Dr. Paul Beinhofer: Wine. World Heritage. Business. Lower Franconia’s dynamics beyond the stereotypes

It is certainly true that, for outsiders, the enchanting Lower Franconia and its idyllic landscapes belie the true potential and dynamism of the
region’s companies. “Highly underestimated!” is our verdict. Regional President Dr. Paul Beinhofer explains why.

 

24302

Wine – World Heritage – business: the stereotype associates Lower Franconia primarily with premium Fran­conian wines, such as those from Würzburg, Iphofen or Bürgstadt, as well as art and culture, and names such as Walter von der Vogelweide, Tilmann Riemenschneider and Balthasar Neumann. But Lower Franconia is much more, specifically a fortunate symbiosis of apparently contradict­­ing values. On the one hand, tan­gible history, the home­ of cultural assets of international standing and love­ly landscapes; and on the other, a dynamically growing high-tech region, which is among the leaders in Europe.

With nine districts and the cities of Aschaffenburg, Würzburg and Schweinfurt, Lower Franconia’s 8,531 square kilometres are home to about 1.3 million inhabitants. These three regional centres and 20 smaller towns provide the population and business in this originally rural region with a comprehensive, clearly structured and fully functional network of urban centres. The region’s landscape is characterised by three main features: arable land, the valleys cut by the Main river and its tributaries with their vineyard-dominated landscapes, and the wooded hills of the Spessart, Odenwald, Rhön, Steigerwald and Hassberge, which frame it all.


24301

Convenient strategic location with an excellent transport infrastructure. Lower Franconia has a clear USP. Located in the heart of Germany while also part of the state of Bavaria, the region is Bavaria’s German geographical centre.

Put in economically exploitable terms, this means: a central location, politically stable, reliable conditions and the positive image that comes with belonging to Bavaria – a brand with positive associations around the world. However, it takes two more factors to turn the central location into a decisive location advantage for the local economy: the excellent quality of the transport infrastructure and the proximity to the neighbouring urban centres.

Lower Franconia is well integrated into the European long-distance road network through its federal motorways (A3, A7, A70, A71, A81, A45). Trains also provide excellent connections, primarily through the high- speed rail hub in Würzburg and the highspeed train stop in Aschaffenburg. The region’s location between the conurbations of Frankfurt-Rhine-Main to the west, Nuremberg-Fürth-Erlangen to the east and Stuttgart to the south allows fast and convenient access to all these airports. The regional airports in Giebelstadt and Haß­­furt provide business travellers with additional options for private international trips. The traffic infrastructure is completed by the Main river federal waterway – histor­i­cally the economic backbone of the region. The Main-Danube waterway today connects ports between the North Sea and the Black Sea, while also providing the basis for a booming tourism option: river cruises.

IMG_9259

Research and science as the basis for innovations. The innovative capabilities of Lower Franconia’s people and companies play a crucial role in making the region so competitive. The University of Würzburg and the iniversities of applied sciences in Aschaffenburg and Würzburg-Schweinfurt taught approx. 37,000 students during the 2013/2014 winter semester. The Julius Maxi­­milian University of Würzburg is both one of Germany’s oldest and one of its most modern universities. Various new, pri­marily technology-focussed degree programmes, such as Nanostructure Technology, Technology of Functional Materials, and Information Technology represent the key technologies of the future.

In addition, the region benefits from the competencies of renowned research institutes such as the Fraunhofer Institute for Silicate Research (ISC), the German Plastics­ Center (SKZ), the Bavarian Center for Applied Energy Research (ZAE-Bayern), the MRB Research Center for Magnetic-Resonance-Bavaria and the ZfT Zentrum für Telematik. Established in 2011, the Frauenhofer project group Nano X-ray Systems­ for Material Characterization develops x-ray­­­ micros­­copy testing systems for non-destruc­tive materials testing at the micro and nano scales – a challenge for many production companies.

The foundation of a Frauenhofer Translation Center for Medical Products and Cell-Based Regenerative Therapies is intended to help bring findings from materials re­search and regenerative medicine to people faster via clinical application. As a medical location, Würzburg is currently benefiting from the foundation of a Max-Planck Re­­search­ Group for System Immunology at the­­ Julius Maxi­milian­­ University of Würzburg.­

 

IMG_2343_r_kl-kopieren

Further factors in the region’s competency in electromobility include the model city Bad­­ Neu­­­­stadt with its projects, the technology transfer centre for electromobility at Würzburg-­­­Schweinfurt­­ University of Applied Sciences in Bad Neustadt and the research activities of the Fraunhofer-Institute ISC in the field of applied electrochemistry. Since September 2011, the Aschaffenburg Center for Scientific Services (ZeWiS) in Obernburg has been supporting cooperation and ex­­change between Aschaffenburg University of Applied Sciences and companies from the Lower Main region of Bavaria. ZeWiS focuses on the important pioneering fields of materials research, information technology and information systems, intelligent systems and automation as well as issues involving energy efficiency. The establishment of the Fraunhofer Technology Transfer Centre at Aschaffenburg University of Applied Sciences will further strengthen Bavaria’s Lower Main region as a business location. The focus in Aschaf­­fenburg will be on raw materials research. This ties in with the Pro­ject Group for Materials Recycling and Re­­source Strategies (IWKS) established in the region by the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft in 2011.

Lower Franconia thus offers excellent employment pro­spects. The unemployment rate is very low; generally even below the outstanding average for Bavaria as a whole.

Competency profile: automotive/mechanical engineer­ing, health/biomedicine, new materials. A well-founded com­­petency field­analysis has given Main-Franconia an ob­­jec­­­­tive basis for decision-making. According­ to the analysis, our region possesses out­stand­­­­ing competencies in the areas of automotive/mechanical engineering and health/biomedicine. Further-more, Lower Fran­­conia stands out in the cross-sectional technology of new ma­terials, in particular due to the research insti­­tutions based in the region, the Fraunhofer Institute for Silicate Research, the German Plastics Center (SKZ) and the faculties of the University of Würzburg that cooperate with them. This competency field is now re­­ceiving long-term support in the form of the Technology of Functional Mate­­­rials degree pro­­­gramme, which has been offered since the winter semester 2006/2007. Finally, significant growth has also been achieved by the logistics sector. The Lower Main region of Bavaria in particular has de­­ve­­­­loped into an important logistics hub.

IMG_9259

The core competence field of automotive/mechanical engineering is characterised by products in precision and roller bearing technology, braking and coupling systems, control and drive technology, vehicle safety (airbags), hydraulics, printing presses and electric motors and operating systems for motor vehicles. Inno­­vative high-tech products from automotive supply com­panies and successful global players in mechanical engi­­neering can look back at a long tradition in Lower Fran­­conia. The region is home to renowned companies steeped in tradition, such as Bosch Rexroth, Schaeffler Tech­nologies GmbH & Co. KG with its FAG brand, ZF Sachs, Linde Material Handling GmbH, TRW Automotive, Takata­ AG, Reis-Robotics and Koenig & Bauer.

The health competence field ranges from research-intense biotech and medical technology to hospitals and rehabilitation centres, all the way to the wellness sector. To support this, the University of Würzburg conducts research at 25 institutes and research centres as well as in eight Collaborative Research Centres related to medicine and human biology. The Rudolf Virchow Center for Exper­imental Biomedicine is one of three centres of excellence run by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and conducts top research into key proteins. The health resort and well­ness sector is concentrated in the “Spa Region Bavarian Rhoen” which also in­cludes Germany’s most famous spa town, Bad Kissingen. The town of Bad Neustadt is the home to one of Germany’s largest non-university cardiac centres with its cardiovascular clinic.


KBA-29014-028

­­Numerous well-connected initiatives are dedicated to demographic change in Lower Franconia. Important players in this field include the two regional marketing initiatives Region Mainfranken GmbH and Initiative Bayerischer Untermain. They work across all institutions, for example to secure the supply of skilled professionals, thus strengthening the region in times of demographic change. Everyone benefits: companies, educational and research institutions, and even cities and communities as they become attractive places to live.

Lower Franconia has already faced up to the issue of energy with considerable dedication in the past. For example, the region plays a leading role in Bavaria when it comes to wind energy. As of June 2014, there were 163 wind power plants in Lower Franconia.

In short, Lower Franconia stands out as a strong business location with a particularly high quality of life. Its diverse research and development landscape combined with outstanding ties to industry, trades and services provides excellent spill-over advantages for companies and graduates and guarantees the best opportunities for the future in the region. Lower Franconia is a walking advertisement for Bavaria in the heart of Germany. It benefits from its proximity to neighbouring urban centres while also­­ enjoying its own unique profile with an outstanding (transport) infrastructure.

As a result of its many high-tech companies, Lower Franconia has been named one of the ten strongest high-tech regions in Europe by the EU’s statistical agency, Eurostat.

Beinhofer_Grusswort_Alternativbild-kopierenThe author was born in Munich in 1953. He studied law and gained his doctorate­­ in 1981. From 1997, he was both deputy head of the government of the Upper Palatinate (in Northern Bavaria) and simultaneously lecturer at the Faculty of Law of the University of Regensburg. Dr. Paul Beinhofer has been head of the government of the Lower Franconian regional authority since 2000.

Dr. Paul Beinhofer: Wein. Welterbe. Wirtschaftsraum. Unterfrankens Dynamik jenseits des Klischees

Es stimmt schon: Wer von außen auf das reizvolle Unterfranken und seine idyllischen Landschaften blickt, dem erschließt sich nicht sofort das Potenzial und die Dynamik seiner Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen. „Stark unterschätzt!“, so lautet unsere Wertung. Regierungspräsident Dr. Paul Beinhofer erklärt warum.

 

24302

Wein – Welterbe – Wirtschaftsraum: Das Klischee assoziiert mit Unterfranken zuerst fränkische Spitzen­weine, z.B. aus Würzburg, Iphofen oder Bürgstadt, sowie Kunst und Kultur, Namen wie Walter von der Vogelweide, Tilmann Riemenschneider oder Balthasar Neumann. Aber Unterfranken ist viel mehr, nämlich eine glückliche Symbiose aus scheinbar gegensätzlichen Werten. Einerseits greifbare Geschichte, Heimat von Kultur­gütern mit Weltgeltung, liebliche Landschaften, an­dererseits aber eine dynamisch wachsende Hightech-Region, die zu­­ den führenden in Europa zählt.

In Unterfranken mit seinen neun Landkreisen und den drei kreisfreien Städten Aschaffenburg, Würzburg und Schweinfurt wohnen auf einer Fläche von 8.531 km² rund 1,3 Millionen Menschen. Mit den drei ge­nannten Ober­­zentren und 20 Mit­tel­zentren steht der Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft in diesem ursprünglich eher ländlich geprägten Raum ein flächendeckendes, gut gegliedertes und voll funk­­tions­fähiges Städtenetz zur Verfügung. Landschaftlich kennzeichnet die Region der Dreiklang ackerbaulich genutzter Gäuflächen, darin eingeschnittener Täler des Mains und seiner Zuflüsse mit ihren landschaftsprägenden Weinbergen sowie der rah­­menden Wald­gebirge Spessart, Oden­wald, Rhön, Steigerwald, Hass­berge.


24301

Strategisch günstige Lage und hervorragende Ver­kehrsinfrastruktur. Unterfranken besitzt ein klares Al­leinstellungsmerkmal. Es liegt in der Mitte Deutschlands und gehört zugleich zum Freistaat Bayern: Unterfranken ist Bayerns deutsche Mitte.

In ökonomisch verwertbare Fakten übersetzt bedeutet dies: zentrale Lage, politisch stabiler, verlässlicher Rahmen und ­­der Imagevorteil, zu Bayern zu gehören, – weltweit eine positiv besetzte Marke. Die ­zentrale Lage wird für die hiesige Wirt­schaft erst durch zwei Faktoren zum entscheidenden Standortvorteil: zum einen durch die hervorragende Qualität der Ver­kehrs­infra­struktur, zum anderen durch die Nähe zu den umliegenden Metropolen.

Unterfranken ist mit mehreren Bundesautobahnen (A3, A7, A70, A71, A81, A45) hervorragend in das europäische Fernstraßennetz integriert. Hervorragenden An­­schluss hat Unterfranken auch über die Eisenbahn, vor allem durch den Intercityknoten Würzburg und den Intercityhaltepunkt Aschaffenburg. Die Lage zwisch­­en den Agglomerationsräumen Frankfurt-Rhein-Main im Westen, Nürnberg-Fürth-Erlangen im Osten und Stutt­gart im Süden ermöglicht auch, deren Flug­häfen schnell und bequem zu erreichen. Die regionalen Ver­kehrs­­landeplätze Giebelstadt und Haßfurt ergänzen für Ge­­schäftsreisende die Möglichkeiten der in­­dividuellen in­ternationalen Anreise. Komplettiert wird das verkehrsinfrastrukturelle Angebot durch die Bun­des­was­serstraße Main – historisch gesehen das ökonomische Rückgrat der Region. Heute verbindet die Main-Donau-Wasserstraße Häfen zwischen Nord­see und Schwarzem Meer und bildet gleichzeitig die Ba­­sis für eine boomende Fremdenverkehrsdestination, die Flusskreuzfahrt.

IMG_9259
Forschung und Wissenschaft als Basis für Inno­va­ti­onen.Die hohe Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Unter­frank­ens ­­wird ent­scheidend von der Innovationsfähigkeit seiner Men­schen ­­und Unternehmen bestimmt. Hierfür bildeten bereits im WS 2013/2014 die Universität Würzburg und die Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften Aschaf­fenburg und Würzburg-Schweinfurt circa 37.000 Stu­dentinnen und Studenten aus. Die Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg ist eine der ältesten Deutschlands und zugleich eine der modernsten. Zahlreiche neue, vor allem technologisch ausgerichtete Studiengänge wie „Nanostrukturtechnik“, „Technologie der Funk­ti­onswerkstoffe“ oder „Technische Informatik“ stehen für die Schlüsseltechnologien der Zukunft.

Zusätzlich profitiert die Region von den Kompetenzen renommierter Forschungsinstitute, wie dem Fraunhofer Institut für Silikatforschung (ISC), dem Süddeutschen Kunststoffzentrum (SKZ), dem Bayerischen Zentrum für Angewandte Energieforschung (ZAE-Bayern) sowie dem MRB Forschungszentrum für Magnet-Resonanz-Bayern, dem ZfT Zentrum für Telematik. Die 2011 ins Leben gerufene Fraunhofer-Projektgruppe Nano-Rönt­gensysteme zur Materialcharakterisierung entwickelt röntgenmikroskopische Untersuchungssysteme für zerstörungsfreie Materialprüfung im Mikro- und Nano­bereich, eine Herausforderung für viele produzierende Unternehmen.
Mit dem Aufbau eines Fraunhofer-Trans­la­tions­­zen­­t­rums für Medizinprodukte und zellba­­sierte regenerative ­The­rapien sollen sowohl die Ergeb­nisse der Ma­­terialforschung als auch die der rege­ne­rativen Medizin über die klinische Anw­en­­dung schnel­ler zum Menschen gebracht werden. Der medizinische Standort Würz­burg profiliert aktuell von der Errichtung einer Max­-­Planck-Forsch­ungsgruppe für Syste­m­im­mu­­­­­nologie an der Julius-Maxi­milians-­­Uni­versität.

IMG_2343_r_kl-kopieren

Die Kompetenz auf dem Gebiet der Elek­tromobilität wird durch die Modellstadt Bad­­ Neustadt mit Ihren Projekten, vor allem auch durch das Technologie-Transfer-Zentrum Elektromobi­li­tät der Hochschule Würzburg-Schweinfurt in Bad Neustadt sowie durch die Forschungsaktivitäten des Fraun­ho­fer­instituts ISC auf dem Gebiet der ange­wandten Elektro­chemie ausgebaut. Seit September 2011 unterstützt das Zentrum für Wissenschaftliche Services – ZeWiS – mit Sitz in Obernburg die Zusammenarbeit und den Austausch zwischen der Hochschule Aschaffenburg und Unternehmen am Bayerischen Untermain. ZeWis konzentriert sich dabei auf die wichtigen Zukunftsfelder Materialforschung, Informationstechnologie und Infor­mationssysteme, Intelligente Systeme und Auto­ma­tisierung sowie Fragen der Energieeffizienz. Mit dem Aufbau eines Fraunhofer Technologietransferzentrums an der Hochschule Aschaffenburg erfährt die Wirt­schaftsregion Bayerischer Untermain künftig eine weitere Stärkung. Thematischer Schwerpunkt in Aschaf­fenburg soll die Rohstoffforschung sein. Damit erfolgt auch eine Anlehnung an das bereits in 2011 von der Frauenhofergesellschaft in der Region installierte Zen­trum für Werkstoffkreisläufe und Werk­stoff­sub­si­tution (IWKS).

Damit bietet Unterfranken herausragende Beschäfti­gungsperspektiven. Die Arbeitslosenquote ist sehr niedrig, liegt sie doch in der Regel sogar unter dem hervorragenden bayerischen Durchschnitt.

Kompetenzprofil: Automotive/Maschi­nen­bau, Gesundheit/ Biomedizin, Neue Mate­rialien. Mainfranken besitzt mit einer fundierten Kompetenzfeldanalyse eine objektive Entscheidungsgrundlage. Demnach hat unsere Region herausragende Kompe­ten­zen in den Bereichen Automotive/Maschi­nen­­bau und Gesundheit/Bio­me­di­zin. Da­­rü­ber hinaus besticht Unterfranken bei der Querschnittstechnologie Neue Materialien/Werkstoffe, insbesondere wegen der ansäs­sigen Forschungseinrichtungen, des Fraun­hofer Instituts für Silikatforschung, des Süd­deutschen Kunststoffzentrums und je­­weils kooperierender Lehrstühle der Universität Würzburg. Durch den seit WS 2006/2007 bestehenden Studiengang „Technologie der Funktionswerkstoffe“ hat dieses Kom­pe­­tenzfeld eine nachhaltige Stärkung er­fah­ren. Ein deutliches Wachs­tum­­ hat schließ­lich die Logistikbranche zu verzeichnen. Insbesondere der bay­erische Untermain hat sich zu einer bedeutenden Logistikdrehscheibe entwickelt.

IMG_9259

Beim Kernkompetenzfeld Automotive/Maschinen­bau sind Produkte aus den Bereichen Präzisions- und Wälz­­­lagertechnologie, Brems- und Kupplungs­sys­teme, Steu­erungs- und Antriebstechnik, Fahr­zeug­sich­erheit (Airbags), Hydraulik, Druckmaschinen sowie Kfz-Elek­tr­omotoren und Kfz-Bediensysteme kenn­zeichnend. In­novative hochtechnologische Pro­duk­te der Auto­mo­bilzuliefererindustrie und erfolgreiche Glo­bal Player im Maschinenbau haben in Unter­franken lange Tradition. Die Region ist Heimat namhafter Tra­ditions-unternehmen wie Bosch Rexroth, Scha­effler Technologies GmbH & Co. KG mit seiner Mar­ke FAG, ZF Sachs, Linde Material Handling GmbH, TRW Auto­motive, Takata AG, Reis-Robotics und Koenig & Bauer.

Das Kompetenzfeld Gesundheit reicht von der for­schungs­intensiven Bio- und Medizintechnologie über das Kur- und Klinikwesen bis hin zum Wellnessbereich. So wird an der Universität Würzburg an 25 Instituten und Forschungszentren sowie in acht Sonder­for­schungs­bereichen im medizinischen und humanbiologischen Bereich geforscht. Das Rudolf-Virchow-Zentrum für Experimentelle Biomedizin ist eines von drei „Centers of Excellence“ der Deutschen For-schungs­gemeinschaft (DFG) und leistet Spit­zenforschung auf dem Gebiet der Schlüssel­proteine. Der Kur- und Wellnessbereich kon­zen­triert sich im „Bäderland Bayerische Rhön“, wozu auch Deutschlands bekanntester Kurort Bad Kissingen gehört. In Bad Neustadt hat sich mit der Herz- und Gefäßklinik eines der größten Herzzentren in Deutschland – außerhalb universitärer Strukturen – entwickelt.

KBA-29014-028

Zahlreiche optimal vernetzte Initiativen wid­­men sich dem demografischen Wandel in Un­­terfranken. Bedeutende Mitspieler auf diesem Feld sind die beiden Regionalmarketinginitiativen „Region Mainfranken GmbH“ und „Initiative Bayerischer Unter­main“. Sie setzen sich institutionenübergreifend z.B. für das Thema Fachkräftesicherung und damit für die Stärkung der Regionen in Zeiten des demografischen Wandels ein. Davon profitieren alle: Unter­nehmen, Ausbildungs- und Forschungs­ein­rich­tungen bis hin zu Städten und Gemeinden als attraktiven Wohn- und Lebensstandort.

Dem Themenfeld Energie hat sich Unterfranken be­­reits in der Vergangenheit mit großem Engagement gestellt. So ist Unterfranken beispielhaft im bayerischen Ve­r­gleich beim Ausbau der Windkraft spitze. Zum Stand Juni 2014 waren in Unterfranken 163 Wind­kraft­an­­lagen in Betrieb.

Kurzum: Unterfranken besticht als starker Wirtschafts­standort mit besonders hoher Lebensqualität. Seine vielfältige Forschungs- und Entwicklungslandschaft kombiniert mit herausragender Verbindung zu Indus­trie, Handwerk und Dienstleistungen bietet exzellente Vernetzungsvorteile für Unternehmen und Absolventen und­­ garantiert beste Zukunftschancen in der Region. Un­­terfranken ist das Aushängeschild Bayerns in der Mitte Deutschlands. Es profitiert von der Nähe der benachbarten Metropolen und besitzt dabei ein eigenständiges Profil mit hervorragender (Verkehrs-)Infrastruktur.
Angesichts der Vielzahl an Hightech-Un­ternehmen wurde Unterfranken von der Statistikbehörde der EU, Eurostat, bescheinigt, zu den zehn stärksten Hightech-Re­gi­onen­ Europas zu gehören.

Beinhofer_Grusswort_Alternativbild-kopierenDer 1953 in München geborene Autor studierte Rechtswissenschaften in Mün­chen und promovierte 1981. Ab 1997 war Dr. Paul Beinhofer Regie­rungsvizepräsident der Oberpfalz, daneben Lehrbeauftragter an der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Regensburg. Seit 2000 ist Dr. Paul Beinhofer Regie­rungspräsident von Unterfranken.