Dr. Wilhelm Krull: Paving the way for the exceptional – Opening up opportunities for high-calibre scientists

Whether there is a rich or sparse supply of raw materials, there is no doubting the importance of knowledge as a resource for a country’s future viability. For this reason, Germany is also giving top priority to creating optimal conditions for those who generate and publicise this knowledge.

Universities and universities of applied sciences, independent research institutions and industry all carry out research in Germany. Applied research is predominantly financed by commercial enterprises, while fundamental research receives a large part of its funding from the state as well as from foundations in selected fields. The diversified German research landscape offers many job opportunities for scientists. Over the past few years, many new positions, especially those geared towards the next generation of scientists, have been created by the huge expansion in third-party funding and the Excellence Initi­­ative. However, many world-class researchers still move abroad – and not only to the USA. For instance, a look at the European Research Council’s latest statistics reveals the UK as the most popular European destination for re­­search. Since 2008, over 400 successful applicants have undertaken their Advanced Grant research project at a British research institution, while only just under 250 opted for a German institution and around 150 chose the small neighbouring country of Switzerland. In their 2014 annual report, the German Commission of Experts for Research and Innovation (EFI) criticises the constant stream of top-class German researchers moving abroad. The reasons behind the moves to foreign research insti­­tutions include greater scientific independence particularly at an earlier stage, more reliable career prospects and better financial support. Funders of science in Ger­many are addressing this issue. They have been offering targeted funding programmes for a number of years with the aim of keeping German scientists in Germany and enticing those who have gone to return, and with the intention of attracting top foreign researchers and particularly talented young professionals to move to the re­­search location of Germany from abroad. Some examples of this are the Emmy Noether, Heisenberg and Reinhart Koselleck programmes led by the German Research Foundation (DFG).

At 2.5 billion euros, the DFG’s annual budget is roughly equal to the capital of the biggest science funding foun­­dation in Germany: the Volkswagen Foundation. In the light of this ratio, the question of what impact these foun­­dations can have in the area of funding science seems justified. However, it does not come down to the size of the funding volume; it is the course of action that makes the difference. Their independence and flexibility allows them to act quickly and effectively. By funding carefully selected individuals and projects, they can create “islands of success” and in turn can indirectly exert a significant influence on science policy and decision-makers in the in­­dividual institutions. This is shown, for example, in the fund­ing programmes offered by the Volkswagen Foundation for high-calibre scientists. As early as the 1990s, the foun­­dation supported German university research groups, which at the time had very strict hierarchical structures, and for the first time young scientists were able to gain scientific independence and management responsibilities at an early stage. Following on from this initial sup­­port, the foundation established the Lichtenberg Profes­sorships in 2002 which still exist to this day. Again for the first time, these professorships paved the way for a tenure track option for distinguished scientists at a uni­­versity of their choice. In 2013, another option was intro­duced which entailed developing the Lichtenberg Profes­­sorship into a professorship endowed with its own capital. Furthermore, “Freigeist-Fellowships” have been added to the foundation’s funding programmes. These non-subject-specific fellowships are directed at promising research talents who have completed their doctoral studies. These high-achieving researchers move between established fields of research and are intent on conducting creative and often risky scientific activities. As this kind of re­­search is carried out over a long period of time, the fel­­lowships are awarded for a duration of five years and in­­clude the option of a three-year extension. The foundation provides outstanding researchers with long-term support, but also reacts quickly to new research developments. For example, the foundation has been lending support to German postdoctoral researchers who want to conduct pioneering research activities with free electron lasers since 2011. Thanks to a three-year funding period offered by the foundation, young researchers are able to carry out experiments with currently the most powerful x-ray laser in Stanford and subsequently apply the skills acquired there to the free electron laser which is set to be completed by 2015 at the DESY research in­­stitute in Hamburg.

Today’s knowledge-based society needs transformative research. This in turn requires outstanding talent, sound institutional framework conditions and adequate institutional funding, funding for outstanding researchers with promising projects, short-term provision of funding for implementing original ideas, long-term funding for innovative projects and, last but not least, for all those involved to have more courage to take on riskier projects. Responsibility, trust and reliability are key factors that should shape the relationship between organisations that fund and conduct research and the young generation of scientists. High-calibre scientists should be able to courageously open up the boundaries of transformative research and find the path not only to new insights but also to a successful scientific career. This is how we will continue to pave the way for the exceptional.

 

 

 

Upon completing his studies in German, philosophy, education and political science, the author worked as a lecturer at the University of Oxford, the German Council of Science and Humanities and the administrative headquarters of the Max Planck Society. Dr. Krull has been the Secretary General of the Volkswagen Foun­dation since 1996. Besides his activities in scientific policy and research funding, he also holds positions on many different committees in Germany and abroad.

Dr. Wilhelm Krull: Außergewöhnliches ermöglichen – Chancen eröffnen für exzellente Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler

Die Bedeutung der Ressource „Wissen“ für die Zukunftsfähigkeit eines Landes – ob arm oder reich an Rohstoffen – steht außer Zweifel. Optimale Rahmenbedingungen für diejenigen zu schaffen, die dieses Wissen generieren und publizieren, hat daher auch in Deutschland höchste Priorität.

Forschung findet hierzulande an Universitäten und Fachhochschulen, an außeruniversitären Forschungs­einrichtungen und in der Industrie statt. Die so genann­­te angewandte Forschung wird überwiegend von Wirt­schaftsunternehmen finanziert, die Grundlagen­forschung erhält ihre Mittel größtenteils vom Staat und auf ausgewählten Feldern auch von Stiftungen. Die breit gefächerte deutsche Forschungslandschaft bietet eine Viel­zahl an Arbeitsmöglichkeiten für Wissenschaftler(innen). Durch die enorme Ausweitung des Drittmittelmarkts und auch durch die Exzellenzinitiative wurden in den letzten Jahren viele neue Stellen insbesondere für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs geschaffen. Dennoch zieht es zahlreiche Spitzenforscherinnen und -forscher ins Ausland – und zwar keineswegs ausschließlich in die USA. Ein Blick auf die aktuelle Statistik des Euro­pean Research Council weist beispielsweise Großbri­tannien als beliebtestes europäisches Forschungsziel­land aus: Seit 2008 haben über 400 erfolgreiche An­­tragstel­ler(innen) ihr Advanced-Grant-Forschungsvor­haben an einer britischen Forschungseinrichtung ange­siedelt, nur knapp 250 wählten eine deutsche Einrich­tung, rund 150 zogen das kleine Nachbarland Schweiz vor. Auch das Jahres­gutachten 2014 der Expertenkommission For­schung und Innovation (EFI) kritisiert die fortdauernde Abwanderung von deutschen Spitzenforscher(inne)n ins Ausland. Als Gründe für den Wechsel an ausländische Forschungs­einrichtungen werden unter anderem die größere und vor allem auch frühere wissenschaftliche Selbststän­digkeit, die verlässlicheren Karriereperspektiven sowie die bessere finanzielle Ausstattung genannt. Die deutschen Wissenschaftsförderer reagieren auf diese Situ­ation: Um inländische Forscher(innen) in Deutschland zu halten oder nach Deutschland zurückzuholen und um ausländische Spitzenforscher(innen) sowie besonders talentierte Nachwuchskräfte aus dem Ausland für den Forschungsstandort Deutschland zu begeistern, bieten sie seit einigen Jahren gezielt Förderprogramme an. Genannt seien hier zum Beispeil das Emmy Noether-, das Heisenberg- und das Reinhart Koselleck-Programm der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

Der Jahresetat der DFG entspricht mit 2,5 Milliarden Euro in etwa dem Kapital der größten wissenschaftsfördernden Stiftung in Deutschland: der Volkswagen­Stiftung. Angesichts dieses Größenverhältnisses ist die Frage berechtigt, welche Wirkung Stiftungen auf dem Gebiet der Wissenschaftsförderung erzielen können. Es ist jedoch nicht die Größe ihres Fördervolumens, sondern ihre Vorgehensweise, die den Unterschied macht. Ihre Unabhängigkeit und ihre Flexibilität ermöglichen es ihnen, rasch und wirkungsvoll zu handeln. Durch ihre Förderung von sorgfältig ausgewählten Personen und Vorhaben können sie „Inseln des Gelingens“ schaffen und somit indirekt einen erheblichen Einfluss auf die Wissenschaftspolitik und die Entscheidungsträger in den einzelnen Institutionen ausüben. Dies zeigen zum Bei­spiel die Förderangebote der VolkswagenStiftung für ex­­zellente Wissenschaftler(innen). Bereits in den 1990er Jahren hat die Stiftung an den damals noch sehr hierar­chisch orientierten deutschen Universitäten Nach­wuchs­­­­gruppen gefördert und da­­mit jungen For­­scher(inne)n erstmals eine frühe wissenschaftliche Selbstständigkeit und Leitungsver­antwortung ermög­­licht. Anknüp­fend an diese Förde­rung hat die Stiftung 2002 die noch heute be­stehenden „Lichtenberg-Professu­­ren“ ins Leben ge­­rufen, die herausragenden Wissen­schaftler(inne)n – wiede­­rum erstmals – eine Tenure-Track-Option an einer selbst gewählten deutschen Uni­­versität eröffneten. 2013 wurde zudem die Option eingeführt, aus der Lichten­berg-Profes­sur eine echte, mit eigenem Kapital ausgestattete Stiftungs­­professur zu entwickeln. Außerdem ist das Förderange­bot der Stif­­tung um die „Freigeist-Fellowships“ erweitert worden. Diese fachoffenen Fellow­­ships richten sich an außergewöhnliche Forscherper­sönlichkeiten nach der Promo­tion, die sich zwischen etablierten Forschungs­feldern bewegen und besonders kreative, oftmals risiko­behaftete Wissenschaft betreiben möchten. Da solche Forschung einen längeren Zeitho­rizont erfordert, werden die Fellow­ships für fünf Jahre ver­­geben mit der Option einer bis zu dreijährigen Ver­längerung. Die Stiftung bietet somit eine langfristige Unterstützung exzellenter Forscher(innen) an, reagiert aber auch kurzfristig auf neue Entwicklun­gen in der Forschung. Seit 2011 fördert sie beispielsweise deutsche Postdoktorand(inn)en, die zukunftsweisende Forschung mit Freie-Elektronen-Lasern betreiben möch­­ten. Durch eine dreijährige Förderung er­­möglicht die Stiftung den jungen Forscher(inne)n, Expe­­rimente mit dem bis dato leistungsfähigsten Röntgenlaser in Stan­ford durchzuführen und ab 2015 die in Stanford erworbenen Kennt­nisse am dann fertiggestellten Freie-Elek­tronen-Laser im Hamburger Forschungszentrum DESY anzuwenden.

Die moderne Wissensgesellschaft braucht transformative Forschung. Diese wiederum benötigt herausragende Talente, gute institutionelle Rahmenbedingungen und eine ausreichende institutionelle Grundfinanzierung, Förderung von hervorragenden Forscherpersönlich­keiten mit vielversprechenden Projekten, kurzfristige Bereitstellung von Mitteln zur Realisierung origineller Ideen, langfristige Förderung innovativer Projekte und nicht zuletzt mehr Mut zu risikoreichen Vorhaben bei allen Beteiligten. Das Verhältnis zwischen fördernden und Forschung betreibenden Organisationen und dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sollte geprägt sein von Verantwortung, Vertrauen und Verlässlichkeit. Exzellente Wissenschaftler(innen) sollen sich beherzt aufmachen können in das Grenzland transformativer Forschung und dort nicht nur den Weg zu neuen Erkenntnissen, sondern auch zu einer erfolgreichen wissenschaftlichen Karriere finden. Auf diese Weise werden wir auch weiterhin Außergewöhnliches ermöglichen.

 

Nach dem Studium der Germanistik, Philosophie, Pädagogik und Politikwissen­schaft war der Autor als Lektor an der Universität Oxford, beim Wissenschaftsrat, sowie in der Generalverwaltung der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft tätig. Seit 1996 ist Dr. Krull Generalsekretär der VolkswagenStiftung. Neben Tätigkeiten in der Wissen­schaftspolitik und Forschungsförderung nimmt er zahlreiche Funktionen in ver­schiedenen Gremien des In- und Auslandes wahr.