Dr. Wulf Brämer: Professional competence – concentrated in Materials Valley

One of the most successful ways of pass­­ing on professional knowledge and com­­bin­­ing it on a regional basis is to form knowledge clusters. In the past, these clusters de­­vel­­oped as a result of the regional establishment of companies and universities. Now­­adays theses clus­­ters are being formed deliberately by institutes of all kinds in order to promote the exchange of know­­l­­edge and expertise within industry and between industry and universities. The products and the newly developed proc­­ess know-how that result from this con­­text usually correspond to the highest technological stand­­ards, “radiate” out onto other companies and often cause these to join the knowledge cluster.

Foto_1_Goldkristalle_1MB

The materials technology network Mate­­ri­­als Valley e. V. is such a knowledge clus­­ter. Its members include long-standing com­panies that have “grown up” with the Rhine-Main region such as the Hanau stainless steel and technology group Heraeus, the special chemicals compa­ny Evonik, the catalytic converter manu­­fac­­turer Umicore, the pharmaceuticals group Merck, the technology company Vacuum­­schmelze and the special glass manu­fac­­turer Schott.
The significance of materials technology for the Rhine-Main area is emphasized by its cooperation with the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ma­­te­­rialkunde (German Materials Science Society, or DGM) in Frankfurt am Main. The society is a member of the Germany-wide competence net­­work “kompetenznetze.de” of the German Federal Ministry of Edu­ca­tion and Research, and hence an important element in the competence network in the Rhine-Main region. In forming Materials Valley, the re­­gion has reacted to increasing glo­­balization, which leads to region­­ali­zation and a bundling of re­­sources in the area of business and science.

The Rhine-Main region has a concentrated accumulation of qualified and well-trained skilled employees in a wide range of disciplines (scientists, engineers and technicians) as well as research facilities which specialize in materials technology. The complexity of this area of work manifests itself in the structures and size of the companies in this field. While major company groups often cover a wide range of materials and technologies, small and medium-sized companies often spe­­cialize in certain materials and tech­­nologies and, independent of their size, have achieved a leading po­­si­­tion on the world market.

Silberpaste

High tech from Hanau. The competence fields in Materials Valley are as complex as the mem­­ber companies. The competence fields range from electronics, mag­­netic ma­­terials, nano­technology, met­­al powders, precious and special met­­als, thin-layer materials, liquid crys­­tals, gases, catalytic convertor tech­­nology, quartz glass and special glass, fuel cell techno­­l­ogy, dental mate­­rials, fibre optics and rubber/polymers up to plas­­tics. The Materials Valley e.V. society has set itself the goal of maintaining and con­­tinuing to develop the almost unique (in this form) concentra­tion of technological competence in the Rhine-Main region.

Hanau member companies in Materials Valley can shine with the finest high tech and know-how. For example, the Umicore Group is a leader on the world market as a manufacturer of exhaust-purification systems and catalytic convertors for the automotive industry. Vacuumschmelze GmbH is a leader in the development, ma­­n­­ufacture and use of magnetic mate­­rials and has a wide range of high-qual­ity semi-finished products, parts, components and systems, which are used in many different areas and branches of in­­dus­try, from watches to aircraft manu­­fac­­turers.
Many world-record magnets come from this Hanau magnet maker. Whether pre­­cious metals such as platinum and gold, special metals such as niobium and tan­­talum, sensors, dental products and bio-materials, as well as quartz glass or special light-sources – industrial and med­­ical products from the worldwide family-owned company Heraeus can be found in all aspects of everyday life, such as catalytic convertors and temperature sen­­sors for motors, quartz glass for tele­­com­­munications and mi­­cro­­chip produc­tion, filling materials for nat­­ural aes­thet­­ics and longevity, high-performance ultra-violet spotlights for water-puri­­fication, infra-red spotlights for industry and temperature sensors for the steel industry.

Sensor_Schwefelmessung

Competence from professional seminars. A long-term goal of the Materials Valley e.V. society is the creation of a new cul­ture of innovation both in manufacturers and in mem­­ber institutes. This includes the ex­­pan­­sion of existing knowledge net­­works to a long-term research network of alliances be­­tween scientific institutes and companies in the region as well as be­­tween companies as a basis for co­­op­­er­­ative schemes and joint research and de­­velopment. The quickly in­­creas­ing need for innovative products de­­mands a re­­think­­ing in the research scene and in the cooperation between universities and com­­pa­­nies and between individual companies.

In professional circles, the Materials Valley competence network has gained a firm place in the appointments calendars of major decision makers with lectures and workshops from companies, research cen­­tres and universities. Apart from pass­­ing on expert knowledge and meeting professional colleagues, the events, such as the Materials Forum, which is held eight times a year, make it possible in partic­ular to extend personal contacts. Work­shops focus on debating major areas of concern and current issues from in­­dustry and are oriented mainly to a pro­­fessional public.

 

DrThe author studied chemistry in Münster and worked at the Max-Planck Institute in Stuttgart until obtaining his PhD in 1977. Subsequently, he joined the R&D department of Heraeus Kulzer GmbH, where he was promoted to head of department in 1985. Today, Dr Brämer is Managing Director of Materials Valley e.V. and supports the innovation management of Heraeus.

Dr. Wulf Brämer: Fachkompetenz – gebündelt im Materials Valley

Eine der erfolgreichsten Formen, Fach­wissen zu vermitteln und regional zu bündeln, ist die Gründung von Wissens-Clustern. In der Vergangenheit entstan­den diese Cluster durch die regionale Ansied­­lung von Unternehmen und Hoch­schulen. Heut­­zutage werden diese Cluster ganz gezielt von Instituten unterschiedlichster Art gegründet, um den Wissens­aus­tausch innerhalb der Industrie und zwischen der Industrie und den Hochschulen zu fördern. Die in diesem Zusammenhang entstehen­den Produkte und das neu entwickelte Prozess-Know-how entsprechen meistens dem höchsten technologischen Standard, strahlen auf andere Unter­nehmen aus und veranlassen diese oft, sich dem Wissens-Cluster anzuschließen.

Foto_1_Goldkristalle_1MB

Das Material- und Werkstoff­technik­netz­­werk Materials Valley e.V. ist ein solcher Wissens-Cluster. Zu den Mitgliedern gehö­­ren traditionell mit der Rhein-Main-Region verwurzelte Unternehmen wie der Hanauer Edelmetall- und Technologiekonzern Heraeus, das Spezial­­chemie­unter­nehmen Evonik, der Katalysatorhersteller Umicore, der Pharmakonzern Merck, das Techno­­logieunternehmen Vacuumschmelze oder der Spezialglashersteller Schott. Die Bedeutung der Werkstofftechnologie für das Rhein-Main-Gebiet wird durch die Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Materialkunde (DGM) in Frankfurt am Main unterstrichen.
Der Verein ist Mitglied im bundesweiten Kompetenznetzwerk „kompetenznetze.de“ des BMBF und damit ein wichtiger Bau­­stein im Kompetenznetzwerk für die Re­­gion Rhein-Main. Die Region hat mit der Grün­dung des Materials Valley auf die zunehmende Glo­­ba­­lisierung reagiert, die zu einer Regio­­nalisierung, zu einer Bün­­de­­lung von Res­­sourcen auf wirtschaftli­­chem und wissenschaftlichem Gebiet führt.

Die Region Rhein-Main verfügt über eine ge­­ballte Anhäufung von qualifizierten und gut ausgebildeten Fachkräften unter­­­schied­­lichs­­ter Fachrichtungen (Natur­wissen­schaft­­ler, Ingenieure und Tech­niker) sowie For­­schungsein­rich­tungen, die sich speziell mit der Werkstofftechnik be­­fas­­­sen. Die Viel­­schichtigkeit dieses Arbeits­­feldes äußert sich auch in den Struk­turen und der Größe der Unternehmen. Während Groß­­unter­­nehmen oft ein sehr breites Spek­­trum an Materialien und Tech­­no­logien abdecken, haben sich klei­­nere und mittelständische Unter­neh­men auf be­­stimmte Materialien und Techno­lo­gien spezialisiert und es da­­bei unabhängig von ihrer Größe zu einer welt­­weiten Markt­­führerschaft gebracht.

Silberpaste

Hightech aus Hanau. Die Kompetenz­felder im Materials Valley sind so vielschichtig wie die Mitglieds­un­­ter­­nehmen. Die Techno­­logiefelder rei­­­chen von Elek­tro­nik, magne­tischen Mate­­­rialien, Nano­­technologie, Metall­pul­ver, Edel- und Sondermetallen, Dünn­­schicht­mate­­ria­lien, Flüssig­kris­­tallen, Gasen, Kataly­satortech­­nik, Quarzglas und Spezialglas, Brenn­­­stoff­zel­­len-Tech­­no­­­logie, Dental­ma­te­­ria­­lien, Licht­­leit­fa­sern, Gummi/Poly­meren bis hin zu Kunst­stof­­­­fen. Der Verein Materials Valley e.V. hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die in dieser Form beinahe einzigartige Kon­­zen­­tra­tion von Tech­­no­logiekompetenz des Rhein-Main-Ge­­biets zu erhalten und stetig weiterzuentwickeln.

Mit Hightech und Know-how vom Feins­ten können beispielsweise Hanauer Mit­­glieds­­­­­unternehmen im Materials Valley glänzen: So ist der Umicore-Konzern Welt­­markt­führer bei der Herstellung von Ab­­gas­­reini­gungs­­systemen und Kata­ly­satoren für die Auto­­mobilindustrie. Die Vacuum­schmelze ist führend bei der Ent­wick­lung, Herstellung und Anwendung magnetischer Werk­stoffe und verfügt über ein breites Spektrum hoch­­wertiger Halb­­zeuge, Teile, Bau­ele­mente, Kom­po­­nen­­ten und Systeme, die in den unter­­schied­­­­lichs­­ten Bereichen und Indus­­trie­zweigen zum Einsatz kom­­men, vom Uhren- bis zum Flug­zeug­­bauer. Schon so mancher Welt­­rekord-Magnet stammt aus der Hanauer Magnet­schmiede.
Ob Edelmetalle wie Platin und Gold, Son­­der­­metalle wie Niob und Tantal, Sen­­soren, Dental­­produkte und Bio­mate­ria­lien sowie Quarzglas oder Spezial­licht­quel­len – Indus­­trie- und Medizinprodukte des welt­­weit täti­­gen Familienunternehmens Heraeus sind im Alltag überall präsent, beispiels­­weise Katalysatoren und Tem­pe­­ratur­sen­­soren für Motoren, Quarzglas für Tele­kom­­mu­­ni­­kation und Mikrochip-Her­­stel­­lung, Füllungs­­materialien für natür­­liche Ästhetik und Langlebigkeit, Hoch­leis­tungs-Ultra­violett-Strahler für die Wasser­ent­kei­­mung, Infrarot-Strahler für die Industrie oder Tempe­ra­­tur­sen­soren für die Stahlbranche.

Sensor_Schwefelmessung

Kompetenz durch Fachveranstaltungen.Ein langfristiges Ziel des Vereins Mate­rials Valley e.V. ist die Schaffung einer neuen Inno­­vationskultur sowohl in den Indus­trie­­­unter­­nehmen als auch in den Mit­glieds­instituten. Dies beinhaltet den Aus­­bau von vorhan­de­­nen Wissens­net­zen zu ei­nem langfristig angelegten For­schungs­ver­bund­­netz zwi­­schen den wissenschaft­­lichen Ins­­tituten und den Unternehmen der Region sowie zwischen Unterneh­men als Grund­­lage für Kooperationen sowie gemein­­same For­schung und Ent­wick­lung. Der rasch zu­­neh­­mende Bedarf an inno­­vativen Pro­­duk­­ten verlangt ein Um­­denken in der For­schungs­­landschaft und bei der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Hoch­schulen und Unternehmen und Unter­nehmen untereinander.

In Fachkreisen hat sich das Kompe­tenz­netz­­werk Materials Valley durch Vortrags­­ver­an­stal­tungen und Work­shops mit Refe­­ren­ten aus Unternehmen, For­schungs­instituten und Hochschulen einen festen Platz in den Terminkalendern wich­­tiger Entscheider erarbeitet. Die Veran­stal­tun­gen, etwa das achtmal im Jahr angebotene „Material­forum“, ermöglichen neben der Vermitt­lung von Expertenwissen und dem Kennen­lernen von Fachkollegen vor allem den Ausbau persönlicher Kontakte. Work­­shops stellen Schwerpunktthemen und aktuelle Fragen aus der Industrie in den Mittel­punkt der Diskussion und rich­­ten sich hauptsächlich an ein Fachpublikum.

DrDer Autor studierte Chemie in Münster und war bis zu seiner Promotion 1977 am Max-Planck-Institut in Stuttgart be-schäftigt. Anschließend war er in der F&E-Abteilung der Heraeus Kulzer GmbH tätig, deren Leitung er 1985 übernahm. Dr. Brämer ist Geschäftsführer des Mate­­rials Valley e.V. und betreut bei Heraeus das Innovationsmanagement.