Eric Romba: Tangible investment assets: endorsed by politics, required by the economy

The new German Capital Investment Act (Kapitalanlagegesetzbuch, KAGB) took effect on 22 July 2013. This marked the end of one of the most important regulatory projects in the German capital markets sector in the past years. It is important as it is the direct result of consultations that took place after the collapse of the Lehman Brothers investment bank and the subsequent international finance and economic crises.

The European Commission launched its consultations on regulating the so-called Alternative Investment Fund Manager (AIFM) in 2009. While originally targeted at regulating hedge fund managers, it soon became clear that the sphere of influence would be broader. The objective was: “one size fits all”, and it was to apply to all previously unregulated capital market products. At the latest, the first drafts for implementation of the directives passed in Brussels in 2011 into German law showed: it also regulates managers of open and closed-end funds.

This Act is a milestone for closed-end funds, because it has now allocated the relevant closed funds from the for­­merly “grey”, largely unregulated, capital market to the fully regulated “white” capital market. From now on, tangible asset investments must comply with the same obligations regarding reporting, the avoidance of conflicts of interest, the documentation of professional qualification of managers and the con­­trol of investor funds as investment funds, open property funds and secur­­ity funds. The managers and products are also subject to German finance supervision.

However, there is more. With the KAGB, legislature has made it unmistakeably clear that investments in tangible assets, such as real estate, ships, renewable energy, containers, rail vehicles and others, will in future only be possible within closed structures. The only ex­­­ception is open real estate funds.

By passing this Act, legislature has ack-nowledged the tremendous economic importance of tangible asset investments. A few figures for clarification:

Currently, almost 195 billion euros in tangible asset investments are managed in more than 3,000 individual par­­­­tic­­i­pa­­tions in Germany. Of this amount more than 46 billion euros are attributed to real estate investments. Almost two million people invest in tangible assets, of these almost 500,000 are real estate participations and a growing number of these are in residential prop­­erties. Nearly 1.4 billion euros are currently managed in this area in Germany. This includes, for example, funds with apartments in major metropolitan areas as well as projects with student apartments.

Closed funds are of significant import­­ance to the energy transition as well. Almost 7.5 billion euros were invested in tangible asset participations involving renewable energy over the past ten years. In the meantime, these investments provide electricity to almost 1.5 million homes.

As of 22 July, there will be three new forms of closed-type funds, so-called Alternative Investment Funds (AIF). Mixed-risk, public AIF are available to private, semi-professional and professional investors. Non-mixed-risk public AIF are only available to those investors who invest at least 20,000 euros and who fulfil the requirements on their level of knowledge specified in the KAGB. Special AIF are for professionals. Only those who fulfil the requirements on semi-professional and professional investors specified by law may invest in them.

In addition, the Act strengthens the European economic and financial region: as a result of AIFM and KAGB regulation it is now considerably more difficult for funds originating outside the EU to access the domestic market.

Those who wish to invest in tangible assets in the future, without using a closed investment vehicle for this purpose, have only three alternatives, of which two are currently unregulated and thus bear correspondingly higher risks. These unregulated tangible investment alternatives include direct investments and unregulated financial products such as loan structures or debentures. The only regulated alternative is the so-called “collective investment undertakings” in accordance with the AIFM directive described above.

Brussels is providing additional support for German providers of closed tangible investment assets. The EU Commission recently introduced a proposal on so-called European Long-Term Investment Funds (ELTIF). This proposal follows the basic principle that investments in tangible assets, in particular real estate and infrastructure, must always be invested over the long-term. To this end, a new framework will be created in which professional and private investors will in future be able to make long-term investments in real estate or infrastructure projects easily and within fixed limitations. Managing such investments is today already being handled by providers of closed investment assets. This is their core task. In future, there can be a proprietary European investment vehicle for this purpose. This will allow companies to address new investors outside Germany’s borders. The requirement is that the manager is approved by BaFin, the participation option is within the framework of an AIF and that the separate requirements of the ELTIF product regulations are adhered to. Decisive is the fact that this involves a closed structure without the option of returning shares.

The bottom line is:
Closed tangible investment assets are endorsed politically and required by the economy. This new framework and the changes on EU level thus provide clear growth perspectives for pro­­viders of closed investment assets.

VGF-Eric-Romba-PortraitThe author, born in 1972, studied law in Bonn and is an attorney admitted to the bar. Since 2005, he has been the chief executive and spokesman for the VGF Verband Geschlossene Fonds e.V., which since the summer of 2013 has been doing business under the name of bsi Bun­­des­­ver­­band Sachwerte und Invest­­ment­ver­mö­­gen e.V.

Eric Romba: Sachwertinvestmentvermögen: politisch gewollt, volkswirtschaftlich gebraucht

Am 22. Juli 2013 ist das neue Kapitalan­lagegesetzbuch (KAGB) in Kraft getreten. Im Bereich der Kapitalmärkte markiert es den Abschluss eines der wichtigsten Re­­gulierungsvorhaben in Deutschland in den vergangenen Jahren. Wichtig des­­halb, weil es ein direktes Ergebnis der Beratungen ist, die dem Zu­­sammen­­­­bruch der US-Investmentbank Lehman Brothers und der anschließenden inter­­nationalen Finanz- und Wirtschafts­­krise folgten.

2009 begann die Europäische Kommis­sion mit ihren Beratungen zur Regulie­rung der sogenannten Alternative Invest­ment Fund Manager (AIFM). Ursprüng­lich auf die Regulierung der Manager von Hedge-Fonds angelegt, war bald klar, dass der Wirkungskreis größer sein würde. Die Vorgabe war: „One size fits all“, und sie sollte für alle bisher unregulierten Kapitalmarktprodukte gelten. Spätestens mit den ersten Entwürfen zur Umset­zung der 2011 in Brüssel verabschiedeten Richtlinie in deutsches Recht zeigte sich: Sie reguliert auch die Verwalter offener und geschlossener Investment­vermögen.

Für die geschlossenen Sachwertinvest­mentvermögen ist dieses Gesetz ein Meilenstein, weil es die ehemals dem „grauen“, weil weitgehend unregulierten, Kapitalmarkt zugehörigen geschlossenen Fonds nun dem voll regulierten „weißen“ Kapitalmarkt zugeordnet hat. Ab jetzt haben die neuen Sachwertinvestment­vermögen dieselben Anforderungen an Berichtspflichten, die Vermeidung von Interessenkonflikten, den Nachweis be­­ruflicher Qualifikation der Manager und die Kontrolle der Anlegergelder zu er­­füllen wie klassische Investmentfonds, offene Immobilienfonds und Wertpapier­fonds. Die Manager und Produkte un­­terstehen zudem vollständig der deutschen Finanzaufsicht.

Doch nicht nur das. Der Gesetzgeber hat mit dem KAGB auch unmissverständlich klar gemacht, dass Investitionen in Sach­­werte wie zum Beispiel Immobilien, Schiffe, er­­neu­erbare Energien, Con­­tai­­ner, Schie­nenfahrzeuge und andere in Zukunft nur noch in geschlossenen Struk­­turen mög­­lich sind. Einzige Aus­­nahme sind die offenen Immobilienfonds.

Damit hat die Legislative auch die gro­­ße volkswirtschaftliche Bedeutung von Sachwertinvestments anerkannt. Zur Ver­­­­deutlichung ein paar Zahlen:

Derzeit werden in Deutschland rund 195 Millarden Euro an Sachwertinvestment­vermögen in mehr als 3.000 einzelnen Be­­teiligungen verwaltet. Allein auf den Be­­reich Immobilien entfallen davon mehr als 46 Millarden Euro. Knapp zwei Millionen Menschen sind Anleger in Sach­wert­­in­vestments, davon knapp 500.000 al­­lein in Immobilien­be­teiligungen. Ein wa­ch­­sender Teil dieser Beteiligungen investiert in Wohnimmobi­­lien. In diesem Be­­reich werden in Deutsch­land der­­zeit rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro ver­waltet. Darunter sind zum Beispiel Fonds mit Woh­nun­­gen in den großen Metro­polen und Pro­­jekte mit Studenten­apartments.

Auch für die Energiewende haben ge­­schlossene Fonds eine große Bedeu­­tung. Rund 7,5 Milliarden Euro wurden in den vergangenen zehn Jahren über Sach­­wert­­beteiligungen in erneuerbare Ener­gien investiert. Diese Investitionen versorgen inzwischen rund 1.500.000 Haus­­halte mit Strom.

Seit dem 22. Juli gibt es drei Formen der sogenannten Alternativen Investment Funds (AIF) des geschlossenen Typs. Risi­­kogemischte Publikums-AIF stehen privaten wie auch semi-professionellen und professionellen Anlegern offen. Nicht-ri­­sikogemischte Publikums-AIF stehen nur Anlegern offen, die mindestens 20.000 Euro investieren und die im KAGB festgeschriebenen Anforderungen an ihren Erfahrungsschatz erfüllen. Spezial-AIF sind für die Profis, investieren darf nur, wer die im Gesetz festgelegten Anforde­rungen an semi-professionelle oder pro­fes­sionelle Anleger erfüllt. Daneben stärkt das Gesetz auch den europäischen Wirt­­schafts- und Finanz­raum: Nicht aus der EU stammende Fonds haben es durch die AIFM- und KAGB-Re­­gulierung nun deutlich schwerer, Zugang zu den hiesi­gen Märkten zu erlangen.

Wer künftig in Sachwerte investieren will, ohne dabei geschlossene Investmentve­hikel zu nutzen, hat nur drei Alternativen, von denen zwei bislang unreguliert sind und damit entsprechend höhere Risiken aufweisen. Zu den unregulierten Sach­wertinvestment-Alternativen zählen Di­­rektinvestments und unregulierte Fi­­nanzprodukte wie Darlehensstrukturen Alternative sind sogenannte Organis­men für gemeinsame Anlagen gemäß der AIFM-Richtlinie, wie oben beschrieben.

Zusätzliche Unterstützung erhalten die deutschen Anbieter von geschlossenen Sachwertinvestmentvermögen aus Brüs­­sel. Dort hat die EU-Kommission unlängst einen Vorschlag zu sogenannten Euro­pean Long-Term Investment Funds (ELTIF) gemacht. Dieser Vorschlag folgt dem Grundgedanken, dass Inves­ti­tionen in Sachwerte, insbesondere Immobilien und Infrastruktur, immer langfristig angelegt sein müssen. Deshalb wird ein neuer Rahmen geschaffen, mit dem professionelle und private Anleger künftig leich­­ter und in festen Grenzen langfristig in Im­­mobilien oder Infrastrukturprojekte in­­vestieren können. Die Verwaltung solcher Investitionen machen die Anbie­ter ge­­schlossener Investmentvermögen schon heute. Das ist ihre Kernaufgabe. In Zu­­kunft kann es dafür ein eigenes europäisches Investitionsvehikel geben. Damit können die Unternehmen neue Anle­ger­kreise auch außerhalb der Gren­zen Deutschlands ansprechen. Voraus­set­zung ist, dass der Verwalter von der BaFin zugelassen ist, die Beteiligungs­möglich­keit im Rahmen eines AIF erfolgt und die gesonderten Anforderungen der ELTIF-Produktregelungen eingehalten werden. Entscheidend ist dabei, dass es sich um eine geschlossene Struktur ohne die Mög­­lichkeit einer Anteilsrückgabe handelt.

Unter dem Strich bedeutet das: 

Geschlossene Investmentvermögen in Sachwerte sind politisch gewollt und wer­­den volkswirtschaftlich gebraucht. Mit den neuen Rahmenbedingungen und den Veränderungen auf der EU-Ebene bieten sich deshalb für Anbieter ge­­schlossener Investmentvermögen klare Wachstumsperspektiven.

VGF-Eric-Romba-PortraitDer 1972 geborene Autor hat in Bonn Jura studiert und ist zugelassener Rechts­­­­­an­walt. Seit 2005 ist er Hauptge­schäfts­­­führer und Sprecher des Ver­bands Ge­­schlos­sene Fonds e.V., der seit Sommer 2013 als bsi Bundesverband Sachwerte und Investmentvermögen e.V. firmiert.