Dr. Theodor Weimer: Munich as a financial centre: status quo and future prospects

In Munich it is more readily apparent than anywhere else in the Federal Re­­public: The success of the Bavarian economy – as in all of Germany – is based on coexisten­­ce and cooperation be­­tween a strong, in­­no­­vative industrial sector and highly specialized service pro­­­­viders. While other Ger­­man cities and re­­gions are dominated by only one or two “key industries”, Munich’s eco­­no­­mic strength rests on a number of very different pillars. The state capital of Ba­­varia is an industrial and at the same time a service metropolis, with the fi­­nancial sector being one of the central ser­­­­vi­­ces trades in the city. Both the manufacturing industry and the financial sec­­tor in Munich boast world-re­­nowned companies. The financial centre of Mu­­nich is one of the cornerstones of the Ba­­va­­rian economy.
The Greater Munich Area is one of the major financial centres in Europe. It is characterized by a high degree of di­­ver­­si­­fi­­cation. For instance, Munich and the sur­­­­rounding region are Germany’s number one market for insurance companies, num­­ber two banking centre and leading pri­­vate equity, venture capital and leasing market. In addition, the city is an im­­por­­tant asset management centre. The Ba­­va­­ri­­an Stock Ex­­change has successfully po­­sitioned it­­self as a powerful partner for busines­­ses and places Munich among the most in­­no­­vative stock exchanges in Europe.

arabella

A total of approximately 170 banking in­­­­stitutions have a presence in Munich, about 50 of them are headquartered here. These include HypoVereinsbank, the third largest bank in Germany, which belongs to one of the most important European banking groups, the UniCredit Group. Fol­­low­­ing the merger of HypoVereinsbank and UniCredit four years ago, the financial centre of Munich became home to a strong Eu­­ropean player, who concentrated a significant part of its business operatio­­ns and competencies – such as in­­vestment banking – in Munich.
However, it is not only banks that determine the character of the financial centre of Munich, it is to a significant degree characterized by insurance companies. Even at a global level, Munich is a leading centre for insurance services. About 70 insurance companies employing about 32,000 people are based in the state ca­­pital.
Especially in view of the financial market crisis and its implications, the existence of more than one pillar is an invaluable ad­­vantage for the financial cen­­tre and adds to the stability of Munich’s financial system. Because in Munich, as everywhere else in the world, banks were most severely hit by the fi­­nan­­cial market crisis.
In fact, this crisis will have a lasting impact on the general conditions under which banks and the whole financial industry operate. Due to their close links with the banking system, the other sectors of the economy will also be noticeably affected by these changes. Major developments are beginning to appear, which the financial centre of Munich will have to face.

For instance, stricter regulations will be imposed on the financial industry. This is the consequence of one of the central findings obtained during the crisis: the partial failure of the self-regulatory system in the financial markets. Initiated by the G20 countries, a new financial market architecture is underway: new struc­­tures in banking supervision, higher trans­­parency and reporting requirements and particularly stricter equity capital re­­quirements will change the financial system in the long term and will no doubt limit the freedom and scope of action of the financial industry.

portal-hvb

These changes are one of the reasons why we are currently experiencing a new type of tension: on the one hand, policy makers, but also clients, urge banks to fully maintain their loan commitment in times of cri­­sis. On the other hand, the new re­­gu­­la­­ti­­ons and higher equity capital re­­quire­­ments massively restrict the banks’ ability to extend loans. At the same time, due to the partly hamstrung capital markets, risk transfer through securitization con­­tinues to be limited, even though signi­­fi­­cant improvements have been observed over the past few months.
The financial centre of Munich is re­­quired to take action to stem this trend. To tackle these issues, “Mittelstandspakt Bayern”, a Bavarian government initiative for me­­dium-­­sized companies, was set up in the summer of 2009. It is a pact where po­­l­­icy, business associations and the bank­­ing sector closely collaborate to create a fa­­vourable environment for medium-sized businesses to operate successfully and se­­cure their jobs. In concrete terms, this means: taking coordinated action to strength­­en the essence of firms, opening up new perspectives for future-oriented business activities, and addressing the necessary structural change early on. In addition, in a joint effort with the par­­ticipation of Hypo­­Vereins­­bank, gui­­de­­lines were developed and implemented to make sure that sufficient loans are made available to Bavarian businesses.
These initiatives, too, are part of the set of actions which helps to win back the trust in the integrity of the financial sector, because the loss of confidence in the banking system, which hits the financial centre of Munich just as much as all fi­­na­­n­­­­cial centre­­s, is one of the most serious con­­sequence­s of the crisis. To be successful in the long term, the relationship of trust with clients and society at large must be restored completely. The stakeholders in the financial centre of Munich are already busy working on crea­­t­­ing the appropriate conditions. Business concepts are adjusted to meet sustainability principles, and many companies have radically changed their culture to­­wards long-term goals. The experience gained and lessons learned during the crisis are also reflected in new corporate rules.
This will make it possible to restore the partly damaged relationships with clients. Sustainability and a long-term orientation towards the future are the key words that are currently given priority in the financial centre of Munich and the joint con­­cern of all people involved. The financial centre has accepted the challenge. It will continue to be an innovative and efficient fi­­nancial centre, which offers convincing financing solutions for local companies.

Theodor-Weimer-grThe author has been working for Uni­­Credit Group since 2007, in 2009 he be­­came Spokesman of the Management Board of HypoVereinsbank and, in his function as Country Chairman Germany, a member of the Management Commit­tee of UniCredit Group. After studying in Tübingen and St. Gallen and receiving a doctorate from the University of Bonn, he worked for McKinsey, Bain & Com­pany and Goldman Sachs.

Dr. Theodor Weimer: Finanzplatz München – Status Quo und Zukunftsaussichten

In München wird augenfällig wie sonst nirgendwo in der Republik: Der Erfolg der bayerischen – wie auch der gesamtdeutschen – Wirtschaft basiert auf ei­­nem Nebeneinander und Miteinander ei­­­ner starken, innovativen Industrie und hoch spezialisierten Dienstleistungs­­un­­ternehmen. Während andere deutsche Städte und Regionen nur über eine oder zwei „Leitbranchen“ verfügen, stützt sich Münchens Wirtschaftskraft auf mehrere, sehr unterschiedliche Standbeine. Die bayerische Landeshauptstadt ist In­­dus­­­trie- und Dienstleistungsmetro­po­­le zu­­gleich, wobei die Finanzwirtschaft ei­­ner der zentralen Dienstleistungs­sek­­to­­ren der Stadt ist. Sowohl das produzie­ren­de Gewerbe als auch die Finanz­wirt­­schaft verfügen in München über Unterneh­men mit Weltgeltung. Der Finanzplatz München ist eine der tragenden Säulen der bayerischen Wirtschaft.
Der Großraum München zählt dabei zu den bedeutendsten Finanzplätzen Eu­­ro­pas. Er zeichnet sich durch einen hohen Grad an Diversifikation aus. So ist Mün­­chen und sein Umland der deutsche Ver­­sicherungsplatz Nummer eins, Banken­platz Nummer zwei sowie die führende deutsche Stadt für Private Equity, Ven­ture Capital und Leasing. Zudem ist die Stadt ein bedeutender Standort für das Asset Management. Die Bayerische Bör­­se hat sich erfolgreich als schlagkräftiger Partner der Wirtschaft aufgestellt und macht München zu einem der in­­no­­vativsten Börsenplätze in Europa.

arabella

Insgesamt sind rund 170 Kreditinstitu­­te in München vertreten, davon haben rund 50 ihren Sitz in der Stadt. Zu die­­sen zählt mit der HypoVereinsbank auch die drittgrößte Bank Deutschlands, die zu einer der bedeutendsten europäischen Bankengruppen, der UniCredit Group, gehört. Durch den Zusammenschluss von HypoVereinsbank und UniCredit hat der Finanzplatz vor vier Jahren einen starken europäischen Player gewonnen der ei­­nen bedeutenden Teil seiner Geschäfts­felder und Kompetenzen – beispielswei­se das Investment Banking – in Mün­chen konzentriert hat.
In München sind jedoch nicht nur die Banken prägend für den Finanzplatz, son­­dern in ganz besonderem Maße die Ver­­sicherungsunternehmen. Im Versiche­rungs­­bereich gehört München auch welt­­weit zu den führenden Plätzen. Rund 70 Versicherungen mit rund 32.000 Mitar­beitern haben in der Landeshauptstadt ihren Sitz. Gerade angesichts der Fi­­nanz­­marktkrise und ihrer Folgen ist das Vor­­handensein mehrerer Säulen ein un­­schätz­­barer Vorteil für den Finanzplatz und gibt der Finanzwirtschaft Münchens zu­­sätzliche Stabilität. Denn wie überall auf der Welt waren es auch in München die Banken, die von der Finanzmarktkrise besonders stark betroffen waren.
Dabei wird diese Krise die Rahmenbe­din­­gungen, unter denen die Banken und die gesamte Finanzwirtschaft arbeiten, nach­­haltig verändern. Und auch die üb­­­ri­­ge Wirtschaft wird aufgrund ihrer en­­gen Verflechtung mit der Kredit­wirt­schaft spür­­bar von diesen Veränderungen be­­trof­­fen sein. Mehrere große Entwick­lun­­gen sind zu erkennen, denen sich auch der Finanzplatz München stellen muss:
So wird es zu einer stärkeren Regu­lie­rung der Finanzwirtschaft kommen. Dies ist die Konsequenz aus einer der zentralen Erkenntnisse der Krise: dem par­­tiellen Versagen der Selbstregulie­rungs­­kraft der Finanzmärkte. Angestoßen von den G20-Staaten ist eine neue Finanz­marktarchitektur auf dem Weg der Um­­setzung: Neue Strukturen der Banken­aufsicht, erhöhte Transparenz- und Be­­richtsanforderungen und insbesonde­­re höhere Eigenkapitalanforderungen wer­­den die Finanzwelt nachhaltig verändern sowie die Handlungsfreiheiten und -mög­­lichkeiten der Finanzwirtschaft ohne Zweifel beschränken.

portal-hvb

Auch durch diese Veränderungen stellen wir gegenwärtig ein neues Spannungs­verhältnis fest: Einerseits werden die Banken von der Politik, aber auch seitens ihrer Kunden, unter Druck gesetzt, ihr Kreditengagement in der Krise voll auf­­rechtzuerhalten. Andererseits schränken die neuen Regulierungen und die hö­­heren Eigenkapitalanforderungen die Kre­­ditvergabemöglichkeiten der Ban­ken mas­­siv ein. Gleichzeitig ist der Risiko­transfer mittels Verbriefung durch die teilweise Lähmung des Kapitalmarkts immer noch eingeschränkt, auch wenn hier in den vergangenen Monaten deutliche Verbesserungen zu konstatieren waren.
Der Finanzplatz München ist gefordert, diesem Trend etwas entgegenzusetzen. Auch vor diesem Hintergrund wurde da­­her im Sommer 2009 der bayerische Mittelstandspakt ins Leben gerufen. Po­­litik, Wirtschaftsorganisationen und Kre­­ditwirtschaft arbeiten in diesem Pakt eng zusammen, um gute Rahmen­be­din­­gungen für eine erfolgreiche Arbeit der mittelständischen Wirtschaft und zur Sicherung ihrer Arbeitsplätze zu schaf­­fen. Konkret bedeutet dies: ge­­mein­­sam die Substanz der Unternehmen stärken; neue Wege in ein zukunftsorientiertes Wirtschaften öffnen und den notwendigen Strukturwandel frühzeitig anpacken. Zusätzlich wurden in einer gemeinsamen Anstrengung, an der auch die HypoVer­einsbank beteiligt war, Leitlinien zur Si­­cherstellung der Kreditversorgung der bayerischen Wirtschaft entwickelt und umgesetzt.
Auch diese Initiativen gehören zu den Maßnahmen, die zu einer schnellen Rück­­gewinnung des Vertrauens in die Ak­­teu­­re der Finanzwirtschaft beitragen. Denn der Vertrauensverlust in die Banken, der den Finanzplatz München genauso trifft wie alle Finanzplätze, ist eine der einschneidensten Folgen der Krise. Um lang­­fristig erfolgreich sein zu können, muss das gestörte Vertrauensverhältnis zu Kun­­den und Gesellschaft wieder vollkom­­men hergestellt werden. Die Akteure des Mün­­chener Finanzplatzes arbeiten be­­reits intensiv daran, die Voraussetzun­gen hier­­für zu schaffen. Geschäfts­mo­delle werden auf nachhaltige Prinzipien ausgerichtet, in vielen Häusern ist ein intensiver Kul­­tur­­wandel hin zu langfris­tigen Orientierun­gen festzustellen. Und auch in die inter­­nen Regularien fließen die Erfahrungen und Lehren der Krise ein.

Damit werden Voraussetzungen ge­­schaf­fen, um das teilweise getrübte Verhält­nis zu den Kunden wiederherzustellen. Nachhaltigkeit und Langfristigkeit sind die Stichworte, die jetzt am Finanzplatz München im Vordergrund stehen und ge­­meinsam von den Akteuren vertreten werden. Der Finanzplatz hat die Her­aus­­forderung angenommen. Er wird auch zukünftig ein innovativer und leistungsstarker Finanzplatz bleiben, der für die Unternehmen überzeugende Finanzie­rungslösungen bereithält.

Theodor-Weimer-grDer Autor ist seit 2007 bei der Uni­­Credit Group tätig; seit 2009 als Vorstands­spre­­cher der Hypo­­Ver­eins­­bank sowie als Country Chairman Ger­­many Mitglied des Management Com­­mittees der UniCredit Group. Nach sei­­nem Studium in Tübin­gen/St. Gallen und Promotion an der Univer­si­­tät Bonn ar­­bei­­tete er bei McKinsey, Bain & Company und Goldman Sachs.