Egon Beckord: The Bavarian model of success – combining economy and ecology

The Munich Metropolitan Region in the south of Bavaria, with its two major busi­­ness centres of Munich and Augs­burg, has developed into a powerful economic re­­gion in an unspoiled environment.

BADT

The Free State of Bavaria recognized the importance of combining economic and ecological considerations early on. It was in Munich that the first German ministry of the environment was established 30 years ago. And it was Bavaria that initiated the establishment of the Centre of Competence in Environmental Affairs (KUMAS) in Augsburg more than twelve years ago. Thus, in the framework of the Bavarian High-Tech Of­­fen­sive, substantial amounts of money were invested in promoting ecological­ly competent in­­sti­­tu­­tions and projects and in establishing the KUMAS e.V. Association in Augs­burg.

The formation of this support association in 1998 laid the foundation for a continuous expansion of the Bavarian en­­vironmental engineering sector, which contributed considerably to strengthen­ing the entire region.
The main goal of KUMAS is to support ecological activities in agreement with political, administrative, scientific, re­­search and development, educational and economic requirements. The pres­ent­­ly more than 200 active KUMAS net­­work partners constitute a tightly interwoven system of environmental competence. The integration and promotion of know­ledge in environment-related organizations and firms represents a great chal­­lenge for KUMAS. This broad range of interests offers all participants excellent opportunities and distinct advantages. In fact, KUMAS aims to assist young and small enterprises during their start-up phase, to support existing companies in the ever fiercer national and international competition and to create an at­­tractive en­­vironment for companies wish­­ing to locate in Bavaria. Thus, the “up-and-coming” environmental engineering in­­dustry will help to generate new jobs and safeguard existing ones. Within the wide range of environmental technologies, KUMAS – due to already existing strengths – initially focused on the following priorities:
• Environmental education
• Setting up businesses
• Environmental economics
• Sustainability
• Efficient use of resources
• Renewable energies
• Environment, transport and logistics
• Export of environmental technologies
Thanks to the active involvement and tar­­geted project promotion by the Free State of Bavaria, a large variety of ac­­tiv­­ities have already developed and the over­­all conditions in the region have im­­prov­­ed.

Internationale-Gäste

The Bavarian Environment Agency (LfU) relocated from Munich to the newly built headquarters in Augsburg and has for years concentrated its environmental ex­­­pertise and improved its serv­­ices for lo­­cal businesses by consolidating the pre­­vious state agencies for en­­vi­­ronmen­tal protection, water management and geology.
The training centre of the Bavarian School of Administration (BVS) in Lauingen on the river Danube is a modern vocation­al training facility for specialists in the supply and disposal sector, ensuring the required expert potential.
The bifa environmental institute has for years been cooperating with Bavarian businesses on a hands-on basis, and the waste-fired power plant of AVA Waste Utilization Plant, Augsburg has set new standards in European waste disposal since it started operating.

Chambers of commerce pool economic competencies
The Bavarian chambers of commerce re­­cord the competencies of environ­men­tal companies in the Munich Met­ro­pol­i­­tan Region and showcase them in collab­­o­ra­­tion with all German chambers of commerce and industry, together with an­­other 10,000 environmental companies, on the internet portal www.umfis.de.
Science strengthens the economy
The town of Straubing, with specialized institutions such as C.A.R.M.E.N. e.V., has evolved into a centre for renewable resources. Scientific institutions that en­­gage in practice-related research and have close links with local businesses guarantee the rapid implementation of new ideas and developments. Mar­ket­a­ble products and services are generated, safeguarding the edge in technology of the Bavarian environmental industry.

LP

Important elements of the KUMAS network include scientific institutions of Augs­­burg University, such as the AMU – Application Center for Materials and Environmental Research and the WZU – Environment Science Center, as well as the environmental engineering de­­part­­ment of the Augsburg University of Applied Sciences or the environmental and power engineering department at the Kempten University of Applied Sci­ences. The environmental network is further reinforced by the chair of Water Quality and Waste Management at the Garching location of TU Munich, the Competence Pool Weihenstephan (CPW) at the Research Center Weihenstephan for Brewing and Food Quality of the Weihenstephan University of Applied Sciences, or the Institute for Me­­te­or­ol­ogy and Climate Research – At­­mos­pher­­ic Environmental Research (IMK-IFU) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

New entrepreneurs create jobs
The example of the Environmental Tech­­nology Business Incubation Center Augs­­burg (UTG GmbH), which is run by the Swabian chambers of commerce, shows that more than a hundred environmental enterprises have been supported so far, and many new jobs were created in a wide field of activities extending from renewable energies to classical environ­mental technologies such as waste ma­­terials, waste water, noise and brownfield sites to biological-environmental technology. Currently almost 40 busi­nesses with up to 200 employees are active in the Incubation Center.

Attractive venues for trade fairs and conferences
Besides the Munich-based trade fairs IFAT – International Trade Fair for Water, Sewage, Refuse and Recycling and the new Intersolar, in recent years Augs­burg, with the help of KUMAS and the active involvement of network partners, has made a name for itself at both na­­tional and international level as a venue for environment-related conferences and trade fairs.
Existing trade fair and congress services were expanded and new ones were introduced.

One example is the Bavarian Waste and Dump Days congress, which each year attracts 300 experts from all over Germany to the Bavarian Environment Agency in Augsburg. Numerous water spe­­cialists come to visit the Bavarian Water Days, which have taken place an­­nually since 2005. With the “Bay­e­rische Immissionsschutztage” confer­­ence, for the first time held in 2009, KUMAS in­­cluded the topic of air pollution control in its range of competencies. Over the past ten years, the annual RENEXPO trade fair has evolved into the leading congress fair in Germany in the area of renewable energies: In 2008 alone, more than 300 exhibitors showcased their new products and offered their services to 14,000 visitors at the Augsburg Trade Fair Center.

Only a few months ago, the establishment of the DCONex 2009 congress fair opened a new chapter in the area of hazardous materials management.

Woche-der-Umwelt

KUMAS participates in international trade fairs
KUMAS attends international trade fairs on environmental issues together with partner companies. For instance, KUMAS is present at the water and waste water fair “Wasser Berlin” as well as on the largest international en­­vironment-re­lat­­ed fair, IFAT, in Munich. At the IFAT 2008, 18 member companies used the joint KUMAS stand to present their latest services and products to an internation­al audience. As part of an environmental cooperation agreement between KUMAS and SISC (Shiga Industrial Sup­­port Cent­­er) in Otsu, Japan, KUMAS has for years had a stand on the im­­portant Jap­­anese environment trade fair Enviro­Shiga in Nagahama.

KUMAS awards prize for environmental innovation
For eleven years, KUMAS has annually awarded the title “KUMAS-Leitprojekt” (pioneering project) to activities that strive to achieve the best possible ecological compatibility and lead to im­­provements with regard to environmen­tal media, resource protection and sus­­tainable development. Forty projects have so far received this coveted award.

Approaching the future as partners
“Thanks to the strong involvement of its network partners and the support from the Free State of Bavaria, the overall development of KUMAS during the first few years of its existence has been positive. KUMAS has made every effort to further improve the general con­­ditions for local businesses, strength­­en the network and promote international connections. The region will profit from this. In the future, too, KUMAS will count on the successful cooperation with the Free State of Bavaria. To continue work­­ing successfully, all relevant people in the areas of politics, administration, science, research, education and, in particular, industry and commerce must join forces. All institutions and firms are requested to support the network through active participation because in the long term, we can only succeed in global competition if we cooperate,” says Egon Beckord, managing director of KUMAS – Centre of Competence in Environmental Affairs.

 

Beckord-weissThe author studied mechanical and proc­­ess engineering. In 1984, he started work­­ing for the Augsburg/Swabian cham­­ber of industry and commerce and in 1996, he became the managing director of the Environmental Tech­­no­­lo­­gy Business In­­cu­­bation Center Augs­­burg (UTG). Since 2001, he has also been heading the KUMAS e.V. As­­so­­ciation.

Egon Beckord: Bayerisches Erfolgsmodell verbindet Ökonomie und Ökologie

Die Europäische Metropolregion Münch­en im Süden von Bayern hat sich mit den großen Wirtschaftszentren Münch­en und Augsburg zu einer starken Wirt­schafts­re­gion mit einer intakten Umwelt entwickelt.

BADT

Der Freistaat hat die Bedeutung der ko­­operativen Verbindung von Ökonomie und Ökologie schon früh erkannt. So wurde vor über 30 Jahren in München das erste Um­­weltministerium in Deutschland ein­ge­rich­tet. Auch war es der Freistaat Bay­ern, der vor mehr als zwölf Jahren den Start­schuss für die Einrichtung des Kom­pe­tenz­zen­trums Umwelt in Augsburg ge­­geben hat. So wurden mit erheblichen Mitteln im Rah­men der bayerischen High-Tech-Offensive umweltkompetente Ein­richtungen und Projekte gefördert und die Gründung des Fördervereins KUMAS – Kom­pe­tenz­zen­­trum Umwelt e.V. in Augsburg initiiert.
Dieser Förderverein legte mit seiner Grün­dung im Jahre 1998 das Fundament zu einem kontinuierlichen Ausbau der baye­rischen Umwelttechnologie und trug da­­mit erheblich zur Stärkung der ge­­sam­ten Region bei.
Die Umweltaktivitäten im Einklang mit Politik, Verwaltung, Wissenschaft, For­schung und Entwicklung, Bildung so­­wie Wirtschaft zu unterstützen, ist ein Haupt­an­liegen von KUMAS. Mehr als 200 ak­­ti­ve KUMAS-Netzwerkpartner bilden inzwischen ein starkes Um­­welt­kom­pe­tenz­ge­flecht. Die Zusammenführung und die Förderung des Know-hows umweltrelevanter Einrichtungen und Unternehmen stellt für KUMAS eine bedeutende Her­ausforderung dar. Dieses breite In­­ter­es­senspektrum bietet allen Mitwirkenden große Chancen und eindeutige Vorteile. Ist es doch das Ziel von KUMAS, jungen und kleinen Unternehmen während ihrer Gründungsphase zu helfen, bestehende Unternehmen im härter werdenden na­­tionalen und internationalen Wett­be­werb zu unterstützen und ansiedlungswilligen Unternehmen den Standort Bayern at­­traktiv zu gestalten. So werden mit der „Zukunftstechnologie Umwelt“ neue Ar­­beitsplätze entstehen und bereits be­­ste­hende langfristig gesichert. Im großen Spektrum der Umwelttechnologien rich­tete KUMAS aufgrund schon bestehender Fachkompetenzen zunächst den Fokus auf die Themenschwerpunkte
• Umweltbildung
• Existenzgründung
• Umweltökonomie
• Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften
• Ressourceneffizienz
• Erneuerbare Energien
• Umwelt, Verkehr und Logistik
• Umwelttechnologie-Export
Hier konnten auch dank intensiver Maß­nah­men und gezielter Projektförderung durch den Freistaat Bayern bereits zahl­rei­che Aktivitäten entwickelt und die Rah­men­bedingungen für die Region verbes­sert werden.

Internationale-Gäste
Das Bayerische Landesamt für Umwelt (LfU) wechselte von München in den Augsburger Neubau und verstärkt be­­reits seit Jahren durch die Zu­­sam­men­legung der Landesämter für Um­­welt­schutz, Wasserwirtschaft und Geologie den Umweltsachverstand und gleichzei­tig auch das Serviceangebot für heimische Unternehmen.
Das Bildungszentrum der Bayerischen Verwaltungsschule (BVS) in Lauingen an der Donau bildet als moderne Aus­bil­dungsstätte Fachkräfte für die Bereiche Ver- und Entsorgung aus und sichert da­­mit das Potenzial benötigter Experten.

Das bifa Umweltinstitut GmbH arbeitet bereits seit Jahren erfolgreich mit der bayerischen Wirtschaft praxisnah zu­­sam­men, und die Inbetriebnahme des Müll­heizkraftwerks der AVA Ab­­fall­ver­wer­tung Augsburg GmbH setzte neue Maß­­­stäbe in der europäischen Ab­­fall­ent­sor­gung.

Wirtschaftskammern bündeln Wirt­schaftskompetenzen
Bayerische Wirtschaftskammern erfassen die Kompetenzen der Um­­welt­un­ter­nehmen der Europäischen Metro­pol­re­gion und präsentieren diese in Ko­­ope­ration mit allen deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammern mit weiteren 10.000 Umweltunternehmen einer breiten Öf­­fent­lichkeit über das Internetportal www.umfis.de.
Wissenschaft stärkt die Wirtschaft
Straubing hat sich mit Fach­ein­rich­tun­gen wie zum Beispiel dem C.A.R.M.E.N. e.V. zu ei­­nem Zentrum für nachwachsende Roh­­stof­fe entwickelt. Die praxisnahe For­schung und die Wirtschaftsnähe wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen sind Garanten für eine schnelle Umsetzung neuer Ideen und Ent­wicklungen. Verkaufs­fähige Pro­duk­­te und Dienstleistungen entstehen und si­­chern somit der bayerischen Um­­welt­wirtschaft den technologischen Vor­sprung.

LP

Wichtige Bausteine sind im KUMAS-Netz­werk die wissenschaftlichen Ein­richtun­gen der Universität Augsburg mit dem AMU – Anwenderzentrum Neue Ma­­te­ri­alien und Umwelt und dem WZU – Wis­senschaftszentrum Umwelt eben­so wie der Fachbereich Um­­welt­tech­nik an der Hochschule Augsburg oder der an der Hochschule Kempten eta­blier­te Fach­be­reich Energie- und Um­­welt­tech­nik. Eben­so wird dieses Um­­welt­netz­werk zum Bei­­spiel durch den Lehr­stuhl für Was­ser­güte und Abfall­wirtschaft der TU München in Gar­ching, den Compe­tence Pool Wei­hen­­stephan (CPW) am For­schungs­zen­trum Weihen­stephan für Brau- und Lebens­mit­tel­qua­lität der Fach­hochschule Wei­­henstephan oder auch durch das Ins­ti­tut für Me­­te­o­­rologie und Kli­ma­for­schung – Atmo­sphärische Klima­forschung (IMK-IFU) des Forschungs­zen­trums Karlsruhe in Garmisch-Par­ten­kir­chen gestärkt.

Existenzgründer schaffen Arbeits­plät­ze
Wie das von den schwäbischen Wirt­schaftskammern getragene Umwelt-Tech­nologische Gründerzentrum UTG GmbH in Augsburg beispielhaft zeigt, konnten dort bisher mehr als hundert junge Um­­weltfirmen betreut und viele neue Ar­­beitsplätze in einem breiten Be­­tä­ti­gungs­spektrum von den regenerativen Ener­gien über die klassischen Um­­welt­tech­no­lo­gien wie Abfall, Abwasser, Lärm, Altlasten bis hin zu Bioumwelttechnologie geschaffen werden. Derzeit arbeiten fast 40 Un­­ter­nehmen mit bis zu 200 Mitarbeitern in diesem Augsburger Grün­der­zen­trum.

Attraktive Standorte für Messen und Kongresse
Neben München mit der IFAT – Inter­na­tionale Fachmesse für Wasser, Ab­­was­ser, Abfall und Recycling – und der neuen In­­ter­solar konnte sich Augsburg in den letzten Jahren mit Hilfe von KUMAS und der aktiven Einbindung der Netz­werk­partner als Standort für Umwelt­kon­gres­­se und Umweltmessen nicht nur auf na­­tionaler, sondern auch auf internationaler Ebene einen Namen machen.
Be­­ste­hen­de Messe- und Kon­gress­an­ge­bote konnten weiter ausgebaut sowie neue eingeführt werden.

So finden jährlich 300 Abfallexperten aus ganz Deutschland den Weg zu den Bay­erischen Abfall- und Deponietagen in das Bayerische Landesamt für Um­­welt nach Augsburg. Die Bayerischen Was­sertage ziehen seit 2005 jährlich zahlreiche Wasserfachleute in ihren Bann. Mit den Bayerischen Im­­mis­sions­­schutz­ta­gen konnte seit 2009 auch der Im­­mis­sions­schutz als weiterer Kom­pe­tenzbereich in das KUMAS-Angebot mit aufgenommen werden. Die jährlich statt­findende Messe RENEXPO ist in den letzten zehn Jahren zur deutschlandweit führenden Kongressmesse im Bereich der er­­neu­er­baren Energien gewachsen: Allein im Jahre 2008 zeigten mehr als 300 Aus­steller ihre neuen Produkte und boten ihre Dienstleistungen den 14.000 Be­­suchern im Messezentrum Augsburg an.
Erst vor wenigen Monaten wurde mit der Etablierung der Kongressmesse DCONex 2009 ein neues Kapitel im Bereich des Schadstoffmanagements aufgeschlagen.

Woche-der-Umwelt

KUMAS auf internationalen Messen präsent
Gemeinsam mit Migliedsunternehmen be­sucht KUMAS internationale Um­­welt­fach­messen. So ist KUMAS auf der Was­­ser Berlin ebenso präsent wie auf der größ­­ten internationalen Umweltmesse IFAT in Münch­en. Anlässlich der IFAT 2008 prä­­sentierten 18 Mit­glieds­un­ter­nehmen auf dem KUMAS-Ge­mein­schafts­stand ihre neu­­esten Dienstleistungen und Produkt­angebote einem internationalen Messe­pu­blikum. Im Rahmen einer Um­­welt­ko­opera­tionsvereinbarung zwischen KUMAS und SISC (Shiga Industrial Sup­port Cen­ter) in Otsu, Japan, ist KUMAS schon seit Jah­ren auf der wichtigen ja­­pa­ni­schen Um­­welt­mes­se EnviroShiga in Na­­ga­ha­ma auf ei­­nem Messestand vertreten.

KUMAS zeichnet Umweltinnovationen aus
Seit elf Jahren zeichnet KUMAS jährlich Aktivitäten mit ökologischen Ansätzen in bestmöglicher Weise und mit verbes­sern­den Eigenschaften in Bezug auf Um­­welt­me­dien, Ressourcenschonung und nach­­haltiger Entwicklung mit dem Titel „KUMAS-­Leitprojekt“ aus. Bisher konnten 40 Pro­­jekte mit diesem begehrten Ti­­tel ausge­zeichnet werden.

Partnerschaftlich in die Zukunft
„Insgesamt konnte sich KUMAS dank der intensiven Mitarbeit der Netz­werk­part­ner und der Unterstützung durch den Frei­staat innerhalb dieser wenigen Jahre sei­nes Bestehens gut entwickeln. KUMAS hat alles daran gesetzt, die Rah­men­be­­dingungen für heimische Unternehmen weiter zu verbessern, das Netzwerk zu stärken und die internationalen Kon­tak­te weiter auszubauen. Hiervon wird die Re­­gion profitieren. KUMAS wird auch für die Zukunft auf die erfolgreiche Zu­­sam­menarbeit mit dem Freistaat Bayern bau­en. Denn um erfolgreich weiterarbeiten zu können, bedarf es der Bündelung al­­ler Kräfte aus Politik, Verwaltung, Wis­senschaft, Forschung, Bildung und vor allem der Wirtschaft. Alle Einrichtungen und Unternehmen sind aufgefordert, das Netzwerk durch aktive Mitarbeit zu un­­terstützen, denn nur gemeinsam werden wir im globalen Wettbewerb dauerhaft erfolgreich sein können“, so Egon Beck­­ord, Geschäftsführer des KUMAS – Kom­pe­tenzzentrum Umwelt e.V.

Beckord-weissDer Autor hat Maschinenbau und Ver­fah­rens­technik studiert. Seit 1984 war er als Innovations- und Umweltberater bei der IHK für Augsburg und Schwa­ben be­­schäf­tigt. 1996 wurde er Ge­­schäfts­führer des Umwelt­tech­no­lo­gi­schen Grün­der­zen­trums in Augsburg. Seit 2001 ist er außerdem Geschäfts­führer des För­dervereins KUMAS e.V.