Dr. Wolf Schumacher: Innovative and international finance – Qualification creates stronger tie with Aareal

Foto-ebs-2009

European Business School in Oestrich-Winkel.

The history of the Aareal Bank Group has been closely connected to the city of Wies­­baden for many decades. What was once an alternative solution realized out of ne­­cessity after World War II, has quick­­ly prov­en itself to be an ad­­van­ta­geous location. The Aareal Bank today is one of the lead­­ing international real estate specialists and is represent­­ed by em­­ployees from 30 different states in 19 countries on three continents – Eu­­rope, North America and the Asia-Pa­­cif­­ic region. Its head office in Wiesbaden is at an optimal location in the Rhine district due to its proximity, on the one hand, to the international banking centre in and around Frank­­furt am Main, and on the other hand, to the internatio­n­­al business university Eu­­ropean Bu­­­­siness School (ebs) in the Rheingau.
For internationally positioned companies like the Aareal Bank, it is especial­ly true: Expertise and innovative power are two of the most important success factors in international competition. The strongest companies are those that have the best employees available – and can keep them. In or­­der to fulfill professional de­­mands, constant training and continuing educa­­tion is a must.

Expertise, knowledge, know-how, quali­fi­cation – behind all these is the super­or­­dinate concept of “education”. A coun­try like Germany and a region like Hes­­sen must devote all their resources to holding their position as an economic centre. Ed­­u­­­cation is the resource that we can and must use to lift ourselves up in the fu­­ture of the globalized world. The Aareal Bank Group is aware of its social responsibility and in­­vests part of its earnings back into so­­ci­­ety in the form of education sponsorships.
It thereby not only promotes its own em­­ployees, junior scientists and trainees, but also makes an essential contribution to securing the future of the economic centre Wiesbaden and the region in general.
In the company’s internal “Aareal Acad­­emy,” a type of corporate university, the Aareal Bank combines all measures in its fostering of education. It follows the continuing education philosophy that employees should always continue to work on their expertise. In the banking segment of the Aareal Bank Group alone, each employee took part in training and continuing education seminars within the framework of the Aareal Academy on an average of five days in the work year 2008.
The Academy not only offers special pro­­cedures and programmes to employees, management staff and ex­­perts, but also techniques for personal human resources development, integra­tion programmes for new employees, spe­­cial trainee programmes, programmes for interns and – it should be particularly emphasized – cooperation with uni­­ver­si­­ties such as the Real Estate Man­age­­ment Institute (REMI), the European Bu­­siness School (EBS) in Oestrich-Winkel and the Uni­ver­sity of Cambridge. In ad­­di­­tion, through the subsidiary Aareon, the company is involved in close colla­­boration with the University of Eco­nom­­ics and the Environ­­ment (Hochschule für Wirt­schaft und Um­­welt) in Nürtin­gen-Geislingen in a degree programme in real estate management.

The Aareal Bank has had very good ex­­periences with the close association of science and practice for many years. In 2006 it established a professorship for the REMI and since then has been the main sponsor of the Aareal professorship for real estate investing and financing. With this collaboration, two high-performance partners have found each other who fit ideally together: in their demands to be active in their re­­spective areas and in their international position. In the view of Aareal Bank, REMI is a val­­uable interface to the scientific knowledge of real estate manage­ment instruction. Thus, the Aareal Bank can always be up to date on the latest state of the art in science. The advan­tag­es for employees are obvious: Through dialogue with the teachings, they can continue to de­­velop their expertise fur­ther. The Aareal Bank offers its employees various on-the-job courses of study to complete at the REMI – with great suc­­cess: Again and again, grad­­uates from the bank have been among the year’s best. In addition, reg­­ular specialist lectures by internal and external speakers are part of the every­day work of the Aareal bank­­ers. With the diverse possibilities of con­­tin­u­­ing education, the company attracts its em­­ployees to the location, since it offers constant vocational development: The Aareal Bank can recruit around 80 per cent of its specialist and management staff out of its own ranks. That makes the company an attractive em­­ployer.

Last but not least, the close combination of practice and science is also an advantage for customers, since special­ists at the Aareal Bank remain innovative, “up-to-date” and flexible in the search for new paths to solutions. Together with its knowledge of individual needs, the com­­pany can optimally serve its customers and build up and extend partnerships over the long term.
But it is not only the employees of Aareal Bank who profit from the social involvement of the bank in education. This close contact to practice is available to all students at the REMI. The students ac­­company “real” case studies and try to solve problems that actually occur in practice. For example, they make feasibility and economic viability calculations for various ongoing projects from companies and use questions from the sponsors as topics in their studies and dissertations.
In addition, since 2008 one important component of the cooperation between Aareal Bank and REMI has been the “Aareal Award of Excel­­len­­ce in Real Es­­tate Re­­search”. This research prize, awarded yearly, distinguishes outstanding sci­­en­­tific work in real estate management teaching and is granted with a bonus of 12,000 euros. It has been internation­­ally announced since 2009 and is triggering a great response: In 2009, 30 spe­­cial­­ist con­­tributions were received in total, a third of those from abroad. The prize is awarded by an independent jury.

With all these options, the Aareal Bank makes a convincing argument for more involvement of companies in science. Be­­cause science is an investment in the future. Strengthening Wiesbaden as an education centre also strengthens it as an economic centre. Whoever as­­sumes this responsibility also contributes to securing the future of the region.

 

Wolf_Schumacher_600x927[1]The author has been CEO of Aareal Bank AG since 2005. From 2003 to 2005, he held two positions in double function as the speaker of the board of the Deut­­sche Genossen­­schafts-Hypo­the­­ken­bank AG as well as deputy chairman of VR Im­­mobilien AG. Dr. Wolf Schu­macher was born in 1958, is a lawyer and earned a doctorate from the University of Ham­burg.

Dr. Wolf Schumacher: Finanzwirtschaft innovativ und international – Aareal Academy qualifiziert und bindet

Foto-ebs-2009

European Business School in Oestrich-Winkel.

Die Historie der Aareal Bank Gruppe ist seit vielen Jahrzehnten eng mit dem Standort Wiesbaden verbunden. Was nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg notgedrun­gen eine Ersatzlösung war, erwies sich schnell als vorteilhafter Standort. Die Aareal Bank ist heute einer der führenden internatio­­nalen Immobilien­spezia­listen und ist mit Mitarbeitern aus über 30 verschiedenen Nationen in 19 Län­dern auf drei Kon­­ti­nenten – Europa, Nord­­amerika und im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum – vertreten. Für ihren Haupt­­sitz in Wiesbaden ist der Standort mit seiner Nähe einerseits zum internationalen Ban­­kenzentrum in und um Frank­­furt am Main und andererseits zur in­­ter­­na­tio­­nalen Wirt­­schafts­hoch­schu­­le Eu­­ro­pean Business School (ebs) im Rhein­­gau optimal.

Gerade für international positionierte Unternehmen wie die Aareal Bank gilt: Expertise und Innovationskraft sind im internationalen Wettbewerb zwei der be­­deutendsten Erfolgsfaktoren. Die stärks­­ten Unternehmen sind diejenigen, die über die besten Mitarbeiter verfügen – und sie halten können. Um einen profes­­sionellen Anspruch zu erfüllen, ist die kontinuierliche Aus- und Weiterbildung ein Muss.

Expertise, Wissen, Know-how, Qualifika­tion – dahinter steht übergeordnet der Begriff „Bildung“. Ein Land wie Deutsch­­land und eine Region wie Hessen müssen alles daran setzen, um als Wirt­schafts­standort Bestand zu haben. Bil­dung ist die Ressource, mit der wir uns in Zu­­kunft in der globalisierten Welt abheben können und müssen. Die Aareal Bank Gruppe ist sich ihrer gesellschaftlichen Verant­wortung bewusst und lässt einen Teil ihrer erwirtschafteten Erträge in Form des Bildungssponsorings an die Ge­­sell­­schaft zurückfließen.

Damit fördert sie nicht nur die eigenen Mitarbeiter, Nach­­wuchswissenschaftler und Aus­zu­bil­­den­­de, sondern trägt we­­sentlich zur Zu­­kunfts­­sicherung des Wirt­­schafts­standorts Wies­­baden und der Region insgesamt bei.

In der unternehmensinternen „Aareal Aca­­demy“, einer Art Corporate Uni­ver­sity, bündelt die Aareal Bank alle Maß­­nah­men ihrer Bildungsförderung. Sie folgt der Weiterbildungsphilosophie, dass Mit­­ar­­bei­­­­­ter permanent an ihrer Exper­ti­­se ar­­bei­­ten. Allein im Bank­be­reich der Aareal Bank Gruppe nahm jeder Mit­ar­beiter im Durchschnitt fünf Tage des Ar­­beits­­jahres 2008 an Fort- und Weiter­­bil­­dungs­­seminaren im Rahmen der Aareal Aca­­demy teil. Die Academy um­­fasst nicht nur spezielle Maßnah­men und Pro­­gram­­­me für Mit­arbeiter, Füh­rungskräfte und Exper­ten.
Auch Maßnah­men zur persönlichen Per­­­sonalentwicklung, Integrationspro­gram­­me für neue Mitar­beiter, spezielle Trai­nee-Pro­gramme, Pro­­gramme für Prak­tikanten und – besonders hervorzuheben – die Kooperation mit Hochschulen wie dem Real Estate Management Institute (REMI) der European Business School (EBS) in Oestrich-Winkel und der Uni­ver­sity of Cambridge gehören dazu. Über das Tochterunter­neh­­men Aareon besteht darüber hinaus eine enge Zusammen­ar­beit mit der Hochschule für Wirt­schaft und Um­­welt in Nürtingen-Geislingen im Stu­dien­­gang Immobilien­wirtschaft.

Mit der engen Verknüpfung von Wissen­schaft und Praxis macht die Aareal Bank seit vielen Jahren sehr gute Erfahrun­gen. Sie stiftete 2006 eine Professur für das REMI und ist seitdem Hauptförde­rer der Aareal Pro­­fessur für Immobilien­inves­­ti­­tion und –fi­­nanzierung. In dieser Koope­ra­tion ha­­ben sich zwei leistungsstarke Partner ge­­funden, die ideal zu­­ein­­ander passen: in ihrem Anspruch, in­­no­­vativ auf ihrem je­­weiligen Gebiet tä­­tig zu sein und in ihrer internationalen Positio­­nierung. Das REMI ist aus Sicht der Aareal Bank eine wertvolle Schnitt­stelle zu den wissen­schaft­li­­chen Er­­kennt­nissen der Im­­mobi­lien­wirt­­schaftslehre. Damit ist die Aareal Bank immer auf dem neuesten Stand der Wis­­senschaft. Für die Mit­ar­beiter liegen die Vorteile auf der Hand: Durch den Dialog mit der Lehre können sie sich in ihrer Ex­­perti­se kontinuierlich weiterentwickeln. So bietet die Aareal Bank ihren Mitar­­bei­­tern an, berufsbegleitend verschiedene Stu­­diengänge am REMI zu absolvieren – mit erfreulichem Erfolg: Immer wieder ge­­hören Absolven­ten der Bank zu den Jahr­­gangs­besten. Darüber hinaus ge­­hö­­ren re­­gelmäßige Fachvor­trä­ge von in­­ter­nen und externen Refe­renten zum Ar­­beits­all­­tag der Aareal Banker. Mit der Möglich­keit zur vielfältigen Weiterbil­dung bindet das Unternehmen seine Mit­ar­bei­­ter an den Standort, denn damit ein­her geht auch die berufliche Weiter­ent­wick­­lung: Rund 80 Prozent der Fach- und Führungs­kräf­­te kann die Aareal Bank aus ihren eige­­nen Reihen rekrutieren. Das macht das Unternehmen zu einem attraktiven Ar­­beitgeber.

Nicht zuletzt ist die enge Verbindung von Praxis und Wissenschaft auch ein Vorteil für die Kunden, denn die Spezia­listen der Aareal Bank bleiben innovativ, „up-to-date“ und flexibel bei der Suche nach neuen Lösungswegen. Gemeinsam mit ihrer Kenntnis der individuellen Be­­dürfnisse können sie ihre Kunden optimal bedienen und langfristige Partner­schaften auf- und ausbauen.

Nicht nur die Mitar­beiter der Aareal Bank profitieren von dem gesellschaftlichen Engagement der Bank in Bildung. Allen Studierenden des REMI steht so ein enger Kontakt zur Praxis zur Ver­fügung. Die Studenten begleiten „echte“ Fallstudien und versuchen, Probleme zu lösen, die sich tatsächlich in der Pra­­xis bieten. Sie erstellen beispielsweise Machbarkeits- und Wirtschaftlich­keits­berechnungen für verschiedene laufen­de Projekte von Unternehmen und the­­matisieren Fragestellungen der Spon­so­­ren in Studien- und Masterarbeiten.

Wichtiger Baustein der Kooperation zwi­­schen Aareal Bank und REMI ist seit 2008 zusätzlich der „Aareal Award of Excel­­len­­ce in Real Estate Research“. Der jährlich verliehene Forschungspreis zeichnet wis­­senschaftlich herausragende Arbeiten in der Immobilienwirtschaftslehre aus und ist mit 12.000 Euro dotiert. Er wird seit 2009 international ausgeschrieben und stößt auf große Resonanz: 2009 wurden insgesamt knapp 30 Fachbei­trä­­ge eingereicht, davon rund ein Drittel aus dem Ausland. Über die Vergabe ent­­scheidet eine unabhängige Jury.
Mit all dem hält die Aareal Bank ein über­­zeugendes Plädoyer für mehr Engage­ment von Unternehmen in der Wissen­schaft. Denn: Wissen ist eine Investition in die Zukunft. Die Sicherung des Bil­dungs­standorts stärkt auch den Wirt­schafts­standort Wiesbaden. Wer hier Ver­­ant­wortung übernimmt, trägt dazu bei, die Zukunft der Region zu festigen.

Wolf_Schumacher_600x927[1]Der Autor ist seit 2005 Vor­stands­­vor­­sit­zender der Aareal Bank AG. Von 2003 bis 2005 bekleidete er in Dop­­pel­funk­tion die Positionen des Vorstands­­spre­ch­ers der Deutschen Genossen­­schafts-Hypo­the­­kenbank AG sowie des stell­ver­tretenden Vorstands­vorsit­zen­­den der VR Immobi­lien AG. Dr. Wolf Schumacher wur­­de 1958 geboren, ist Jurist und wurde an der Uni­ver­sität Hamburg promoviert.