Dr. Reinhold Mitterlehner: Austria on the rise as a business location

Despite three factors putting it in a difficult starting position – a high export quota, a close network with Eastern European countries and countless supply companies for the struggling automobile sector – Austria has come through the international financial and economic crisis of 2008 and 2009 better than many other European countries. Thanks to our efficient companies and the introduction of appropriate measures in economic stimulus programmes, we were able to manage the crisis well. We secured company financing through low-interest loans and guarantees, accelerated domestic consumption through a tax reform and created favourable conditions using measures such as short-time working. This allowed companies to keep valuable skilled workers.

All of these measures have paid off in the long run and have had a positive effect on competitiveness. These well implemented structural changes have made Austria today more crisis-resistant as a business location, able to play to its traditional ad­­van­­tages even more. These include a modern infrastructure, state-of-the-art technology, a well-trained and motivated workforce and optimum access to the important markets in Eastern and South­­eastern Europe. Austria offers political, social and economic stability paired with the highest quality of living.

Despite these already excellent conditions, we must continue to develop and constantly work on improving the necessary structures. Only this will allow us to continue to improve our international compe­titiveness and remain an attractive location for companies, which in turn create added value and jobs in Austria. We are implementing a series of measures to achieve this: With its „Triple-l Strategy“, the Federal Ministry of Economy is in­­crea­sing innovation potential, supporting in­­vestments and promoting internatio­nal­isation. At the same time, we are driving forward the changeover to a sustainable and efficient energy system. As a result of the targeted promotion of thermal redevelopment, energy is used more sparingly, while the new Green Elec­­tricity Act is driving a significant increase in the use of renewable energy, thereby opening new economic opportunities. Another key issue is the development of policies regarding families. We support families of all shapes and sizes and are making it easier to combine family life with work through a mixture of comprehensive monetary and targeted non-cash benefits.


P0037737-Kopie 602691_original_R_by_Andreas-Dengs,-www.photofreaks.ws_pixelio 457415_R_K_by_Helmut-Krückel_pixelio P90054015-Kopie

Success through innovation. Competitive technologies and products are of vital im­­­­por­­tance for an efficient and competitive Austria. We are therefore supporting the development and market introduction of innovations even more than in the past. Through the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG), we offer an additional inno­­­­vation cheque for 10,000 euros in order to motivate even more small and medium-sized companies to be­­come involved in research and development. This is in addition to a new technology cheque for 1,000 euros for innovative entrepreneurs. Funding for creativity is also being expanded, with a creative cheque for 5,000 euros for im­ple­­menting innovations on the market. Our goal is for Austria to become an „innovation leader“ among EU countries and to increase the research quota by one percentage point to 3.76 by 2020. Part of this strategy has already been implemented through the in­­crease of tax-deductible research grants from eight to ten per cent.

Investment will also continue to be encouraged. The Federal Ministry of Economy sup­­­­­­ports companies primarily through the eco­­nomic development bank Austria Wirt­­schafts­­service (aws) with grants, low-interest ERP loans and guarantees. In 2011 alone, we will provide grants of up to one billion euros, 98 per cent of which will go to small and medium-sized companies (SME). This results in a total annual invest­­­­ment volume of over 2.5 billion euros, through which around 8,000 new jobs can be created and 70,000 more secured in Austria.

New products for new markets. For decades, exports have been a guarantee of prosperity and a driving force behind growth in Austria. Every second euro is earned through exports. As part of a reorientation of our internationalisation offensive, we want to diversify in terms of both our target markets and our products, in order to benefit to an even greater extent from the tremendous growth in countries such as China, India and Brazil and the region around the Black Sea. The share of exports to non-European markets is to increase from currently 17 per cent to 30 per cent by 2020. Diver­­sification also creates new opportunities for products. Austrian companies active in the new future markets with environmentally friendly innovations, high-tech products and knowledge-based services – such as IT and online services or high-quality planning services – can benefit tremendously from this. Existing strategies such as participation in important trade events and research cooperation are supported as part of the internationa­­lisation offensive, as are the new export cheques especially directed at small and medium-sized companies. We are thereby helping companies take their first steps in exports, increase their exploitation of distant markets and market their technological innovations abroad.

More green electricity and energy efficiency. Given the nuclear disaster in Fuku­shima, the Green Electricity Act, which took effect in July 2011, is setting the right focus. We are freeing up nearly twelve billion euros in investments in sustainable technologies and strengthening the com­­petitiveness of the green electricity sector. At the same time, the Act paves the way for independence from nuclear power and turns us into an electricity-exporting nation once again. On balance, Austria benefits through greater added value, jobs and security through energy independence. With the Green Elec­tricity Act, we have taken a decisive step which allows us to expand our leading position in Europe and provide our children with a clean energy future. Already, nearly 70 per cent of Austria’s energy generation comes from water, wind, sun, biomass or biogas. This Act makes it possible to in­­crease the share of renewable energy sources to nearly 85 per cent by 2020.

Modern industry plays an important role for Austria. © BMW AG

Modern industry plays an important role for Austria. © BMW AG

Research and development are important economic factors in Austria thanks to excellent education and training standards

Research and development are important economic factors in Austria thanks to excellent education and training standards

On the basis of Austria’s energy strategy, we want to create not only a sustained, but also an efficient energy system. Because the cheapest and most environmentally friendly energy is still energy which is not used at all. To this end, we are using a wide range of measures, with which we hope to reduce and stabilise gross energy consump­tion to 2005 levels by 2020. Im­­por­­tant steps in this direction include the fund­­ing campaign for thermic redevelopment, launched in 2011, whose financing is se­­cured until 2014. The Energy Effi­ciency Act, sched­­uled to take effect in 2012, will provide more stimulus for the economical use of energy. At the same time, it is of vital importance that public awareness of the advantages of conserving energy be increased.

New choices in tourism. The tourism sector is also an important pillar of the Austrian economy. Thanks to the continually im­­proved ranges offered by the companies and a further optimised infrastructure, the summer season also brought new records in the number of guests and positive figures for overnight stays. The focussed marketing strategy of the Austrian tourism agency has played a crucial role in this. In all foreign markets, this tourism straegy for Austria concentrates on the most important and uniquely Austrian features of the Alps, river Danube and lakes, as well as cities and cultural highlights.

Strong families for a strong economy. We also want to further improve the com­­pat­ibility of family and work. The main focus here is on three pillars – financial support for families through child care and family allowances; the expansion of high-quality, needs-based and affordable child care; and promoting a family-friendly economy. In family-oriented companies, motivation in­­creases, sickness rates drop and re-entry quotas after maternity leave increase. Im­­proving family-friendliness there­­fore also provides sustainable benefits for Austria.

ImagoSource-KopieThe author is the Federal Minister for Eco­­nomy, Family and Youth in the Republic of Austria. He completed his doctoral studies in law in 1980, earning the title Dr. jur. From 1992 to 2000, Mitterlehner was the general secretary of the Österreichischer Wirtschaftsbund, before taking up the post of deputy general secretary of the Austrian Federal Chamber of Commerce from 2000 to 2008.

Dr. Reinhold Mitterlehner: Standort Österreich im Aufwind

Trotz einer dreifach ungünstigen Aus­gangs­lage – mit einer hohen Export­quote, einer engen Vernetzung mit osteuropäischen Ländern und zahlreichen Zuliefer­­firmen für den besonders hart getroffenen Automobilsektor – hat Österreich die welt­weite Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise der Jahre 2008 und 2009 besser bewältigt als viele andere europäische Staaten. Das Krisenmanagement ist uns dank leistungs­­fähiger Unternehmen und der richtigen Maßnahmen der Konjunktur­programme gut gelungen. Wir haben die Finan­zie­rung der Unternehmen durch zinsgünstige Kredite und Haftungen gesichert, den Inlands­konsum über eine Steuerreform angekurbelt und durch Instrumente wie die Kurzarbeit gute Rahmen­bedingungen geschaffen. So konnten die Betriebe auch wichtige Facharbeiter halten.

All das macht sich nachhaltig bezahlt und wirkt sich positiv auf die Wettbe­werbsfähigkeit aus. Der Standort Öster­reich ist dank des gut eingeleiteten Struk­­turwandels krisenfester und kann seine traditionellen Vorzüge noch stärker aus­­spielen. Diese sind die moderne Infra­struktur, hochwertige Technologien, gut ausgebildete und motivierte Mitarbeiter sowie der optimale Marktzugang in die wichtigen Märkte Ost- und Südost­europas. Österreich bietet politische, soziale und wirtschaftliche Stabilität gepaart mit höchster Lebensqualität.
Trotz guter Rahmenbedingungen müssen wir uns laufend weiterentwickeln und laufend an besseren Strukturen arbeiten. Nur so können wir unsere internationale Konkurrenzfähigkeit weiter ausbauen und bleiben attraktiv für Unternehmens­an­sied­lungen, die Wertschöpfung und Arbeits­plätze in Österreich schaffen. In diesem Sinne setzen wir auf allen Ebenen Maß­­nahmenpakete um: Im Rahmen der „Triple-I-­­­Strategie“ des Wirtschafts­ministeriums werden Innovationspotenziale gehoben, Investitionen unterstützt und die Inter­nationalisierung gefördert. Parallel dazu forcieren wir die Umstellung auf ein nach­­haltiges und effizientes Energiesystem: Als Folge der gezielten Förderung der ther­­mischen Sanierung wird Energie sparsamer eingesetzt, während das neue Öko­­strom­gesetz den massiven Ausbau erneuer­­barer Energien forciert und damit neue wirt­schaft­liche Chancen ermöglicht. Ein weiteres zentrales Anliegen ist die Weiter­­ent­wicklung der Familienpolitik. Durch einen Mix aus umfangreichen Geld- und gezielten Sachleistungen unterstützen wir Familien in all ihrer Vielfalt und erleichtern die Ver­ein­­­barkeit von Familie und Beruf.


P0037737-Kopie 602691_original_R_by_Andreas-Dengs,-www.photofreaks.ws_pixelio 457415_R_K_by_Helmut-Krückel_pixelio P90054015-Kopie

Mit Innovationen zum Erfolg. Für ein leistungs- und wettbewerbsfähiges Öster­­reich sind konkurrenzfähige Technologien und Produkte von entscheidender Be­­deu­­tung. Daher unterstützen wir die Ent­­wicklung und marktfähige Umsetzung von Innovationen noch stärker als früher. Über die Forschungsförderungs­gesell­schaft (FFG) bieten wir einen zusätzlichen Innovationsscheck im Wert von 10.000 Euro an, um noch mehr kleine und mittlere Unternehmen zum Einstieg in Forschung und Entwicklung zu motivieren. Dazu kommt ein neuer Technologiescheck im Wert von 1.000 Euro für innovative Gründer. Ebenfalls ausgebaut wird die Förderung für Kreativleistungen über einen Kreativ­­scheck im Wert von 5.000 Euro zur Um­­­setzung von Innovationen am Markt. Unser Ziel ist es, dass Österreich im EU-Vergleich zum „Innovation Leader“ aufsteigt und die Forschungsquote bis 2020 um einen Prozentpunkt auf 3,76 Prozent steigt. Teil dieser Strategie ist die bereits um­­gesetzte Erhöhung der steuerlichen For­­schungsprämie von acht auf zehn Prozent.

Weiterhin forciert werden auch Inves­ti­tionen. Das Wirtschaftsministerium unter­­stützt Unternehmen vor allem über die Förderbank Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) mit Zuschüssen, zinsgünstigen ERP-Krediten und Haftungen. Allein 2011 stellen wir dafür ein Fördervolumen von bis zu einer Milliarde Euro zur Verfügung, wobei 98 Pro­­­zent der Förderungen an kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) gehen. Insgesamt lösen wir so ein jährliches Investitions­volumen von über 2,5 Milliarden Euro aus, wodurch in Öster­­reich rund 8.000 neue Arbeitsplätze geschaffen und 70.000 weitere gesichert werden können.

Mit neuen Produkten in neue Märkte. Der Export ist seit vielen Jahrzehnten ein Wohlstandsgarant und Wachs­tums­treiber für Österreich. Jeder zweite Euro wird im Export verdient. Im Rahmen der Neuaus­­richtung unserer Internationali­­sierungs-Offensive wollen wir uns jedoch sowohl bei den Zielmärkten als auch bei den Pro­dukten diversifizieren, um noch stärker vom enormen Wachstum in Län­­dern wie China, Indien und Brasilien oder der Schwarz­­meer-Region zu profitieren. Bis zum Jahr 2020 soll der Export­­anteil der außer­­europäischen Märkte von derzeit rund 17 auf 30 Prozent steigen. Auch bei den Produkten schafft eine Diversifizierung neue Chancen. Punkten können österrei­­­­­­­chische Unternehmen in den neuen Zukunfts­­märkten vor allem mit Öko-Innovationen, Hightech-Pro­dukten und wissensbasier­ten Dienst­leistungen – wie zum Beispiel IT- und Online-Services oder hochwertigen Planungs­­dienst­leis­tungen. Im Rahmen der International­isie­rungs-Offensive werden bestehende Instru­­mente wie der Besuch wichtiger Branchen­treffs und die Teil­nahme an Forschungs­ko­oper­ationen genauso unter­­stützt wie die neuen Export­­­schecks speziell für kleine und mittlere Unter­nehmen. Wir helfen damit den Be­­trie­­ben beim ersten Schritt in den Export, bei der verstärkten Er­­oberung von Fern­märkten und bei der Ver­mark­tung ihrer technologischen Inno­­va­tionen im Ausland.

Mehr Ökostrom und Energieeffizienz. Angesichts der Atomkatastrophe in Fuku­­shima setzt das im Juli 2011 in Kraft ge­­tretene Ökostromgesetz die rich­­tigen Schwer­­punkte: Wir lösen rund zwölf Milli­­arden Euro an Investitionen in nachhaltige Technologien aus und stärken die Wett­­bewerbsfähigkeit der Ökostrom-Branche. Gleichzeitig ebnet die Novelle den Weg zur Atomstrom-Unabhängigkeit und macht uns wieder zum Strom­expor­­teur. Unterm Strich profitiert Öster­reich durch mehr Wertschöpfung, Arbeits­plätze und Sicher­­­­heit durch Energie­unabhängigkeit. Durch die Ökostrom-Novelle haben wir einen ent­­schei­den­den Schritt gesetzt, mit dem wir unsere Spitzenposition in Europa ausbauen und unseren Kindern eine saubere Ener­­giezukunft ermöglichen. Schon jetzt beruhen fast 70 Prozent der österreichi­­schen Stromerzeugung auf Wasser, Wind, Sonne, Biomasse oder Biogas. Durch die Novelle wird der Anteil er­neu­er­ba­rer Energieträger bis zum Jahr 2020 auf rund 85 Prozent steigen.

Die moderne Industrie spielt für Österreich eine wichtige Roll.

Die moderne Industrie spielt für Österreich eine wichtige Roll.

pharmaceutical_filling_01_300

orschung und Entwicklung sind dank eines guten Ausbildungniveaus in Österreich wichtige Wirtschaftsfaktoren.

Auf Basis der Energiestrategie Österreich wollen wir nicht nur ein nachhaltiges, sondern auch ein effizientes Energie­system schaffen. Denn die billigste und umweltfreundlichste Energie ist immer noch die, die man gar nicht verbraucht. In diesem Sinne wollen wir den Brutto­end­energieverbrauch durch zahlreiche Maßnahmen drosseln und bis zum Jahr 2020 auf dem Niveau von 2005 stabilisieren. Wichtige Schritte in diese Richtung setzt zum Beispiel die 2011 neu gestartete Förderoffensive für die thermische Sanierung, deren Finanzie­rung bis zum Jahr 2014 gesichert ist. Impulse für einen sparsameren Einsatz von Energie wird zudem das für 2012 geplante Energie­effi­zienzgesetz setzen. Gleichzeitig ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass sich das öffentliche Bewusstsein für die Vorteile des Ener­­giesparens erhöht.

Neue Angebote im Tourismus. Auch die Tourismusbranche ist eine wichtige Stütze der österreichischen Konjunktur. Dank des laufend verbesserten Angebotes der Betriebe und einer weiter optimierten Infrastruktur wurden auch in der Som­­mersaison neue Gäste-Rekorde und positive Nächtigungszahlen verzeichnet. Mit­­ent­­scheidend dafür ist das fokussierte Marketing der Österreich Werbung. Ganz im Sinne der Tourismusstrategie Öster­reich konzentrieren wir uns in allen Aus­­landsmärkten auf die wichtigsten öster­reichischen Alleinstellungsmerkmale Alpen, Donau und Seen sowie Städte und Kultur.

Starke Familien für eine starke Wirt­schaft. Weiter erhöhen wollen wir auch die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf. Der Fokus liegt hier auf drei Säulen – auf der finanziellen Unterstützung für Familien durch Kinderbetreuungsgeld und Familienbeihilfe, auf dem Ausbau qualitativ hochwertiger, bedarfsgerechter und erschwinglicher Kinderbetreu­ungs­angebote sowie dem Forcieren einer familienfreundlichen Wirtschaft. Denn in familienorientierten Unternehmen steigt die Motivation, gehen die Kran­kenstände zurück und verbessert sich die Rück­kehr­quote aus der Karenz. Daher stärkt der Ausbau der Familien­freund­lichkeit auch nachhaltig den Standort Österreich.

ImagoSource-KopieDer 1955 geborene Autor ist Bundes­minister der Republik Österreich für Wirt­­­schaft, Familie und Jugend. 1980 schloss er sein Studium der Rechts­wissen­schaften mit dem akademischen Grad des Dr. jur. ab. Dr. Reinhold Mitterlehner war von 1992 bis 2000 Generalsekretär des Öster­reichischen Wirtschaftsbundes und von 2000 bis 2008 Generalsekre­­­­tär-Stell­ver­­treter der Wirtschaftskammer Öster­­­­­­reich.