Eckart Helfferich & Sabine Wendel: A healthy stock of medium-sized companies guarantees prosperity

Medium-sized companies are a mainstay of the economy in Rhineland-Pala­t­­­inate. The structures of Rhineland-Pala­­­t­­­inate’s economy are characterised by a large number of medium-sized companies more than almost any other state. Small and medium-sized trade, service and industrial companies and freelancers shape the business landscape in a diverse range of ways. They play a key role in the maintenance and promotion of competition, supporting structural change and developing employment.

Rhineland-Palatinate is home to over 183,000 medium-sized companies (those with fewer than 250 employees). These companies provide jobs subject to social insurance contributions to over 730,000 people, or around 72 per cent of all jobs of this kind in the corporate sector in Rhineland-Palatinate. Around a third of those work in the service sector. Trade and the production industry each account for around a fifth of the workforce. Em­­ployment in comparably smaller economic sectors includes the information and communication economy, transport and logistics, tourism, agriculture and wine-growing, although these sectors may also be of much higher significance in the regional economies of individual regions.

Based on turnover criteria (up to 50 million euros), 99.7 per cent of companies in Rhineland-Palatinate are medium-sized. At around 45 per cent, they generate al­­most half of the turnover from commercial enterprises in Rhineland-Palatinate. This puts Rhineland-Palatinate in first place, before all other states.

Strong medium-sized companies: trade alone accounts for a fifth of the workforce.

Strong medium-sized companies: trade alone accounts for a fifth of the workforce.

Based on turnover criteria (up to 50 million euros), 99.7 per cent of companies in Rhineland-Palatinate are medium-sized. At around 45 per cent, they generate al­­most half of the turnover from commercial enterprises in Rhineland-Palatinate. This puts Rhineland-Palatinate in first place, before all other states.

Rhineland-Palatinate’s companies see their state as the state of medium-sized companies. This was reported in the “Me­­­dium­­­-­sized companies barometer 2012”, compiled by the auditing and consultancy company Ernst & Young. 174 medium-sized companies in Rhineland-Palatinate were surveyed; 96 per cent of respondents considered the regional conditions for their company good or quite good. This result is significantly higher than in the previous year (85 per cent) and thus higher than in any other state. In the state ranking, which is based on a calcu­­l­­ated average, Rhineland-Palatinate’s po­­sition has improved compared with the previous year, rising from seventh to fifth place. Companies in Rhineland-Pala­­t­­inate are currently more satisfied than in the previous year in all policy areas investigated (infrastructure, education, medium-sized companies, promotion po­l­­­­­icy).Rhineland-Palatinate held positions in the top half of the table in each of these areas.

Medium-sized companies secure the next generation. As a key engine behind the economy in Rhineland-Palatinate, medium-sized companies also ensure training for the next generation. Medium-­­sized companies take their responsibility to society very seriously. Among other things, they offer young people qualified professional apprenticeships and thus prospects for the future. Given the increasing difficulty of finding suitable specialist staff, education and further training are very important. With al­­most 30,000 new apprenticeship contracts signed every year, the number of ap­­prenticeships is remaining constant at a high level. The largest numbers of ap­­­prenticeships are in the commercial and trade sectors, as well as the trades.

Medium-sized companies controller. Me­­dium-­­sized companies form the backbone of our economy and make a crucial con­­­tribution to the stability of our state and to securing jobs and apprenticeships. It was therefore important to the state government to provide medium-sized com­­panies with an additional, direct point of contact for matters which concerned them. This was achieved by naming a “me­­­dium-sized companies controller”. This in­­stitution was founded in 2006. Since September 2009, the state government have been the authors of the “medium-sized companies controller”. Its main roles include communication, mediation and con­­sultancy. The medium-sized companies controller negotiates between medium-­­sized companies (SMEs) and the state govern­ment, administration, chambers, associations and banks. In addition, it provides SMEs with advice in all questions concerning the commercial economy – including financing, restructuring, succes­­sion, securing specialist staff, communication with banks, business plans and relocation. The medium-sized com­­­panies controller works together with chambers of industry, trade and commerce, associations, regional economic promotion in­­­­stitutions and district ad­­ministrations, as well as the Investitions- und Struktur­bank Rheinland-Pfalz GmbH (ISB), and raises the state government’s awareness of matters affecting medium-­sized companies.

The following example demonstrates a typical issue affecting medium-sized com­­­­­panies and what the medium-sized companies controller does: a small high-­­tech company suddenly loses a strategically important investor. This puts the company in economic difficulties, so it contacts the medium-sized companies controller. A face-to-face meeting is called, the controller visits the company on site and analyses its financial situation. His re­­commendation: an ISB loan. The me­dium-­­­­­sized company controller has helped the company down this road. It is now in a good position to face the future once again.

Since the establishment of the controller, over 600 medium-sized companies have already contacted him with their problems. Its function as a staff unit in the Ministry of Economic Affairs guarantees close contact with political decision-makers, while the name medium-sized companies controller also implies work across multiple departments. The me­­­dium-sized com­­­panies controller offers its services to companies in Rhineland-Palatinate free of charge and in complete confidentially.

Helfferich-und-Wendel004-Kopie_hBorn in 1941, the author’s positions in­­cluded head of controlling at G.M. Pfaff AG, commercial director in the furniture industry in Regens­­burg, CFO of Kulmbacher Spinnerei as well as managing director of Verlagsgruppe Rhein-Main from 1986. Today, he is managing director of Artja Consult GmbH in Stadecken-Elsheim, although his role as medium-sized companies controller means that he has not been actively in­­­­­­­volved since 2009.
Helfferich-und-Wendel004-KopieBorn in 1983, the author studied admin­­istrative studies in Bavaria. Following gradu­­­­ation, her first role was at the district government of Mittelfranken, before she switched to the Ministry of Eco­­no­­mic Affairs in Mainz in 2007. There she supported various sectors in the industry department until 2009. She has led the medium-­­sized companies controller staff unit since September 2009.

Eckart Helfferich & Sabine Wendel: Ein gesunder Mittelstand ist Garant für Wohlstand

Der Mittelstand ist die tragende Säule der rheinland-pfälzischen Wirtschaft. Wie kaum ein anderes Bundesland sind die Strukturen der rheinland-pfälzischen Wir­­­­t­­schaft durch eine Vielzahl mittelständischer Unternehmen geprägt. Kleine und mittlere Handwerks-, Dienstleistungs- und Industrieunternehmen sowie Freiberuf­­le­­­­­r(innen) bilden in vielgestaltigen Varian­ten die Unternehmenslandschaft. Ihnen kom­­mt beim Erhalt und bei der För­­de­rung des Wettbewerbs, bei der Unter­stützung des Strukturwandels sowie bei der Be­­schä­­­ftigungsentwicklung eine be­­deutende Rolle zu.

In Rheinland-Pfalz sind mehr als 183.000 Unternehmen dem Mittelstand (weniger als 250 Beschäftigte) zuzurechnen. Die Unternehmen bieten mehr als 730.000 Beschäftigten einen sozialversicherungs­pflichtigen Arbeitsplatz. Dies entspricht etwa 72 Prozent aller sozialversicherungs­­pflichtig Beschäftigten des rheinland-pfäl­­z­­­­ischen Unternehmenssektors. Davon ist rund ein Drittel im Dienstleistungs­sektor tätig. Der Handel und das produ­zierende Gewerbe vereinen jeweils etwa ein Fünftel der Beschäftigten. Mit Blick auf die Beschäftigung in vergleichsweise kleineren Wirtschaftszweigen zählen hingegen neben der Informations- und Kom­­­muni­­­­­kationswirtschaft und dem Bereich Verkehr und Logistik insbesondere auch das Tourismusgewerbe sowie die Land­­wirtschaft und der Weinbau dazu, wenngleich diese Branchen in den einzelnen Regionen sehr wohl von sehr hoher regio­­nal­wirt­schaft­­licher Bedeutung sein können.

Auf Basis des Umsatzkriteriums (bis zu 50 Millionen Euro) zählen 99,7 Prozent der Unternehmen in Rheinland-Pfalz zum Mittelstand. Diese erwirtschaften mit rund 45 Prozent knapp die Hälfte des durch Wirtschaftsunternehmen in Rheinland-Pfalz insgesamt generierten Umsatzes. Unter allen Bundesländern nimmt Rhein­­­­­land-­­Pfalz damit einen Spitzenplatz ein.

Starker Mittelstand: Allein der Handel vereinigt schon ein Fünftel der Beschäftigten auf sich.

Starker Mittelstand: Allein der Handel vereinigt schon ein Fünftel der Beschäftigten auf sich.

Rheinland-Pfalz wird von seinen Unter­­nehmen als das Land des Mittelstands gesehen. Dies geht aus dem „Mittelstands­­­barometer 2012“ der Prüfungs- und Beratungsgesellschaft Ernst & Young hervor. Dabei wurden 174 mittelständische Unternehmen in Rheinland-Pfalz befragt; 96 Prozent der Befragten bewerteten die regionalen Rahmenbedingungen für ihr Unternehmen als gut oder eher gut. Das sind deutlich mehr als im Vorjahr (85 Prozent) und damit so viele wie in keinem anderen Bundesland. Im Bundes­­­landranking, das auf einem rechnerischen Mittelwert basiert, verbessert sich Rhein­­land-Pfalz gegenüber dem Vorjahr vom siebten auf den fünften Rang. In allen untersuchten Politikbereichen (Infra­struktur, Bildung, Mittelstand, Förderpolitik) sind die rheinland-pfälzischen Unternehmen aktuell zufriedener als im Vorjahr. In den Bundeslandrankings belegt Rheinland-Pfalz hierbei jeweils Plätze in der oberen Tabellenhälfte.

Mittelstand sorgt für Nachwuchs. Als wichtiger Motor der rheinland-pfälzischen Wirtschaft kümmert sich der Mittelstand auch um die Ausbildung des Nachwuchses. Die Mittelständler nehmen ihre gesellschaftliche Verantwortung sehr ernst. Sie bieten unter anderem jungen Menschen eine qualifizierte Berufsausbildung und damit eine Zukunftsperspektive. Ange­sichts der zunehmenden Schwierigkeiten, geeignete Fachkräfte zu finden, kommt der Aus- und Weiterbildung eine hohe Be­­­­­deutung zu. Mit nahezu 30.000 neu abgeschlossenen Ausbildungsverträgen pro Jahr bewegt sich die Ausbildung auf einem konstant hohen Niveau. Größte Ausbildungsbranchen sind insbesondere das produzierende Gewerbe, der Handel und das Handwerk.

Mittelstandslotse. Der Mittelstand bildet das Rückgrat unserer Wirtschaft und trägt entscheidend zur wirtschaftlichen Stabilität des Landes sowie zur Sicherung von Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätzen bei. Der Landesregierung war es daher ein wichtiges Anliegen, dem Mittelstand mit dem Mittelstandslotsen einen zusätz­lichen, direkten Ansprechpartner für seine An­­liegen zur Verfügung zu stellen. So wurde 2006 die Institution des Mittelstands­lotsen ins Leben gerufen. Seit September 2009 sind die Autoren „der Mittelstands­lotse“ der Landesregierung. Zu den Haupt­­­­auf­­­­gaben gehören vor allem Vermittlung, Mediation und Beratung. Der Mittel­stands­­lotse vermittelt zwischen mittelständischen Unternehmen (KMUs) und Landes­­regierung, Verwaltungen, Kammern, Ver­­bänden und Banken. Zudem berät er KMUs in allen Fragen der gewerblichen Wirtschaft – unter anderem Finan­zierung, Umstrukturierung, Nachfolge, Fach­­kräfte­­­­­sicherung, Kommunikation mit Banken, Businessplan, Gewerbe­an­­siedlung. Der Mittelstandslotse kooperiert mit IHKs und HWKs, Verbänden, regionalen Wir­­t­­­schaftsfördereinrichtungen und Kom­­munalverwaltungen sowie der Investi­tions- und Strukturbank Rheinland-Pfalz GmbH (ISB) und sensibilisiert die Landes­­re­­gier­­ung für die Anliegen des Mittelstands.

Ein typisches Anliegen des Mittelstands und die Arbeitsweise des Mittelstands­lotsen zeigen sich in folgendem Beispiel: Ein kleines Hightech-Unternehmen verliert plötzlich einen strategisch wichtigen In­­ves­­tor. Das Unternehmen gerät dadurch in wirtschaftliche Schwierigkeiten und wen­­det sich an den Mittelstandslotsen. Es folgen ein persönliches Gespräch, ein Vor-­­Ort-Besuch sowie eine Analyse der fi­­na­­n­­ziellen Situation des Unternehmens. Die Empfehlung lautet: ein ISB-Darlehen. Der Mittelstandslotse hat das Unterneh­men auf diesem Weg begleitet. Dieses ist damit für die Zukunft wieder gut auf­­gestellt.

Seit der Gründung haben sich in diesem Zeitraum bisher bereits über 600 mittel­ständische Unternehmen mit ihren An­­liegen an ihn gewandt. Die Funktion als Stabsstelle im Wirtschaftsministerium gewährleistet einen kurzen Weg zu den politischen Entscheidungsträgern; die Bezeichnung als Mittelstandslotse der Landesregierung impliziert ferner den ressortübergreifenden Einsatz. Die Täti­g­­keit des Mittelstandslotsen ist für die rheinland-pfälzischen Unternehmen kosten­­los und absolut vertraulich.

Helfferich-und-Wendel004-Kopie_hDer Autor, geboren 1941, war Leiter Controlling der G.M. Pfaff AG, kaufmännischer Leiter in der Möbelindustrie in Regensburg, Finanzvorstand der Kulm­bacher Spinnerei und ab 1986 Geschäfts­führer der Verlags­­gruppe Rhein-Main. Heute ist er Geschäftsführer der Artja Con­­sult GmbH in Stadecken-Elsheim, allerdings seit 2009 nicht aktiv tätig wegen seiner Aufgabe als Mittelstandslotse.
Helfferich-und-Wendel004-KopieDie Autorin, geboren 1983, studierte Ver­­­waltungswissenschaften in Bayern. Danach war sie zunächst bei der Bezirksregierung Mittelfranken tätig, bevor sie 2007 ins Wirt­­­­schaftsministerium nach Mainz wechselte. Dort betreute sie bis 2009 im Industrie­­referat unterschiedliche Branchen. Seit September 2009 leitet sie nun die Stabsstelle Mittelstandslotse.