Dr. Ralf Beil: Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt – world vision and the art of living

“We want to build a city, a whole city! Nothing else will be sufficient! The government should give us (…) a field and there we will then create a world.” These words by the architect Joseph Maria Olbrich, one of the driving forces of the Darmstadt artists’ colony around 1900, crystallise particularly that spirit of awakening and renewal, this perfectly unbridled vitality empowering the youth yearning for pro­­gress in the face of the new century. Youth? Yes. The youngest of Olbrich’s fellow campaigners, Paul Bürck and Patriz Huber, came to Mathildenhöhe at 21, the eldest, Hans Christiansen, was just 33 years old. Style? Yes. Style and awareness of form wasn’t lacking with the seven original multi-talents, these architects, painters, sculptors and craftsmen who were to shape the Darmstadt artists’ colony from 1899, without a doubt. But, was the result really “only” Art Nouveau (Jugendstil) in the end? This label is firmly established – but is it really appropriate?

In any case it seems to me that “Art Nouveau” (“Jugendstil”) as a term and concept leaves much to be desired as a description of all that the Darmstadt artists’ colony really constitutes. For me as director of the Darmstadt Mathilden­höhe it is fascinating how this extraordinary art initiative from around 1900 to this day emanates this noticeable artistic energy of the Mathildenhöhe, caused by the will to create a new world – and surely not as model, but in a 1 : 1 scale.

Der_Kuss_Kleukens

Of the energy of the Utopian. Here in Darmstadt we were and are concerned with matters larger than the design of a saucer or the design of a bookmark, as much as the artisans’ finesse and the stylised, streamlined beauty of these indi­­vidual objects repeatedly elicit admiration. Olbrich’s words quoted above express unmistakably: An aesthetically pleasing as well as an effective in the urban environ­ment synthesis of the arts was the goal. The artists’ colony initiated by the Hessian Grand Duke Ernst Ludwig aimed at some­­thing that is today more significant than ever: the appreciation of the environment as a whole and the attempt to create more than just a world of everyday life. Here on the Mathildenhöhe, at that time no exhibitions containing arbitrarily prefabricated works took place but what emerged were, for example, events like the ground­­breaking exhibition “A Docu­ment of Ger­man Art” from 1901, totally and completely aesthetically designed artists’ houses specially built for the occasion.
Again Olbrich said: “What good are three, five, ten beautiful houses, if the chair therein isn’t beautiful or the plates are not beautiful? No – a field, otherwise it can’t be done. An empty, wide field and there we then want to illustrate what we are capable of: within the whole facility and down to the last detail …”

Alexandraweg-23-gr.-Glückerth_nikolaus_heiss

That was the new idea, which was the true purpose of the innovative artists’ colony: to gather world vision in utmost aesthetical densification. It is important to remain conscious of this eminent creative energy – and to again and again transfer it into our present.

Since 1900, the “Institut Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt”, as an internationally oriented multi-disciplinary house of the visual and applied arts, together with its striking exhibition buildings, including the “Wedding Tower”, the “Artists’ Colony Museum” as well as the city’s art collection, has been an exceptional place of exploration, presen­­tation and communication of art and cul­­ture with special emphasis on the present.

Here beats the aesthetic heart of Darm­stadt. On the one hand, we preserve the rich cultural heritage of the worldwide unique Darmstadt artists’ colony; on the other hand, we make just this very historical setting of Art Nouveau dynamic for the present. Since the legendary foun­­d­ing era around 1900, Mathildenhöhe has time and again been a place for cel­ebrations and festive occasions, a place of integrated identification endowment for many people far beyond the borders of Darmstadt. To this, the Institut Mathilden­­höhe seamlessly connects with its present work: as cultural producer of world class, born of the spirit of embracing the art of living, deeply connected with the history of the new philosophy of life, through its vivid, highly multifaceted activities such as exhibitions, publications, gallery openings, special events of various kinds, from concerts to panel discussions and lectures up to film nights and illumination festi­­vals, it provides a major impetus and cultural surplus value for the Rhine-Main region with consistent national and inter­­national orientation. The planned long-term communication offensive of the Institut Mathildenhöhe with guided tours, workshops, children’s days and family weeks consciously addresses the whole spectrum of a public interested in culture in the broadest sense. The once described as Darmstadt’s “City Crown” and “Acropolis” elevation of the arts pre­­sents itself as a contemporary cul­­­tural ‘doer’, equally significant in its demand and its popularity.

It is an open house, which is centered around the approach to come closer to its audiences and to continuously ex­­pand those.

olbrich_ausstellungsansicht008

The “Institut Mathildenhöhe” is therefore equally interesting for visitors from home and abroad as it is for the sponsors and patrons of the arts from the economy and sciences: as a programmatic place of intensity and densification for aesthetic and hedonistic questioning with a highly impressive ambience of architecture and garden art, the “Institut Mathildenhöhe” casually embodies all those aspects, which today are conventionally understood as “location factor culture”. Already, the “Ins­t­i­tut Mathildenhöhe” acts with its unique and entire ensemble as a beacon of parti­c­ular charisma far beyond the Rhine-Main region. Through continuous quality assurance and a consistent commitment to the public, this most vibrant cultural heritage will continue to gain in importance in the future.

From time to time, the “Institut Mathilden­­höhe”, which is already seen as “World Heritage” due to its architectural Art Nouveau icons, works very deliberately on par with the present. Only thus can this culture-historical eminent place do justice to its founding fathers, the Grand Duke Ernst Ludwig of Hessen-Darmstadt and the Viennese architect Joseph Maria Olbrich, who created this place not only for the discourse with art and culture, but at the same time wanted to offer to local handicrafts, trades and industries an inspiring and invigorating environment. This aspect of the Mathildenhöhe has not even lost in importance in the changed context of a science city of the 21st century. On the contrary: the interdisciplinary pooling of creative energy seems more relevant than ever. The “Institut Mathilden­­höhe” as sponsoring organisation of this historical site is prepared and in the best position to take over the catalyst role for life and art in and around Darmstadt. Here, not only central artistic world visions are gathered and discussed, here the present becomes conscious and history comes alive – for everyone.

Ralf-Beil-vor-dem-Ausstellungsgebäude-MathildenhöheThe author was born in Kobe/Japan in 1965. With a doctorate in art history, he worked from 1990 to 1998 as an art critic for Artefactum, the Neue Züricher Zeitung (a Zurich newspaper), the Art Bulletin and Art Forum International. Until 2005 he worked as curator and conservator at the art museums of Bern and Lausanne. Since January 2006, Dr. Ralf Beil has been director of the Institut Mathildenhöhe Darm­­stadt.

Dr. Ralf Beil: Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt – Weltentwurf und Lebenskunst

„Eine Stadt wollen wir erbauen, eine ganze Stadt! Alles andere ist nichts! Die Regie­­rung soll uns (…) ein Feld geben, und da wollen wir dann eine Welt schaffen.“ Diese Worte des Architekten Joseph Maria Olbrich, einer der treibenden Kräfte der Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie um 1900, kristallisieren ebenjenen Geist des Auf­­bruchs, der geradezu ungebremsten Vita­lität, der sich einer nach Fortschritt sehnenden Jugend im Angesicht des neuen Jahrhunderts bemächtigte. Jugend? Ja. Die jüngsten Mitstreiter Olbrichs, Paul Bürck und Patriz Huber, kamen mit 21 auf die Mathildenhöhe, der älteste, Hans Christiansen, war gerade einmal 33 Jahre alt. Stil? Ja. Stil- und Formbewusstsein hatten diese ersten sieben Multitalente, diese Architekten, Maler, Bildhauer und Kunsthandwerker, die die Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie ab 1899 prägen sollten, zweifellos. Doch: War es wirklich „nur“ Jugendstil, was am Ende dabei herauskam? Das Etikett haftet fest – doch ist es wirklich treffend?

Mir jedenfalls scheint „Jugendstil“ als Begriff zu kurz zu greifen, um das zu be­­­schreiben, was die Darmstädter Künstler­­kolonie wirklich ausmacht. Was mich als Direktor der Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt an dieser außergewöhnlichen Kunstini­tiative um 1900 fasziniert, das ist die bis heute spürbare künstlerische Energie der Mathildenhöhe, entstanden durch den Willen, eine neue Welt zu schaffen – und zwar nicht als Modell, sondern im Maßstab 1 : 1.

Der_Kuss_Kleukens

Von der Energie des Utopischen. Hier in Darmstadt ging und geht es um Größeres als das Design einer Untertasse oder den Entwurf eines Lesezeichens, so sehr die kunsthandwerkliche Finesse und stilisierte Schönlinigkeit dieser Einzelobjekte immer wieder Bewunderung auszulösen vermag. Olbrichs eingangs zitierte Worte sprechen es unmissverständlich aus: Ein sowohl ästhetisch wie urbanistisch wirksames Gesamtkunstwerk war das Ziel. Die durch den hessischen Großherzog Ernst Ludwig initiierte Künstlerkolonie zielte auf etwas, das heute bedeutsamer ist denn je: die Aufwertung der Lebensumgebung als Ganzes, der Versuch, eine mehr als nur alltägliche Lebenswelt zu gestalten.

Hier auf der Mathildenhöhe fanden da­­mals keine Ausstellungen beliebig vorgefertigter Werke statt, sondern es ent­­standen, wie etwa bei der bahnbrechenden Aus­stellung „Ein Dokument deutscher Kunst“ von 1901, eigens für den Anlass errichtete, ganz und gar ästhetisch durch­­gestaltete Künstlerhäuser. Noch­mals Olbrich: „Was nützen drei, fünf, zehn schöne Häuser, wenn darin die Sessel nicht schön sind oder die Teller nicht schön sind? Nein – ein Feld, anders ist es nicht zu machen.
Ein leeres, weites Feld, und da wollen wir dann zeigen, was wir können: in der ganzen Anlage und bis ins letzte Detail …“

Das war das Neue, das war die eigentliche Bestimmung der innovativen Künstler­kolonie: Weltentwürfe in äußerster ästhetischer Verdichtung zu versammeln. Diese eminente kreative Energie gilt es im Bewusstsein zu halten – und immer wieder in unsere Gegenwart zu überführen.

Alexandraweg-23-gr.-Glückerth_nikolaus_heiss

Das Institut Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt ist seit 1900 als international ausgerichtetes Mehrspartenhaus der bildenden und angewandten Künste mit seinem markanten Ausstellungsgebäude samt Hochzeitsturm, dem Museum Künstler­kolonie sowie der städtischen Kunst­sammlung ein in jeder Hinsicht außer­ge­­wöhnlicher Ort der Erforschung, Präsen­tation und Vermittlung von Kunst und Kultur mit einem besonderen Schwer­punkt auf der Gegenwart.

Hier schlägt das ästhetische Herz Darm­­stadts. Einerseits bewahren wir das reiche kulturelle Erbe der weltweit einzigartigen Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie, zum anderen dynamisieren wir ebendiesen historischen Schauplatz des Jugendstils für die Jetztzeit. Seit der legendären Grün­dungs­ära um 1900 ist die Mathildenhöhe immer wieder ein Ort der Feste und feier­­lichen Anlässe, ein Ort ganzheitlicher Identifikationsstiftung für Menschen weit über Darmstadt hinaus. Daran knüpft das Institut Mathildenhöhe mit seiner heutigen Tätigkeit nahtlos an: Als Kultur­­produzent erster Güte, geboren aus dem Geist der Lebenskunst, tief verbunden mit der Geschichte neuzeitlicher Lebens­reform, liefert es durch seine rege, höchst facettenreiche Aktivität an Ausstellungen, Publikationen, Vernissagen, Sonder­an­lässen verschiedenster Art, von Konzerten über Podiumsdiskussionen und Vorträgen bis hin zu Filmnächten und Illuminations­­­festen, wesentliche Impulse und kulturelle Mehrwerte für die Rhein-Main-Region mit konsequent nationaler und internationaler Orientierung. Die langfristig ange­­legte Vermittlungsoffensive des Instituts Mathilden­­höhe mit Führungen, Work­shops, Kindertagen und Familienwochen spricht bewusst das ganze Spektrum der im weitesten Sinn kulturell interessierten Öffentlichkeit an. Die einst als „Stadtkrone“ und „Akropolis“ Darmstadts bezeichnete Anhöhe der Künste präsentiert sich damit als zeitgemäßer Kultur­täter, für den Anspruch wie Zuspruch gleichermaßen bedeutsam sind – als offenes Haus, das sich gezielt seinen Publikumsschichten nähert und diese kontinuierlich erweitert.
Das Institut Mathildenhöhe ist deshalb gleichermaßen für Besucher aus dem In- und Ausland wie für die an kulturellem Engagement interessierten Sponsoren und Förderer der Künste aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft interessant: Als programmatischer Ort der Intensität und Verdichtung ästhetischer und lebenskünstlerischer Fragestellungen mit einem höchst beeindruckenden Ambiente aus Architektur und Gartenkunst verkörpert das Institut Mathildenhöhe zwanglos all jene Aspekte, die heute gemeinhin unter „Standortfaktor Kultur“ verstanden werden. Schon jetzt wirkt das Institut Mathilden­höhe mit seinem einmaligen Gesamt­ensemble als Leuchtturm von besonderer Ausstrahlung weit über die Rhein-Main-Region hinaus. Durch kontinuierliche Qualitätssicherung und konsequente Publikumsbindung wird dieses höchst lebendige Kulturerbe in Zukunft weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen.

olbrich_ausstellungsansicht008

Mitunter bereits als „Weltkulturerbe“ gehandelt wegen seiner baulichen Jugend­­stil-Ikonen, arbeitet das Institut Mathilden­­höhe ganz bewusst auf Augenhöhe mit der Gegenwart. Nur so kann dieser kulturgeschichtlich eminente Ort seinen Gründungsvätern, dem Großherzog Ernst Ludwig von Hessen-Darmstadt und dem Wiener Architekten Joseph Maria Olbrich, gerecht werden, die nicht nur einen Platz zur Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst und Kultur schufen, sondern zugleich dem örtlichen Handwerk, dem Handel und der Industrie ein inspirierendes und belebendes Umfeld bieten wollten. Dieser Aspekt der Mathildenhöhe hat auch im veränderten Kontext der Wissen­schafts­stadt des 21. Jahrhunderts nichts an Bedeutung verloren. Im Gegenteil: Die spartenübergreifende Bündelung kreativer Energie scheint aktueller denn je. Das Institut Mathildenhöhe als Träger­orga­nisation des historischen Ortes ist bereit und bestens in der Lage, diese Katalysatoren-Rolle für Leben und Kunst in und um Darmstadt zu übernehmen. Hier werden nicht nur zentrale künstlerische Weltentwürfe versammelt und dis­­kutiert, hier wird Gegenwart bewusst und Geschichte lebendig – für jede und jeden.

Ralf-Beil-vor-dem-Ausstellungsgebäude-MathildenhöheDer Autor wurde 1965 in Kobe/Japan geboren. Der promovierte Kunst­historiker war von 1990 bis 1998 Kunstkritiker für Artefactum, die Neue Züricher Zeitung, das Kunst-Bulletin und Kunstforum Inter­­national. Bis 2005 wirkte er als Ausstel­lungs­­ku­­ra­tor und Kon­­­servator an den Kunstmuseen Bern und Lau­­san­­ne. Seit Januar 2006 ist Dr. Ralf Beil Direktor des Instituts Mathildenhöhe Darm­­stadt.