Dr. Ralf Beil: The energy of the utopian

In my opinion, the term “Jugendstil” seems to fall short of describing what the Darmstadt artist colony really represents. As director of Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt, what fascinates me about that extraordinary art initiative of around 1900 is the still palpable artistic energy of the Mathildenhöhe, emerged from the will to create a new world – and not in miniature, but at full scale.

Here in Darmstadt, it was and is about something bigger than the design of a saucer or a bookmark, no matter how much admiration the artisan finesse and stylized lines of such individual objects may generate. Olbrich’s statement quoted above expresses this unmistakably: the goal was an equally aesthetic and effective, complete urban artwork. The artist colony, initiated by the Hessian Grand Duke Ernest Louis, aimed for something that today is more important than ever: the valorization of the living environment as a whole, the attempt to create a more-than-just-routine world to live in.

140606-P6

We want to build a city, an entire city! Everything else is nothing! The government should provide us with (…) a field, where we will then create a world.” Those words of the architect Joseph Maria Olbrich, who was one of the driving forces of the Darmstadt artist colony on the Mathildenhöhe around 1900, described that very spirit of emergence, of virtually unhindered vitality, which seized a youth longing for progress in view of the new century. Youth? Indeed. Olbrich’s youngest fellow campaigners, Paul Bürck and Patriz Huber, were 21 when they came to the Mathildenhöhe – the oldest one, Hans Christiansen, was just about 33 years old. Style? Indeed. The first seven universal talents, those architects, painters, sculptors and artisans who were going to shape the Darmstadt artist colony from 1899, undoubtedly possessed a style and form awareness. Nevertheless: was it really “just” Jugendstil which finally emerged? The label clings tightly – but is it appropriate?

In my opinion, the term “Jugendstil” seems to fall short of describing what the Darmstadt artist colony really represents. As director of Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt, what fascinates me about that extraordinary art initiative of around 1900 is the still palpable artistic energy of the Mathildenhöhe, emerged from the will to create a new world – and not in miniature, but at full scale.

Here in Darmstadt, it was and is about something bigger than the design of a saucer or a bookmark, no matter how much admiration the artisan finesse and stylized lines of such individual objects may generate. Olbrich’s statement quoted above expresses this unmistakably: the goal was an equally aesthetic and effective, complete urban artwork. The artist colony, initiated by the Hessian Grand Duke Ernest Louis, aimed for something that today is more important than ever: the valorization of the living environment as a whole, the attempt to create a more-than-just-routine world to live in.

Here on the Mathildenhöhe, there were no exhibitions of random, premade works; instead, it was downright aesthetic artists’homes that emerged, built for the occasion, worked out to the last detail, just like the ground-breaking exhibition “A Document of German Art” of 1901. Olbrich again: “What good are three, five, ten pretty houses if the chairs or plates inside of them are not pretty? No, we need a field – it cannot be done in any other way. A wide, empty field, where we will show what we can do: with the entire project, down to the last detail …”

 


MKK_innen_fenster_daniele_iezzi

That was the novelty, that was the purpose of the innovative artist colony: to gather world designs in an extremely aesthetic concentration. The challenge is to remain aware of that eminent creative energy – and to transfer it, time and again, into our present.

Ralf-Beil-vor-dem-Ausstellungsgebäude-MathildenhöheDr. Ralf Beil was born in Kobe (Japan) in 1965. He studied art history, German philology and philolsophy in Freiburg im Breisgau and in Paris, where he obtained a “Maîtrise d’histoire de l’art et d’archéologie” at the Université Paris-Sorbonne. The author obtained a doctorate at the comprehensive university of Essen. From 1990 to 1998, he was active as independent exhibition curator and art critic for Artefactum, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Kunst-Bulletin, and Kunstforum International. From 1999 to 2003, he worked as exhibition curator and conservator for the painting and sculpture collection of the Bern art museum. In 2004/2005, he was conservator and exhibition curator for the 20th and 21st centuries at the Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts Lausanne. Since January 2006, Dr. Ralf Beil has been director of the Darmstadt Mathildenhöhe Institute.

Dr. Ralf Beil: Die Energie des Utopischen

„Eine Stadt wollen wir erbauen, eine ganze Stadt! Alles andere ist nichts! Die Regierung soll uns (…) ein Feld geben, und da wollen wir dann eine Welt schaffen.“ Diese Worte des Architekten Joseph Maria Olbrich, einer der treibenden Kräfte der Darmstädter Künstler­kolonie Mathildenhöhe um 1900, beschreiben eben jenen Geist des Aufbruchs, der geradezu ungebremsten Vitalität, der sich einer nach Fortschritt sehnenden Jugend im Angesicht des neuen Jahrhunderts bemächtigte. Jugend? Ja. Die jüngsten Mitstreiter Olbrichs, Paul Bürck und Patriz Huber, kamen mit 21 auf die Mathildenhöhe – der älteste, Hans Christiansen, war gerade einmal 33 Jahre alt. Stil? Ja. Stil- und Form­bewusstsein hatten die ersten sieben Multitalente, diese Architekten, Maler, Bildhauer und Kunsthandwerker, die die Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie ab 1899 prägen sollten, zweifellos. Doch: War es wirklich „nur“ Jugendstil, was am Ende dabei herauskam? Das Etikett haftet fest – doch ist es wirklich zutreffend?

140606-P6

Mir jedenfalls scheint „Jugendstil“ als Begriff zu kurz zu greifen, um das zu beschreiben, was die Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie wirklich ausmacht. Was mich als Direktor der Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt an dieser außergewöhnlichen Kunstinitiative um 1900 fasziniert, das ist die bis heute spürbare künstlerische Energie der Mathilden­höhe, entstanden durch den Willen, eine neue Welt zu schaffen – und zwar nicht als Modell, sondern im Maßstab 1:1.

Hier in Darmstadt ging und geht es um Größeres als das Design einer Untertasse oder den Entwurf eines Lesezeichens, so sehr die kunsthandwerkliche Finesse und stilisierte Schönlinigkeit dieser Einzelobjekte immer wieder Bewunderung auszulösen vermag. Olbrichs eingangs zitierte Worte sprechen es unmissverständlich aus: Ein sowohl ästhetisch wie urbanistisch wirksames Gesamtkunstwerk war das Ziel. Die durch den hessischen Großherzog Ernst Ludwig initiierte Künstlerkolonie zielte auf etwas, das heute bedeutsamer ist denn je:
die Aufwertung der Lebensumgebung als Ganzes, den Versuch, eine mehr als nur alltägliche Lebenswelt zu gestalten. Hier auf der Mathildenhöhe fanden damals keine Ausstellungen beliebig vorgefertigter Werke statt, sondern es entstanden, wie etwa bei der bahnbrechenden Ausstellung „Ein Dokument deutscher Kunst“ von 1901, eigens für den Anlass errichtete, ganz und gar ästhetisch durchgestaltete Künstlerhäuser. Nochmals Olbrich: „Was nützen drei, fünf, zehn schöne Häuser, wenn darin die Sessel nicht schön sind oder die Teller nicht schön sind? Nein – ein Feld, anders ist es nicht zu machen. Ein leeres, weites Feld, und da wollen wir dann zeigen, was wir können: in der ganzen Anlage und bis ins letzte Detail …“


MKK_innen_fenster_daniele_iezzi

Das war das Neue, das war die eigentliche Bestimmung der innovativen Künstlerkolonie: Weltentwürfe in äußer­ster ästhetischer Verdichtung zu versammeln. Diese eminente kreative Energie gilt es im Bewusstsein zu halten – und immer wieder in unsere Gegenwart zu überführen.

Ralf-Beil-vor-dem-Ausstellungsgebäude-MathildenhöheDr. Ralf Beil wurde 1965 in Kobe/Japan geboren. Er studierte Kunstgeschichte, Germanistik und Philosophie in Freiburg im Breisgau und Paris, Maîtrise d’histoire de l’art et d’archéologie an der Université Paris-Sorbonne. Der Autor promovierte an der Gesamthochschule Essen. Von 1990 bis 1998 war er als freier Ausstellungskurator und Kunstkritiker für Artefactum, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Kunst-Bulletin und Kunstforum International tätig. Von 1999 bis 2003 arbeitete er als Ausstellungskurator und Konservator der Gemälde- und Skulpturensammlung am Kunstmuseum Bern. 2004/2005 war er Konservator und Ausstellungskurator für das 20. und 21. Jahrhundert am Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts Lausanne. Seit Januar 2006 ist Dr. Ralf Beil Direktor des Instituts Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt.