Dr. Thomas Schäfer: The province as the capital

Darmstadt: one of the “capitals” of the music of our time? Darmstadt: able to compete with new-music metropolises like Cologne, Paris, New York, and Berlin? Darmstadt: synonymous with state-of-the-art contemporary composition and interpretation of as well as reflection about current music? Questions that can only be answered with a definite “Yes”.

10_07_28_imd_at_1536

Whoever wants to talk about new music after 1945 cannot get around Darmstadt. In Darmstadt, the reconstruction of the cultural life after 1945 is very closely linked to one name: Wolfgang Steinecke (1910–1961). It was he who founded both the Darmstadt International Summer Courses for New Music in 1946 and the International Music Institute Darmstadt (IMD) in 1948.

The initial idea was, along the lines of a summer academy, to intensively exchange ideas about the practice and theory of current music, to make up for what had been missed, oppressed and suppressed, and to tie back into the tradition of modernity.

Nowadays, the International Summer Courses for New Music, which were hosted for the 45th time in 2010, are an international forum and festival for young composers, interpreters and theorists. The interest in and desire for participation in and continuation of the myth of the Darmstadt summer courses are consistent: upwards of 500 candidates from nearly 50 countries wanted to participate in the summer courses of 2010.


10_07_17_imd_ah_0439

The artistic responsibility and organization of the biannual event is assumed by the International Music Institute Darmstadt.

The IMD acts as a network partner on various national and international platforms, is a member of several as­­sociations committed to conveying and propagating new music, defines itself as a driving force for research projects, possesses an extensive – publicly accessible – library, and last but not least, archives the history of the international summer courses from their inception. Sixty years of national and international music history in sound, writing, and image are found here. Here too: whoever wants to get a detailed overview of music of our times cannot get around Darmstadt.

autorDr. Thomas Schäfer was born in Hamburg in 1967. He studied musico­­l­ogy, modern German literature and philosophy at the University of Hamburg. In 1997, he habilitated at the Humboldt University of Berlin. From 1998 to 1999, the author held a postdoctoral position in the “aesthetic education” post-graduate programme at the University of Hamburg and was also editor for new music at Norddeutscher Rund­­­funk (North German broadcasting corporation) in Hamburg. From 2000 to 2007, he was dramatic adviser for contemporary music at the Vienna concert house. In 2008, he was programme curator for the Vienna Modern Festival. Since 2009, Thomas Schäfer has been director of the International Music Institute Darmstadt (IMD) and art director of the Darmstadt International Summer Courses for New Music.

Dr. Thomas Schäfer: Die Provinz als Kapitale

Darmstadt: eine der „Hauptstädte“ für die Musik unserer Zeit? Darmstadt: konkurrenzfähig mit Neue-Musik-Metropolen wie Köln, Paris, New York oder Berlin? Darmstadt: ein Synonym für den State of the Art heutigen Komponierens, Interpretierens und Nachdenkens über aktuelle Musik? Fragen, die mit einem deutlichen „Ja“ beantwortet werden müssen.

10_07_28_imd_at_1536

Wer über die Neue Musik nach 1945 spricht, kommt an Darmstadt nicht vorbei. Für Darmstadt ist mit dem Wiederaufbau des kulturellen Lebens nach 1945 ein Name aufs Engste verbunden: Wolfgang Steinecke (1910–1961). Er war es auch, der sowohl die Internationalen Ferien­kurse für Neue Musik Darmstadt 1946 als auch das Internationale Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD) im Jahr 1948 gründete.

Am Anfang stand die Idee, sich nach dem Vorbild einer Sommerakademie intensiv über die Musik der Zeit in Praxis und Theorie auszutauschen, Versäumtes, Verstoßenes und Verdrängtes nachzuholen und wieder an die Tradition der Moderne anzuknüpfen.
Heute sind die Ferienkurse für Neue Musik Darmstadt, die 2010 zum 45. Mal ausgerichtet wurden, ein internationales Forum und Festival für junge Komponisten, Interpreten und Theoretiker. Interesse und Bedürfnis, am Mythos Darmstädter Ferienkurse teilzuhaben und ihn fortzuschreiben, sind ungebrochen: Mehr als 500 Interessenten aus knapp 50 Ländern wollten die Ferienkurse 2010 besuchen.


10_07_17_imd_ah_0439

Künstlerisch verantwortet und organisiert wird die biennal ausgerichtete Veranstaltung vom Internationalen Musik­institut Darmstadt.

Das IMD agiert als Netzwerkpartner sowohl national wie international auf unterschiedlichen Podien, ist Mitglied mehrerer Assoziationen, die sich um die Vermittlung und Verbreitung der Neuen Musik bemühen, versteht sich als Impulsgeber für Forschungsprojekte, verfügt über eine umfangreiche – zudem öffentlich zugängliche – Bibliothek und archiviert nicht zuletzt die Geschichte der Internationalen Ferienkurse seit ihren Anfängen. Hier finden sich 60 Jahre nationale und inter­nationale Musikgeschichte in Ton, Text und Bild. Und auch hier gilt: Wer über die Musik unserer Zeit einen detaillierten Überblick gewinnen möchte, kommt an Darmstadt nicht vorbei.

autorDr. Thomas Schäfer wurde 1967 in Hamburg geboren. Er studierte Musikwissenschaften, Neuere deutsche Literatur und Philosophie an der Universität Hamburg. 1997 promovierte er an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Von 1998 bis 1999 war er Postdoktorand am Graduierten-Kolleg „Ästhetische Bildung“ der Universität Hamburg; zugleich war der Autor Redakteur für Neue Musik beim Norddeutschen Rundfunk Hamburg. Von 2000 bis 2007 war Thomas Schäfer Dramaturg für die Musik der Gegenwart am Wiener Konzerthaus. 2008 war er Programmkurator für das Festival Wien Modern. Seit 2009 ist Thomas Schäfer Direktor des Internationalen Musikinstituts Darmstadt (IMD) und Künstlerischer Leiter der Internationalen Ferienkurse für Neue Musik Darmstadt.