Dr. Wilhelm W. Zörgiebel: Traditional and modern spirits – Tech­­nology centres in innovative competition

Today Dresden creates attraction from a multilayered connection of culture, in­­dustry and education. The economy and science of the city profit from living tra­­ditions which go back far into the past.

Hellerauer-Kreis-06_2008-109

For further development, it is decisive to get creative potentials – people and institutions – to communicate so well with each other that new ideas are continually created: ideas, research issues, knowledge, products and co-operation – innovations. These new ideas will then not only be echoed in the scientific world and in competitive advantages, but also in research and education, art and culture, because innovations are not only restricted to technologies and market success.

Thereby, technology and foundation centres play a significant role as places in which knowledge and communication find a productive breeding ground. What distinguishes these locations? Which special characteristics should real estate – a building or a location – offer in order to be attractive for knowledge-intensive organizations and their employees? How can real estate and its management create added value for them?
A hundred years ago, Hellerau was built on the edge of Dresden, founded on the garden cities concept to unite working, living, education and nature. Today, with the growth of the knowledge economy, high-tech organisations settle there. Using the example of Gebäude­­En­­sem­­­­ble­­ Deutsche Werkstätten Hell­­erau, it be­­comes clear: Letting, gastronomy and event management in a technology-oriented environment do not function as real estate management in the classical sense.


DPP_0015

Why? Successful ideas, business models and organizations first grow in the minds of people. They only obtain strength in exchange with others and patient work at “real” lively locations.
Although the advantages of digitalization are obvious: Distances are shrinking. People are moving together. Business is becoming faster. Costs are sinking. To­­day, business trips are by far not the only means to work with other people on projects and to keep updated. However, a good business location is more than a thick roof over a creative head with fast internet connections and caretaker service.
A entrepreneurial managed technology centre as a location for technology-oriented organizations and entrepreneurs must therefore be based on principles which have been summarized below.

Sustainable building
A building, which – planned and built with vision 100 years ago for furniture con­­struction – today still offers functional mo­­dern working con­­ditions for laboratories, offices and in­­­­dustry, may de­­serv­­edly be labelled as recoverable and sustainable. This is the re­­quirement of sustainable architecture, where knowledge and communication are the driving forces. With his handicraft and creativity, a person sets the standard for the design of his environment.

BG380-15

Diversity wins
Diversity is a resource. Impulses for new ideas originate when people and topics meet which up to now have had little to do with each other, for example re­­searchers and businessmen and artists. Brilliant ideas need confrontation to mature. And simultaneously, a good mix of tenants assures protection against economic fluctuations.

Communication and short distances
Open communication in all directi­­ons creates opportunities for cooperation, and technology and foundation centres are only successful when they consis­­tently ensure that their tenants and partners are not alone.
They have a platform function. For this, the research and organisation landscape in Dresden offers manifold contacts and networks. Is the close proximity to the Dresden University of Technology and to the research institutions therefore an in­­dispensable location factor for founders and growing organizations?

I do not think not, as Dresden is above all a city of short distances. Research institutions and technology parks are found in all parts of the city. Decisive is however, how well these connections bear up and how successful young organizations are in finding contacts and establishing networks fast, which leads a business idea towards success.

Brand management
Who ever manages to establish a location as a living brand, will find and bind tenants, who for their part simultaneously strengthen the attractiveness of the location. In the first place, technology centres offer young organizations an assurance for business success in an innovation-driven environment.

 


BG380-3

Growth and change
Young and successful organizations grow or they found subsidiaries. The ability to constantly create new spaces for occupants who are continuously changing is an entrepreneurial challenge for private technology and foundation centres.

International competition and cooperation
Dresden is the growth motor for the region. And simultaneously essential is: The world economy is everywhere. Luckily, I think! Cosmopolitanism is therefore the right way to strengthen the attractiveness of the region. In­­spiration, however, mostly originates through contact with supposed strang­­ers in familiar surroundings.

It must be emphasized: These principles are no patent recipes, but rather elements for success for a knowled­­ge and technology-oriented business lo­cation. Places such as Gebäude­­Ensemble Deutsche Werk­­stätten Hellerau, which spontaneously reveal a secret without divulging everything, are not forgotten.

Eco­­nomics and science at best mu­­tually strengthen each other and other areas of society at the same time. That is the great strength which makes Dresden and Hellerau as a living and working location so attractive.

 

085_05_46_AThe author was born in 1953 and after completing his A-levels, studied engineering and management in Darmstadt. This was followed by a study stay at the Harvard Business School in Boston and the conferral of a doctorate in 1983. After Ger­­man reunification he worked as a management con­­sultant. Since 1998 he has been the managing director of the Grundbesitz Hellerau GmbH and has also been involved in numerous biotechnology organizations.

Dr. Wilhelm W. Zörgiebel: Tradition und Moderne – Tech­­nologiezentren im Innovationswettbewerb

Anziehungskraft schöpft Dresden heu­­te aus vielschichtigen Verk­nüpf­­un­­gen von Kultur, Industrie und Bildung. Wirt­­schaft und Wissenschaft der Stadt profitieren von lebendigen Traditionen, die weit in die Vergangenheit zurückreichen.

Hellerauer-Kreis-06_2008-109

Für die weitere Entwicklung ist entscheidend, kreative Potenziale – Men­­schen und Institutionen – so gut mit ei­­nander ins Gespräch zu bringen, dass dauerhaft Neues entsteht: Ideen, For­­schungsfragen, Wissen, Produkte und Kooperationen – Innovationen. Einen Widerhall findet dieses Neue dann nicht nur in der Welt der Wirtschaft und in Wettbewerbsvorteilen, sondern in For­­schung und Lehre, Kunst und Kultur, denn Innovationen erschöpfen sich nicht allein in Technologien und Markt­­er­­folg.

Eine wesentliche Rolle spielen dabei Technologie- und Gründerzentren als Orte, an denen Wissen und Kom­­mu­­ni­­kation einen produktiven Nährboden finden. Was zeichnet diese Orte aus? Welche besonderen Eigenschaften muss eine Immobilie – ein Gebäude oder ein Standort – bieten, um at­­traktiv zu sein für wissensintensive Un­­ter­­neh­­men und ihre Mitarbeiter? Wie können eine Immobilie und ihr Management für sie Mehrwert schaffen?
Vor einhundert Jahre wurde Hellerau am Rande Dresdens erbaut, gründend auf dem Gartenstadt-Gedanken, um Arbeit, Wohnen, Bildung und Na­­tur zu vereinen. Heute, mit dem Wach­­­­sen der Wissensgesellschaft, sie­deln dort Unternehmen der Hoch­­tech­­no­­lo­­­­gie. Am Beispiel des Gebäude­­En­­sem­­­­bles­­ Deutsche Werkstätten Hell­­erau wird deutlich: Vermietung, Gas­­tro­­no­­­mie und Veranstaltungs­­mana­­gement in einem technologieorientierten Um­­feld funktionieren nicht als Immo­­bilien­­ver­­wal­­tung im klassischen Sin­­ne. Warum? Erfolgreiche Ideen, Ge­­schäftsmodelle und Un­­ternehmen wachsen zuerst in den Köpfen von Menschen. Kraft gewinnen sie dann im Austausch mit anderen und ge­­dul­­­­dige Arbeit an „echten“ lebendigen Orten.


DPP_0015

Zwar liegen die Vorteile der Digi­­ta­­li­­sier­ung auf der Hand: Entfernungen schrumpfen. Menschen rücken zusammen. Geschäfte werden schneller. Kos­­ten sinken. Dienstreisen sind heute längst nicht das einzige Mittel, gemeinsam mit anderen an Projekten zu ar­­beiten und sich auf dem Laufenden zu halten. Aber ein guter Unter­­neh­­mens­­standort ist mehr ein dichtes Dach über einem kreativen Kopf, mit schneller Internetverbindung und Haus­­mei­­s­­ter­­service.
Ein unternehmerisch geführtes Tech­­no­­logiezentrum als Adresse für technologieorientierte Unternehmen und Exis­­tenzgründer muss deshalb auf Prin­­­­zipien aufbauen, die im Folgenden zusammengefasst sind.

Nachhaltig bauen
Ein Gebäude, das – für den Möbelbau vor 100 Jahren visionär geplant und er­­baut – noch heute zweckmäßige mo­­derne Arbeitsbedingungen für Labore, Büros und Gewerbe bietet, darf verdientermaßen als wert- und nachhaltig bezeichnet werden. Dies ist der An­­spruch an nachhaltige Architektur, in der Wissen und Kommunikation als Antriebskräfte wirken. Der Mensch mit seiner Handwerkskunst und Kreativität ist das Maß für die Gestaltung seiner Umgebung.

BG380-15

Vielfalt gewinnt
Vielfalt ist eine Ressource. Impulse für Neues entstehen dann, wenn sich Men­­schen und Themen begegnen, die bisher wenig miteinander zu tun hatten, zum Beispiel Forscher und Unterneh­­mer und Künstler. Zündende Ideen brau­­chen Konfrontation, um zu reifen. Und zu­­gleich verspricht ein guter Mietermix Schutz vor Konjunkturschwankungen.

Kommunikation und kurze Wege
Offene Kommunikation in alle Rich­­tun­­gen schafft Gelegenheiten für Ko­­oper­­a­­t­ionen. Technologie- und Gründer­­zen­­tren sind nur erfolgreich, wenn sie stetig dafür sorgen, dass ihre Mieter und de­­ren Partner nicht allein bleiben. Sie haben somit eine Plattformfunktion. Die Forschungs- und Unter­­neh­­mens­­land­­schaft in Dresden bietet dafür vielfältige Kontakte und Netzwerke. Ist die un­­mit­­telbare Nähe zur Technischen Uni­­versität Dresden und zu den For­­schungsinstituten deshalb für Gründer und wachsende Unternehmen ein un­­verzichtbarer Standortfaktor? Ich den­­ke nicht, denn Dresden ist vor allem eine Stadt der kurzen Wege. For­­schungs­­in­­stitute und Technologieparks finden sich in allen Teilen der Stadt. Entscheidend ist doch, wie gut diese Verbindungen tragen und wie es jungen Unternehmen gelingt, schnell Kontakte zu finden und Netzwerke zu knüpfen, die eine Ge­­schäfts­­idee zum Erfolg führen.

Markenpflege
Wem es gelingt, einen Ort als lebendige Marke zu etablieren, wird Mieter finden und binden, die ihrerseits zu­­gleich die Attraktivität des Standorts verstärken. Für junge Unternehmen bie­­ten Technologiezentren in erster Linie ein Versprechen auf Ge­­schäfts­­er­­folg in einem innovationsgetriebenen Umfeld.


BG380-3

Wachstum und Wandel
Junge und erfolgreiche Unternehmen wachsen oder sie gründen Tochter­­fir­­men. In der Fähigkeit, immer wieder neue Freiräume für Nutzer zu schaffen, die sich kontinuierlich verändern, liegt die unternehmerische Herausforderung für private Technologie- und Gründer­­zen­­tren.

Internationaler Wettbewerb und Kooperation
Dresden ist der Wachstumsmotor der Region. Und zugleich gilt: Die Welt­­­wirt­­schaft ist überall. Zum Glück, wie ich finde! Weltoffenheit ist deshalb der richtige Weg, die Anziehungskraft der Region zu verstärken. Inspiration entsteht doch zumeist im Kontakt mit vermeintlich Fremden im gewohnten Umfeld.

Betont werden muss: Diese Prinzipien sind kein Patentrezept, eher Elemente für den Erfolg eines wissens- und tech­­nologieorientierten Gewerbe­­stand­­­orts. Orte wie das GebäudeEnsemble Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau, die aus sich heraus ein Geheimnis verraten, ohne alles preiszugeben, geraten nicht in Vergessenheit. Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft verstärken sich im besten Fall gegenseitig und zugleich andere Bereiche der Gesellschaft. Das ist die große Stärke, die Dresden und Hellerau als Lebens- und Arbeitsort so attraktiv macht.

085_05_46_ADer Autor wurde 1953 geboren und hat nach dem Abitur in Darmstadt Wirt­schafts­in­­ge­­­nieur­­wesen studiert. Es folgten ein Stu­­dien­­­­­­aufenthalt an der Harvard Busi­ness School in Boston und 1983 die Pro­mo­­tion. Nach der Wieder­ver­eini­gung wirk­­te er als Unter­­neh­mens­berater. Seit 1998 ist er Ge­­­­schäfts­­führer der Grund­­­­­­­besitz Hell­er­­au GmbH und an ver­­schie­­denen Bio­­tech­­­­no­­­­­­­logie­­un­­ter­­neh­­men be­­teiligt.