleich der Jobmotor der Region. Für Fachkräfte heißt das mehr Viel­­falt an Unternehmen, für die das eigene Berufsprofil interessant ist.


Lesesaal_Ingolstadt

3. Vernetzung: Zu einem ganzheitlichen „Employer-Bran­ding“ zählen beste Bedin­­gungen vor Ort bei Ausbildung und im Job. Den Unternehmen der Region, von international agierenden Firmen wie Airbus Defence and Space am Standort Manching, der Bauer AG, Media-Saturn oder Audi bis zum mittelständischen Handwerksbetrieb, ist die Stand­ortförderung ein wichtiges An­­lie­­gen. Gebündelt wer­den die Akti­vi­täten in der Initiative Regional­­mana­­ge­ment Region Ingolstadt e.V., einer der größten Public-Private-Partnerships der Regionalentwicklung in Deutschland.

4. Innovationsgeist: Innovationsdynamik belebt das Umfeld zum Arbeiten und Leben als weltoffene, zukunftsgewandte Region. Bis 2015 plant der Audi-Konzern Investitionen in Höhe von 11 Milliarden Euro, vor allem in neue Produkte und Technologien sowie den Ausbau seiner Standorte. Mehr als fünf Milliarden Euro sollen davon in die deutschen Standorte Ingolstadt und Neckarsulm fließen. Auch Airbus Defence and Space hat durch die Schaffung eines Militärischen Luftfahrtzentrums in Manching (Land­kreis Pfaffenhofen) einen wichtigen Hoch­­technologiestandort in der Region etabliert. Ein weiteres Beispiel für die Inno­­vationsdynamik sind die Betriebe im Maschinenbau- und Ingenieur­dienst­leis­tungsbereich, die von der Kooperation im Umfeld des Automotivesektors profitieren. Dies führt auch zu zahlreichen Grün­­dungen: Fast 4.000 Menschen wagten 2012 laut IHK-Statistik in der Stadt Ingol­­stadt und den umliegenden Landkreisen den Sprung in die Selbst­ständigkeit.

EADS_Testcenter-CPD_56044_242

5. Bildungseinrichtungen: Die Region IngolStadtLandPlus bietet für Fach­­kräfte und ihre Familien aus aller Welt Bil­­dungs­­chancen auf höchstem Niveau. In Ingol­­stadt wurde vor fast 600 Jahren die erste bayerische Landes­universität gegründet. Und in Bildung und Wissenschaft wird wie in kaum einer anderen Region investiert: Mit 51 Millionen Euro fördert aktuell der Freistaat Bayern den Ausbau der technischen Hoch­­schule Ingolstadt. Darüber hi­­­­­­naus ist die geisteswissenschaftlich orien­­­tier­te Katho­­lische Universität Eich­­stätt-Ingolstadt eine der angesehensten Hoch­­schulen des Lan­­des. Mehrmals er­­reichte die KU bereits im „CHE“-Ranking des ZEIT-Studienf­­üh­­rers Spitzen­posi­tio­nen.
Auf Initiative des Fördervereins entstand darüber hinaus die internationale Schule SIS Ingolstadt. 2009 waren 35 Schüler an der bilingualen Schule eingeschrieben, 2013 waren es inklusive Kindergarten be­­reits 115. Diese stammen meist aus bi­­nationalen Familien aus den USA, China, Indien und vielen weiteren Nationen.

NS_10_Helibild1_Po¦êhler

6. Angebote für Familien: Die Region IngolStadtLandPlus weist durch die Zu­­sam­­menarbeit von Wirtschaft und Kom­­­munen eine hohe Familienfreundlichkeit auf. Unter­nehmen und Gemeinden gehen in der Region IngolStadt­LandPlus gemeinsame Wege, um Arbeitnehmern und ihren Fami­­lien optimale Voraussetzungen für die Ver­­sor­gung ihrer Kinder zu gewährleisten. Die Stadt Schro­ben­hausen, eine der familienfreundlichsten Städte Deutsch­­lands, sorgt mit unterschiedlichen Trä­­gern wie dem BRK, AWO und kirchlichen Ein­­richtungen dafür, dass Krippen- und Kin­der­gartenkinder garantiert einen Be­­treuungsplatz be­kommen. Finanziell bezu­­schusst wird die Erstausstat­tung neuer Kindertagesstätten – wie auch die mittler­­weile fest etablierte Kinder-Ferien­be­treu­ung – von der Bauer AG. Das international operierende Hightech-Unternehmen MBDA Systems aus Schrobenhausen hat 2012 die Auszeichnung „Great Place to Work“ erhalten und gehört damit zum zweiten Mal in das Ranking der 100 bes­­ten Arbeitgeber in Deutschland. Airbus Defence and Space am Standort Manching und Media-Saturn Deutschland wurden für eine familienbewusste Personal­­politik durch das berufundfamilie audit zertifiziert. Airbus und Audi fördern die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie unter anderem durch flexible Arbeits­­zeit­­mo­­delle, Belegplätze in Kinderkrippen und das Ziel, den Frauenanteil auch in Mana­­gement- und Technologieberufen nachhaltig zu erhöhen. Media-Saturn fördert die Ver­einbarkeit von Beruf und Familie unter anderem durch die Bereitstellung von Krippenplätzen für die Kinder von Mitarbeitern sowie durch Kinderferienbetreuung – dies gemeinsam mit Airbus Defence and Space.


IN_Asamkirche

7. Hoher Freizeitwert: Das breite, vielfältige und innovative Freizeit- und Kultur­­angebot der Region kann sich im Wett­­bewerb mit großen Metropolen messen. Die Stadt Ingolstadt und die umliegenden Landkreise Eichstätt, Neuburg-Schroben­­hausen und Pfaffenhofen an der Ilm bieten neben vielen geschichtsträchtigen Sehenswürdig­keiten vielfältige, überregional bedeutende Kulturein­rich­t­ungen, darunter auch ein Museum für moderne Kunst und das Lechner-Museum in Ingol­­stadt oder das international sehr gut vernetzte Kelten-Römer-Museum. Bedeu­tende Events, vom internationalen Jazz-Festival über die seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren stattfindenden Audi Sommer­­­kon­­zerte bis zum populären Klassik Open Air, ziehen jedes Jahr viele Besucher in die Region. Und auch der professionelle Sport ist überregional attraktiv: Der Bundes­­ligist FC Ingolstadt verfügt mit dem neuen Audi Sportpark über eines der modernsten Stadien in Deutschland, der ERC Ingol­­stadt ist amtierender Deutscher Eishockey-Meister und gehört seit Jahren zu den Top-Teams der Deutschen Eishockey Liga. Und nicht zuletzt: Eine wunderschöne Natur zwischen Donau, Altmühltal und den grünen Hügeln der Hallertau liegt direkt vor der Haustür.

1191382Der Autor ist Wirtschaftsingenieur und seit 1993 in leitender Funktion bei Media-Saturn tätig, aktuell verantwortlich für den Bereich Personal & Compliance der deutschen Landesgesellschaft. Zuvor war von der Heide in Personal- und Controllingfunktionen bei BMW in München tätig. Er ist Vorsitzender der „Initiative Regionalmanagement Region Ingolstadt e.V. (IRMA).