Dr. Wolfram von Fritsch: “Made in Germany” – Trade fairs catalyse the global economy

German trade fairs generate growth. Ex­­perts estimate the overall economic pro­­duction effect at approximately 23.5 billion euros – almost the equivalent of the 2011 budget of the Federal Ministry of Trans­port, Building and Urban Development. Through the organisation of events alone, trade fairs secure approximately 226,000 jobs. All that is made possible thanks to Germany’s leading role on the global trade fair market.

Every year brings up to ten million visit­­ors to the 150 international fairs in our country, where upwards of 160,000 exhi­b­­­­itors introduce their latest products and technologies. Germany is the world’s number-one trade fair country. Two thirds of the most important international fairs are held here. The offering encompasses all industries – from traditional German strong points such as automotive and mechanical engineering to IT and tele­com­munication to books and art. With 20 per cent of international visitors – and even 30 per cent when it comes to professional visitors from abroad – the global structure of the German fair market is a prominent feature and also an important success factor.

The business-to-business sector utilises more than 10,000 conventions and conferences as communication platforms, which are attended by about 2.5 million people. The numerous regional specialist and consumer trade shows totalling a national exhibition area of 2.75 million square metres represent a valuable addition. Trade fairs bundle innovation power, drive ideas forward, and actively participate in shaping the global trends of the future – three prominent facts that will continue to secure Germany’s role as the worldwide leading trade fair location in the future.

However, it is communication that is the engine of success: the interconnection between exhibitors, visitors and fair orga­n­­­­isers is unique here and allows for event concepts that are right on the pulse of the time. For, fairs nowadays must be much more than just exhibitions offering product comparisons. That is an offer al­­ready largely provided by the World Wide Web. It is especially the personal contacts between organisers, exhibitors and visit­­ors that make a fair successful and turn it into a trend baro­meter for the industry.
Furthermore, accompanying platforms such as conventions or symposiums are part of the core programme and largely contribute to the success of German fairs. There, economic, scientific and political experts present research results and future perspectives, which provide visit­­ors with new ideas.

CB11_H02_13076082-KopieHM11_H11_13080855-KopieCB11_H04_13075853-Kopie

For over 60 years, the HANNOVER MESSE has been a good example of a successful concept and the global appeal emanated by German fairs. The concept of a multitude of international trade fairs creates synergies for both visitors and exhibitors. Innovations in similar industries are often only one hall away and multiple trips are not required – smart efficiency applied to fair visits. Surveys show that specialisation and depth of the individual trade fairs in combination with the general over­view of industrial innovations at a site are much appreciated by professional visit­ors: a wide variety with depth is what is sought and can be found in Hanover.

With its partner country concept, the Deut­­sche Messe highlights a different nation every year; after this technology event, which is the most important worldwide, participants travel back home with full order books and incoming orders in the billions. With its partner country presence at the fair, Korea achieved an order volume of approximately 1.7 billion US dollars and vastly expanded its business relationships. Successful fair work is supported by the Internet. However, it would be wrong to want to offer contents there. The strong point of a fair lies in the creation of indi­­vidual contacts and relationships. Deut­sche Messe AG now does that on the Internet as well. We enrich our millions of visitor data records with additional personal information, which allows us to segment customer groups. This makes contacts interesting to companies and cre­­ates the perspective of new sales. Offer and demand meet in that way, enabling qualified business contacts.

What has proven successful in Germany, the fair country, offers great opportunities on international markets. International branding is the magic word. Fair brands are exported abroad, allowing German fair organisers to open up new markets. Auto­mechanika Istanbul, DOMOTEX Middle East, and CeBIT Australia are examples of the export of successful event concepts abroad. In turn, that strengthens the Ger­man economy, as many an exhibitor will sooner or later also come to the original fair and bring new ideas along.



For that purpose, Deutsche Messe AG has the appropriate staff. 850 people, organised into eight international and five German subsidiaries, are active in over 110 countries in the world. They have a strong network at their command and lay the foundations for successful events. Moreover, exhibitors are already actively involved in the planning of the fair during its preliminary stages. In that way, the established visitor interests are channelled straight into the plan.

What is more, fairs have long been giving a boost to the job market. For job seekers and potential employers alike, this is an ideal opportunity to learn to know each other in a practical environment. Both sides can present themselves casually and establish personal contacts. Espe­cially with younger people, the spark of enthusiasm – the cornerstone of profes­sional careers – is often ignited by experiencing high-tech products and innovative technologies.

Now, what may the future hold for the fair market? Real trade fairs will always be around. How­ever, the shape of exhibitions will change due to the ever-increasing interconnectedness of people through the Internet and the rapid further development of tech­­nical know-how.

Simulations and state-of-the-art presentation technologies will allow companies to continue to stir the enthusiasm and interest of fair visitors. Especially firms whose products are hard to represent, such as in the energy, aviation or communication industries, can profit from employing virtual technologies. Those can contribute to making their achievements more under­standable and experienceable.
However, replacing physical events with virtual worlds re­­mains an unrealistic scenario. For, trust and customer loyalty require personal contact to form – and trade fairs accomplish that particularly well. The representative survey by the Association of the German Trade Fair Industry (AUMA) about fair trends among 500 German companies confirms that: following the corporate website, parti­cipation in fairs is the next important in­­stru­ment in the marketing mix.

Moreover, futurologists predict a shifting of the global offer and demand flows. In coming years, AUMA estimates that de­mand on the Asian and Eastern Euro­p­ean markets will rise significantly. That is already reflected in developments of the gross national products of certain countries.
For instance, with CeMAT Asia in Shanghai, Energy India in Mumbai and CeBIT Eura­sia in Istanbul, the fair market as a whole and Deutsche Messe AG in particular are well prepared for such a growth impulse. In coordination with local colleagues, those events are being adapted to specific cultural and economic requirements and continually developed. Coincidentally, the new contacts give rise to valuable synergy effects for the German fair business.

Hence, the present and future of the fair economy look very promising. The multi-faceted and dynamic communication and marketing platforms of the trade fair location of Germany will remain a significant catalyser for the domestic and global economies – and continue to generate

HM11_Al_0075895-KopieThe author is CEO of Deutsche Messe AG. Following a bank clerk apprenticeship and law studies, he started his career as assistant to the president of Deutsche Bundesbahn, Heinz Dürr. In 1996, he assumed managerial functions at DB Cargo AG. After a period with the company Berlin Partner GmbH, he returned to the railway company in 2003 and was chairman of DB Regio AG regional management until he joined the Deutsche Messe AG.

Dr. Wolfram von Fritsch: „Made in Germany“ – Messen katalysieren die globale Wirtschaft

Deutsche Messen schaffen Wachstum. Auf rund 23,5 Milliarden Euro schätzen Experten die gesamtwirtschaftlichen Pro­duktionseffekte – fast so viel wie der Etat des Bundesverkehrsministers für das Jahr 2011. Messen sichern allein durch die Organisation von Veranstaltungen rund 226.000 Arbeitsplätze. All das ist möglich, weil Deutschland eine Vorreiterrolle auf dem weltweiten Messemarkt spielt.

Jedes Jahr kommen bis zu zehn Millionen Besucher zu den 150 internationalen Messen in unser Land, auf denen mehr als 160.000 Aussteller ihre neuesten Produkte und Technologien vorstellen. Deutschland ist das Messeland Nummer 1 weltweit. Zwei Drittel der international wichtigsten Messen finden hier statt. Das Angebot um­­fasst alle Branchen – von den traditionellen deutschen Stärken wie Automobil- und Maschinenbau über Information- und Telekommunikation bis hin zur Buch- und Kunst­branche. Mit 20 Prozent internationalen Be­­such­ern – unter den Fach­be­suchern reisen sogar 30 Prozent aus dem Ausland an – ist die globale Struktur des deutschen Messe­marktes ein heraus­ragendes Merkmal und zugleich ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor.

Der Business-to-Business-Bereich nutzt jährlich mehr als 10.000 Kongresse und Tagungen als Kommunikations­platt­formen, an denen rund 2,5 Millionen Besucher teilnehmen. Eine wertvolle Ergänzung bilden die vielen regionalen Fach- und Ver­braucherausstellungen auf einer bun­des­­­­­weiten Hallenfläche von rund 2,75 Millionen Quadratmetern. Messen bündeln die Inno­­vationskraft, treiben Ideen voran und gestalten die globalen Zukunfts­trends aktiv mit – drei herausragende Fakten, die Deutschlands Rolle als welt­weit führender Messestand­­ort auch in Zukunft sichern werden.

Doch der Motor des Erfolgs ist die Kommu­nikation: Die Verzahnung von Ausstellern, Besuchern und Messeveranstaltern ist hierzulande einzigartig und ermöglicht Veranstaltungskonzepte exakt am Puls der Zeit. Denn Messen müssen heute viel mehr sein als reine Leistungsschauen mit Produktvergleichen. Dieses Angebot liefert bereits in hohem Umfang das World Wide Web. Es sind vor allem die persönlichen Kontakte zwischen Veranstaltern, Aus­stellern und Besuchern, die eine Messe erfolgreich und zum Trendbarometer für die Branche machen.

CB11_H02_13076082-KopieHM11_H11_13080855-KopieCB11_H04_13075853-Kopie

Begleitende Plattformen wie Fach­kong­­resse oder Symposien spielen zusätzlich eine wichtige Rolle für den Erfolg und gehören zum festen Programm deutscher Messen. Hier präsentieren Experten aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik Forschungs­er­gebnisse und Zukunftsperspektiven, das liefert den Besuchern neue Ideen.
Ein gutes Beispiel für ein erfolgreiches Konzept und die globale Zugkraft, die von deutschen Messen ausgeht, ist seit mehr als 60 Jahren die HANNOVER MESSE. Das Konzept aus einer Vielzahl internationaler Leitmessen schafft für Besucher und Aus­steller gleichermaßen Synergien. Inno­va­tionen ähnlicher Branchen liegen oft nur eine Halle weit entfernt, mehrfache An­­reisen sind überflüssig – Smart Efficiency beim Messebesuch. Umfragen zeigen, dass Spezialisierung und Tiefgang bei den einzelnen Leitmessen in Kombi­nation mit dem generellen Überblick über indu­s­­­­trielle Innovationen auf einem Gelände bei den Fachbesuchern besonders gut ankommen – breite Vielfalt mit Tiefgang wird gesucht und in Hannover gefunden.

Zusätzlich stellt die Deutsche Messe mit dem Partnerland-Konzept jedes Jahr eine Nation in den Vordergrund, deren Teil­nehmer nach dem weltweit wichtigsten Technologieereignis mit vollen Auftrags­büchern und Auftragseingängen in Milli­arden­höhe nach Hause reisen. Korea er­zielte mit seinem Messeauftritt als Partner­land ein Auftragsvolumen von rund 1,7 Milliarden US-Dollar und baute seine wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen stark aus.
Unterstützt wird erfolgreiche Messe­arbeit durch das Internet. Doch es wäre ein Fehler, dort Inhalte anbieten zu wollen. Die Stärke einer Messe ist die Herstellung von individuellen Kon­takten und Ver­bin­dungen. Das tut die Deutsche Messe AG jetzt auch im Inter­net. Wir reichern unsere Millionen von Besucher­daten­sätze mit weiteren Infor­mationen über die Per­sonen an und sind so in der Lage, Kunden­­gruppen zu segmen­tieren. Das macht die Kontakte für Unter­nehmen interessant und schafft perspektivisch neue Umsätze. So kommen Anbieter und Nachfrager zusammen, quali­fizierte Geschäftskontakte werden ermöglicht.

Was sich im Messeland Deutschland be­­währt hat, hat auch große Chancen auf den internationalen Märkten. Inter­national Branding ist das Zauberwort. Messe­marken werden ins Ausland exportiert und deutsche Messe­veran­stalter er­schlie­ßen sich so neue Märkte. So wurden beispielsweise mit einer Auto­mech­anika Istanbul, der DOMOTEX Middle East oder der CeBIT Australia erfolgreiche Veranstal­tungskonzepte ins Ausland ge­­tragen. Das stärkt wiederum die deutsche Wirtschaft, denn mancher Aussteller kommt früher oder später auch auf die ursprüngliche Messe und bringt neue Ideen mit.



Die Deutsche Messe AG ist dafür auch personell gut aufgestellt. 850 Beschäftigte, organisiert in acht internationalen und fünf deutschen Tochtergesellschaften, sind in mehr als 110 Ländern der Erde aktiv. Sie verfügen über ein starkes Netz­werk und schaffen die Voraussetzungen für erfolgreiche Veranstaltungen. Zusätz­­­­­­lich sind bereits im Vorfeld einer Messe die Aussteller über Beiräte aktiv in die Planung der Veranstalter eingebunden. Die ermittelten Besucherinteressen fließen so direkt in die Konzeption ein.

Längst verleihen Messen auch dem Arbeits­markt neuen Schub. Bewerber können nirgendwo so leicht ihre potenziellen Arbeit­geber in einem praxisorientierten Umfeld kennen lernen – und umgekehrt. Beide Seiten können sich ungezwungen präsentieren und persönlichen Kontakt aufnehmen. Gerade bei jungen Menschen springt häufig der Funke der Begeisterung beim Erleben von Hightech-Produkten und innovativen Technologien über – der Grundstein für berufliche Karrieren.
Und wie sieht der Messemarkt der Zu­­kunft aus? Reale Messen wird es immer geben. Doch durch die immer stärkere Ver­netz­ung der Menschen über das Internet und die schnelle Weiter­ent­wick­lung des tech­nischen Know-hows werden sich die Aus­­stellungsformen verändern.
Mit Simu­la­tionen und modernsten Präsen­tations­­technologien können Unter­nehmen die Messebesucher auf neue Art be­geistern und ihr Interesse wecken. Gerade Firmen, deren Produkte schwer abzubilden sind, etwa aus der Energie-, Flug- oder Kom­muni­­kationsbranche, profitieren vom Ein­satz virtueller Techniken. Sie können ihre Leis­t­ungen erlebbar und damit leichter verständlich machen.

Der Ersatz von physischen Veran­stalt­ungen durch virtuelle Welten ist jedoch ein realitäts­fernes Szenario. Denn Ver­trauen und Kunden­bindung können nur über persönlichen Kontakt entstehen – und das gelingt auf Messen besonders gut. Das bestätigt auch die repräsentative Umfrage zu Messe­trends unter 500 deutschen Unternehmen des Ausstellungs- und Messe-Aus­schusses der Deutschen Wirt­schaft (AUMA): Nach der eigenen Firmen­website sind Messe­be­­teil­ig­ungen das wichtigste Instrument im Marketing-Mix.

Zukunftsforscher prognostizieren zudem eine Verlagerung der weltweiten Nach­frage- und Angebotsströme. In den nächsten Jahren wird nach Ein­schätz­ungen der AUMA die Nachfrage auf den asiatischen und osteuropäischen Märkten deutlich steigen. Das spiegelt sich bereits in den Entwicklungen des Brutto­sozial­produktes einzelner Länder wider.

Auf diese Wachstumsimpulse sind der gesamte Messemarkt und insbesondere die Deutsche Messe AG gut vorbereitet, zum Beispiel mit der CeMAT Asia in Shanghai, der Energy India in Mumbai oder der CeBIT Eurasia in Istanbul. Ge­­mein­sam mit den Mit­ar­­beitern vor Ort werden diese Veran­stalt­ungen speziell an die kulturellen und wirt­schaftlichen Bedürf­nisse an­­ge­­passt und stetig weiter­entwickelt. Gleich­­zeitig ermöglichen die neuen Kontakte auch wertvolle Synergie­effekte für das deutsche Messegeschäft.

Die Gegenwart und die Zukunft der Messe­­wirt­schaft sehen daher sehr viel­ver­sprech­end aus. Die facettenreichen und dyna­mischen Kommunikations- und Ver­triebs­­­platt­formen des Messe­stand­ortes Deutsch­­land werden für die inländische und die globale Wirt­schaft ein wichtiger Katal­y­sator bleiben – und weiter Wachs­­tum schaffen.

HM11_Al_0075895-KopieDer Autor ist Vorstandsvorsitzender der Deutschen Messe AG. Von Fritsch begann seine Karriere nach Bankkaufmanns­lehre und Jurastudium als Assistent des Bahn­­chefs Heinz Dürr. 1996 übernahm er Füh­r­­ungs­aufgaben bei der DB Cargo AG. Nach Tätigkeiten bei der Berlin Partner GmbH kehrte er 2003 zur Bahn zurück und war bis zu seinem Messe-­Antritt Vor­sitzender der DB Regio AG, Region­alleitung Nord.