Dr. Thomas Schäfer – Financial centre Frankfurt – Centre of the Ger­man financial sector is worldwide present

Frankfurt am Main – the city with a sil­­houette seen nowhere else in Germany and which, in the eyes of many, highlights Frankfurt’s importance as a centre for the European and German financial sectors. This skyline is home to the second largest financial centre in the EU, after London. Almost 73,000 people work for approximately 220 banks; three-quarters of these banks are subsidiaries or branches of foreign institutions. In addition, the German Bundes­­bank and the European Central Bank make decisions affecting 300 million people. Frankfurt is also the site of Germany’s largest stock exchange with a trading volume of 2.1 trillion euros.

Alongside the banks, Frankfurt as a fi­­nancial centre is characterised by insur­­ance companies and asset managers. Next to the banks, insurance companies active in the financial centre are sometimes unjustly overlooked. Around 100 insurance companies with approximate­­ly 20,000 employees are located in the financial centre. This is in addition to the approximately 50 internationally ac­­tive investment companies.

Portraitfoto_SchaeferBorn in 1966, the author studied law at Philipps University in Marburg and completed his doctorate in law in 1999. From 2005 to 2009, he was secretary of state in Hessen’s Ministry of Justice and from 2009 to 2010 secretary of state in Hessen’s Ministry of Finance. Dr. Thomas Schäfer has been Hessen’s finance minister since August 2010..

 

The financial centre Frankfurt can be summarised as follows in an international comparison:

• Frankfurt is not solely a financial centre without ties to the real economy. On the contrary, Frankfurt is an integral part of the largest economy in the EU. This gives it access to a huge customer market consisting of medium-sized companies, major corporations and private customers. In light of the focus on this customer market, the financial centre sees itself primarily as a service provider for the real economy.

• Frankfurt is not a financial centre that specialises in a certain segment of the financial industry. Other financial cen­­tres – as documented by the Global Financial Centres Index (GFCI) – see their strength as being specialists. In contrast, Frankfurt represents the full spectrum of the financial industry.

The financial centre also enjoys an excel­­lent regulatory environment. Frankfurt is sometimes referred to as the “City of the Euro”, and this is done with a cer­­tain degree of pride as the home to the Euro­­pean Central Bank (ECB). Frank­­furt covers a comprehensive fiscal, stabil­­­ity and regulatory spectrum with the ECB ; the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB); the German Bundesbank; the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA); the Federal Financial Super­­visory Au­­thor­­ity (BaFin); and the Financial Market Stabilisation Agency (FMSA). All this en­­sures that Frankfurt enjoys an excellent reputation around the world. In the Global Financial Cen­­tres Index 11 of March 2012, Frankfurt maintained its fifth place worldwide in the “Government and Regulatory” category.

However, Frankfurt’s attractive and suc­­­cessful position is constantly facing new challenges. The current regulatory changes are already affecting actors in the financial centre. A wave of proposed regulations to help overcome the financial crisis is making its way towards the financial centre and will have to be imple­­­mented. While insurance companies are concentrating on implementing Solvency II and managers of investment funds on the directives for managers of alternative investment funds (AIFM Directive for short), banks – always with an eye on the negotiations in Brussels – are working on im­­plementing Basel III. This is in addition to the many regulations covering derivatives and investment consulting, for ex­­ample. At a national level, the Re­­struc­­tur­­ing Act and bank levy are also important.

 

The financial centre Frankfurt is of outstanding strategic importance for the government of the state of Hessen. In order to form an international profile, the state government of Hessen is focusing its efforts on further developing and strengthening the competitive position of the financial centre Frankfurt. One important way to proceed at a national level is to make use of the opportunities for influence offered by proceedings in the Bundesrat. On Hessen’s initiative, the Bundesrat has taken a stance on nu­­mer­­ous financial market regulatory policies and worked towards tangible solutions. The objective was and still is to strengthen and expand the financial centre.

The key positions of the Hessen state government include the demand for a level playing field, that is for uniform regulatory conditions internationally – or at least at an EU level. This includes the clear objective that there can be no uncoordinated national initiatives.

Uni­­form regulations are absolutely essen­­tial in a domestic EU market and also work to counteract the disadvantages Frankfurt faces in international compe­­tition. With uniform regulations forming the foundation, the financial centre Frank­­­­furt can also benefit from its strong real economic environment. Current examples of the demand for a level playing field include the statement on the CRD IV implementation package and the amend­­ment to the Insurance Super­­vision Law for implementing Solvency II.

Hessen’s state government believes that, as a competence centre for regulation, financial stability and supervision, Frank­­furt will continue to gain importance as a result of the increasing international significance of these areas.

The relocation of the ESRB and EIOPA as part of the new European financial mar­­ket supervision in Frankfurt has already resulted in a significant gain in reputation. The functional capabilities of these new supervisory bodies are to be re­­viewed by the EU Commission over the coming years. This will involve considering whether the division of the three sector-specific European supervisory bodies is appropriate in practice or whether, as already demanded by the European Par­­liament, they should be brought together in Frankfurt. The Hessen state government will continue to support this process in the interest of the financial centre.

In addition, the state government will also advocate that Frankfurt as a regulatory centre should also play a significant role in the new fields of regulation and supervision. The potential dangers of parallel banking – also referred to as shadow banking – for financial stability make it essential to combine the EU­­­­­­wide recording and supervision of this financial sector in one location. On the initiative of the state government and as part of the current plans for the regulation of parallel banking in the EU, the Bundesrat has expressed itself in favour of entrusting the ESRB with this task.

The extensive inclusion and participation of scientific institutions is another im­­por­­­­t­­ant building block in the success­­ful finan­­cial market policy of the Hessen state government. The International Center for Insurance Regulation at the House of Finance in Frankfurt, for example, began its work in October 2010. The state gov­­ernment is currently supporting the estab­­lishment of the Sus­­tain­­able Architecture for Finance in Europe (SAFE) research cen­­tre at the House of Finance. One of the main objectives of SAFE is to provide independent consultation on upcoming financial market topics for politicians.

As a joint initiative between the state gov­­ernment, the City of Frankfurt, the finan­­cial industry and science, Frank­­furt Main Finance campaigns for Frankfurt to be actively supported in international com­­petition. Frankfurt is promoting itself in the areas of regulation, financial stabil­­­ity and supervision with attractive events, expert­­ise and open platforms for discussion. This has already enabled the city to play the role of moderator in many international debates.

The Hessen state government will continue to actively support the interests of the financial centre Frankfurt and its national and international actors in the proposed regulatory projects and issues related to financial sta­­­bility. In addition, the state government will continue to advo­­cate that Frankfurt and the international financial community continue to enjoy out­standing real economic and regulatory conditions and to gain significance as a financial centre.

Dr. Thomas Schäfer – Finanzplatz Frankfurt – Zentrum der deutschen Finanzwirtschaft mit weltweiter Ausstrahlung

Frankfurt am Main – das ist die Stadt mit einer in Deutschland einzigartigen Silhouette, die für viele Menschen die Bedeutung Frankfurts als Zentrum der europäischen und deutschen Finanz­­wirt­­schaft sichtbar werden lässt. Hin­­ter die­­sem äußeren Erscheinungsbild Frank­­furts verbirgt sich der – nach London – zweitgrößte Finanzstandort in der EU. In Frankfurt sind rund 73.000 Men­­schen bei rund 220 Kreditinstituten tä­­­­tig, drei Viertel der Kreditinstitute sind dabei Töch­­­­ter oder Repräsentanzen aus­­län­­di­­scher Institute. Zudem werden bei der Deut­­schen Bundesbank und der Euro­­pä­­ischen Zentralbank Entschei­dungen für 300 Milli­­onen Menschen getroffen. Darüber hinaus ist Frankfurt der Stand­ort der größten Börse Deutsch­­lands mit einem Handelsvolumen von 2,1 Billi­­onen Euro.

Neben Banken prägen den Finanzplatz Frankfurt aber auch Versicherungen so­­­­­­­­wie Asset Manager. Neben den Banken gerät die Assekuranz am Finanzplatz zu Unrecht gelegentlich ein wenig in Ver­­ges­­senheit: Am Finanzplatz sind rund 100 Versicherungsunternehmen mit et­­wa 20.000 Mitarbeitern ansässig. Hinzu kom­­­men etwa 50 international tätige In­­vest­­ment- und Kapital­anlage­gesell­schaften.

Portraitfoto_SchaeferDer 1966 geborene Autor hat Rechts­­wissen­­schaften an der Philipps-Universität Mar­­burg studiert und wurde 1999 zum Doktor der Rechte promoviert. Er war von 2005 bis 2009 Staatssekretär im Hessischen Ministerium der Justiz sowie von 2009 bis 2010 Staatssekretär im Hessischen Minis­­terium der Finanzen. Seit August 2010 ist Dr. Thomas Schäfer Hessischer Minister der Finanzen.

Im internationalen Vergleich der Finanz­­standorte lässt sich der Finanzplatz Frank­­furt wie folgt umreißen:

• Frankfurt ist kein reines Finanzzentrum ohne realwirtschaftlichen Bezug. Der Fi­­­­­­­­nanzplatz ist vielmehr eingebettet in die größte Volkswirtschaft in der EU. Er ver­­­­fügt damit über den Zugang zu einem riesigen Kundenmarkt aus Mittel­ständ­­­­lern, Großunternehmen und Privat­­kun­den. Mit dem Fokus auf diesen Kunden­­markt ist auch das Selbstverständnis des Fi­­nanz­­­­platzes verbunden, in erster Linie Dienst­­leister für die Realwirtschaft zu sein.

• Frankfurt ist kein Finanzzentrum, das sich auf ein spezielles Segment der Fi­­nanz­­industrie spezialisiert hat. An­­dere Finanz­­zentren – das zeigt auch der „Glo­­bal Financial Centres Index“ (GFCI) – sehen ihre Stärke als Spezialisten. Frank­­­­furt steht demgegenüber für die ge­­samte Band­breite der Finanz­indus­trie.

Daneben verfügt der Finanzplatz Frank­­furt über ein hervorragendes regulatorisches Umfeld. Wenn gelegentlich auf Frankfurt als die „Stadt des Euro“ verwiesen wird, dann geschieht dies nicht ohne Stolz, Sitz der Europäischen Zen­­tralbank (EZB) zu sein. Mit der EZB, dem Europäischen Ausschuss für System­­ri­­siken (ESRB), der Bundesbank, der euro­­päischen Versicherungs­aufsichts­behörde EIOPA, der BaFin sowie der Finanz­markt­­stabilisierungsanstalt FMSA hat Frank­­furt im Grunde eine umfassende geld- und stabilitätspolitische sowie regulatorische

Die attraktive und erfolgreiche Posi­­tio­nierung Frankfurts steht aber vor immer neuen Herausforderungen: Die aktuellen regulatorischen Veränderungen erreichen die Akteure am Finanzplatz bereits heute. Im Rahmen der Krisenbewältigung rollt auf sie eine ganze Welle von Regu­­lie­­rungsvorhaben zu, die sie erst einmal umsetzen müssen. Während Versicherer sich auf die Umsetzung von Solvency II und Manager von Investmentfonds auf die Richtlinie für Manager alternativer In­­vestmentfonds (kurz: AIFM-Richtlinie) ein­­stellen, arbeiten die Banken – immer mit Blick auf die Verhandlungen in Brüssel – an der Umsetzung von Basel III. Hinzu kommen zahlreiche Regulierungen bei­­spielsweise zu Derivaten und zur Anlage­­beratung. Auf nationaler Ebene sind zu­­dem das Restrukturierungsgesetz und die Bankenabgabe zu nennen.

 

Für die Hessische Landesregierung hat der Finanzplatz Frankfurt eine herausra­­gende strategische Bedeutung. Im Sinne einer Profilbildung setzt sich die Hessi­­sche Landesregierung gezielt für die wei­­te­­re Entwicklung und Stärkung der Wett­­bewerbsposition des Finanzplatzes Frank­­furt ein. Eine wichtige Vor­gehens­weise auf nationaler Ebene sind dabei die im Bundesratsverfahren bestehenden Ein­­­wir­­kungsmöglichkeiten. So hat der Bundes­­rat auf hessische Initiative hin zu zahlreichen finanzmarktpolitischen Re­­gu­­lie­­rungsvorhaben Positionen bezogen und auf handhabbare Lösungen hingewirkt. Ziel war und ist es stets, die Fes­­tigung sowie den Ausbau des Finanz­­platzes vor­­anzubringen.

Zu den zentralen Positionen der Hessi­­schen Landesregierung zählt dabei die Forderung nach einem „Level Playing Field“, also nach international – jedenfalls aber auf EU-Ebene – einheitlichen regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen. Da­­bei ist das klare Ziel, es darf keine na­­tio­­­nalen Alleingänge geben. Eine einheitliche Regulierung ist in einem EU-Binnenmarkt unverzichtbar und wirkt auch international Wettbewerbsnachteilen Frankfurts entgegen. Auf der Grundlage einer einheit­­lichen Regulierung kann der Finanzplatz Frankfurt zudem mit seinem starken real­­wirtschaftlichen Umfeld punkten. Aktu­­elle Beispiele für die Forderung nach einem Level Playing Field sind die Stellung­­nahme zum CRD IV-Umsetzungspaket sowie zur Novelle des Versicherungs­aufsichts­ge­se­­tzes zur Umsetzung von Solvency II.

 

Als Kompetenzzentrum für Regulierung, Finanzstabilität und Aufsicht wird Frank­­furt nach Einschätzung der Hessi­­schen Landesregierung durch die inter­­national zunehmende Bedeutung dieser Bereiche weiterhin an Gewicht gewinnen.

 

Die Ansiedelung der ESRB und EIOPA als Teile der neuen europäischen Finanz­­marktaufsicht in Frankfurt hat bereits einen deutlichen Reputationsgewinn be­­wirkt. Die Funktionsfähigkeit dieser neuen Aufsicht soll von der EU-Kommission in den nächsten Jahren überprüft werden. Dabei wird es auch darum gehen, ob die Aufteilung der drei sektorspezifischen europäischen Aufsichtsbehörden in der Praxis sachgerecht ist oder ob – wie vom Europäischen Parlament bereits gefordert – eine Bündelung in Frankfurt erfor­­derlich ist. Die Hessische Landes­re­gie­­rung wird diesen Prozess im Interesse des Finanzplatzes weiter begleiten.

Daneben setzt sich die Landesregierung dafür ein, dass das Regulierungs­zen­trum Frankfurt auch bei neuen Feldern der Re­­gu­­lierung und Aufsicht in den Vorder­­grund gerückt wird. Aufgrund der möglichen Gefahren des Parallel Banking – vielfach auch als Schattenbankenwesen bezeichnet – für die Finanzstabilität ist die Bün­­delung der EU-weiten Erfassung und Über­­wachung dieser Finanzbranche an einer Stelle in der EU unumgänglich. Auf Initia­­tive der Landesregierung hat sich der Bun­­desrat im Rahmen der aktuellen Pläne um eine Regulierung des Parallel Banking in der EU dafür ausgesprochen, den ESRB damit zu betrauen.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Baustein der er­­folg­­reichen Finanzmarktpolitik der Hessi­schen Landesregierung ist die intensive Einbe­­zie­­hung und Mitwirkung wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen. So hat beispielsweise im Oktober 2010 das International Center for Insurance Regulation beim House of Finance in Frankfurt seine Arbeit auf­­ge­­nommen. Aktuell unterstützt die Lan­­des­­regierung zudem die Einrichtung des For­­schungszentrums „Sustainable­­ Archi­tec­­­­ture ­­for Finance in Europe“ (SAFE) am House of Finance. Eines der wesentlichen Ziele des SAFE ist eine unabhängige Be­­ratung der Politik bei anstehenden Finanz­­marktthemen.

Als gemeinsame Initiative der Landes­­regie­­rung, der Stadt Frankfurt, der Finanz­­indus­­trie und der Wissenschaft setzt sich schließ­­lich Frankfurt Main Finance dafür ein, dass Frankfurt im internationalen Wettbewerb aktiv unterstützt wird. Mit attraktiven Ver­­anstaltungen präsentiert sich Frankfurt im Bereich Regulierung, Finanzstabilität und Aufsicht mit Exper­­tise und offenen Dis­­kus­­sions­platt­formen. Auf diese Weise konnte man in internatio­­nalen Debatten bereits häufig eine Mode­ra­toren­­rolle einnehmen.

Die Hessische Landesregierung wird die zukünftig anstehenden Regulierungs­vor­­­gaben sowie Fragen der Finanzstabilität auch weiterhin im Interesse des Finanz­­platzes Frankfurt und der dort ansässigen Akteure aus dem In- und Ausland aktiv be­­gleiten. Auch darüber hinaus wird sie sich dafür einsetzen, dass der Finanz­­platz Frank­­furt und die internationale financial­­­ com­­mun­­ity auch weiterhin über hervor­ragende realwirtschaftliche und regula­torische Rah­­menbedingungen verfügen und dass Frankfurtinsgesamt als Finanz­­standort an Attrak­tivität gewinnt.