Dr. rer. pol. Werner Widuckel: Companies demonstrate social responsibility

The interaction between developments in companies and regional locations has become a significant competitive factor. From the companies’ point of view, the focus has traditionally been on infrastructure (sites, transport connections), availability of qualified workforce, the potential for education, science and re­­search and the proximity of complimen­tary businesses (suppliers, technology partners). However, these factors are not enough to stimulate economic development. Additional measures are necessary to make the relevant location an attractive place to live. This is why the social infrastructure (schools, health care, cul­­ture, shopping facilities, residential con­­ditions, social environment) are of equal importance to companies. Thus, the cir­­cumstances often referred to as “soft” location factors turn out to be critical elements in the competition for qualified workforce. This is why competitive, strong companies depend on strong re­­gional partners. Therefore companies have to build supportive relationships with their surrounding regions. To achieve this, on the one hand, companies must commu­nicate their development requirements to the region, on the other, they must in turn become an integral part of the re­­gion­­al development. Because the tar­­gets of regional development cannot be unilat­erally determined by one com­­pany. These targets are influenced by a wide variety of interest groups and in addition, they are embedded in a frame­work of institutions and regulations, which are par­tic­­ularly involved in the fulfilment of sovereign functions (for instance, bu­­siness promotion, re­­gional planning).

10_Alte-Anatomie_TL

For all these reasons, we need sustain­able and reliable cooperation, which on the one hand, consistently pursues its own interests but on the other, is also able to support in­­te­­­­gra­tion and positions itself in the broad­­er con­­text of regional development. To promote this aim, the region of Ingolstadt established the re­­gional management initiative “Re­­gional­management Re­­gion Ingol­­stadt e.V.” (IRMA) in 2008. It is organized as an association, whose founding mem­­bers include the local authorities of the city of Ingolstadt and the counties of Eichstätt, Neuburg-Schroben­hau­­sen and Pfaffenhofen. However, the initiative was from the very start conceived as a pub­­lic-private collaboration, which is why it was co-founded by the companies AUDI AG, Bauer AG, EADS, Edeka Süd and Media Saturn AG. The association itself and certain priority projects are funded through membership fees.

What local authorities, companies and IRMA have in common is the shared con­­viction that intensive collaboration in de­­termining development goals for the re­­gion and in realizing projects can ac­­ti­­vate new and additional potentials, which will benefit all parties involved. An ac­­tiv­ity concept for regional development iden­­­­ti­­fies four fields of action which need to be dealt with. These fields of ac­­tion are: economy, education and sci­­ence, tourism and visibility of the region.

Hub_Radln_Pfuenz

The economy field of action places its focus on identifying possible areas of cooperation between local companies. It develops conceptual approaches on the subjects of lightweight construction and marketing. In addition, and with the sup­­port of the TU Munich and the Cath­­olic University of Eichstätt, it is current­ly un­­dertaking an analysis of further areas of cooperation to pinpoint existing po­­tentials for innovation and sys­­tem­­atical­ly assess their strength. Another priority issue in the economy field of action is improving the access of medium-sized businesses to regional universities and their research facilities. In the education and science field of ac­­tion, people are currently drawing up an analysis of the regional educational infrastructure in the framework of a baseline study. It will pro­­vide indications on where complementary or improvement measures are nec­­essary. In this context, particular consideration will be given to defining the priorities for the expansion of the In­­gol­­stadt Uni­ver­­sity of Applied Sciences, which is currently taking place. In a first implemen­tation project, an internation­al school was es­­tablished in Ingolstadt, whose firm foundation will be guaranteed through the intensive collaboration between com­­panies and local authorities. The tourism field of action is current­­ly analyzing potentials that might open up growth opportunities. The ongoing analysis pro­­cess has shown that the joint development of tourist attractions and the fur­­ther development of the tour­­ism in­­frastructure are appropriate means of gen­­erating additional potential. Co­­or­­di­­­nat­ed business development strategies will have to be agreed. The region’s vis­­ibility is to be enhanced through var­­ious measures. These include a regional por­­tal, a tourism portal and an edu­­­cation/training portal, all of which will soon start operating. The core element in promoting visibility will be a regional development guideline, which will create a consistent and genuine profile of the region to be presented internally and externally. This guideline is cur­­rent­­­­ly be­­ing prepared in four future workshops with the participation of about 250 cit­­izens who constitute relevant multipliers and stakeholders of the re­gional civil society. Another focal point within the visibility field of action is the area of culture, where the interna­tional Simon Mayr Festival was initiated and a Euro­­pean jazz academy was established to highlight and further de­­velop the cultural strengths of the region.

However, the strategic orientation of IRMA and the issues addressed in the fields of action are not decided upon in isolation, but they are linked to MMR projects in a targeted approach. We do not see IRMA and MMR as competing organizations, but as partners complimenting each other. Because a meaning­­ful development strategy for the region of Ingolstadt can only be defined in the context of the metropolitan region. This applies to all fields of action. That is why AUDI AG participates in both IRMA and MMR.

Hopfenmuseum
In summary, we can state that IRMA, as a public-private cooperation, has be­­come an integral part of regional de­­vel­opment, where businesses not only come up with demands but make a con­­scious decision to become integrated in­­to re­­gional development processes. Thus, IRMA also demonstrates the regional commitment of companies. This is also confirmed by the increasing number of members.

VOR090013_medium-orange-sitzendThe author is a member of the board of AUDI AG, chairman of the regional man­­agement initiative “Initiative Regional­man­­agement Region Ingolstadt e.V.” and mem­­ber of the board of MMR. He was born in Salzgitter in 1958 and studied social sci­­ences at the University of Göttingen. After working for many years for the Group Works Council of Volkswagen AG and com­­pleting his doctorate at TU Braun­schweig, he moved to AUDI AG.

Dr. rer. pol. Werner Widuckel: Unternehmen zeigen gesellschaftliche Verantwortung

Das Zusammenwirken der Ent­wick­lun­gen von Unternehmen und Stand­ort­re­gio­nen ist zu einem wesentlichen Wett­be­werbs­­faktor geworden. Aus der Sicht von Un­­ternehmen stehen hierbei die In­­fra­struk­­tur (Flächen, Ver­kehrs­an­bin­dung), die Verfügbarkeit qualifizierter Mit­ar­bei­ter, das Potenzial für Bildung, Wis­sen­schaft und Forschung und die Nähe von Kom­plementärunternehmen (Lie­fer­an­ten, Tech­­nologiepartner) traditionell im Fo­kus. Diese Bedingungen reichen als Ent­wick­­lungsfaktoren allerdings nicht aus. Hinzu kommen müssen Lebensbedingungen, die einen jeweiligen Standort als at­­trak­­tiven Lebensraum prägen. Deshalb ist die soziale Infrastruktur (Schule, Ge­­sund­­heit, Kultur, Ein­kaufs­mög­lich­kei­ten, Wohnbedingungen, soziales Klima) für Unternehmen von gleichwertiger Be­­deu­­tung. Die sogenannten „weichen“ Stand­­ortfaktoren werden somit zu harten Fak­­ten in einem Wettbewerb um qualifizier­te Mitarbeiter. Wettbewerbsfähige, starke Unternehmen sind deshalb auf starke Regionen angewiesen. Unternehmen müs­­sen deshalb ihre Beziehungen zu den sie umgebenden Regionen ausgestalten. In dieser Beziehung sind zum einen die Entwicklungsanforderungen an die Region durch die Unternehmen zu artikulieren, zum anderen müssen Un­­ternehmen sich aber auch in die Ent­­wick­­lung einer Region integrieren. Denn die Zielsetzungen von Re­­gio­nal­ent­wick­lung können nicht einseitig von einem Un­­­ter­­neh­­men gesetzt werden. Diese Ziel­­set­zun­­­gen werden von einer Vielzahl von In­­te­r­­es­­sengruppen beeinflusst und sind darüber hinaus in einen Rahmen von Ins­­titutionen und Regulierungen eingebun­den, die ins­­besondere für die Erfüllung hoheitlicher Aufgaben erforderlich sind (zum Bei­spiel Wirtschaftsförderung, Re­­gio­nal­pla­nung).

10_Alte-Anatomie_TL

Aus diesen Gründen ist eine nachhaltige und verlässliche Kooperation erforderlich, die einerseits die eigenen In­­te­ressen kon­­sequent verfolgt, die jedoch darüber hi­­­naus integrationsfähig ist und sich in einen Ge­­samt­zu­sam­men­hang regiona­­ler Entwicklung stellt. In der Region Ingol­stadt ist hierfür die Initiative Re­­gio­nal­ma­­nagement Region Ingolstadt e.V. (IRMA) im Jahr 2008 ge­­gründet worden. Diese Initiative ist als Verein organisiert, zu dessen Grün­dungs­­mitgliedern als Ge­­biets­­körperschaften die Stadt Ingolstadt sowie die Land­kreise Eichstätt, Neu­burg-Schro­ben­hau­­sen und Pfaffenhofen ge­­hören. Die Initiative war allerdings von Anfang an als öffentlich-private Ko­­ope­ration an­­ge­­legt und zählt deshalb zu ihren Mit­gründern auch die Un­­ter­neh­men AUDI AG, Bauer AG, EADS, Edeka Süd sowie Media Saturn AG. Die Fi­­nan­zie­­rung des Vereins und bestimmter Schwer­­punkt­projekte wird durch Mit­glieds­bei­trä­­ge gewährleistet.
Ge­­biets­­körperschaften und Unterneh­men verbindet mit IRMA die gemeinsame Überzeugung, durch eine intensive Zusammenarbeit bei der Formu­lierung von Ent­wick­lungs­­zielen der Region als auch bei der Re­­a­li­­sierung von Projekten neue und zu­­sätz­­liche Potenz­iale mobilisieren zu kön­­nen, die allen Beteiligten zugutekommen. In einem Handlungs­kon­­zept zur Re­­gio­nal­­ent­­wick­lung wurden vier Hand­lungs­fel­der identifiziert, die aus­­ge­­füllt werden sollen. Diese Hand­lungs­­fel­der sind Wirt­­schaft, Bil­dung und Wis­­­­sen­­schaft, Tou­rismus so­­wie die Wahr­­nehmbarkeit der Region.

Hub_Radln_Pfuenz
Im Handlungsfeld Wirtschaft steht die Identifizierung von Ko­­ope­ra­tions­mög­lich­­keiten zwischen den Unternehmen im Vor­­dergrund. Hierbei werden kon­zep­­tio­­nel­le Ansätze zu den The­men­fel­dern Leicht­­bau und Marketing er­­ar­bei­tet. Da­­rüber hinaus wird gegenwär­tig eine Ana­­lyse weiterer Ko­­ope­ra­tions­fel­der mit Un­­ter­stüt­zung der TU Mün­chen und der Katholischen Uni­ver­si­tät Eich­stätt durch­­geführt, die die vor­han­­de­nen In­­no­va­tions­potenziale her­aus­­ar­bei­­tet und de­­ren Stärke syste­matisch einordnet. Ein weiterer Schwer­­punkt im Hand­­lungs­feld Wirtschaft ist die Or­­ga­ni­­­sa­tion ver­­besserter Zu­­gangs­mög­lich­­kei­­ten mit­­telständischer Un­­ter­­nehmen zu den Hochschulen der Region und ih­­ren For­schungseinrichtungen. Im Hand­lungs­feld Bildung und Wis­sen­schaft wird ge­­­gen­wärtig in einer Grund­la­gen­studie eine Analyse der regionalen Bil­dungs­in­fra­struk­­tur erarbeitet. Diese wird Hin­­wei­se da­­rauf liefern, wo Ergänzungs- und Ver­­­bes­se­rungsbedarf besteht. Eine be­­son­­dere Be­­deutung wird hierbei die Schwer­­punkt­bildung des laufenden Aus­­baus der Hoch­­schule für angewandte Wis­sen­­schaften in Ingolstadt darstellen. In ei­­nem ersten Umsetzungsprojekt ist die Errichtung einer internationalen Schu­­le in In­­gol­stadt realisiert worden, die durch die intensive Kooperation zwi­­schen den Un­­ter­neh­men und den Ge­­biets­kör­per­schaften eine si­­­che­­re Grund­­­lage er­­­hält. Im Bereich Tou­­ris­mus werden ge­­gen­­wär­tig Potenziale analysiert, die Wachs­­­tums­chancen bie­­ten. Hierbei wird im laufenden Ana­ly­se­pro­zess erkennbar, dass die gemeinsame Entwicklung von Tou­ris­mus­an­ge­bo­­ten und die Wei­ter­ent­­wicklung der touristischen Infrastruktur geeignet sind, zu­­sätz­­liche Potenziale zu erschließen. Dies wird mit Maßnahmen der Wirt­schafts­för­de­rung abzustimmen sein. Die Wahr­nehm­­barkeit der Region soll auf verschiedenen Ebenen gestärkt werden. Hierzu gehören ein Re­­gio­nal­por­­tal, ein Tourismusportal sowie ein Aus­bil­­dungsportal, die kurz vor ihrem Start stehen. Kern der Wahr­nehm­­bar­keit soll ein regionales Leitbild sein, das so­­wohl nach innen als auch nach au­­­ßen für eine konsistente und glaubwürdige Er­­kenn­bar­­keit der Region sorgt. Dieses Leit­bild wird gegenwärtig in vier Zu­­kunfts­­werk­stätten erarbeit und be­­zieht mit rund 250 Beteiligten wesentliche Mul­ti­pli­ka­to­­ren und zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure der Region ein. Als weiterer Schwer­punkt der Wahr­nehm­barkeit ist das Hand­lungs­­feld Kultur herausge­arbeitet worden, das mit ei­­nem internationalen Simon Mayr Fes­­­ti­­val und der Gründung einer europäischen Jazz-Aka­­demie kulturelle Stär­­ken der Region auf­­nimmt und wesentlich weiterentwickelt.

Hopfenmuseum
Die strategische Ausrichtung von IRMA und praktische Ausfüllung der Hand­lungs­fel­der wird allerdings nicht iso­­liert betrieben, sondern gezielt mit der EMM verbunden. Wir sehen IRMA und EMM nicht in einer Konkurrenz-, sondern in einer Er­­gänzungsbeziehung. Denn die Ent­wick­lung der Region Ingolstadt kann strategisch sinnvoll nur im Kontext der Metropolregion gestaltet werden. Dies gilt für alle dargestellten Hand­lungs­fel­der. Deshalb engagiert sich die AUDI AG so­­wohl bei IRMA als auch in der EMM.
Zusammenfassend kann festgestellt wer­­den: IRMA ist als öffentlich-private Ko­­ope­­ration zu einem festen Be­­stand­teil re­­gio­­naler Entwicklung geworden, in dem Un­­ter­­nehmen nicht nur An­­for­de­run­­gen stel­­len, sondern sich in regiona­le Ent­wick­­lungsprozesse bewusst in­­te­grie­ren. Somit ist IRMA auch ein Be­­kennt­nis der Unternehmen zur Re­­gion. Hier­bei gibt uns die Entwicklung der Mit­­glie­der­zah­len Recht.

VOR090013_medium-orange-sitzendDer Autor ist Mitglied des Vorstands der AUDI AG, Vorsitzender der In­­i­­tiative Re­­gio­nalmanagement Region Ingolstadt e.V. und Vorstandsmitglied der EMM. Er wurde 1958 in Salzgitter geboren und studierte So­­zial­­wissenschaften an der Universität Göt­­tin­gen. Nach langjäh­ri­ger Tätigkeit beim Kon­­zernbetriebsrat der Volks­wa­gen AG so­­wie berufsbegleiten­der Promotion an der TU Braun­schweig wechselte er zur AUDI AG.