Dr. Rupert Neudeck: It starts and ends with education

The organisation Grünhelme e.V. (Green Helmets) supports the construction and reconstruction of houses, streets, villages, hospitals, schools and religious facilities in crisis and war-torn areas. We have been working in Afghanistan since our founda­tion in 2003, particularly focusing on establishing educational facilities, as edu­­cation is the first vital step in promoting growth and social change in Afghanistan. In total, we have contributed to over thirty schools being set up in the Golram and Karoq districts of western Afghanistan.

As part of our work, it is vital to cooperate hand in hand with Muslims, Christians and followers of other religions. In addition to fostering economic and social de­­vel­­opment in Afghanistan, we also aim to high­­light that Islam as a religion is not synonymous with the Taliban, that Chris­tians and Muslims are not that different and that they are capable of living and working together in harmony. We are able to efficiently implement our projects by working closely with Afghans on the ground. One prime example is the help we are receiving from the mullah of a village in Karoq district. He is also the director of the Konrad Adenauer School, which was built by the Green Helmets and opened in April 2006. In addition, he is also involved in establishing other educational facilities, such as schools for women and evening schools for men.

We rely on support from the people of Afghanistan when it comes to realising our plans. This is the only way for us to work effectively and develop projects which are really needed. To this end, we maintain close ties with local mayors, such as the mayor of Demogul. The residents in this village often complained about water shortages. In order to remedy the problem, dams have to be built between two moun­­tain ranges and a ravine, allowing rain and melt water from the mountains to be collected. Our teams of German and Afghan volunteers are able to quickly and carefully implement our projects after due con­­sultation with local residents.

One of our key focuses is allowing children, women and men the opportunity to obtain a good school education. An increasing number of children and women in the area are exposed to the danger of freezing to death in winter as many are forced to beg on the streets of the town Herat. And this is just one example. In cases like this, rapid decisions and measures are required to combat these conditions. Fostering a sus­­tainable economy is a good starting point for generating sustainable jobs at emerging companies. In addition, we have to continue to support the establishment of educational and training facilities. It is vital that school building is promoted, partic­­ularly in rural areas, as this is where poverty and desperation are at their most serious. Families rely on the support of their family members for survival, especially that of their children. If schools are too far away, the children are unable to attend as there is not enough time left for work due to the long commute to and from school.

The education minister for Herat Province is therefore delighted by the positive devel­­opment in Karoq district. The Green Helmets team has built a total of 14 schools for over 20,000 pupils in this area.

AFG_2010_12-4352-KopieThis puts an end to teaching in tents or in the hot midday sun, giving children the opportunity to work in the concentrated environment of bright, cool rooms, protected against the blowing sand. The thirst for knowledge among Afghans is the driving force behind this development. Without their willingness to learn, these projects would have no effect. However, in addition to the range of education in girls-only and mixed schools, the education provided to boys and men is also vital. For them, illegal work and migration continue to pose a problem due to the lack of jobs. As a result, the towns Pahlewan Piri, Chagmagh, Armalek and Sangur are now almost exclu­­sively populated by women and children, as almost all men capable of working have travelled to Iran or southern Afghanistan to help with the opium harvest. Many of these men are shot at the border be­­­t­­ween Afghanistan and Iran by border police, but despite the danger, hundreds of thousands of young men still try their luck every year.

Progress in the education system has also been made in the small town of Pahlewan Piri, which is around 15 kilometres from Herat. There were only a handful of female pupils in the town who attended school for more than six years, as there were only male teachers at the local school. This was a real problem as girls going through puberty are not allowed to be taught by males. However, girls attended school in Iran during the war, and some for longer than six years. Two of these educated women returned to Pahlewan Piri as teach­­ers in English, Farsi (Persian, which is also spoken in Herat), history and biology at the all-girls school we built. The motivation of many of the female pupils is boosted by the fact that a woman, Chancellor Angela Merkel, succeeded in governing a large country like Germany. This achievement helps bolster their self-esteem and desire to make the most of opportunities for education. The head teacher is proud that female pupils can at least graduate year ten. He is thankful for the support and efforts of the German government and the Green Helmets, paving the way for the first high school pupils to graduate from the school in Pahlewan Piri. He hopes that these future students will come back as doctors or teachers after their studies and continue to help boost development.

The costs of building a new school are comparatively low. For 40,000 euros, a team of Green Helmets can build a school from stone, mortar and earthquake-proof foundations with eight to ten classrooms for three hundred to six hundred pupils, as well as two staff rooms. The number of rooms can be varied according to the size of the district and the number of children, young people and adults who want to make use of the facility. With the help of additional funding from the Min­­istry of Education and our donations and supporters, existing schools can also be improved, renovated and expanded.

In order to ensure the further education of school graduates and the training of Afghan vocational trainers and teachers, establishing further education institutes is vital. Domestic and particularly foreign companies as well as private investors should also invest in Afghanistan and estab­­lish businesses here in order to improve the job prospects of the Afghan population.

66_1-person-images-KopieThe author is a doctor of theology as well as a journalist. He worked for Deutsch­land­­funk for many years. In 1979, he founded the German emergency doctor organisa­tion Cap Anamur and was chair­­man until 1998 and spokesperson for five years after that. Up to 1986, the organi­­sation’s aid ships saved 11,488 refugees from boats in the South China Sea. He has been chair­­man of Grünhelme e.V. since 2003.

Dr. Rupert Neudeck: Bildung, die beste Sicherheitsgarantie

Der 2003 gegründete Verein „Grün­helme e.V.“ unterstützt den Bau und den Wiederaufbau von Häusern, Straßen, Dörfern, Krankenhäusern, Schulen und religiösen Einrichtungen in Krisen- und Kriegsgebieten. Seit seiner Gründung arbeiten wir in Afghanistan besonders konzentriert an dem Aufbau von schulischen Einrichtungen, denn Bildung ist ein erster wichtiger Schritt, um das Wachs­­­­­tum und den sozialen Wandel Afghan­istans zu fördern. Insgesamt wurden über 30 Schulen in den Distrikten Golram und Karoq im Westen Afgha­nis­­tans errichtet.

Bei unserer Arbeit ist es uns wichtig, mit Muslimen sowie Christen und Men­schen aus anderen Religionen zusam­men­zuarbeiten. Wir möchten neben der wirt­­schaftlichen und sozialen För­der­ung Afghan­­istans auch zeigen, dass der Islam nicht mit den Taliban gleichgesetzt werden kann, Christen und Muslime gar nicht so verschieden sind und mit­­einander leben und arbeiten können. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanen können wir unsere Projekte effizient um­­setzen. So hilft uns beispielsweise der Mullah eines Dorfes im Distrikt Karoq. Er ist auch Leiter der „Konrad-Adenauer-Schule“, die von den Grünhelmen erbaut und im April 2006 eröffnet wurde. Darüber hinaus setzt er sich für den Aufbau von weiteren Bildungseinrichtungen ein. So errichtete er beispielsweise eine Schule für Frauen und eine Abendschule für Männer.

Wir sind darauf angewiesen, dass uns die Menschen in Afghanistan in unseren Vorhaben unterstützen. Nur so ist es uns möglich, effektiv zu arbeiten und Projekte zu entwickeln, die wirklich benötigt werden. Wir arbeiten hierfür eng mit Bürger­­meistern zusammen, wie zum Beispiel mit dem Bürgermeister von Demogul. In diesem Dorf beklagten die Einwohner häufig Wassermangel. Um das Problem zu lösen, müssen Staudämme zwischen zwei Bergzügen und in einer Talschlucht errichtet werden, damit das Regen- sowie Schmelzwasser der Berge gespeichert werden kann. Mit einem Team aus deutschen und afghanischen freiwilligen Helfern und der Beratung mit Afghanen, die in den betreffenden Regionen wohnen, können wir unsere Projekte schnell und überlegt in die Tat umsetzen.

 Eines unserer wichtigsten Anliegen ist es, Kindern, Frauen und Männern eine gute Schulbildung zu ermöglichen. Die zunehmende Zahl der Kinder und Frauen, die beispielsweise auf den Straßen der Stadt Herat betteln, ist im Winter der Gefahr ausgesetzt zu erfrieren. Hier sind schnelle Entscheidungen und Maßnahmen erforderlich, die diesen Verhältnissen ent­­gegenwirken. Hierfür ist insbesondere die Förderung einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaft ein Ansatz, durch den dann entstehende Betriebe langfristig Arbeitsplätze zur Verfügung stellen können. Darüber hinaus muss der Aufbau von Aus- und Weiter­­­bildungseinrichtungen weiterhin gefördert werden. Es ist wichtig, dass der Schulbau besonders in den ländlichen Gegenden vorangetrieben wird, da dort Armut und Verzweiflung am größten sind. Familien sind auf die Unterstützung aller Mitglieder, vor allem die der Kinder, angewiesen, um zu überleben. Ist die Schule zu weit entfernt, können sie die Kinder nicht besuchen, da aufgrund der langen Hin- und Rückwege zu wenig Zeit zum Arbeiten bleibt.

Der Bildungsminister in der Provinz Herat ist daher über die positive Entwicklung des Distrikts Karoq sehr erfreut. Das Team der Grünhelme hat in diesem Bezirk insgesamt vierzehn Schulen für über 20.000 Schülerinnen und Schüler gebaut.

AFG_2010_12-4352-KopieSie müssen somit nicht länger in Zelten oder in der heißen Mittagssonne unterrichtet werden, sondern haben die Möglichkeit, in hellen, kühlen Räumen konzentriert zu arbeiten. Zudem sind sie vor umherwehendem Sand geschützt. Der Wissens­­hunger der Afghanen ist Grund für diese Ent­­wicklung. Ohne ihre Bereitschaft, lernen zu wollen, wären die Projekte wirkungs­­los. Allerdings ist neben dem Angebot von Bildungsmöglichkeiten in reinen Mädchen- und gemischten Schulen auch entschei­­dend, dass Jungen und Männer eine Ausbildung erhalten können. Denn nach wie vor stellen die illegale Wirt­­schaft und Abwanderung aufgrund von Arbeits­­platz­mangel ein Problem dar. So leben in den Ortschaften Pahlewan Piri, Chagmagh, Armalek oder Sangur beispielsweise fast nur noch Frauen und Kinder, da annähernd alle arbeitsfähigen Männer illegal in den Iran oder nach Süd-afghanistan zur Opium­­ernte gegangen sind. Viele der Männer wurden an der Grenze zwischen Afghanis­tan und Iran von Grenzpolizisten erschossen und trotz­­dem versuchen weiter jährlich Hundert­­tausende junger Männer ihr Glück, diese Grenze zu überwinden.

Fortschritte im Bildungssystem sind auch in dem kleinen Ort Pahlewan Piri zu erken­­nen, der etwa 15 Kilometer von Herat ent­­­fernt liegt. Dort gab es selten Schüle­rinnen, die länger als sechs Jahre die Schule besuchten, da es nur männliche Lehrkräfte gab und es Mädchen, die in die Pubertät kommen, nicht erlaubt ist, von diesen unterrichtet zu werden. Mäd­chen, die in den Kriegsjahren im Iran zur Schule gegangen sind, konnten länger als sechs Jahre unterrichtet werden. Von diesen ausgebildeten Frauen sind zwei als Lehrerinnen nach Pahlewan Piri zurückge­kehrt. Sie unter­­richten in der von uns aufgebauten Schule Mädchen in Englisch, Farsi (Persisch, das auch in Herat gesprochen wird), Geschichte sowie Biologie. Besonders die Moti­va­tion der Schülerinnen wird durch die Tatsache gestärkt, dass es eine Frau, Bundes­kanz­­­­lerin Angela Merkel, geschafft hat, ein großes Land wie Deutschland zu regieren. Mit dieser Erkenntnis glauben sie noch stärker an ihre eigenen Fähigkeiten und nehmen die Chance auf Bildung wahr. Der Schuldirektor ist stolz darauf, dass Schüle­­rinnen durch seine Einrichtung mindestens die zehnte Klasse absol­­vie­ren können. Er ist dankbar für die Unterstützungen und Bemü­­hungen der deutschen Regierung und der Grünhelme, durch die in Pahlewan Piri erste Abiturientinnen und Abitu­rienten die Schule verlassen werden. Er hofft, dass diese künftigen Studenten nach ihrem Studium als Ärzte oder Lehrer zurückkommen und die Ent­wicklung weiter vorantreiben.

Die Kosten für eine neue Schule sind ver­­gleichsweise gering. Für 40.000 Euro baut ein Team der Grünhelme aus Stein, Mörtel und einem erdbebensicheren Fun­­dament eine Schule mit acht bis zehn Klassenräumen für dreihundert bis sechs­­­hundert Schülerinnen und Schüler sowie zwei Lehrerzimmern. Je nach Größe der Distrikte und Anzahl der Kinder, Jugend­­lichen und Erwachsenen, die das Bildungs­­angebot wahrnehmen werden, variiert die Zahl der Räume. Mithilfe von Zuzahlungen des Bildungsministeriums und unseren Spendern und Förderern können zu­­dem schon existierende Schulen durch Aus­­bes­serung erneuert oder er­­weitert werden.

Um die Weiterbildung von Schul­abgängern und auch die Ausbildung von afghanischen Berufsausbildern sowie Lehrerinnen und Lehrern sicherzustellen, ist der Aufbau weiter­­führender Schulen von Bedeutung. Aber auch in- und besonders ausländische Unter­­nehmen und private Anleger sollten in Afgha­­nistan investieren und Firmen auf­­bauen, um so die beruflichen Perspek­tiven für die afghanische Bevöl­kerung zu verbessern.

66_1-person-images-KopieDer Autor ist promovierter Theologe sowie Jour­­nalist. Er arbeitete viele Jahre für den Deutschlandfunk. 1979 gründete er das deutsche Notärzte-Komitee Cap Anamur und war bis 1998 dessen Vor­sitzender und weitere fünf Jahre dessen Sprecher. Bis 1986 retteten die Hilfs­schiffe 11.488 Boots-­­Flüchtlinge aus dem südchine­sischen Meer. Seit 2003 ist er Vor­sitzender der Grünhelme e.V.