Dr. Urs Karli: Top medical performance in a personal atmosphere

Despite our outstanding position as the largest hospital in the canton, we must move forward. For, who pauses today will be overtaken tomorrow. I stress this point at every opportunity. The cantonal hospital is the heart of the Aargau healthcare network. A staff of 3,300, all highly trained specialists in the various medical disciplines, nursing, technology and administration, are there round the clock to take care of half a million people.

Dessert_Hospitality

In view of the impending changes on the Swiss healthcare market, the hospital has developed a new strategy. Positioning plays the key role in it. On the market, the large university hospitals typically appear as providers of highly specialized medicine. However, the subjective well-being of the patients tends to get lost in such big and rather anonymous healthcare facilities. In contrast, the small regional hospitals can boast better patient satisfaction thanks to the familiar atmosphere imparted by their manageability. However, they cannot be expected to deliver complex medical treatments of high quality in a variety of medical specialities. Precisely therein lies the opportunity of the cantonal hospital of Aarau (KSA). It can claim both benefits: superior medical performance combined with personalized care. In association with partners, the KSA is to become a leading provider of system medicine in Switzerland. The vision is “Top medical care – personalized.” In addition, the quality of the medical services must always remain affordable.

Neuroradiologie

Specialization and interdisciplinarity
For 125 years, the KSA has been one of the leading healthcare centres in Switzerland.
Over the course of medical progress and the continuous introduction of new treatment methods, over 30 specialized treatment units have emerged. From advanced ophthalmology and surgical disciplines to internal medicine, a large spectrum of services supported by trendsetting medical technology is being offered. Many of the patients’ symptoms are multi-layered and complex. Likewise, they are increasingly no longer closely following the growing boundaries of medical specializations derived from scientific research. This requires an increased level of interdisciplinarity.

Innovative projects
Clear ethical, medical and social standards in the treatment of patients are also a given. In this field, the hospital distinguishes itself through groundbreaking initiatives. With the “Optima” project, the care division of the KSA is cooperating with the canton in setting up admission criteria for the urgent care hospital. Thanks to clearly defined criteria, risk-adapted decisions are to be made about the duration of hospitalization and the required treatment intensity. In order to shorten the waiting periods for elective surgery, operations on qualified patients will already be carried out on the day of admission as of 2010. With the new healthcare centre near the station, which will open in 2011, we will be in even faster and easier reach of our patients.

Telemedizin

State-of-the-art technology
In order to offer top medicine, one must also keep pace with medical technology. For state-of-the-art treatments, the KSA has managed to acquire important new equipment or to upgrade older devices with additional options.

In the field of nuclear medicine, for example, the positron emission tomograph (PET) has been replaced with a PET/CT system.

That combines the high spatial resolution and detailed anatomical imaging of a computer tomograph (CT scanner) with the highly sensitive metabolic information of the PET. Moreover, since the CT scan is much faster, the processing time is significantly reduced – by up to 40 per cent. On the one hand, this raises the quality of the diagnostics, and on the other hand, it improves the performance. With its new hybrid operating theatre, the KSA is able to further raise the quality of cerebrovascular surgery in the case of brain haemorrhage or stroke. With the help of imaging procedures, the new operating theatre makes it possible to view and evaluate the nervous system during surgical treatment of blood vessels

Rehabilitation

University-level patient-oriented research
The clinical research at the KSA is treatment- and patient-oriented. The internal medicine clinic has recently become a university clinic of the medical faculty of Basel. The research results lead to evidence-based actions following clear guidelines, a high service quality, and innovative treatment possibilities. One of the results of the pursuit of quality, innovation and patient safety, for example, is the application of PCT blood tests. By using the biomarker Procalcitonin (PCT) as an indicator, bacterial infections can be recognized early on and differentiated from the more frequent viral infections. In the case of respiratory infections, this allows for targeted antibiotic therapies and the reduction of antibiotic prescrip­tions by 75 per cent in mild cases and by 50 per cent in severe cases. (Reminder: antibiotics are ineffective against viruses.) The KSA is assuming a worldwide leading position in this field. The procedure already has many copycats. At the root of this success lies a motivated and well-trained staff. Without their relentless devotion to patients, top medicine in a personal atmosphere would be impossible.

Karli_09After obtaining a doctorate at the biocentre of the university of Basel in 1990, Dr. Urs Karli (born in 1960) assumed executive positions in various pharmaceutical companies for 17 years, and, since 2002, has been a member of the executive board of the Business Unit Hospital of GlaxoSmithKline AG (GSK). Since 2007, he has been CEO of KSA AG. He is deemed to be an expert on Swiss healthcare.

Dr. Urs Karli: Medizinische Topleistung in persönlichem Ambiente

Trotz unserer herausragenden Stellung als grösstes Spital im Kanton müssen wir uns weiter bewegen. Denn wer heute ste­­hen­­bleibt, wird morgen schon überholt, das betone ich bei jeder Gelegen­­heit. Das Kantonsspital ist das Herz­stück des aar­­gauischen Gesundheits­netzwerks. 3.300 Mitarbeitende, alles bestausgebildete Spezialisten in den Fach­­dis­­zi­­pli­­nen der Medizin, in Pflege, Technik und Verwaltung, sind rund um die Uhr für die Versorgung von über einer halben Million Einwohne­rinnen und Einwohner da.

Dessert_Hospitality

Im Hinblick auf die kommenden Verän­de­­rungen im Gesundheitsmarkt Schweiz hat das Spital eine neue Strategie er­­ar­­bei­­tet. Die Positionierung spielt dabei die ent­­scheidende Rolle. So treten die grossen Universitätsspitäler im Markt in der Re­­gel als Anbieter der hochspezialisierten Medizin auf. Das subjektive Wohlbefinden der Patientinnen und Pa­­tienten geht in diesen grossen und eher anonymen Ge­­sundheitseinrichtungen leicht unter. Die regionalen Kleinspitäler hingegen können bezüglich Patienten­zufriedenheit auf­trump­­fen, weil sie dank ihrer Überschaubarkeit familiäres Am­­biente vermitteln. Komplexe, qualitativ hochstehende, medizinische Behand­lun­­gen in verschiedensten medi­­zinischen Fachrichtungen können von ihnen je­­doch nicht erwartet werden. Und genau hier liegt die Chance des KSA. Es kann beide Vorteile für sich in Anspruch nehmen: überragende medizinische Leis­­tung ver­­­bunden mit persönlicher Betreu­­ung. Das KSA soll im Verbund mit Part­­nern ein führender Anbieter von System­me­di­zin in der Schweiz werden.
„Top Medizin, ganz persönlich“ lautet die Vision. Wo­­bei die Qualität der medizinischen Dienst­leis­­tun­­gen immer auch finanzierbar bleiben muss.

Neuroradiologie

Spezialisierung und Interdisziplinarität
Seit bald 125 Jahren ist das KSA eines der führenden Gesundheitszentren der Schweiz. Im Zuge des medizinischen Fort­­schritts und mit der Einführung stets neuer Behandlungsmethoden sind über 30 spezialisierte Behandlungseinheiten entstanden. Von der modernen Augen­heilkunde, den chirurgischen Disziplinen bis zur Inneren Medizin wird heute ein breites Spektrum von Leistungen, unter­­stützt von zukunftsweisender Medizin­technik angeboten. Viele Krankheits­bilder der Patientinnen und Patienten sind viel­­schichtig und komplex. Dement­sprechend verlaufen sie zunehmend nicht mehr exakt entlang der aufgrund der wissenschaftlichen Forschung in der Medizin ge­­wach­­senen Grenzen der Fachdisziplinen. Das erfordert mehr Interdisziplinarität.

Innovative Projekte
Für die Behandlung von Patientinnen und Patienten sind auch klare ethische, medi­­zinische und soziale Standards eine Selbst­­verständlichkeit. Hier zeichnet sich das Spital durch wegweisende Initiativen aus. Zusammen mit dem Kanton erarbei­­tet die Pflegeabteilung des KSA im Pro­­jekt „Optima“ Aufnahmekriterien ins Akut­spital. Aufgrund von klar definierten Kriterien sollen risikoadaptierte Ent­schei­­de ge­­trof­­fen werden zur Dauer einer Hospita­li­­sie­rung sowie über die benötigte Be­­treu­ungs­­intensität. Um die Warte­zeiten für Wahl­­eingriffe zu verkürzen, werden ab 2011 Operationen bei dafür geeigneten Patien­­ten bereits am Eintrittstag vorgenommen. Mit dem neuen Gesundheits­zen­trum am Bahnhof, das Ende 2011 er­­öffnet wird, werden wir für unsere Patien­­tinnen und Patienten noch schneller und komfortabler erreichbar sein.

Telemedizin

Technologie auf dem neusten Stand
Wer Top-Medizin anbieten will, muss auch in der Medizinaltechnik Schritt halten. Es ist dem KSA gelungen, für „state-of-the-art“-Behandlungen wichtige neue Geräte anzuschaffen oder alte Geräte um zu­­sätzliche Optionen zu erweitern.
So wird beispielsweise in der Nuklear­medizin der Positronen-Emissions-Tomo­­graph (PET) durch ein PET/CT-System ersetzt. Dieses kombiniert die hohe Orts­­auflösung und detailreiche Anatomie­dar­­stellung eines Computertomo­graphen mit den hochsensitiven Stoffwechsel­infor­mationen aus dem PET. Da zudem die Aufnahme des CT-Scans erheblich schneller erfolgt, ergibt sich daraus eine deutliche Ver­­kürzung der Aufnahme­dauer von bis zu 40 Prozent. Einerseits wird damit die Qualität der Diagnostik erhöht, anderer­seits die Leistungsfähigkeit ver­­bessert. Mit einem neuen Hybrid-Opera­­tionssaal kann das KSA die Qualität der zerebrovas­­kulären Eingriffe bei einer Hirn­blu­tung oder einem Hirninfarkt weiter steigern. Der neue OP ermöglicht, während der operativen Behandlung der Blut­­gefässe das Nervensystem mit Bildge­bungs­­ver­fahren darzustellen und zu beurteilen.

Rehabilitation

Patientennahe Forschung auf universitärem Niveau
Die klinische Forschung am KSA ist be­­handlungsorientiert und patientennah. Die Klinik für Innere Medizin ist neu eine universitäre Klinik der Medizinischen Fa­­kul­­tät Basel. Die Forschungsresultate erlauben evidenzbasiertes Handeln nach klaren Richtlinien, eine hohe Qualität der Leistungen und innovative Behand­lungs­­möglichkeiten. Ein Ergebnis dieser Be­­mühungen um Qualität, Innovation und Patientensicherheit ist beispielsweise der Einsatz des PCT-Bluttests. Mit Hilfe des Biomarkers Procalcitonin (PCT) als Indikator können bakterielle Infektionen frühzeitig erkannt und von den häufigeren viralen Infektionen abgegrenzt wer­­den. Bei Atemswegsinfektionen sind damit ge­­zielte Antibiotikatherapien möglich und es konnten die Antibiotika­ver­schrei­­bun­­gen bei milden Fällen um 75 Prozent ge­­senkt und bei schweren Fällen um 50 Prozent verkürzt werden. (Zur Erinnerung: Antibiotika sind gegen Viren wirkungslos.) Hier nimmt das KSA eine weltweite Führungsrolle ein. Das Verfahren hat be­­reits zahlreiche Nachahmer gefunden. Basis für den Erfolg bilden die motivier­­ten und gut ausgebildeten Mitarbeiten­den. Ohne ihren unermüdlichen Einsatz für die Patientinnen und Patienten ist Top Medizin in persönlichem Ambiente nicht möglich.

Karli_09Dr. Urs Karli (Jahrgang 1960) war nach der Promotion 1990 am Biozentrum der Universität Basel 17 Jahre in leiten­den Funktionen bei verschiedenen Pharma­­unternehmen tätig, seit 2002 als Mit­­glied der Geschäftsleitung für die Busi­­ness Unit Hospital der GlaxoSmithKline AG (GSK). Seit 2007 ist er CEO der Kantonsspital Aarau AG. Er gilt als ein profunder Kenner des Schweizer Gesund­­heitswesens.