Dr. Stefan Schulte: The Frankfurt transport hub – the mobility centre in the heart of Europe

Even now, Frankfurt Airport is one of the world’s major logistics hubs. When com­­pared to the rest of the world, Frankfurt is in seventh place after the freight airports of Memphis, Ancho­rage, the Asian “giants” Hong Kong, Shanghai, Seoul and “Charles de Gaul­­le” Airport in Paris. Paris-Charles de Gaul­­le is where the extensive exchange of airmail between Paris and the French overseas colonies and former overseas territories takes place. In Frankfurt the trans­­­port of airmail was wound down to zero, a po­­si­­tive factor for night-time noise pollution.

Flugzeugabfertigung-Kopie

Airfreight depends on central air transport hubs more than passenger traffic. Half of all goods carried by air arrives at and leaves from 22 airports. In Frank­­furt’s particular favour is its central position in Europe. This corresponds to the excellent road transport network at the intersection of two main Euro­pean motorway axes, which carry more than 330,000 vehicles every day. Less relevant for cargo traffic but hence all the more so for travellers, Frankfurt Air­port’s intermodal connection with Germany’s rail network – from regional traffic to the European high-speed lines – is not just more than excellent, it is probably unique.

Tower-Personal-Kopie

The importance of logistics will increase considerably with intensifying globalization. Products will become increasingly smaller, lighter and “more intelligent”. At the same time, market renewal cycles are becoming shorter. This means that anyone who wants to stay competitive is going to have to use airfreight, other­­wise they run the risk of not arriving on the market before the next generation of equipment has already announced its arrival.
Even now, 40 per cent of all goods by value carried cross-border are carried by air, and this figure will increase. This is because the business organization model is changing. The static industrial cores are disintegrating and their functions are being replaced by constantly variably networked exchange relationships in a worldwide network. This is especially true for large company groups, which are using the inno­vative and added value advantages of globalization and thereby increasing global competition with each other. Thanks to round-the-world mobility, manufactured goods are being developed in an increasingly modular fashion, so that they can be purchased in the same way by customers all around the world. This is being accompanied by a modular breakdown of innovative competence.

Its developmental dynamics are being considerably accelerated by heightened competition. The idea, concept, planning and production of goods no longer take place at a single location; today they are distributed across the globe on a network basis. The global competition chain is taking over from the Tay­lo­rism – a theory of management that analyzes and synthesizes workflows in order to improve labour productivity – on the production line. The worldwide dis­persed production must integrate logistics from the first product idea and not when the product is being shipped. The global supply chain is becoming an elementary integral part of the production process. It is constructed in a manner which is no less complex than the conventional production line.

Terminal_2_am_fruehen_morgen-Kopie

Today the logistics chain accounts for fully one third of all purchasing costs of a product. Procurement costs include all mobility costs from the purchase of ma­­te­­rials to sales, including interim stor­­age and increasingly important quality ma­­n­age­­ment (“Is the cheap part from Country xyz with its high rejection rate really cheaper than the more expensive quality product from a high-wage country?”). This third represents major efficiency potential if the supply chain can be configured even more intelligently and rationally. Physical transport is con­­centra­t­­ing increasingly on major distribution hubs because the hubs can achieve and exploit ideal econ­­omies of scale. The global struc­ture of industrial process chains is making the time-factor in­­creas­­ingly important. That means that air cargo is offering strategic competitive advantages. The leading edge in speed achieved through air transport must be maintained on the ground. Cen­­trally lo­­cated warehouses with perfect intermodal networks increase expo­nen­tially the ad­­vantages gained from carrying goods by air.

Flugzeugschlepper-Kopie

Logistics has since moved on complete­­ly from the stage of the solely tactically sup­portive function of the economy and has become a significant economic fac­­tor in its own right and accounts for seven per cent of GDP. 60,000, mainly medium-sized, logistics service providers employ more than 2.7 million people. The main international logistics companies all have their own offices or freight centres at Frankfurt Airport. Of the more than 70,000 employees at the airport – which make it the largest local workplace in Germany – some 12,000 work at “CargoCity”. In addition, logistics create the conditions for the economic dynamics of the entire economy. This is indispensable for an export nation – and more so for the world’s “export champion”. This explains why the extension of Frankfurt Airport is also a challenge of national importance. Almost 70 per cent of international passenger traffic from Germany passes through the Frankfurt hub, which is also one of the world’s largest transfer airports. Also the “freight-only” companies that travel to intercontinental destinations the mar­­ket share lies well over 70 per cent. Over­­all, 28 air­­lines fly to 87 de­­s­­tinations, 58 of which are inter­con­­tinental, and 46 of which are freight destinations only. With the Passage, some 120 airlines fly to more than 300 destinations in summer and over 260 in winter, all to more than 100 countries. With the additional tarmac the available capacity will in­­crease by about 50 per cent to 126 slots per hour in order to finally accom­­modate the extra demand. Even in the current international credit crisis, the demand by airlines for time windows for starting and landing at Frankfurt Airport has in­­creased. With the gradual upturn in economic activity, the volume of air traffic at the airport will quickly recover.

A380-Testfluege-in-Frankfurt-Kopie

Even as the crisis was ending, it is becoming apparent that airfreight is an early indicator for economic activity – the volume of freight had significantly increased.

Porträtbild_dr_stefan_schulte-KopieThe author was born in 1960. He has worked for Fraport AG since 2003 and is now chairman of the executive board. As CEO Finance he was responsible for com­­mercial activities, IT services and the Group’s invest­­ment activities. He was ap­­pointed deputy executive board chair­­man in 2007 and today he manages the Group’s aviation, ground hand­ling, retail and properties operations as well as its external activities.

Dr. Stefan Schulte: Drehkreuz Frankfurt – Mobilitätszentrum im Herzen Europas

Der Flughafen Frankfurt ist ei­­ne der wichtigsten Logistikdreh­schei­ben der Welt. Im internationalen Ver­gleich liegt Frankfurt auf Platz sieben, nach den Fracht-Flughäfen Memphis und Ancho­rage, den asiatischen „Rie­­sen“ Hong­kong, Shanghai und Seoul sowie dem Pariser Flughafen „Charles de Gaul­­le“. Dort schlägt nicht zuletzt der um­­fang­reiche Austausch von Luft­post zwi­­schen der französischen Haupt­­stadt und den Kolonien sowie den ehema­ligen Über­­seeterritorien zu Bu­­che. In Frankfurt wurde der Trans­­­port von Luft­­post auf null zurückgefahren, was für die Lärm­belastung während der Nacht positiv ist.

Flugzeugabfertigung-Kopie

Die Luftfracht ist mehr noch als der Pas­­sagierverkehr auf zentrale Luft­ver­kehrs-Hubs angewiesen. Die Hälfte aller geflo­­genen Güter weltweit entfällt auf 22 Flug­­häfen. Für Frankfurt spricht be­­sonders die zentrale Lage mitten in Europa. Dem korrespondiert die her­vor­­­ragende Stra­ßenverkehrsanbindung am Schnitt­punkt zweier europäischer Auto­­bahn-Haupt­­ach­sen, die von täglich mehr als 330.000 Kraftfahrzeugen befahren wer­­den. Für den Cargo-Verkehr weniger relevant, dafür umso mehr für Reisende: Die in­­termodale Verknüpfung des Flug­hafens Frankfurt mit dem Schienen­­netz – vom Re­­gionalverkehr bis zu den europäischen Hoch­geschwindig­­­keits­linien – ist mehr als ausgezeichnet, sie ist wohl einzigar­­tig.

Tower-Personal-Kopie

Die Bedeutung der Logistik wird mit der sich intensivierenden Globalisie­rung deut­­lich zunehmen. Produkte werden immer klei­­ner, leichter und „intelligen­ter“. Gleich­­zeitig verkürzen sich die Markt­er­neu­­e­­rungs­­zyklen. Daraus folgt: Wer wett­­be­wer­­bs­­fä­­­hig bleiben will, muss fliegen. Sonst läuft er Gefahr, mit seinen Pro­duk­­ten erst am Markt anzukommen, wenn schon die nächs­­te Geräte-Gene­ration an­­gesagt ist.

Schon jetzt werden – an ihrem Wert ge­­messen – 40 Prozent aller grenz­über­­schreitend transportierten Güter geflogen. Der Anteil wird zunehmen, da sich das Organisationsmodell der Wirt­schaft wandelt. Die statischen, industriellen Ker­ne lösen sich auf, ihre Funktionen werden durch ständig variabel geknüpfte Aus­­­tausch­bezieh­un­gen im weltweiten Netzwerk ersetzt. Dies trifft vor allem auf Großunter­nehmen zu, die die Inno­vations- und Wertschöpfungs­vorteile der Globali­sie­­­rung nutzen und dadurch den globalen Wettbewerb untereinander ver­­schärfen. Denn dank der weltumspannenden Mo­­bi­­lität werden Industrie­produkte heute mo­­dular konzipiert, damit sie modular aus der ganzen Welt bezogen werden können.
Damit geht eine modulare Aufspaltung der Innovations­kom­petenz einher. Sie wird durch den gesteigerten Wettbe­werb in ihrer Ent­­wicklungsdynamik erheblich beschleunigt. Idee und Konzipierung sowie Planung und Produktion eines Gutes finden nicht mehr an einem Standort statt, sondern sind netzwerkartig über den gesamten Globus verteilt. Den Tay­lo­­­rismus am Band löst die globale Wert­schöpfungskette ab. Die weltweit distri­buierte Herstellung muss Logistik von der ersten Produkt­idee an integrieren und nicht erst, wenn die Ware ausgeliefert werden soll. Die globale Supply-Chain wird ein elementarer Bestandteil des Produktions­pro­zes­ses. Sie ist nicht minder komplex aufge­­baut als die herkömmliche Produk­tions­­straße.

Terminal_2_am_fruehen_morgen-Kopie

Heute entfällt schon ein Drittel der ge­­sam­­ten Beschaffungskosten eines Pro­­dukts auf die Logistikkette. Beschaf­fungs­­kosten schließen alle Mobilitäts­kosten vom Ma­­terialeinkauf bis zum Vertrieb, ein­­schließ­­lich Zwischenlager, sowie das immer wich­­tiger werdende Qualitäts­ma­­nagement ein („Ist das billige Teil aus xyz mit hoher Ausschussrate wirklich billiger als das teurere Quali­tätsprodukt aus ei­­nem Hoch­­lohnland?“). Dieses Drittel stellt ein großes Effi­zienz­­steigerungs­potenzial dar, wenn es ge­­lingt, die Supply­Chain noch intelligenter und rationeller zu konfigurieren. Der physische Transport kon­­zentriert sich zunehmend auf große Ver­teilknoten, weil in den Hubs Skalen­ef­fekte des Trans­­port­­vorgangs optimiert ausgeschöpft werden können. Die globale Strukturierung indu­strieller Prozess­ketten steigert die Bedeu­­tung des Faktors Zeit. Das heißt: Air-Cargo bie­­tet strategische Wettbe­werbs­­vorteile. Der Geschwin­dig­keits­vor­­sprung durch Luft­­transport muss am Boden gewahrt blei­­­ben: Stand­orte mit zentraler Lage und perfekter intermodaler Vernetzung po­­tenzieren den durchs Fliegen erzielten Vorteil.

Flugzeugschlepper-Kopie

Die Logistik hat inzwischen die Phase der lediglich taktisch unterstützenden Funktion für die Wirtschaft vollständig verlassen. Sie ist ein eigenständig be­deutsamer Wirtschaftsfaktor geworden und macht sieben Prozent des Brutto­inlands­­produkts aus. 60.000 vorwiegend mittelständische Dienstleistungs­un­­­ter­­neh­­mer in der Logistik beschäftigen mehr als 2,7 Millionen Menschen. Was in der weltweiten Logistik Rang und Namen hat, ist am Flughafen Frankfurt mit eigenen Niederlassungen oder Um­­schlagzentren vertreten. Von den mehr als 70.000 Be­­schäf­­tigten des Airports, der damit die grö­­ßte lokale Arbeitsstätte Deutschlands ist, sind rund 12.000 in der CargoCity tä­­­tig. Darüber hinaus schafft Logistik die Voraussetzung für wirtschaft­­­liche Dy­­na­­mik der gesamten Volkswirt­schaft. Sie ist un­­verzichtbar für eine Ex­­port­nation, schon gar für den „Export­welt­meister“. Deshalb ist der Ausbau des Flughafens Frankfurt auch eine Heraus­for­­derung von nationaler Bedeutung. Fast 70 Prozent des inter­kon­­tinentalen Reise­verkehrs von Deutsch­land gehen über das Dreh­kreuz Frankfurt, oh­­ne­­hin einer der größ­­ten in­­ternationalen Um­stei­ger­­flug­­hä­­fen welt­­weit. Auch bei den Nur­frachtern mit inter­­kontinentalen Zielen liegt der Mark­tan­­teil deutlich über 70 Prozent. Ins­­gesamt werden von 28 Airlines 87 De­­s­­tinationen, davon 58 interkon­­ti­nen­­tal, in 46 Ländern mit ausschließ­lich­­en Fracht­maschinen an­­geflogen. Bei der Passage sind es rund 120 Airlines, die im Som­­mer mehr als 300, im Winter gut 260 Ziele in mehr als 100 Ländern an­­steuern. Mit der zusätzlichen Lande­bahn, die in Be­­trieb gehen soll, wird das Kapazi­täts­an­gebot um rund 50 Prozent auf 126 Slots in der Stunde gesteigert, um da­­mit endlich dem Nach­­frageüberhang gerecht zu wer­­den. So­­gar in der Krise ist der Bedarf der Airlines an Zeitfenstern für Starts und Lan­­­dun­gen am Flughafen Frankfurt gestiegen. Mit der anziehenden Kon­junk­tur wird sich das Ver­kehrs­auf­kommen schnell er­­holen.

A380-Testfluege-in-Frankfurt-Kopie

Auch ausgangs der Krise zeigte sich, dass Luftfracht ein Frühin­di­kator für die Konjunktur ist. Denn die Fracht­vo­lumina sind wie­­der deutlich an­­gestiegen.

Porträtbild_dr_stefan_schulte-KopieDer 1960 geborene Autor ist Vorstands­vorsitzender der Fraport AG. Er ist seit 2003 im Unternehmen tätig. Als Finanz­­vorstand verantwortete er den kaufmän­nischen Bereich, die IT-Dienst­leistungen und das Beteiligungs­geschäft. Im Jahr 2007 wurde er zum stellvertretenden Vor­stands­vorsit­zen­den ernannt. Heute führt er den Konzern mit den Geschäftsfeldern Aviation, Ground Hand­ling, Retail and Properties sowie External Activities.