Eric Menges – An international metropolitan region with a future

In the international competition between metropolitan regions, the FrankfurtRhein­­Main region is one of the major hubs of globalisation and is one of the strongest-growing business locations. Research and knowledge-intensive industrial sec­­tors enjoy ideal conditions, as do the fi­­nance, mobility, logistics and the creative industries. As a centre for IT services and technology, FrankfurtRheinMain is superbly positioned. There is no better location for reaching customers through­­out Europe and the world market. Com­­panies from a wide range of industries find ideal conditions here for succeeding in their business.

A Region on the Move. The FrankfurtRhein­­Main region’s excellent infrastructure is a crucial competitive advantage, making it the perfect location for any company seeking to expand in Europe. Industries that place importance on efficient links to markets around the world are very well-positioned. An international orientation and global linkages based on an outstanding infrastructure are a long-standing tradition in FrankfurtRheinMain. Here companies work globally connected, which makes them innovative and efficient.

Where the World feels at Home. When looking to attract investors, infrastructure is only one of many good reasons for coming here. Its infra­­structure coupled with proximity to markets and a superior quality of life – all these are reasons why internationally active companies move to FrankfurtRhein­­Main. Highly qualified em­­ployees in a wide variety of industries make the region additionally attractive and competitive.

 

autor_63

Eric Menges has been CEO of Frankfurt­Rhein­­­­Main GmbH since March 2013, hav­­ing pre­­viously worked as Vice President for four years. Born in Frankfurt, he grad­­uated in Busi­­ness Administration and gained inter­­natio­nal experience working in France, Aus­­tralia and England. He then worked for ten years as Ex­­ecutive Director for the Frankfurt-­based Euro­­pean office of the In­­vest­­ment and Trade Promo­­tion Depart­ment of the Australian State of Victoria.

The quality of life in FrankfurtRhein­Main is often underestimated. It is characterised by lively urban centres and rural areas which make it unique. It is also cosmopolitan and international, with people from all over the world living side by side. Multinational companies find ideal conditions for their em­­ployees. Numerous international schools and kindergardens make family-life easy and con­venient for highly qualified em­­­ploy­ees posted to FrankfurtRheinMain. The region’s frequently cited advantages include its short distances, its comparatively affordable cost of living and unique quality of life.

TOP_Forschung-und-Studium_talente-kopieren

FrankfurtRheinMain’s life style never ceases to surprise visitors. The best example of this was the 2006 FIFA World Cup. Even today, football fans from all over the world still rave about the openness, variety and internationality they experienced in Frankfurt and the surrounding region. In short, the FrankfurtRheinMain region is not only a good place to do business, it is also a great place to live.

Many Partners, One Voice. The Frankfurt­­­RheinMain region can only keep up with international competition if it presents and promotes itself with one voice; this led to the formation of Frank­­furtRhein­Main GmbH International Mar­­keting of the Region in 2005. Cities, counties as well as regional and industry associations joined forces under the auspices of a location marketing company and since then have subordinated their own international presence to the joint brand “FrankfurtRheinMain – Become a part of it”. Having agreed on a common brand and a unified strategy, the region is now represented internationally with offices in Shanghai, Chicago and Poona (India). Foreign Investment enquiries are managed centrally through FrankfurtRhein­Main GmbH.

Good Reasons for Investing in Frankfurt­RheinMain:

– an excellent logistics infrastructure
– first-class links to markets in Europe and the rest of the world
– Frankfurt is the financial centre on the European continent
– highly qualified and skilled technical and professional staff
– a research and scientific centre
– high purchasing power
– a wide variety of industries with a large number of innovative medium-sized companies and world market leaders
– internationality is a matter of everyday life in the region
– a leading location for trade fairs and conferences

and last but not least: its often underestimated quality of life.

Eric Menges – Internationale Metropolregion mit Zukunft

FrankfurtRheinMain ist im internationalen Wettbewerb der Metropolregionen eines der großen Drehkreuze der Glo­­balisie­rung.

Die Region gehört zu den wachstumsstärksten Wirtschaftsstand­orten. Forschungs- und wissensintensive In­dus­­triebereiche finden hier ebenso ideale Bedingungen wie die Bereiche Finanzen, Mobilität, Logistik und die Kreativwirt­schaft. Als zentraler Punkt für IT-Services und IT-Technologie ist FrankfurtRhein­Main hervorragend aufgestellt. Kurz ge­­sagt: Es gibt keinen besseren Standort, um Kunden in ganz Europa und auf dem Weltmarkt zu erreichen. Unternehmen aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen finden hier ideale Bedingungen für ihren geschäftlichen Erfolg.

Eine Region in Bewegung. Entschei­den­der Wettbewerbsvorteil der Region ist die hervorragende Infrastruktur. Da-­­mit ist FrankfurtRheinMain der perfekte Stand­­ort für jedes Unternehmen, das in Europa expandieren möchte. Branchen, die Wert auf eine effiziente Anbindung an die weltweiten Märkte legen, sind hier bestens aufgehoben. Internationa­lität und globale Vernetzung auf Basis einer ex­­zellenten Infrastruktur haben eine lange Tradition in FrankfurtRhein­Main. In der Region ansässige Unterneh­­men arbeiten international und vernetzt. Das macht sie innovativ und effizient.

Wo die Welt zu Hause ist. Beim Werben um Investoren ist eine herausragende Infrastruktur nur eines von vielen guten Argumenten. Infrastruktur gepaart mit Marktnähe und hoher Lebensqualität für die Mitarbeiter – das sind Gründe, warum es internationale Firmen nach FrankfurtRheinMain zieht. Hochqualifi­zierte Arbeitskräfte für unterschiedliche Branchen machen die Region zusätzlich attraktiv und wettbewerbsfähig.

 

autor_63

Eric Menges ist seit März 2013 Geschäfts­füh­­rer der FrankfurtRheinMain GmbH. Davor war er bereits vier Jahre Prokurist des Unter­­nehmens. Berufliche Stationen des gebür­­tigen Frankfurters: Frankreich, Aus­­tralien und England. Zuvor leitete der in­­­terna­tio­nal erfahrene Diplom-Kauf­­mann zehn Jahre das Europabüro der Investi­tions­förderung des austra­lischen Bun­des­­­staates Victoria mit Sitz in Frankfurt.

Oft unterschätzt: die Lebensqualität in FrankfurtRheinMain. Dynamische Städte und ländliche Gebiete prägen die Re­­gion und machen sie einzigartig. Die Region ist weltoffen und international. Menschen aus allen Teilen der Welt leben hier miteinander. Internationale Unternehmen finden optimale Bedin­gungen für ihre Mitarbeiter. Zahlreiche internationale Schulen und Kindergär­­ten machen es Fachkräften, die von ihren Unternehmen nach FrankfurtRheinMain entsandt wurden, leicht, mit ihren Fa­mi­­lien hier zu leben. Immer wieder ge­­nannte Vorteile der Region: ihre kurzen Wege, vergleichsweise günstige Lebens­­haltungskosten und einmalige Le­­bens­qualität.

TOP_Forschung-und-Studium_talente-kopieren

Die Vielfalt überrascht Besucher immer wieder. Bestes Beispiel: die Fußball-Welt­­meisterschaft 2006. Noch heute schwär­­men Fußball-Fans aus aller Welt von der Offenheit, der Vielfalt und der Interna­tionalität in Frankfurt und der Region. Fazit: In FrankfurtRheinMain kann man nicht nur gute Geschäfte machen – in der Region lässt es sich zudem hervorragend leben.

Viele Gesellschafter – ein Auftritt. Frank­­furtRheinMain kann im internationalen Wettbewerb nur bestehen, wenn die Re­­gion geschlossen auftritt und für sich wirbt. Diese Erkenntnis führte 2005 zur Gründung der FrankfurtRheinMain GmbH International Marketing of the Region. Städte, Landkreise und Verbände schlos­­sen sich unter dem Dach einer Stand­­ort­­marktinggesellschaft zusammen und ordnen ihren internationalen Auftritt seit­­her der gemeinsamen Marke „Frankfurt­Rhein­­Main – Become a part of it“ unter. Mit der Verständigung auf eine gemeinsame Marke und einem einheitlichen Auftritt ist die Region mit Büros in Shang­­hai, Chicago und Pune auch international vertreten. Ausländische Investitionsan­­fragen werden zentral über die Frankfurt­­Rhein­Main GmbH an alle Kommunen weitergeleitet und auf Wunsch auch begleitet.

Gute Argumente sprechen für eine In­­ves­­tition in FrankfurtRheinMain:

– hervorragende Logistik-Infrastruktur

– erstklassige Anbindung an die europäischen und Weltmärkte

– Frankfurt ist das Finanzzentrum auf dem europäischen Kontinent

– hochqualifiziertes Fachpersonal

– Forschungs- und Wissenschaftszentrum

– hohe Kaufkraft

-diversifizierte Branchen mit zahlreichen innovativen Mittelständlern und Weltmarktführern

-gelebte Internationalität in der Region

-führender Standort für Messen, Konferenzen und Tagungen

Und last but not least: eine oft unterschätzte Lebensqualität.