Dr. Wolfram Knauer: Darmstadt and the world of jazz

The Jazzinstitut was founded in 1990, after the city acquired the collection of broadcasting editor, producer and jazz expert Joachim Ernst Berendt in the 1980s. Berendt’s albums, books, magazines, photos and other documents relating to the centennial history of jazz were soon complemented by collections that have turned the Jazzinstitut into the largest public jazz collection in Europe – and the third-largest in the world.
2003_Bonboninstitut_01

Overall, the Jazzinstitut acts on three levels. Locally, in Darmstadt and its environs, it is known for concerts in the historic vaulted basement of the Kavaliershaus, which features excellent acoustics. But also for the “Jazz Conceptions”, a week-long summer workshop, which the institute hosts every year in cooperation with the cultural centre Bessunger Knabenschule. Nationally, the Jazzinstitut is prized as an independent facility that understands the structure of an extremely creative scene and as a service partner for musicians, event organizers, and cultural administrators. Internationally, the institute has gained renown as a key point of contact for jazz research.
By interweaving those three levels – regional cultural work, national lobbying, and international scientific work – the Jazzinstitut has been doing a widely regarded job for 20 years. Even researchers from the birthplace of jazz, the USA, repeatedly turn to Darmstadt for competent assistance.


P1010163

The Jazzinstitut Darmstadt, thus, attempts to bridge the gaps between science and practical experience, between service for a volunteerism-dependent music genre and the careful documentation of past and present musical developments, as well as between regional cultural work and international discourse. However, the institute does not function from within the proverbial ivory tower. Visitors are very welcome.

Knauer_2007_ArmstrongSince 1990, Dr. Wolfram Knauer has been heading the Jazzinstitut Darmstadt while lecturing at several German colleges and universities. He organizes the
biennial Darmstadt Jazz Forum, publishes the “Darmstädter Beiträge zur Jazzforschung” (Darmstadt’s contributions to jazz research) series of books, is a member of the editorial board of the international journal Jazz Perspectives, and is the author of numerous scientific contributions to books and journals. In the spring of 2008, he became the first non-American Louis Armstrong Professor of Jazz Studies at Columbia University in New York.

Dr. Wolfram Knauer: Darmstadt und die Welt des Jazz

Das Jazzinstitut wurde 1990 gegründet, nachdem die Stadt in den 1980er Jahren die Sammlung des Rund­funkredakteurs, Produzenten und Jazzexperten Joachim Ernst Berendt übernommen hatte. Zu Berendts Schall­platten, Büchern, Zeitschriften, Fotos und anderen Do­­ku­­menten über die hundertjährige Geschichte des Jazz kamen bald weitere Sammlungen, die das Jazzinstitut zum größten öffentlichen Jazzarchiv in Europa machen – und zum drittgrößten weltweit.

2003_Bonboninstitut_01

Im Großen und Ganzen agiert das Jazzinstitut auf drei Ebenen. Lokal, also in Darmstadt und Umgebung, ist es etwa für die Konzerte im historischen Gewölbekeller des Kavaliershauses bekannt, der eine exzellente Akustik besitzt. Aber auch für die „Jazz Conceptions“, einen ein­­wöchigen Sommerworkshop, den das Institut jährlich zusammen mit dem Kulturzentrum Bessunger Knaben­­schule veranstaltet. National wird das Jazzinstitut als eine Einrichtung geschätzt, die unabhängig über die Struktur einer überaus kreativen Szene Bescheid weiß, als Servicepartner für Musiker, Veranstalter oder Kultur­­verwalter. International hat sich das Institut einen Ruf als eine der wichtigsten Anlaufstellen für die Jazz­­for­­schung gemacht.
Im Verweben dieser drei Ebenen – regionaler Kultur­­arbeit, nationaler Lobbyarbeit und internationaler wis­­sen­­schaftlicher Arbeit – leistet das Jazzinstitut seit 20 Jahren eine weithin beachtete Arbeit. Selbst Forscher im Geburtsland des Jazz, in den USA, wenden sich immer wieder nach Darmstadt, um von hier kompetente Hilfe­­stellung zu erhalten.


P1010163

Das Jazzinstitut Darmstadt versucht also einen Brücken­­schlag zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis, zwischen Service­­leistung für eine von der ehrenamtlichen Arbeit vieler lebende Musik und sorgfältiger Dokumentation musika­­lischer Entwicklungen aus Vergangenheit und Gegen­­wart, zwischen regionaler Kulturarbeit und internationalem Diskurs. Das Institut arbeitet allerdings nicht im sprichwörtlichen Elfenbeinturm. Besucher sind gern gesehen.

Knauer_2007_ArmstrongDr. Wolfram Knauer leitet seit 1990 das Jazzinstitut Darmstadt, lehrte daneben an mehreren deutschen Hochschulen und Universitäten. Er organisiert alle zwei Jahre das Darmstädter Jazzforum, ist Herausgeber der Darmstädter Beiträge zur Jazz­forschung, sitzt im Herausgebergremium der internationalen Fachzeitschrift Jazz Perspectives und ist Autor etlicher wissenschaftlicher Beiträge in Büchern und Fachzeitschriften. Im Frühjahr 2008 lehrte er als erster nicht-amerikanischer Louis Armstrong Professor of Jazz Studies an der Columbia University in New York.