Dr. René Siegl: Österreich – die Brücke zu neuen Märkten

Many people still associate Austria with the Grossglockner High Alpine Road, lake Wörthersee and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra – with holiday and culture. Despite the fact that Austria – just a quarter the size of the Federal Republic of Germany and with a tenth the population – is a major player among the leading economic nations in Europe and scores big as a location for the headquarters of many international companies.

Since the European Union expanded to the east to become EU-27 in 2004, Austria has moved closer to the centre of Europe not only in geographic terms, but also in political and economic terms. The country is regarded as an ideal stepping stone for exploiting the markets in Eastern and Southern Europe today. More than 300 regional headquarters of renowned inter­­national corporations fulfil cross-border functions from their base in Austria. Com­panies with headquarters in Austria cover all sectors – from the pharmaceutical com­­pany Eli Lilly to the electronics giant Siemens to the brand name company Henkel, which is also active around the world.

In addition, around 1,000 international companies coordinate their CEE activities from Austria; some 16,000 Austrian companies have entered into joint ventures with Eastern European companies.

In return, an increasing number of com­­panies are using Austria as a stepping stone to Western Europe, partners with expertise and service providers for the European Union.

The Austrian Business Agency (ABA) has been registering steadily increasing interest from investors from the CEE/SEE region to settle in Austria for years. Roughly 2,100 Eastern European companies have already chosen to settle in Austria.

Central location and a hub function in Europe. The first on the list of the location advantages of Austria is the country’s central location, according to a recent survey conducted by the “Headquarters Austria” initiative. A market of over 50 million people is available within a radius of 400 kilometres and all of Europe can be reached within no more than three hours from Vienna International Airport. Vienna International Airport has positioned itself as the leading hub in the region in recent years, with direct service to 45 des­­ti­­nations in Central and Eastern Europe.

Austria offers strategic advantages for inter­­­­national business in its role as a junc­­tion between the North and South and East and West. Banks, tax and corporate advisers, attorneys and advertising agencies have plenty of experience in dealing with international companies and organisations.

Thanks to their knowledge and contacts, they are reliable partners for regional head­­quarters, which are responsible for emerging markets from Austria.

Purchasing power, stability and favourable corporate taxation.

However, Austria has much more to offer investors: measured in terms of purchasing power, Austria is the fourth-richest country in the EU and its economic growth is higher than the EU average. The economic and political situation is stable, the administration is transparent and when it comes to taxes, company headquarters know exactly where they stand. In Austria, limited liability com­­panies pay only 25 per cent corporate in­­come tax and no property or excise taxes. In addition, a training tax allowance can be claimed or a research grant can be obtained under certain circumstances.

Group taxation is exemplary in Europe and is particularly attractive for holding companies. The profits and losses by affiliates are compiled at the parent com­­pany and taxed uniformly there. Loss carry-­­forwards of the group’s parent company can be offset against all profits. This results in greater competitiveness in the group for the regional headquarters and reduces the risks when establishing new markets.


Gebäude_2012-Kopie Fahrrad

Turning research into success. An additional plus is the promotion of research and devel­op­ment (R&D) in Austria, which is on the way to being classified among the best in the world according to the EU Commission. wird.

Expenditures for research and development have increased significantly in Austria over the past decade – from 1.94 per cent of GDP in 2000 to 2.79 per cent in 2010.

Should this trend of the past decade continue, Austria will approach a rate of four per cent of GDP, as is stated in the first Innovation Report issued by the EU, presented in June 2011 in Brussels.

This development is considerably higher than the EU average and has made it possible for Austria to come closer to the Lisbon target set by the EU (increasing research expenditures to three per cent of GDP). Research grants for companies pursuing R&D were increased to ten per cent in 2011 and the federal government is promoting cooperation with the sciences. And it has been a success: one-fourth of the regional headquarters have already assumed R&D responsibilities within the corporate groups.

Whether pharmaceutical company, re­­search institution or high-tech start-up: any company’s headquarters can find suit­­able employees in Austria. The workforce is highly trained and particularly hard-working. This is due in large part to the Austrian education system being focused on practical skills. In addition, a growing number of skilled professionals are moving to Austria from neighbouring countries – primarily from Germany and Eastern Euro­­pean countries.

Room to work and live. Austria is also out­­standing when it comes to the quality of living. In a Mercer study, Vienna was named the city with the highest quality of life in the world. Crucial in this were three advan­­tages that top managers particularly value: a high level of security, political stability and an excellent infrastructure.

ReneSiegl12007_300dpi-KopieThe author (born in 1959) studied business administration and law (doctorate). He worked in the public affairs office of voestalpine AG, at the Girozentrale (central institute of the credit union) and as depart­­ment head for marketing and public affairs for Austria’s Arbeitsmarktservice (job market services), among other positions. Dr. Siegl has been the managing director of the Austrian Business Agency (ABA) since 1997.

Dr. René Siegl: Österreich – die Brücke zu neuen Märkten

Viele Menschen verbinden mit Öster­­reich immer noch in erster Linie Groß­glo­ckner, Wörthersee und Wiener Philharmoniker, also Urlaub und Kultur. Dabei spielt Öster­­­reich – mit gerade mal einem Viertel der Fläche der Bundesrepublik Deutsch­­land und einem Zehntel der Einwohner – auch in der Liga der führenden Wirt­schafts­­­nat­ionen Europas ganz vorne mit und punktet als Stand­ort für internationale Unter­­nehmens-Head­quarters.

Seit der Osterweiterung der Europäischen Union zur EU-27 im Jahr 2004 ist Öster­­­reich nicht nur geografisch, sondern auch politisch und wirtschaftlich noch weiter in das Zentrum Europas gerückt und gilt heute als ideales Sprungbrett für die Erschließung der Märkte in Ost- und Südosteuropa. Mehr als 300 regionale Headquarters namhafter internat­i­­onaler Konzerne nehmen von Österreich aus länderübergreifende Funktionen wahr. Die Headquarters in Österreich reichen quer durch alle Branchen – vom Pharma­­­unternehmen Eli Lilly über den Elek­tro­nik­riesen Siemens bis hin zum ebenfalls weltweit aktiven Markenartikler Henkel.

Rund 1.000 internationale Unternehmen koordinieren darüber hinaus ihre CEE-Aktivitäten von Österreich aus, etwa 16.000 österreichische Unternehmen sind Joint Ventures mit osteuropäischen Unternehmen eingegangen.
Umgekehrt nutzen immer mehr Unterneh­men Österreich als Sprung­­brett nach West­­europa und Partner mit Know-how und Dienst­­leistern für die Euro­­­päische Union.

Seit Jahren registriert der österreichische Betriebsansiedler ABA unaufhaltsam stei­­gendes Interesse von Investoren aus dem CEE/SEE-Raum an einer Ansiedlung in Österreich. Knapp 2.100 osteuropäische Firmen haben sich bereits für den Stand­ort entschieden.

Zentrale Lage und europäische Dreh­scheiben­­funktion. Allen voran auf der Liste der Stand­ort­vor­teile Österreichs steht laut einer aktuellen Umfrage der Initiative „Headquarters Austria“ die zentrale Lage des Landes. Ein Markt mit über 50 Milli­­onen Menschen erschließt sich im Um­kreis von 400 Kilo­­metern, und vom Flug­­­hafen Wien aus ist ganz Europa in maximal drei Stunden erreichbar. Mit 45 direkt angeflogenen Destinationen in Mittel- und Osteuropa hat sich der Vienna Air­­port in den vergangenen Jahren als führender Hub in der Region profiliert.

Als Nord-Süd- und Ost-West-Knoten­punkt bietet Österreich strategische Vorteile für internationale Geschäfte. Banken, Steuer- und Unternehmensberater, Rechts­­­anwälte und Werbeagenturen haben viel Erfahrung im Umgang mit internationalen Unternehmen und Orga­ni­sa­tion­en.
Sie sind mit ihrem Wissen und ihren Kontakten verlässliche Partner für regionale Headquarters, die von Österreich aus für Emerging Markets zuständig sind.

Kaufkraft, Stabilität und günstige Unter­­nehmensbesteuerung. Österreich hat aber noch mehr für Investoren zu bieten: Gemessen an der Kaufkraft ist Österreich das viertreichste Land der EU und das Wirtschaftswachstum liegt über dem EU-Durchschnitt. Die wirtschaftliche und politische Lage ist stabil, die Verwaltung transparent, und auch bei Steuern wissen Headquarters ganz genau, woran sie sind. In Österreich zahlen Kapital­gesell­­schaften nur 25 Prozent Körper­schaft­steuer – und keine Vermögens- oder Gewerbesteuer. Des Weiteren kann unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen beispiels­weise ein Bildungsfreibetrag geltend gemacht oder eine Forschungsprämie lukriert werden.

Die Gruppenbesteuerung hat europaweit Vorbildcharakter und ist besonders attraktiv für Holdings. Die Gewinne und Verluste von Tochterunternehmen werden bei der Konzernmutter zusammengefasst und dort einheitlich besteuert. Verlust­vorträge des Gruppenträgers können mit sämtlichen Gewinnen gegengerechnet werden. Für regionale Headquarters bringt das mehr Wettbewerbsfähigkeit im Kon­zern und vermindert das Risiko beim Auf­­bau neuer Märkte.


Gebäude_2012-Kopie Fahrrad

Wer forscht gewinnt. Ein weiteres Plus ist die Förderung der Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) in Österreich, die laut der EU-Kommission als auf dem Weg zur Weltspitze eingestuft wird.

Die Aus­­gaben für Forschung und Ent­wicklung haben in Österreich im letzten Jahrzehnt stark zugenommen – von 1,94 Prozent des BIP im Jahr 2000 auf 2,79 Prozent im Jahr 2010.

Sollte sich der Trend des letzten Jahrzehnts fortsetzen, wird sich Öster­­­reich bis 2020 in diesem Be­­reich einer Rate von vier Pro­­zent des BIP annähern, heißt es im ersten Inno­va­tionsbericht der Union, der im Juni 2011 in Brüssel präsentiert wurde.
Diese Entwicklung ist deutlich über dem EU-Durchschnitt und hat Österreich ermöglicht, sich dem Lissabon-Ziel der EU (die Forschungsausgaben auf drei Prozent des BIP zu steigern) anzunähern. Die Forschungsprämie für F&E treibende Unternehmen wurde 2011 auf zehn Pro­­­zent erhöht und der Staat fördert Koopera­­­tionen mit der Wissen­schaft. Mit Erfolg! Ein Viertel der regionalen Headquarters in Österreich trägt bereits F&E-Verant­wortung innerhalb des Konzerns.

Ob Pharmaunternehmen, Forschungs­stätte oder Hightech-Start-up: In Öster­­­reich findet jedes Headquarter die passenden Mitarbeiter. Die Arbeitskräfte sind hervorragend ausgebildet und be­­sonders leistungsbereit. Das ist zu einem guten Teil im praxisorientierten österreichischen Bildungssystem begründet. Außerdem ziehen immer mehr ausgezeichnete Fachkräfte aus den Nachbar­ländern – vor allem aus Deutschland sowie osteuropäischen Ländern – zu.

Raum zum Arbeiten und Leben. Auch in Sachen Lebensqualität ist Öster­­reich herausragend. Wien wurde in einer Mercer-Studie zur Stadt mit der höchsten Lebens­­qualität weltweit gekürt. Ausschlag­geb­end dafür waren drei Vorteile, die Spitzen­kräfte besonders schätzen: hohe Sicher­­­heit, politische Stabilität und die sehr gute Infrastruktur.

ReneSiegl12007_300dpi-KopieDer 1959 geborene Autor studierte Be­­triebswirtschaft und Jus (Doktorat). Er war unter anderem in der Öffentlich­kei­ts­arbeit der voestalpine AG und der Giro­­­zentrale sowie als Abteilungsleiter Mar­keting und Öffent­lichkeitsarbeit des Ar­­­­beits­­marktservice Österreichs tätig. Dr. Siegl ist seit 1997 Geschäftsführer der Austrian Business Agency (ABA).